• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

1.Swans
2.Seymour
3.Mansfield
4.Moroopna
5.Rochester
6.Tatura (na just kidding) Benalla

Interesting to see people rating Mansfield so highly this year. Sure they might have recruited a couple but losing a bloke like Trent Hotton is irreplaceable. Massive loss but I'm sure they will still be hard to beat at the 'postage stamp', but top three is a big call IMO.

Cellar Dweller: The something special you are talking about for a club like echuca to get kids travelling back is a thing called senior football. Representing the club you played for as a junior. Treat your kids at your club with a clearly defined pathway to play senior football at your club and they will treat your club with respect. The Echuca FC would have one of the most proffessional junior based programmes of any club in Victoria. Over 200 juniors registered to play this year from u12's-u18's. Why???? Because the club put's an emphasis on developing their own. Yes we have had some travellers in the past but not to the detriment of the club, if this was the case the junior programme would not be as successful as it is.

Good comment - but you should not have gone to the trouble of giving the clown a reply.

cellar dweller has been a big footy pest since the first day he/she arrived on the scene.

Seems to float around all the local leagues trying to stir up a bit of trouble and annoy readers.

I personally prefer the members who give out a bit of info(whether it be truthful or not), and also those that bring a bit of humuor to this site, of which yellar feller has so far not been able to do.

Speaking of which it is about time that epic piece of Australiana by No Heart either gets a rerun or is updated. Possibly the best and most applauded piece of big footy ever to take centre stage, plus there probably is quite a few new readers who have never read it.

Cellar Dweller: The something special you are talking about for a club like echuca to get kids travelling back is a thing called senior football. Representing the club you played for as a junior. Treat your kids at your club with a clearly defined pathway to play senior football at your club and they will treat your club with respect. The Echuca FC would have one of the most proffessional junior based programmes of any club in Victoria. Over 200 juniors registered to play this year from u12's-u18's. Why???? Because the club put's an emphasis on developing their own. Yes we have had some travellers in the past but not to the detriment of the club, if this was the case the junior programme would not be as successful as it is.

Totally agree. I am obviously biased here, I've harped on about this before. Echuca is probably a bit stiff because a lot of these blokes have gone on to bigger and better things, one thing is for sure the majority of these blokes will get back to the club in some capacity.

Blokes like Ash Byrne and Kenny Sheldon really pushed young players to play Senior Football and in doing that developed some handy players. Archard, Height, McGlone, Maddox, Jones, Walker, Kirkby just to name a few.

I love the way how they continue to be competitive while avoiding throwing cash around to ex VFL/AFL. Obviously there are a couple of exceptions, Sholly for one, however they are few and far between.

Hopefully they will go well this year, young Chris Casey looks like his putting his hand up to be Vice Captain and is set for a big year, with red pubes and all!

I love the way how they continue to be competitive while avoiding throwing cash around to ex VFL/AFL. Obviously there are a couple of exceptions, Sholly for one, however they are few and far between.

quote]
How much of an exception is he really? Was he playing for Echuca because of the money they payed him or because he moved to Echuca for his business? Was under the impression that when someone with his experiance played in the reserves it was because he enjoyed the game and not because of the money.

Why are people rating Mooroopna so highly, I think they lost a few from last season, they'll struggle to make the six. I think Ky might be a big chance for top 4 and my tip is Shepp for wooden spoon.

With Paul Newman, Dave Newman, Singh, Withers, Hanson, Vick & some quality youngsters, I can see them being massive improvers in a competition that might drop slightly.

Would agree totally with the comments above. having Rob Morris as director of junior coaching is laying the foundation for all coaches involved in their junior program. Long term it has to be the way to go for all GV clubs as we have seen so often that spending huge dollars on imports in the end is not sustainable and does nothing to contribute to developing a clubs identity and culture.Echuca do it better than anyone.
No Arguement here, Echuca system is excellent and when you are able to align the juniors with the senior club you get positive result. I can remember when Shepp United had under 13's, 14's and 16's. They had a nuturing ground which saw the development of local players whilst at the same time creating a early sense of club connection. To change that in the Shepparton area now would require a total rethink on Junior footy, I don't believe the SDJF league would be to welcoming of this type of restructure.

There has been a push for GV 4ths from some clubs for about 20 years now. I think it's a fantastic idea, but I'm not sure why it hasn't got off the ground.

It wouldn't be that hard to introduce fourths (or under 16's) at a league level:

Echuca, Kyabram, Rochester and Tatura compete in the Shepp & District U16's comp.

The 4 Shepparton based teams could align themselves with a high school team.

Mansfield has a junior football league, as does Benalla.

I assume Euroa and Seymour compete in the Seymour & district comp.

Obviously, this would break up the Shep league and dent the other ones, but it would be a positive move.

quote]
How much of an exception is he really? Was he playing for Echuca because of the money they payed him or because he moved to Echuca for his business? Was under the impression that when someone with his experiance played in the reserves it was because he enjoyed the game and not because of the money.

