• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Campbell to win it in front of hotton for me. Seen mooroopna couple of times and campbell best in each. mansfield once and hotton best but also heard some very good things about him. bowen early leader, but fade. campbell 22, hotton 20, clayton 18

FOOTYBOSS said:
$2.85 Shane Clayton
$3.50 Trent Hotton
$4.85 Sam Dawes
$5.00 Matthew McCarty
$8.50 Elliott Bowen
$10.00 Balraj Singh
$10.00 Col Durie
$12.00 Daniel Sage
$12.00 Brent Colbert
$12.50 Mark McKenzie
You have to have Brad Campbell in there. He has had a tremendous year and doesnt mouth off to umpires. I would put him on the same line as McCarty at $5.

LOBSTER said:
You have to have Brad Campbell in there. He has had a tremendous year and doesnt mouth off to umpires. I would put him on the same line as McCarty at $5.

McCarty at fives is a waste of money.
Campbell should be on the same line as Hotton.
McKenzie at 12.50 is as good as getting the diva at sixes like I did last year.
Bowen will have 12 votes after four rounds, but agree will fade badly.
Hopkins (mans) should be at 10's.
There should be an actual book for this.
Who wants to set up an SP out the back of the RSL on Morrison Medal night? lol

lion's_roar said:
Not to many key position forwards win league medals. That will go against Mckenzie no doubt.

lion's_roar said:

We could have a reunion at the RSL with all the bigfooty posters, although I reckon it would turn into a massive slanging match.

bradrowe#32 said:
We could have a reunion at the RSL with all the bigfooty posters, although I reckon it would turn into a massive slanging match.
Only if everyone had there laptops out though rowey.... It would be boring otherwise.

Havent heard from Tige19 for a while. Has finally shut up shop after realising that his team is no good at all. Ive never seen a person pump up their team as much as what he did at the beginning of the season, only to fall by the wayside once lose all the time. Minus the one win they had.

Tige we want to hear your views about the year. Are you staying at Tatura next year or jumping ship like your mate Marty McGrath did.

LOBSTER said:
Only if everyone had there laptops out though rowey.... It would be boring otherwise.

Havent heard from Tige19 for a while. Has finally shut up shop after realising that his team is no good at all. Ive never seen a person pump up their team as much as what he did at the beginning of the season, only to fall by the wayside once lose all the time. Minus the one win they had.

Tige we want to hear your views about the year. Are you staying at Tatura next year or jumping ship like your mate Marty McGrath did.

Nice post champ, would not normally reply to pathetic dribble but feel inclined to add something as what your saying is absoloute nonsense.

Never did i say that we would have a top side, i never once mentioned finals or that we where gonna win a flag or anything like that. If you would i would love for you to search through the thread and find anything to back up what your saying since ive joined Tat.

You are a goose budddy....

Martie left for family reasons, to be honest i dont blame him.

In regards to next year, this year hasnt even finished, would prefer to concentrate on trying to get a kick and have another win or 2 before the season shuts up shop.

cheers

tige19 said:
Nice post champ, would not normally reply to pathetic dribble but feel inclined to add something as what your saying is absoloute nonsense.

Never did i say that we would have a top side, i never once mentioned finals or that we where gonna win a flag or anything like that. If you would i would love for you to search through the thread and find anything to back up what your saying since ive joined Tat.

In regards to next year, this year hasnt even finished, would prefer to concentrate on trying to get a kick and have another win or 2 before the season shuts up shop.

cheers

Waht about the game last Sat tige19. Have you guys improved a bit? How did you rate Euroa?

As a matter of interest who would be your top 2 players to win the morrison and or b&f from each club?
havent seen much from most teams but here's a stab.

benella: mckenzie + vallender
echuca: maddox + ??
euroa: sage + clayton
ky: finn + newman
mans: hotton + storer
moor: br campbel + singh? FF dont get many votes
rochy: bowan + oliver
sey: haberman + liddell
bears: allan + harrap
united: sidebottom + dawes
swans: mccarty + maher
tat: kirby + L. wellington

head67 said:
Waht about the game last Sat tige19. Have you guys improved a bit? How did you rate Euroa?

