Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

vote for pedro said:
Yea mate! Ha ha!
True that steele is leaving on Saturday back to WA? Koulas out for season with a knee, so that is another 2 down. Few boys missing out in the twos might actually get a crack now. Smitty buggered his ankle at work the other day too apparently!
Yes a big loss there with Steele and Stan.
2 senior players but it opens the door for the other blokes.

Sidey_87 said:
There's a 90% chance.
United have a few injuries but hopefully Smithy can get back to his best in a few weeks.

What's the feeling around United Sidey 87 - I see looking at the scores that you've lost the past three and it looks like you've had chances to win them. It would be a big let down if you didn't make the finals wouldn't it?

Sidey_87 said:
Yes a big loss there with Steele and Stan.
2 senior players but it opens the door for the other blokes.

And with schirmer out for a while the next two games won't be as easy as expected

How has Steve Scott's form been?

Well were only four rounds into the season so you can't look to far into how the season will pan out, but because i felt like posting I thought i would throw in some observations....

Kyabram seem to be the new Rochy of the leauge, may lack the names everyone wants to talk about but will take it right up to much fancied opponents- judging by their last two weeks versus Seymour and Benalla. Wouldn't be suprised if they slip into the 6.

Early days yet but Benalla had alot of fan fair at the start of last season also... enough said.

Shepp Swans are flying and unless they get voted out for "going under the radar" might suprise alot of people by seasons end. I bet Jim Kelly is suprised the list is stronger this year and may even cross over half-way through the year to get a ones gig???

inlimbo said:
I bet Jim Kelly is suprised the list is stronger this year and may even cross over half-way through the year to get a ones gig???

Is that the Jamie Kelly who's put ina clearance to Broadford inlimbo? Will he hang around or do you mean he'll look to head back to the Swans if they're a finals threat? I hope for the locals sake he does stay coz big Angwin cant seem to get thru a full game at the minute

centreman said:
What's the feeling around United Sidey 87 - I see looking at the scores that you've lost the past three and it looks like you've had chances to win them. It would be a big let down if you didn't make the finals wouldn't it?
Yes our past 3 games have been heartbreakers, especially Mooroopna and Euroa.
I feel we should have beaten Mooroopna and Echuca, we had off day's.
Our disposal was shocking.
Although on the weekend we played some good footy.
It was just the 9 goal to 1 3rd term which cost us.
I really don't think Echuca are as good as our scoreline showed, they will be a good side in the wet though.
But the boy's haven't totally dropped their head's.
We are confident we can play finals.
Just have to play 4 quarters of footy.

akka dakka said:
And with schirmer out for a while the next two games won't be as easy as expected

How has Steve Scott's form been?
The next 2 games will be very tough, but this year there are no easy games at all.
The backline hasn't been too bad without Schirmer, Phil Carroll has stepped up a gear.
It will be a huge plus having him back though.
Scotty has been ok, last week was good.
Lightning quick.

Doona2 said:
Is that the Jamie Kelly who's put ina clearance to Broadford inlimbo? Will he hang around or do you mean he'll look to head back to the Swans if they're a finals threat? I hope for the locals sake he does stay coz big Angwin cant seem to get thru a full game at the minute

I think we have the same person doona, i didn't realise he was up your way!! Has he played a game yet?? Last i seen he was in the swans magoos! I was just talking in reference to his departing the lions mid way through last season.... Whats next Inness and Spargo heading up :D

inlimbo said:
I think we have the same person doona, i didn't realise he was up your way!! Has he played a game yet?? Last i seen he was in the swans magoos! I was just talking in reference to his departing the lions mid way through last season.... Whats next Inness and Spargo heading up :D

just like to say that your posts inlimbo are informative and you sound like you are really switched on. :p

numba4 said:
does anyone know whos still left in interleauge?

Spoke to Mark Adamson last night and said alot of the boys have pulled out through injuries and other reasons . Storer ,stevens , norman , singh , cowman, all pulled out last night im told. But hes still got a smile on his face when he talks about a forward line of Newman , Saad, Forys ,Bamford , and Bowen if he plays.

