• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Guinea said:
Totally agree, and if the cats want to do the same, good on them, it's been a long time that they've been on the bottom. Mansfield and Seymour have both been successful at it, and while you can't expect to keep ALL the players you recruit for 2+ yrs, it seems as though a few will kick on at the eagles and even after Steve D leaves the lions, I wouldn't be surprised if the lions still retained a few. Then, with the development of the juniors and having consistent sponsors who may have jumped off during the un-successful years, it becomes a bit easier to stay competitive.. Plus, it will be good for the league and add a bit of excitement if the cats can claw their way up there. As long as they realise that history suggests you need 2 good yrs to win a big one..

It's a tough task for the Cats, they've got 3 other major league clubs within 5ks not to mention a host of kdl and former CGFL clubs scattered around them. They've battled for years since the mid 80's when they won flags. But they must have some money, they've got those new rooms, and they've managed to attract some great individual players. I never saw them in action this year, but from all reports they weren't that far away. I can remember the lions in a similar situation in 1997/98, they had a few class players that they recruited like Jeremy Bourke and Simon Gordon. the club worked it's butt off to secure sponsors and Glenn Cole did a great job after the debacle of Ricky Jackson in 1996. The lions couldn't quite crack it though due to injuries and losing games to sides they should have beaten, and subsequently had some down times before 2003 finished. Hopefully the cats don't go this way and they can build on their existing player base. It would be exciting to see Mooroopna and Kyabram featuring in finals action in 06.

fat back pocket said:
Van Riet i'm pretty sure has been set up to at least do a pre-season with Bullants. After his good showing in the GF i think he could play at least VFL reserves.

Why in God's name would a guy leave a premiership-winning side to play VFL scooby doos?
What's the point?

Personally i reckon blokes are mad doing it. It's full on with Training, commitment, playing sunday mornings, no gas, strict diet etc.. I can understand if they come straight out of the TAC system, but from country ranks it's a bit diff unless you have that exposure to TAC already.

Some blokes want/like that professionalism, and status in footy ranks that they're VFL Footballers. The money is nowhere near as good as they can get training half as much and enjoying a more social atmosphere, but as i said, some blokes love it!

HJ32 said:
Personally i reckon blokes are mad doing it. It's full on with Training, commitment, playing sunday mornings, no gas, strict diet etc.. I can understand if they come straight out of the TAC system, but from country ranks it's a bit diff unless you have that exposure to TAC already.

Some blokes want/like that professionalism, and status in footy ranks that they're VFL Footballers. The money is nowhere near as good as they can get training half as much and enjoying a more social atmosphere, but as i said, some blokes love it!

Well, it's a stepping stone to playing VFL seniors, which is seen, of course, as a stepping stone to the AFL. Not sure on the numbers, but there's not a lot of names that spring to mind that have been drafted from VFL, though. If Ian Cullinan and/or Jordan Doering don't this year (although admittedly Doering has already had 2 chances at that level), then you could almost say it's near impossible for medium sized players to do it. But, it does give young blokes the chance to improve the way they approach the game, in terms of training, diet, skill enhancement, etc, and help them become better players for when they do return to country/grass roots footy.

There must be something in it, given that the 2 grand finalists in the GV this year prob had 6-10 ex VFL players each..

Grandale said:
Why in God's name would a guy leave a premiership-winning side to play VFL scooby doos?
What's the point?
Couldn't agree more Grandale.

In fact it is probably more common that players would prefer to play in a lesser league and dominate, rather than being a bit player in a higher league.

Take say Tyson Sidebottom from Tallygaroopna as an example. Theres plenty of people who will tell you he would be up to playing GV seniors, but he probably prefers to get 30 possessions as a gun on-baller each week in the KDFL (and a chance to win another league medal / flag) rather than possibly being used off the bench / or on a flank in a GV side.

I know it's good to test your abilities, but there's plenty of reasons to play at a level where you can get a few touches and really enjoy your footy.

Duff Man said:
Couldn't agree more Grandale.

In fact it is probably more common that players would prefer to play in a lesser league and dominate, rather than being a bit player in a higher league.

Take say Tyson Sidebottom from Tallygaroopna as an example. Theres plenty of people who will tell you he would be up to playing GV seniors, but he probably prefers to get 30 possessions as a gun on-baller each week in the KDFL (and a chance to win another league medal / flag) rather than possibly being used off the bench / or on a flank in a GV side.

I know it's good to test your abilities, but there's plenty of reasons to play at a level where you can get a few touches and really enjoy your footy.

yeh, at the end of the day I guess it's up to the individual and what they want to achieve out of their footy. I guess I'm for Van Riet to have a crack at VFL and try and improve his game, but I definitely wouldn't think he was "soft" or anything like that if he wanted to stay at his home club and help them win a flag..

And I guess thats the point, some players like to be big fishes in a little pond, some like to be small fishes in a big pond, some have good mates at a club that they want to play with, some (like Hehir, Singh, J Mac), want to try and set themselves up financially and don't give a rat's clacker which club's they bring down to do it or what the hard working people at those clubs think about them...

fat back pocket said:
Mansfield certainly did. Hulme was on a reported $1200 a game, mensch on around $1500+ (and it was more when he was coach), Hotton would be on a fair pay packet as well. Add those three up alone and then add Trewella, Stevenson, Trenfield, Cam Hotton, and they have a fair pay listing per week.
One you forgot to mention FBP was Tranquilli. He also was on a fair bit p.w. so their weekly payout would have been huge.
Don't know if this is true but I have been told about a Seymour player that actually handed his pay packet back to the President last year because in his mind he didn't think he deserved it. Seymour have obviously targeted the right types of characters and have blended a side that play for each other rather than the almighty $. The other G.V. sides should take a look at their model and try to replicate it rather than chasing footy prostitutes.