Saturdays game was really tough, its the kind of footy we want to play when we havent got the most skillfull players running around. I think the difference of late with us is that we know we lack some bigger players which means we have to alot harder at the contest, we tackle hard and harass alot and we push numbers back thats probably why lately sides havent been putting a heap of goals on us. Saturdays side wasnt one of the better sides on paper, we were missing Willoughby at CHB and is an interlegue rep player and also Crawford and Jarrod Pollard who are 2 of our better players.

I think Euroa could be be anything if they wanted to, they have talent across all boards. We heard before the match that there has been some in house fighting, weather its true or not is another matter but it certantly sounded as though on the field not everyone is happy with eachother. In saying that if they can put together some good footy and really want to play for eachother i think they have the capabillities to go all the way, not saying they will or even think they will but they have the cattle to do so.

I like Benalla, they are clearly the best team we have faced, there ball movement is unbelievable and skill level is very high. Shepp Swans were also a team that once they get rolling where ultra impressive, same as Utd and even Bears.

My GF tip is Mooroopna vs Benalla with the Saints home.

cheers

#1 COACH said:
As a matter of interest who would be your top 2 players to win the morrison and or b&f from each club?

Benalla...mackenzie and macfarlane, with "The Kamikaze Kid" Joe Martinielloe a smokey.

Echuca...Col Durie would have to poll somewhere.

Mansfield you can add old mate Hopkins...Steve Hazelman's had a good year at United. Thrown in Barry Fitzpatrick at Swans...one of the best defenders in comp.

#1 COACH said:

Col Durie for the other player at Echuca. Seymour you can Brent COlbert and at the swans you could most likely add Warburton who has had a fantastic yera, although he missed the last game against Mooroopna.

tige19 said:
Saturdays game was really tough, its the kind of footy we want to play when we havent got the most skillfull players running around. I think the difference of late with us is that we know we lack some bigger players which means we have to alot harder at the contest, we tackle hard and harass alot and we push numbers back thats probably why lately sides havent been putting a heap of goals on us. Saturdays side wasnt one of the better sides on paper, we were missing Willoughby at CHB and is an interlegue rep player and also Crawford and Jarrod Pollard who are 2 of our better players.

I think Euroa could be be anything if they wanted to, they have talent across all boards. We heard before the match that there has been some in house fighting, weather its true or not is another matter but it certantly sounded as though on the field not everyone is happy with eachother. In saying that if they can put together some good footy and really want to play for eachother i think they have the capabillities to go all the way, not saying they will or even think they will but they have the cattle to do so.
It was definately an ugly game of footy to watch. We just did enough to get over the line. tatura have some very good kids coming up through the team.

Its funny how there is a rumour going around the league that we have alot of in house fighting. I can tell you all now there is no such thing happening at the club. I think we proved that with our victory over Seymour in the wet conditions 3 weeks ago. But, you all can believe what you want.

You do hear people go off at each other on the ground, but what footy team doesnt have that happen. Its quickly forgotten about though as we are all very good mates. I think the anger comes from knowing that we can perform a fair bit better then what we are at present and are struggling with our consistancy at the moment.

tige19 said:

cheers
My apologies Tige.

You never said that they would be a top side, but you did state that you would be going a fair bit better then what you are currently doing.

I know this year hasnt finished, but when you are sitting on the botom of the ladder with 4 games to go, surely you have thought about what you are doing next year in regards to football.

LOBSTER said:
My apologies Tige.

You never said that they would be a top side, but you did state that you would be going a fair bit better then what you are currently doing.

I know this year hasnt finished, but when you are sitting on the botom of the ladder with 4 games to go, surely you have thought about what you are doing next year in regards to football.

Where do you play Lobster?

Rushy Tiger said:
Xavier Campbell would have to be up there for Echuca's BF. Very good player

I agree with you Rushy Tiger, Xavier Campbell will go close to the B and F for Echuca. At this stage I would say the voting would be pretty tight. Col Durie would lead from probably X and Josh Maddox. Maddox would have been a clear leader eight rounds in but has been quiet of late. They are the only three with winning chances, however surprisingly Josh Edgar will poll pretty well.

