• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

FOOTYBOSS said:
Your telling little white lies there Grandale. I didnt hear such a thing. Always pay respect to the Lions. See you on the ground tomorrow.

You weren't listening close enough, Boss. Granted it wasn't the entire team yapping away but we did hear some interesting comments from a few players. No 42 (who is he?) was particularly vocal. Shame he didn't get a kick.
I'm sure the Pies won't fall into the same trap again.
And you won't be seeing me out there Boss. I'm finished.

Grandale said:
You weren't listening close enough, Boss. Granted it wasn't the entire team yapping away but we did hear some interesting comments from a few players. No 42 (who is he?) was particularly vocal. Shame he didn't get a kick.

I think i know who you're talking about Grandale....I wouldn't pay much attention to No. 42:rolleyes:

FOOTYBOSS said:
Duff Man said:
Stop dribbling crap Duff Man, we know you are not from Euroa. I think you will find that Seymour still have 13 players that were apart of their priemership team last year, so still a very good team. Plus add Gordon and Colbert to that line up. Will be a close game I reckon.

Luke Stevenson in a forward pocket I notice. Has he even been training?

me cousin follows the bullants pretty closely, this stevenson can play.
if he is right will carve up the gv.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Duff Man said:
Stop dribbling crap Duff Man, we know you are not from Euroa. I think you will find that Seymour still have 13 players that were apart of their priemership team last year, so still a very good team. Plus add Gordon and Colbert to that line up. Will be a close game I reckon.

Luke Stevenson in a forward pocket I notice. Has he even been training?

Duff Man is right, euroa lad or not..he's spot on.

I know there is 15 on the injured list, and a virus has swept through the club during the week knocking around a few. Should be interesting to see how the two teams line up for the Lions...I dare say they will be vastly different line ups to that from Round 1.

No Bishop, Thomson, Rattray, Boruch, Inness, Shiels, Brockway, Rudd, and possibly Lane, Dowling and Papanicolou just to name a few...so big test for the Lions magoo's tomorrow against the maggies, who would have to firming as favourites in the twos for the silverware.

Grandale...hate to say it, but maybe what no. 42 said in round 1, might be a bit closer to the mark this week...only time will tell.

Stevenson has been training...looks the goods.

Grandale said:
I wouldnt be listening to what No.42 has to say. Probably the stupidest kid I have ever met in my life. He yaps all day but its just utter dribble that doesnt make sense half the time.

FOOTYBOSS said:
I wouldnt be listening to what No.42 has to say. Probably the stupidest kid I have ever met in my life. He yaps all day but its just utter dribble that doesnt make sense half the time.

Haha. Sounds like a popular fella.
Almost as popular as Whippet. He doesn't need to mouth off...just lets his boots do the talking.

Good luck for the weekend Boss.

Keep me updated on how the Pies go.

Interesting to see the thirds boys, try and go for their 3rd win in a row. Wouldn't have done since about 98 I reckon.

Good luck for the weekend Boss.

Keep me updated on how the Pies go.

Interesting to see the thirds boys, try and go for their 3rd win in a row. Wouldn't have done that since about 98 I reckon.

Not a great day for footy. I was so looking forward to watching a great game between two rival teams in Seymour v Euroa, but the skies have opened turning it into a struggle. My tip would have been Seymour (even with all their injuries) but unfortunatly, much to my disgust, Euroa might just take the points now.:(

FOOTYBOSS said:

As for the ressie players that are complaining, those few blokes struggle to to get a kick and dominate and would look silly at the later game. They have no skills and no football brains. Thats why they cant get a game.

Iam curious as to why FOOTYBOSS evens plays reserves at Euroa. He seems to have very little respect for his team'mates'.

Grandale said:
Before the game, mate. Seemed some of the Maggies' Twos got a little bit ahead of themselves before a ball was kicked in anger this year and probably didn't respect the Lions enough in Rd 1.
Made for a very satisfying victory.

Wouldn't suprise me. Euroa's 2nds were a bunch of arrogant tossers last year. It appears little has changed.

bradrowe#32 said:
Wouldn't suprise me. Euroa's 2nds were a bunch of arrogant tossers last year. It appears little has changed.

congrats to you kicking only 1 goal for today. straight kicking....

Rochy 2nds were a bunch of losers last year, it appears little has changed:eek:

Bundyrum said:
Not a great day for footy. I was so looking forward to watching a great game between two rival teams in Seymour v Euroa, but the skies have opened turning it into a struggle. My tip would have been Seymour (even with all their injuries) but unfortunatly, much to my disgust, Euroa might just take the points now.:(

agreed on not a great day for footy from a spectator point of view.

the way euroa played today outlined the fact that seymour are front runners with players such as saad not coming back on after half time ' cause it was tooooo cold'. If pilling put as much effort into getting the ball as he did taking cheap shots at guys half his size with their head over the ball, he would of collect 40+ in the wet. :eek:

ps. stop making excuses, you redneck bogan

on the woodstock tonight you tip rat :thumbsu:

spike dudley said:
Iam curious as to why FOOTYBOSS evens plays reserves at Euroa. He seems to have very little respect for his team'mates'.

Oh well, at least he doesnt just pay out on everyone like you do c ockjaw..
and my bet is he does more for his club than you ever will...
by the way, you putt from the rough you sneaky butcher...