Rog I was simply just mentioning that Sholl is the only ex AFL/VFL player Echuca have gained the services of in the last few years. I know he wasn't playing for coin

Interesting to see people rating Mansfield so highly this year. Sure they might have recruited a couple but losing a bloke like Trent Hotton is irreplaceable. Massive loss but I'm sure they will still be hard to beat at the 'postage stamp', but top three is a big call IMO.

Granted both the Hottons are going to be big losses, but we have recruited a couple of quality players and are also getting some locals back who have been overseas or interstate. Ben Fagan, who we picked up from Tassie Devils, is no Trent Hotton, but he's a very athletic key position player who I think will be suited to the GV. I guess we'll just have wait and see what happens when the real stuff begins. It's not often my pre-season predictions are on the money. The last two seasons I've picked Mansfield to finish bottom three.

I'm sure they wouldn't like the restructure but from a Shepp clubs perspective I can see alot of merit in changing the system from school based teams to club based and have swans united and shepp all with teams in the shepp junior footy league U/16 which would feed into each club's u/18 side in the GV. The other benefit I think would be that the clubs would be putting resources into junior footy at this level instead of the dog eat dog situation we have now where clubs continually contest against each other for boys signatures once they come out of the 16's. This is where Echuca and Ky have an advantage because the Junior footy in the town is linked into the Senior body with a natural progression of boys coming out of u/16 football directly into the clubs 3rd 18.

The Echuca footy club has always set the benchmark with junior development in the 15 years Ive been involved in football in the area. If all clubs used a the same or similar model to what the EFC uses, but customized it to suit there own club imagine the strength of the GVL today. Yes the GVL is a leading VCFL, however it would be stronger and more competitive if more clubs followd Echucas example.

As for cellar dweller. I speak for 99% of the users on Big footy! You are a parasite, your comments lack truth, substance and facts. Its generally personal and made up of nothing except jibbajabba! Do us all a favor and pull your head in. Post constructive, relevant footy talk thats creates interest. I'm thinking your an umpire, however you sound a little bit incompetant to be one. Maybe you've been bullied at school and lack confidence in the real world? Big footy could have been a pivitol occurance in your life! The making of you, so now you can bully others and hide behind a computer screen........ The bottom line 'your comments arent welcome'

The Echuca footy club has always set the benchmark with junior development in the 15 years Ive been involved in football in the area. If all clubs used a the same or similar model to what the EFC uses, but customized it to suit there own club imagine the strength of the GVL today. Yes the GVL is a leading VCFL, however it would be stronger and more competitive if more clubs followd Echucas example.

As for cellar dweller. I speak for 99% of the users on Big footy! You are a parasite, your comments lack truth, substance and facts. Its generally personal and made up of nothing except jibbajabba! Do us all a favor and pull your head in. Post constructive, relevant footy talk thats creates interest. I'm thinking your an umpire, however you sound a little bit incompetant to be one. Maybe you've been bullied at school and lack confidence in the real world? Big footy could have been a pivitol occurance in your life! The making of you, so now you can bully others and hide behind a computer screen........ The bottom line 'your comments arent welcome'
Well arnt we all a pack of girls. If Im wrong about anything let me know. Dont make things up or tell lies to proove your thoughts. Be careful not to get in an argument with me just because you dont like me. Dont care if you like what I say. Im never wrong cause I dont write things I dont believe. Ill post more negative than possitive cause most of you write $hit. I dont care if you dont like me. Im not an umpire, I didnt get bullied, I dont lack confidence, Big footy isnt the end all boy's (life does go on out of it), I dont bully others(I will point out when your wrong and back up my argument).
Does prooving your wrong make it personal?
Oh since when is it that the GV should be the ones in control of junior football. What makes you guys so high and mighty that everything should revolve around you? Is there only GV football sides in country football. If you guys wernt so up youselves and exclusive maybe more people would follow you. Stick to your own dont you.
Get a life boys, football is for everyone.

Good comment - but you should not have gone to the trouble of giving the clown a reply.

cellar dweller has been a big footy pest since the first day he/she arrived on the scene.

Seems to float around all the local leagues trying to stir up a bit of trouble and annoy readers.

I personally prefer the members who give out a bit of info(whether it be truthful or not), and also those that bring a bit of humuor to this site, of which yellar feller has so far not been able to do.

Speaking of which it is about time that epic piece of Australiana by No Heart either gets a rerun or is updated. Possibly the best and most applauded piece of big footy ever to take centre stage, plus there probably is quite a few new readers who have never read it.
You all seem to be a flock of sheep.
No wonder most clubs struggle.
Get some balls boys and do the right thing!!!

This was in the Border Mail

http://bordermail.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/general/cash-crisis-hits-goulburn-valley/1187939.html

Cash crisis hits Goulburn Valley
SHEPPARTON NEWS
22 February 2008

GOULBURN Valley Football League is dealing with a cash flow problem and a current debt of $69,300 after being refused a bank overdraft because of an unpaid tax bill.

