Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

LOBSTER said:
Boys I would like to know from each club which player is looking the sharpest on the training track and who has come back a bit underdone? Im very interested to know.

Lobster - not too many surprises here for you, sorry.

Chris McCarty - incredibly fit, more so than last year despite leaving for OS in June. Easily the fittest at the club.

Heath Aitken - think he might have been slightly dissapointed with his season last year during his first year as captain (by his standards that is - he still finished 3rd in B&F) He is very very keen to have a massive year and would be in top 10-15 players in the league. I will stand by that!

Young ones:

Scott O'Conner - 16 I think. Is an athlete and has a great attitude. Will probably spend most of next couple of years with the Pioneer's but will be one of the next home grown guns to be blooded by Rochy. And as with those in the past, he loves the club and will always come back.

Brodie Montague - also very fit. Easily good enough to play Pio's but I think this may be his last year (not sure on that) and you know what TAC teams can be like with second year players who may not look like they will get drafted - so could spend some of the year with Rochy. Had 12 marks and ficked four against Euroa at Rochy last year.

Ahbroke Miandad said:
I heard that unless someone on the SFC committee jags the Mystery6 very flaming soon they won't even have enough cash to cover this year.

Javid dont forget that footy fundraising season is not August to April man.

I was listening to Peter Ryan on one FM about 12 mths ago, Re Tats $ raising efforts. I cant remember the exact ammount of individual fundraisers they had but i do know it was in the high 80's or 90's for 12 mths.

Some one up around there can correct me on that figure but i do know that at the time i heard it, i thought it was alot of manpower for the com to undertake. And before all the smart arse remarks come out about Tats spending over the yrs, lets not forget boys that they are not the lone rangers when it comes to private sponsors putting long arms into short pockets.

Spoke to a guy in the Seymour hierachy today and he has confirmed gun full forward Simon Gordon has signed for this year. Along with Saad that will be an amazing 2 pronged attack.

wheelbarrow said:
Javid dont forget that footy fundraising season is not August to April man.

I was listening to Peter Ryan on one FM about 12 mths ago, Re Tats $ raising efforts. I cant remember the exact ammount of individual fundraisers they had but i do know it was in the high 80's or 90's for 12 mths.

Some one up around there can correct me on that figure but i do know that at the time i heard it, i thought it was alot of manpower for the com to undertake. And before all the smart arse remarks come out about Tats spending over the yrs, lets not forget boys that they are not the lone rangers when it comes to private sponsors putting long arms into short pockets.

Meh i'm sick of you euroa and Seymour blokes talking about whos got the most cash $$$ and this player gets this, this one gets that.

Both of these football clubs obviously don't have the personal to develop their junior and current players and and have to go fishing elsewhere to be competitive, they are turning the GVFL into a league in which ever team has the most money wins the most games.....

Which hopefully will not be the case again this year.:thumbsdown:

:p
LOBSTER said:
Interesting reading in the shep news today that Jarrod Illett will not be playing for shep swans. Not to good for the swans as they were supposedly the club who were going to be big improvers once crazy johns sponsored them. Is that still happening?

I heard a very interesting rumour today regarding a few Shep Swans players. Apparently these players will see how the club is going after round four and if they haven't won a game, then they will head out to play for Ardmona. The names mentioned were Rachele and four others.

ECHUCABOY said:
Meh i'm sick of you euroa and Seymour blokes talking about whos got the most cash $$$ and this player gets this, this one gets that.

Both of these football clubs obviously don't have the personal to develop their junior and current players and and have to go fishing elsewhere to be competitive, they are turning the GVFL into a league in which ever team has the most money wins the most games.....

Echucaboy, you're making out as if Seymour and Euroa have started some sort of revolution in the past two seasons by forking out dough to ensure their footy teams are competitive.
Come on!
Plenty of other clubs were doing the same thing long before these clubs cottoned onto it.
The wheel will turn.

Grandale said:
Echucaboy, you're making out as if Seymour and Euroa have started some sort of revolution in the past two seasons by forking out dough to ensure their footy teams are competitive.
Come on!
Plenty of other clubs were doing the same thing long before these clubs cottoned onto it.
The wheel will turn.

I can't help but feel a touch of Monty Burnsisms from you grandale

see my vest, see my vest .......

