Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

bradrowe#32 said:
Interesting score. I must I admit I was suprised that Euroa allowed the worst Rochy team I have seen in 15 years kick 15 goals. Surely they weren't playing disrespectful footy again?
Your losing respect with every post Bradrowe#32. If you are a true Rochy supporter you would know that no matter what side rochy have on the park they still have a crack. They are a young side who will be better for the run this year but they will always throw a challenge at you. Wouldnt be surprised if they push seymour in their next clash. As for us playing disrespectful footy, we always respected Rochy as they pushed us a couple of times last year when everyone else thought they would get thrashed. It's good that we are playing good footy at the moment but i believe we still have a lot of improving to do as a group and we have a tough run home. Should be an interesting last few rounds to sort out finals positions. Will come down to the wire for some teams you would have to think!

GVFLFAN said:
Your losing respect with every post Bradrowe#32. If you are a true Rochy supporter you would know that no matter what side rochy have on the park they still have a crack. They are a young side who will be better for the run this year but they will always throw a challenge at you. Wouldnt be surprised if they push seymour in their next clash. As for us playing disrespectful footy, we always respected Rochy as they pushed us a couple of times last year when everyone else thought they would get thrashed. It's good that we are playing good footy at the moment but i believe we still have a lot of improving to do as a group and we have a tough run home. Should be an interesting last few rounds to sort out finals positions. Will come down to the wire for some teams you would have to think!

I don't think I am disrespecting Rochy. I realise that they are a young team (which I've said about 10 times on this thread), but the team they had on the park Saturday contained about 8 blokes that are only ressies quality. That's a reality and the result showed it accordingly.

It pains me to see the club at such a level.

Agree on your last point, it should be a great finish to the season with 7 teams separated by one game.

western star said:
Just got off the phone talking to an euroa identity, the famous no.41 has lost the rat from his shoulders. His mullet was cut off and will be auction off at the goods and services auction. Remarkable, the words from his mouth was that he now has to be more mature, and looking for a spot in the seniors.

Aparently his also kicked a 45m goal on the run, and then high five every player on his team on the way back to his position.

Is this true?

Whippet can you confirm this.

Obviously another fan of mine western star?
I apologise for the delay in my posts as i know all you bigfooty readers eagerly await my highly valid input. Yes i am now all business in the hair department as i am now highly sort after for footy promos, photos etc. After my stellar performance saturday i expect to be lining up next to graing this saturday against tat. I suppose i should ring the gatekeeper at tat and warn him out that he will be flat chat with all the patrons coming through the gate this satdy? Wish me luck, your mate and idol Whip!

bradrowe#32 said:
I don't think I am disrespecting Rochy. I realise that they are a young team (which I've said about 10 times on this thread), but the team they had on the park Saturday contained about 8 blokes that are only ressies quality. That's a reality and the result showed it accordingly.

It pains me to see the club at such a level.

Agree on your last point, it should be a great finish to the season with 7 teams separated by one game.

Well said rowey, I know a bloke like yourself who has grown up around the RFC would know never to disrespect a rochy senior side. But as you said the reality is that they are currently feilding senior side's that are well below GVFL quality. Remember the days growing up rowey when getting a senior berth for the RFC was a massive honour, with no disrespect to the new blokes coming through it most certainly doesn't hold the same prestige these days.

I fear that it is only going to get worse for the rochy footy club, before it will get better.

Seems Seymour's rapidly growing injury list has taken its toll on the club website. Day in the life of Bernie Haberman has been advertised for ages but still is yet to appear, no rumour mill or look-a-likes of late either.

Dont let it go lads . . . . many of us appreciate the work ya's put into http://www.seymourfc.vcfl.com.au

:thumbsu:

The Whip said:
Obviously another fan of mine western star?
I apologise for the delay in my posts as i know all you bigfooty readers eagerly await my highly valid input. Yes i am now all business in the hair department as i am now highly sort after for footy promos, photos etc. After my stellar performance saturday i expect to be lining up next to graing this saturday against tat. I suppose i should ring the gatekeeper at tat and warn him out that he will be flat chat with all the patrons coming through the gate this satdy? Wish me luck, your mate and idol Whip!

i to must say/admit that i to am a fan of the #41 from euroa twos. its the only pleasure i actually get playing at euroa - to see our man eagery pacing up and down the interchange line, gloves and all ready to get into the action. its players like this that makes country footy what it is, and id be a little upset along with every other fan if the rumor was true about the mullet!

just been looking at the euroa fc website. prob the best of all teams at the moment.

http://www.euroafnc.vcfl.com.au

and came across the man everyone is talking about....