Wayne Weideman said:
just like to say that your posts inlimbo are informative and you sound like you are really switched on. :p

This sounds like a mate of inlimbo to me :p

inlimbo said:

J. Kelly hasn't played yet, as for Spargo and Inness I think they're both made of a bit better stuff than that besides you blokes are looking the goods aren't ya's?

jmain14 said:
are there any rochy players playing/in the squad does anyone know??

Gday mate, long time no chat.

Rochy have a few in the squad:
Carts - apparently withdrew from squad because he is going overseas soon.
Stretch - made the squad, but did his hammy in first round. not sure about him.
Heather - still in squad. pretty good start to the year.
Bowen - still in squad as far as i know. has been dominating.

Bit of info brad. Heather unlikely to play. would love to but has personal commitments. Think stretch will give it a miss as well. Carts not far from leaving. Bowen will go well.

Rushy Tiger said:
Bit of info brad. Heather unlikely to play. would love to but has personal commitments. Think stretch will give it a miss as well. Carts not far from leaving. Bowen will go well.

I love you.

Rushy Tiger said:

bradrowe#32 said:
I love you.

Cut it out you two. Public forum.

Think you could be on the mark there Rushy Tiger.

Stretch wouldn't get a kick anyway... f....n hopeless that c&*t. Might have a few beers though!

Will be good to see how Bowen goes, have a feeling the standard will suit him very well.

might as well make a 6th rochy post in a row.

this bowen bloke sounds like an absolute beauty. seems some handy recruiting has been done there.

Daniel's troops on right track

By Wes Cusworth
May 12 2006
Shepparton News

Steve Daniel would be a dab hand at Texas hold 'em.

If the recently appointed Goulburn Valley Football League coach was in any way concerned about the significance of this weekend's WorkSafe Country Championships in Albury there's no way you'd ever know.

His poker face is too hard to read.

"I can't wait, I'm really looking forward to it," Daniel said optimistically in anticipation of the weekend's championships at Lavington.

"At the end of the day you've got to be careful the way you work the whole system.

"You get a lot of players coming together that have got different game plans and different structures and they all play differently.

"I suppose my job is a very important role to get them all jelling and all playing together."

Clearly Daniel's premiership winning methods with Seymour and in the short time at the helm of the interleague side reflect time spent at the feet of Kangaroos' premiership coach and current Carlton mentor Dennis Pagan, with who he spent time as coach of the Northern Bullants.

However, Daniel concedes he won't be looking too far outside the square in his attempts to add more silverware to the league's trophy cabinet this weekend.

"I've got a couple of things in place that are pretty simple and pretty predictable to ourselves," he said about the manner in which he'd approach the games against Ballarat, Ovens and Murray and West Gippsland-Latrobe.

"That'll hopefully point us in the right direction."

DONT KNOW ABOUT ANYONE ELSE BUT I AM SICK TO DEATH OF HEARING HOW STEVE DANIEL WAS AN ASSISTANT TO PAGAN. HE SAT IN THE BOX AND MOVED NAMES ON A WHITE BOARD AT BEST. GET SERIOUS BOYS:mad: :mad:

FOOTYBOSS said:
DONT KNOW ABOUT ANYONE ELSE BUT I AM SICK TO DEATH OF HEARING HOW STEVE DANIEL WAS AN ASSISTANT TO PAGAN. HE SAT IN THE BOX AND MOVED NAMES ON A WHITE BOARD AT BEST. GET SERIOUS BOYS:mad: :mad:
Is that a bit of jealousy there boss? Cause he didnt ask you to join him at seymore.

Anyone know of any links that will provide information on who is in the teams that the GV will face this weekend. If anyone knows, is julian field lining up for ballarat.

The VCFL site would have to be one of the worst going around wouldn't it?

Also what happened to the GFL and their interleague representation