ECHUCABOY said:

I am not a Seymour or Euroa supporter but where else do you want them to get there players from??? Euroa is a town of 2,500 people so naturally they aren't going to have 15-20 gun footballers so they have to rely on the influx of a few Melbourne players as they did last season. Seymour are in a similar boat yet they have a bit bigger population to draw from. Although I don't totally agree with these clubs doin it they don't have much choice.

HJ32 said:
I can't help but feel a touch of Monty Burnsisms from you grandale

see my vest, see my vest .......

hahaha thats quite humourous!

Well Grandale i'll include mansfield in that bracket aswell......................

The southern teams in the GV are pretty lucky that they are close to Melbourne. Seymour is only an hours drive and Euroa, Mansfield and Benalla are fairly close (maybe). They have a good advantage over teams like Kyabram for example in that they can access metro teams more easily. I agree Grandale because it certainly can't/won't last forever.

bradrowe#32 said:
The southern teams in the GV are pretty lucky that they are close to Melbourne. Seymour is only an hours drive and Euroa, Mansfield and Benalla are fairly close (maybe). They have a good advantage over teams like Kyabram for example in that they can access metro teams more easily. I agree Grandale because it certainly can't/won't last forever.

Short term fix for a long term goal...........deosn't work;)

half time lollies said:
I am not a Seymour or Euroa supporter but where else do you want them to get there players from??? Euroa is a town of 2,500 people so naturally they aren't going to have 15-20 gun footballers so they have to rely on the influx of a few Melbourne players as they did last season. Seymour are in a similar boat yet they have a bit bigger population to draw from. Although I don't totally agree with these clubs doin it they don't have much choice.

Yep, agree with this. The spending spree won't last forever, as it never does for Tatura, but you have to do what you have to do, to win games. Which is what Euroa and Seymour did last year (and Seymour the year before)

But when a team, Seymour/Euroa/Mansfield or any team can stay at the top for a prolonged period of time, as some more Northern teams have in the past 10-12 years, then you will earn respect.

This is very unlikely if you constantly have a philosophy of pay-to-win. As has been mentioned on here previously (forget by who) a good supply of local junior talent is the key to staying at the top. Until you get this, you are just doing what you have to.

Doona2 said:
How could Euroa offer anybody much coin with Hilton on over $1000 a game? Got it from a source within the Maggies nest that the town is divided on the whole expenditure issue and if they fail to win the flag in 2006 all hell will break loose.
Where do the get the coin from...If hilton's on that much,what would gilliland be on than.What about the locals they'd be peeved ??

half time lollies said:

Not 100% sure what you mean by the last comment. Rochy is the same size as Euroa and has competed in probably 10 of the last 12 or so finals series.. and I don't think Euroa and Seymour have necessarily be shelling out more than other teams, but because they've got top players, who have performed well, people assume that they're on enormous $. For example, Singh was prob on a fair bit more than Grainger last year, and there will no doubt be players at Tat, Benalla, Mooroopna this year on way more coin than any player (except maybe Hilton) from Euroa and Seymour.. I reckon both clubs have been exceptionally smart recruiting groups of mates to play together, who are all talented and enjoy playing footy together and being successful..

And to answer journeyman's question, I'd rate Scanlon ahead of Habers. He's genuinely tough, exceptionally fit, pretty quick and has a real touch of class about him. And he can also kick goals. If anything, he tends to go too short at times and doesn't have a really penetrating kick. A very talented acquisition to any side, non the less. If he has gone to Seymour, and is on $600/game, they'd definitely be getting value for $..

BIGANT said:
What about the locals they'd be peeved ??

Perhaps the locals - many of whom have played at these clubs for quite some time without tasting success - are just happy to be able to say that they are part of a successful club for once.

BIGANT said:
Where do the get the coin from...If hilton's on that much,what would gilliland be on than.What about the locals they'd be peeved ??

Well thats what I was told BIGANT, apparently the players are ok but many long time supporters definately are not. Maybe one of FOOTYBOSS' can shed some light as Ive only been told this via a person at cricket last weekend.