697_26381m.jpg

Doona2 said:
Seems Seymour's rapidly growing injury list has taken its toll on the club website. Day in the life of Bernie Haberman has been advertised for ages but still is yet to appear, no rumour mill or look-a-likes of late either.

Dont let it go lads . . . . many of us appreciate the work ya's put into http://www.seymourfc.vcfl.com.au

:thumbsu:

Thats the point of the day in the life of Bernie Haberman...nothing interesting happens...its just a blank page...

But appologies, your concerns will be passed onto those responsible for the lack of material doona. Will set about getting it updated.

Don't really have much to contribute, I just had to get this once great thread back on the front page.
No Seymour, no Official GVFL thread I say.

No discussion here so i thought i might have a go at another team of the year so far and try and get some feedback and what not about what players should be in and shouldnt be. Im open for comments and do doubt my side wont be perfect but ill have a go nonethless.

Veale (Swans) Anderson (Sey) Maddox (Echu)

Bl.Campbell (Moor) Hall (Moor) Mellington (Bears)

Maher (Swans) Wellington (Tat) Clayton (Eur)

Martinello (Ben) Br.Campbell (Moor) Priest (Ben)

Mckenzie (Ben) Newman (Ky) Hopkins (Man)

R: Porter (Ben) Finn (Ky) Hotton (Man)

Int: Kirby (Tat) White (Swans) Hazleman (Utd) Bowen (Roch) Singh (Moor) Sage (Eur)

Thoughts guys?

cookie33 said:
No discussion here so i thought i might have a go at another team of the year so far and try and get some feedback and what not about what players should be in and shouldnt be. Im open for comments and do doubt my side wont be perfect but ill have a go nonethless.

Veale (Swans) Anderson (Sey) Downey (Tat)

Int: Kirby (Tat) Maddox (Ech) White (Swans) Hazleman (Utd) Bowen (Roch) Singh (Moor) Sage (Eur)

Thoughts guys?

Is Cookie33 your new alias Tige?

Even though he's injured now, I reckon Hooper would have to go close to getting a game.
Brendan Liddell is another who's had a great year for the Lions.

Some good players in the side. Can't go past Porter in the ruck after what I saw on Saturday, Schottner still gets a guernsey on the bench as far as I am concerned.

I see two sides have picked Anderson at fullback. No criticism of Joffa as a player however he hasn't played down at fullback much in the last few weeks. I would be interested in other candidates for that job for a few ideas.

The Swans winger McCarthy isn't it, who has kicked a lot of goals, and young Priest from Benalla would give things a bit of a shake as well as Durie from Echuca ahead of Wellington. Sometimes the standout players in weaker sides may get more credit than champions in middle of the road or better sides. It is also typical in the AFL where Rising Star nominees usually come from weaker sides because the kids get a game each week, whereas a rookie at Adelaide or West Coast (eg Selwood) gets none of the accolades of a Deledio or Griffin, as good as they are.

Does anyone know the ruling on eligibility as far as how many 1st grade games a player can play before being ineligible for the 2nd grade finals.And how many games must be played to qualify.

Grandale said:
Is Cookie33 your new alias Tige?