Club presidents gathered in Shepparton on Wednesday to be told the truth about the league’s finances and put an end to speculation about mismanagement and impropriety.

“I think they were appreciative of the information because a lot of rumour and innuendo has been out there,” GVFL chairman John Coghlan said.

The total debt includes $28,900 owed to the Australian Tax Office, which is being paid off at $1508 a month for two years.

It was a default on the tax debt that led to the league’s bank refusing an overdraft, and with no income coming in during the summer months, a cash crisis evolved.

“The tax bill has prevented the normal business arrangement of a bank overdraft which, in turn, has led the league to seek financial support from the VCFL, as well as implementing a range of cost reduction and revenue increasing measures,” Coghlan said.

Former GVFL general manager Eric Bott — who left his post in December when elected mayor of Greater Shepparton City Council — is the second largest creditor.

Bott is owed $16,200 in entitlements but has made no demand for the money. The Goulburn Valley Football Umpires Association is owed $12200 and the remaining $12,000 is owed to small creditors.

Among the most serious revelations at the forum was the fact tax returns were not lodged for three years, a potential breach of the rules of incorporation.

This is disputed by Bott who said it was only six or seven quarters.

“I hope there would be no thought that any of it has ended up in my pocket,” Bott said.

Coghlan said the clubs made an offer to bail out the league during the forum but it was refused.

An accountant has been engaged by the GVFL to overview financial systems with particular regard to business activity statements and GST.

The GVFL board is confident it can manage its way out of trouble, with cost reduction measures in place to save more than $56,000.

Revenue increasing measures including sponsorship should net another $40,000, although the major sponsor is believed to be $10,000 behind in payments.

The debt will be paid off within a two-year period, with all business and commercial creditors to be paid within the next three months.

“The GVFL board is confident that with the co-operation of its member clubs, the measures will work,” Coghlan said.

“The league looks forward to an exciting year of football as well as a year in which it will consolidate its business activity and practices.”

Jesus Christ had heard the whispers but had no idea, how does this happen? :confused:

Thanks for the kind words sparra. :thumbsu: Will have to sit down one day and see what I can come up with. Might have to be a theme around the current cash crisis in the GVFL. Perhaps similar to Ritchie getting the axe in the 12th Man skit.

Maybe a few ideas from you guys could assist. I reckon Doona would have a few good suggestions.

Went to the races on the weekend and the rumours i heard had something to do with alot of people on this GVFL tread, heres what i heard and saw.

Jock Mc Farlane has been sent on the " daisy train " for getting his "LOBSTER " out after the Grand Final . " Whispers" going around say he gave "Samtrish" and my "ANT JESS" one in the coaches room, "Flat Track Bully" was outside having a "Scooby-doo" at the time. "Doona2" picked up a "slim18" year old saturday after the cricket and took her back to "The Den", "bradrowe#32 " was waiting in the cupboard for him to get back so he could get out his "Gladstone Small". Saw "T Perry" standing at the "Can Shop " having a "Bundyrum" , when he told me he had "Just Signed" at Seymour , good "Centremen" that will help make the "lions roar"."FOOTY BOSS" was so drunk they had to get a "Wheelbarrow" and carry him out , last i saw of him two little chinese blokes "Scotywok "and "King of Ling" where hitting him with "The Whip" . "Fat Back Pocket" was caught giving "Eric Bottom" a "flamin homer " in the toilet block and he copped a good old 'Third Qtr Spray" from "tige19" who was in the next toilet. "Smellingsmoke' Travvy43 came running in to see "tige19 "with his "Wizz "out. "Grandale" was there with won of his old "Flames" and she looked like across between a "Tatybulldog" and a "Tusken Raider" but he was 'Seeking Glory' . J Amad was doing his best to look the "SUPASTAR" and a bit "Showy1", but at best he looked like a "Junkie" looking for his pimp. "ECHUCABOY' and "Pete Mitchells" freindship is "inlimbo" after Pete undone his "Zippa" and wanted "head67", the boy said "nogood99" i havent seen anything that small since the "half time lollies". "bazlurhman ", "jmain14 ",hanki ", ringo1" and "Diamonddave" just sat around listning to "akka dakka" and bagging "The Freaky Penguin". When it come time to kick on some boys showed "No Heart 'and went on home.

Sparra found this when i was looking back , some of the names I have not seen on the thread for a while .:thumbsu:

This was in the Border Mail

http://bordermail.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/general/cash-crisis-hits-goulburn-valley/1187939.html

Cash crisis hits Goulburn Valley
SHEPPARTON NEWS
22 February 2008

Among the most serious revelations at the forum was the fact tax returns were not lodged for three years, a potential breach of the rules of incorporation.

.”

If i didn't pay my taxes i would be in gaol - what sort of League have you guys got? Oh the prestige of being a major League............

You owe a lot of that to Chris Thomas and Peter Lanyon (among many others) - never forget the work they do.