On the clearance/rego front Jarrod Best, Nick Aloi and Karl Norman at Mooroopna, Hilton's paperwork gone in also, Its shaping as another big year for the GV

T.Perry said:
Not 100% sure what you mean by the last comment. Rochy is the same size as Euroa and has competed in probably 10 of the last 12 or so finals series.. and I don't think Euroa and Seymour have necessarily be shelling out more than other teams, but because they've got top players, who have performed well, people assume that they're on enormous $. For example, Singh was prob on a fair bit more than Grainger last year, and there will no doubt be players at Tat, Benalla, Mooroopna this year on way more coin than any player (except maybe Hilton) from Euroa and Seymour.. I reckon both clubs have been exceptionally smart recruiting groups of mates to play together, who are all talented and enjoy playing footy together and being successful..

And to answer journeyman's question, I'd rate Scanlon ahead of Habers. He's genuinely tough, exceptionally fit, pretty quick and has a real touch of class about him. And he can also kick goals. If anything, he tends to go too short at times and doesn't have a really penetrating kick. A very talented acquisition to any side, non the less. If he has gone to Seymour, and is on $600/game, they'd definitely be getting value for $..

I mean that they can't keep spending money like they are otherwise they will go belly up!

ECHUCABOY said:
Short term fix for a long term goal...........deosn't work;)

Echucaboy, what you also have to realise is that Seymour and Euroa don't have a drawcard like the mighty Murray that entices people to move to their town. Echuca would have a lot of quality footballers lob on their doorstep just because they have moved to the region for work or whatever reason.
Sure, Seymour's got the black train at Elliott Reserve, but that's never pulled the tourists like it once did ever since the asbestos scare of the mid-1990s.

ilovetogetblind said:
But when a team, Seymour/Euroa/Mansfield or any team can stay at the top for a prolonged period of time, as some more Northern teams have in the past 10-12 years, then you will earn respect.

Euroa have been in 6 finals series in the last 9 years, would that qualify?
It would measure up with most other clubs in that period.

BIGANT, have a guess where Hilton & Gilliland are originally from.

As Grandale said before, let's not start talking like this is some sort of football revolution.

A few posters on this board are talking like their clubs have never paid more than a couple of players!

Remember, history doesn't only count the last one or two years.

Grandale said:
Echucaboy, what you also have to realise is that Seymour and Euroa don't have a drawcard like the mighty Murray that entices people to move to their town. Echuca would have a lot of quality footballers lob on their doorstep just because they have moved to the region for work or whatever reason.
Sure, Seymour's got the black train at Elliott Reserve, but that's never pulled the tourists like it once did ever since the asbestos scare of the mid-1990s.[/QUOTE]

:D :D :D

i've actually heard that Dylan Butler and his henchmen hold most recruiting meetings on the Emmylou Paddlesteamer..... gets 'em signed everytime... then they head home and watch "all the rivers run".

does Singrid Thornton do it for you EB?

Grandale said:
Sure, Seymour's got the black train at Elliott Reserve, but that's never pulled the tourists like it once did ever since the asbestos scare of the mid-1990s.

So your saying Rochy pulls alot of people to its magnificent township.........give me a break Grandale. Euroa/seymour and Rochy are the same sorta size, difference D.Williams and a bunch of loyal coaches, officals, volunteers and players. THATS WHAT MAKES A FOOTY CLUB!!!!!!

Grandale said:

Know a bloke who got his first ****job at the old black train, never played at Seymour but still talks about the joint a lot.

HJ32 said:
Grandale said:
Sure, Seymour's got the black train at Elliott Reserve, but that's never pulled the tourists like it once did ever since the asbestos scare of the mid-1990s.[/QUOTE]

:D :D :D

i've actually heard that Dylan Butler and his henchmen hold most recruiting meetings on the Emmylou Paddlesteamer..... gets 'em signed everytime... then they head home and watch "all the rivers run".

does Singrid Thornton do it for you EB?

Hahaha........not as much as John Waters......:p

Grandale said:
Love the work Grandale:D

ECHUCABOY said:
So your saying Rochy pulls alot of people to its magnificent township.........give me a break Grandale. Euroa and Rochy are the same sorta size, difference D.Williams and a bunch of loyal coaches, officals, volunteers and players. THATS WHAT MAKES A FOOTY CLUB!!!!!!

mate! it's the birthplace of Sir Hubert Opperman

of course they're gonna play there - what do you think got Johnny Mac over the line?