FOOTYBOSS said:
It was definately an ugly game of footy to watch. We just did enough to get over the line. tatura have some very good kids coming up through the team.

Its funny how there is a rumour going around the league that we have alot of in house fighting. I can tell you all now there is no such thing happening at the club. I think we proved that with our victory over Seymour in the wet conditions 3 weeks ago. But, you all can believe what you want.

You do hear people go off at each other on the ground, but what footy team doesnt have that happen. Its quickly forgotten about though as we are all very good mates. I think the anger comes from knowing that we can perform a fair bit better then what we are at present and are struggling with our consistancy at the moment.
Talking to one of the boys, he felt the mood was a bit flat on sat. The clubs run home could be seen more as pos than a neg. At least you'l know where you are as a team at the end of the H&A.

head67 said:
Talking to one of the boys, he felt the mood was a bit flat on sat. The clubs run home could be seen more as pos than a neg. At least you'l know where you are as a team at the end of the H&A.
Yeah the mood was a bit flat, but it was really a nothing game. We were never going to drop it and the boys just went through the motions. Im sure things will turn with the run we have home. Its like a mini final each week. At least its in our own hands on where we finish at the end of the year. Im still confident we will make the finals and go very well once we are there.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Yeah the mood was a bit flat, but it was really a nothing game. We were never going to drop it and the boys just went through the motions. Im sure things will turn with the run we have home. Its like a mini final each week. At least its in our own hands on where we finish at the end of the year. Im still confident we will make the finals and go very well once we are there.

What's the go with Gleeson FB?
Is he on the move with you and Gibson Next year?

Hotton should win the league medal this year, Mansfield have had enough wins and i can't see many players taking votes off him, maybe Hopkins.
Also Matty Byers will go well again.
Don't think anyone from United will go close because we are not a team of champions but a champion team :)
Mooroopna have got too many standout players who will pinch votes from each other, same with swannies and Benalla.
Bowen will be leading after 4 rounds.
Hotton
Byers
>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Rest

But still 4 rounds to go so not over yet.

Sidey_87 said:
Hotton should win the league medal this year, Mansfield have had enough wins and i can't see many players taking votes off him, maybe Hopkins.
Also Matty Byers will go well again.
Don't think anyone from United will go close because we are not a team of champions but a champion team :)
Mooroopna have got too many standout players who will pinch votes from each other, same with swannies and Benalla.
Bowen will be leading after 4 rounds.
Hotton
Byers
>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Rest

But still 4 rounds to go so not over yet.
Good call on Hotton there Sidey. Looking at that he would be a massive chance. Not to sure about Byers this year, I think he has missed a few games due to injury.

Should be a ripper of game up in Mansfield this weekend, the other 2 games look a formality.

Any news on the Seymour line up. Any of the stars back in action this weekend?

FOOTYBOSS said:
Any news on the Seymour line up. Any of the stars back in action this weekend?

Got a few back, only one to affect the senior line up is pilling im led to believe. Hooper, Reid, Saad, Bailey, Douglas, all out still at this stage...

Ressies finally fielding 22 fit players this week...first time in probably 8 to 10 weeks. With those noted above still to return.

Tigers would have to be confident they can cause an upset this week. Probably wouldn't even be an upset considering the lions form...most people will probably just pick the tigers. Maybe Rowey can inform us of any injury concerns at Rochy?

fat back pocket said:
Got a few back, only one to affect the senior line up is pilling im led to believe. Hooper, Reid, Saad, Bailey, Douglas, all out still at this stage...

Ressies finally fielding 22 fit players this week...first time in probably 8 to 10 weeks. With those noted above still to return.

Tigers would have to be confident they can cause an upset this week. Probably wouldn't even be an upset considering the lions form...most people will probably just pick the tigers. Maybe Rowey can inform us of any injury concerns at Rochy?

what's saad done mate? also is that bailey a ruckman that is always injured?