Chance said:
G'day Fellas. A newbie here who has been following this great thread lately. Great discussions posted regularly and a good read to kill some boring time in the day. Yes I am from Seymour in case you were wondering and I have heard that Patty Rattray and Rod Van Riet are leaving the Den for VFL clubs. Can you confirm FBP?

Chance M Collins has retired and R Vanreit is going to do a pre season at the bullants [ Stevie d set it up for him and R Douglas] but robbie at the moment is pretty keen on staying put. P Ratray has told the club that he is playing there in 2006 , the same as everyone else.

GVFootyfan said:
One you forgot to mention FBP was Tranquilli. He also was on a fair bit p.w. so their weekly payout would have been huge.
Don't know if this is true but I have been told about a Seymour player that actually handed his pay packet back to the President last year because in his mind he didn't think he deserved it. Seymour have obviously targeted the right types of characters and have blended a side that play for each other rather than the almighty $. The other G.V. sides should take a look at their model and try to replicate it rather than chasing footy prostitutes.

Fu#$$k you Seymour clowns should stop pumping yourself up so much!!!

I'm a pimp and i've been trying to get my ladies to take a look at your mum so that they can replicate her:eek:

Grandale said:
I can confirm FBP is on the committee and would know what the Lions shelled out this year.
It's pretty much common knowledge throughout the club what sort of package Stevie D and his crew were on. Then you've got what those that weren't part of that deal got, and I can assure you Seymour wouldn't have paid anywhere near $150,000.

Thanks, FBP was just wondering thats all.

Wizz said:
Thanks, FBP was just wondering thats all.

Christ did you S#@t the bed Wizz, early start today!!!

No Heart said:
Chance M Collins has retired and R Vanreit is going to do a pre season at the bullants [ Stevie d set it up for him and R Douglas] but robbie at the moment is pretty keen on staying put. P Ratray has told the club that he is playing there in 2006 , the same as everyone else.

I think you will find Rattray is going to at least do a pre-season with Bendigo, and have a crack there. I spoke with a person who knows exactly what he is doing.

he had an arthriscope a week or so ago to repair torn cartlidge, so he is out for 6 weeks, but after that i believe he is looking at moving to Bendigo to do a pre-season.

Doona2 said:
Christ did you S#@t the bed Wizz, early start today!!!
i'll field this one for ya wizz. wizz has been jumping on this forum from london hence the abnormal times of his posts. I will be snipping over to see wizz in january so next year I too will be posting when you guys are probably asleep.

Junkie said:
Fu#$$k you Seymour clowns should stop pumping yourself up so much!!!

I'm a pimp and i've been trying to get my ladies to take a look at your mum so that they can replicate her:eek:
First of all dip s h i t, I am not from Seymour. Secondly I was going to suggest that maybe you should look at your own mother for that info, but I don't think you would have one. You were obviously scraped of the dunny wall and incubated in a piece of s h i t.
Sorry Tige19 but I too like Duffman will not put up with morons dishing it out.

Big rumour out of Rochester with a 2005 AFL rookie listed player very keen to sign.

I'll give you a hint: he's 196cms and from the area.

bradrowe#32 said:
Big rumour out of Rochester with a 2005 AFL rookie listed player very keen to sign.

I'll give you a hint: he's 196cms and from the area.

Ruory Kirkby, although I would have thought he would head back to Echuca. Did hear he was staying in Melb so probably not who your talking about

hank1 said:
Ruory Kirkby, although I would have thought he would head back to Echuca. Did hear he was staying in Melb so probably not who your talking about
am pretty sure he is referring to guy campbell hank who was rookie listed at sydney this year. his sister goes out with deano, last time I was talking to him he sounded pretty confident that rochy would get him. would be a pretty handy pick-up given his size and would be the centre half back that they desperately need.

GVFootyfan said:
First of all dip s h i t, I am not from Seymour. Secondly I was going to suggest that maybe you should look at your own mother for that info, but I don't think you would have one. You were obviously scraped of the dunny wall and incubated in a piece of s h i t.
Sorry Tige19 but I too like Duffman will not put up with morons dishing it out.

Nah, I was scrapped off the floor in the showers of H Division and incubated in Choppers @rse... I think thats why I came out of the ordeal such a tough ********.............wanna fight?? Fight me!!!!!!!!!

jmain14 said:
am pretty sure he is referring to guy campbell hank who was rookie listed at sydney this year. his sister goes out with deano, last time I was talking to him he sounded pretty confident that rochy would get him. would be a pretty handy pick-up given his size and would be the centre half back that they desperately need.

He would be a huge pick up in the GV. Pretty versatile and very athletic. What sort of coin would a fella like him be on jmain14?

Junkie said:
Nah, I was scrapped off the floor in the showers of H Division and incubated in Choppers @rse... I think thats why I came out of the ordeal such a tough ********.............wanna fight?? Fight me!!!!!!!!!

Turn it up terry tough nuts

Junkie said:
He would be a huge pick up in the GV. Pretty versatile and very athletic. What sort of coin would a fella like him be on jmain14?
yeah he'd be pretty handy, don't think echuca/united would take the news very well if it were to eventuate. not real sure what sort of money he'd command. ya'd think it'd be a bit though.

jmain14 said:

Spot on the money as usual Mainy. That's why you're one of the most respected members of the football community.

I reckon he could command a bit of $ and he would be worth it. Definately a player Rochy needs.

bradrowe#32 said:
Spot on the money as usual Mainy. That's why you're one of the most respected members of the football community.

I reckon he could command a bit of $ and he would be worth it. Definately a player Rochy needs.
hehe cheers mate. yeah let's hope he ends up at tigerland!!

you pulling on the whites this w'end or whata?? you been making many runs??