Even though he's injured now, I reckon Hooper would have to go close to getting a game.
Brendan Liddell is another who's had a great year for the Lions.

rah rah

Peter The Legend said:
The Swans winger McCarthy isn't it, who has kicked a lot of goals, and young Priest from Benalla would give things a bit of a shake as well as Durie from Echuca ahead of Wellington. Sometimes the standout players in weaker sides may get more credit than champions in middle of the road or better sides. It is also typical in the AFL where Rising Star nominees usually come from weaker sides because the kids get a game each week, whereas a rookie at Adelaide or West Coast (eg Selwood) gets none of the accolades of a Deledio or Griffin, as good as they are.
that is a very good point peter. definitely makes ya think.

all the rules on qualification were in the weekender on the weekend if ya can get ya hands on one

I don't think you can't pick joffa just because he hasn't played full-back for the last few weeks. The only reason he's been up the ground and in different positions is because of the injury crisis at seymour and i think also this makes him an even better pick for his versatility.

Grandale said:
Don't really have much to contribute, I just had to get this once great thread back on the front page.
No Seymour, no Official GVFL thread I say.

Good work Grandy this deserves page 1 status always.

Thought some of the Euroa faithful mighta stepped up to the plate lately with the Lions dropping a few matches.

Any word on the injury front at Kings Park, who's ready to resume in the coming weeks?

Doona2 said:
Good work Grandy this deserves page 1 status always.

Thought some of the Euroa faithful mighta stepped up to the plate lately with the Lions dropping a few matches.

Any word on the injury front at Kings Park, who's ready to resume in the coming weeks?

yeah doona i'm pretty sure my man reidy will be back after the bye but not sure about anyone else

cookie33 said:

Veale (Swans) Anderson (Sey) Downey (Tat)

Int: Kirby (Tat) Maddox (Ech) White (Swans) Hazleman (Utd) Bowen (Roch) Singh (Moor) Sage (Eur)

Thoughts guys?
I would have Singh at Full Forward, he is leading the goal kicking after all. Take out Maher and put in McCarthy from Swans. In the backline surely Adrain Hamill has to get spot along with Tim Hooper. Damon Clarke was having a very good year before getting injured and his last few games have been very good as well, must come under consideration. Another player you have failed to mention is Sam Dawes from Untied who would have to be a roughie for the comp medal. A goal kicking on baller who has been in the best on most occasions this year.

Doona2 said:
Nah not to worried about what they are doing Doona. We know they have a few injuries but have a very easy run home though. we are just making sure we make the finals as its very tight and a slight slip up and the season could be over.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Nah not to worried about what they are doing Doona. We know they have a few injuries but have a very easy run home though. we are just making sure we make the finals as its very tight and a slight slip up and the season could be over.

Whats this talk on the DVFL thread about Gibson and yaself to Watsonia

cookie33 said:
No i am not Mr.Tige i however know him as an acuqantance when i was involved at Coburg and im only throwing him in the side as ive seen he has been in the best for a faur chunk of this season. I have only seen 3 games this year of GV footy 2 of which where Tat and the other Seymour who i followed closely last season due to the Preston guys playing there. My side is based on reputation and from what ive seen in the best and alot of what you guys say. Grandale i do however pose a question to you, who would you rather take Mr.Tiges spot at BP?? noone seems that keen on Pappin and Maddox hasnt been overly fantastic this season by all reports, sorry but i struggle to find any standouts from my knowledge.

I gave you one: Tim Hooper (although he'd be better off on the HBF).

What happened at Kyneton last Saturday Grandale?

head67 said:
Does anyone know the ruling on eligibility as far as how many 1st grade games a player can play before being ineligible for the 2nd grade finals.And how many games must be played to qualify.

First of all, you need to play in two matches to qualify to represent your club in finals.
However, if one of those matches is at senior level the player must play in SIX reserves matches to be eligible to play in the reserves finals series if their senior team is not involved.
So, really, you can play in up to 12 senior games and still be eligible for ressuies finals so long as you have played in 6 games in the Twos.
This could be the big thing standing between the Lions and the Twos flag. With all their injuries in the Ones plenty of the players they thought they'd be relying on in the Twos finals have spent a fair amount of time in the Ones and will be getting dangerously close to not getting their 6 games in.
The same thing happened two years ago. The senior bombed out at the semi-final stage but remarkably we had less players to pick from after they'd bit the dust than what we did with them in because blokes like Tom Robinson, Mick Shiels and Jake Anderson - who had been dropped from the seniors - weren't available because they hadn't played 6 games in the Twos during the H&A season.