TheFreakyPenguin thinks spike dudley couldnt get a ro ot in a monkey whore house with a bag full of bananas :thumbsu:

Congrats to Tatura on their first win of the year, and they didnt do it by halves doubling Mooroopna's score. Well Done, well deserved after a very trying year to date.

Hard to pick the bigger news after reading the scores - Tatura posting their 1st win and in doing so keeping Mooroopna goal less after half time, or Seymour's 3rd straight loss and in doing so not kicking a major until the final term.

Or Seymour ressies surprising the highly fancied Euroa two's . . . .

What a big day in football!!!

Doona2 said:
Hard to pick the bigger news after reading the scores - Tatura posting their 1st win and in doing so keeping Mooroopna goal less after half time, or Seymour's 3rd straight loss and in doing so not kicking a major until the final term.

Or Seymour ressies surprising the highly fancied Euroa two's . . . .

What a big day in football!!!

Come on Doona, Tat's win is clearly the biggest news of not only the weekend but probably the year. Wouldn't be many times where a winless bottom side has beaten the top team this late in the season.
There was adegree of inevitability about what happened at Kings Park. And she don't get any easier for the Lions - Benalla at Benalla this week with a couple of fresh injuries (not to mention the likely suspension of a certain key position player) to overcome.

Made my way up for the 2nd time this year to watch a GV game and headed to Tatura Park. What a sensational match it was in front of a huge crowd, i would have thought by the end of the match there would have been about 1500 supporters there.
After watching a highly amusing 2nds match which Mooroopna just got over the line i wasnt expecting much out of the senior match but was hoping none the less.
The game started as predicted with the Cats kicking the first 3 goals of the match within the the first 10 minutes but where only able to go on with 1 more for the day. The game was as hard a physical contest i have seen in a long time with Tatura gang tackling opponets at every contest. Tatura i think would have won 8/10 centre clearances for the day and that was without Kirby on the ruck, suprisngly the premiere ruckman played the whole match at CHF with a young kid doing the majority of the match. Taturas strength and run really came from the backline, Scarcella i think it is did a wounderfull job on Campbell and Thorn also rebounding a countless amount of time during the game, Downey also gained possesions at will but while he does get alot of the ball he doesnt seem to be a close checking backman.
Withiout a doubt the best player of the day would have been Wellington, this guy is a maestro he gains that much of the ball and seems never to be tackled, he was my BOG for the day.
For the Cats Blake Campbell was solid all day and Karl Norman proved usefull as he contested and tried hard all match but eventually succumb to injury. Big Singh barely sniffed and i think was the only player to come off with out a touch of mud on him, Derek Hall was a star and showed his class. Listening to Derek at 3qtr time he basically said that if they didnt pull there fingers out then there woukd be hell to pay, i hard him mention that 16 places in the side for next weeks game were still up for grabs, interesting to hear.

Overall the match was great and it was good to see a bottom side play so well to knock off a fancied opponet, i am actually suprised going by yesterday that Tatura havent won a few more games.

Trout said:
Oh well, at least he doesnt just pay out on everyone like you do c ockjaw..
and my bet is he does more for his club than you ever will...
by the way, you putt from the rough you sneaky butcher...

Did you read my post trout? I think you will find my point is HE pays out on everyone. Your post was possibily one of the worst i've read on this forum. And iam sure the best you will be able to comeback with is something as unintelligent as your previous post.

A Bit Quiet on the Seymour Front??? 1 win front the last 5 games not a good return. Is Mark Pilling the most gutless player in the GV??? Should get at least 3 weeks for the way he acted on saturday against Euroa. Watching him in action from the only dry place in seymour sitting in the stand he just took cheap shots at everyone he could. Would have to think that the coach and players would be pretty dissapointed with his effort as he got smashed in all areas. Any Comments from you Seymour Folk out there???

now that seymour have beaten the euroa magoos, are the euroa 2's still fav's for the silverware come september? wasn't at the match but could someone inform me of how they went about nulifying the run euroa has been known for in previous weeks coming out of backline? did the just handle the conditions better? how did the resurfaced kings park cope with the recent rain?:confused: :confused: :confused:

PLAYER69 said:
A Bit Quiet on the Seymour Front??? 1 win front the last 5 games not a good return. Is Mark Pilling the most gutless player in the GV??? Should get at least 3 weeks for the way he acted on saturday against Euroa. Watching him in action from the only dry place in seymour sitting in the stand he just took cheap shots at everyone he could. Would have to think that the coach and players would be pretty dissapointed with his effort as he got smashed in all areas. Any Comments from you Seymour Folk out there???
A bit harsh there PLAYER69! Pillsy is a very handy player and it wasnt a day for the big fellas on saturday. I Agree he will probably get a few weeks for his hit on Angry Clayton but he had a crack saturday when played in positions he may not be used to like the ruck. He is a good bloke and doesnt deserve to be labelled gutless.
A Question to anyone from seymour out there! What is the go with your ground? I thought it was supposed to be in superb nick which i am sure it is without rain but when i rocked up saturday and saw swimming pools of water over about 40% of the ground i was spewing to say the least. Worst conditions for footy ever!!! There was water everywhere and nearly lost my boot at some stage!!! Speedos, Flippers and goggles were needed i reckon. Might need to speak to FOOTYBOSS about getting a descent drainage system!!!