• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

OKFL 2017

They won't finish top 2 but it won't matter, hand them the cup now

Let me get this right, we're writing off a team that hasn't lost a game, has a percentage of 375 and their lowest winning margin is 35 pts (next is 65pts against Benalla)???? You guys have got to be joking, right?!?!

Think you'll find arnthehawks is a bit of a troll.

Just what I've been told and read in the paper, don't shoot the messenger
Tarra has lost one key player and Trevor Edwards is not a coach that developes a game plan around one player there spread of talent will definitely cover the loss of Raven.... Glenrowan are going to have to do it the tough way in finals they definitely have the team to beat tarra but they will be in uncharted waters trying to manage there way through a full finals campaign without getting injuries themselves.... Benalla is a dark horse team that will cause tarra and glenrowan some headaches

Can't wait for the round 17 clash between Tarra and the Tigers.

I'm gonna say Tarra will get the chocolates then and in the big dance. But I reckon it will be a couple of close games
canny,raven year ending thayer struggling with his body hoggan and raven not fully fit and the tigers are starting to tick along fresh going into a final series im tipping the same but the tigers to win the big dance

"In a match that threatened to become a sideshow to some interesting officiating, and at times did..."

Hey Nonch - what is the story here?

And if I am not mistaken your other (far less veiled) comments on umps was in another Glenrowan v Milawa match (that one was the mud fight in the 2015 season)

"In a match that threatened to become a sideshow to some interesting officiating, and at times did..."

Hey Nonch - what is the story here?

And if I am not mistaken your other (far less veiled) comments on umps was in another Glenrowan v Milawa match (that one was the mud fight in the 2015 season)

Well spotted. Coincidentally it was almost two years ago to the day at the same ground.

This time the "interesting" decisions came from an umpire I've never seen before, but I heard he might be an old O&M ump. He definitely had some sort of agenda against Glenrowan, to the point of sledging players as they were lining up for goal!

As I've said numerous times, I don't barrack for any team in the O&K and I certainly don't favour Glenrowan over Milawa. In the previous instance I felt it was a number of poor, but not necessarily biased, decisions that effectively decided the result in a very low scoring match.

This time for whatever reason one umpire appeared to have a very obvious bias that impacted the decisions made throughout the entire match. It was actually laughable how bad it was. Had the game been close it would have very quickly spiralled out of control.

This is by no means an attack on umpires. The vast majority do an outstanding job. I'm sure this bloke isn't generally as terrible as he was on Saturday. Maybe he was having a bad day and someone said something that got under his skin. Who knows. But it was an extremely poor display. For what it's worth the other field umpire did a great job.

For all the blokes saying why are we only talking about Glenrowan and Tarra all the time, pretty sure the last few weeks have shown that they are both in a league way above anyone else. I know Benalla are second and well done to them but Tarra destroyed them when they were without some of their stars. Tarra at the moment are playing with a lot of injuries and still getting the job done. Something Glenrowan could take a leaf out of. No excuses no comments of we'll be right when everyone is back, just getting it done. I really do hope Tarra win it this year. Glenrowan are a very good side and could definitely win it. If not are already favourites. But I think most people would prefer to see someone else win it. All coming back and starting to play with 6 rounds to go isn't winning me over. If they actually cared about the club and the league then they would play most of the year.

D
For all the blokes saying why are we only talking about Glenrowan and Tarra all the time, pretty sure the last few weeks have shown that they are both in a league way above anyone else. I know Benalla are second and well done to them but Tarra destroyed them when they were without some of their stars. Tarra at the moment are playing with a lot of injuries and still getting the job done. Something Glenrowan could take a leaf out of. No excuses no comments of we'll be right when everyone is back, just getting it done. I really do hope Tarra win it this year. Glenrowan are a very good side and could definitely win it. If not are already favourites. But I think most people would prefer to see someone else win it. All coming back and starting to play with 6 rounds to go isn't winning me over. If they actually cared about the club and the league then they would play most of the year.
didnt Tarra bring in John McCormick in for 3 games to try get them a flag.... look at glenrowan list you will see majority of players who have been around a very small undeveloped club for 5 years.... our Melbourne boys stick around which said something about the club all tarra and miliwas high profile recruits took the money and run so stop bagging out glenrowan people on here....

Tarra are lucky they got Trev because he demands respect and loyalty or else they would have wasted there money like so many other clubs have chasing Glenrowan.... I hope Benalla do well they also have a great leader in Harry who the boys love and also pay respect to Matt robbo for keeping the boys united taking the load off his brother missed one game in 5 years I think.... I'm glenrowan and hope they do it again but if they don't make it I hope Tarra get up for Trev

A
Stuck around for cash .. what happens when the cash runs out ?
are you blokes serious there is a salary cap and points system glenrowan will have money left at the end of the year it's embarrassing all those clubs like Miliwa, Tarra, bonnie doon I can go on that spent so much wasted money for so many years and always come up short.... 4 grand finals 3 flags you all talked about money but now you can't cause the salary cap is in place no one left glenrowan they just got stronger.... salary cap comes in Miliwa get flogged I still can't believe that's your only argument after 5 years you are a very jealous person

A

are you blokes serious there is a salary cap and points system glenrowan will have money left at the end of the year it's embarrassing all those clubs like Miliwa, Tarra, bonnie doon I can go on that spent so much wasted money for so many years and always come up short.... 4 grand finals 3 flags you all talked about money but now you can't cause the salary cap is in place no one left glenrowan they just got stronger.... salary cap comes in Miliwa get flogged I still can't believe that's your only argument after 5 years you are a very jealous person

Yep, I'm quite sure that Glenrowan have stayed under the salary cap ;)

Mate you have no idea, just another typical glenrowan player/supporter who thinks what his club has done should be praised and it's a miracle that it has all turned out the way it has.

Incase you didn't already notice the points system/salary cap is only new to ovens and king, a few years too late in my opinion. Glenrowan probably will have money left at the end of the season, because aslong as you keep winning flags, your sponsors will keep putting up money and your players will keep travelling back to enjoy that great culture

Mate you have no idea, just another typical glenrowan player/supporter who thinks what his club has done should be praised and it's a miracle that it has all turned out the way it has.

Incase you didn't already notice the points system/salary cap is only new to ovens and king, a few years too late in my opinion. Glenrowan probably will have money left at the end of the season, because aslong as you keep winning flags, your sponsors will keep putting up money and your players will keep travelling back to enjoy that great culture
4 grand finals 3 straight premierships they keep shocking the league and will again just to keep you all sooking every year... maybe a lot of other clubs should put in the hard work get off your ass and help out your clubs instead of worrying about glenrowan every year... you all wrote us off again at the start of the year saying the cash has dried up they start doing what they do best and steam roll everyone and you start to winge again.... it is jealousy you will one day get over it because glenrowan are staying around for a long time

I've heard from a number of people the Glenrowan boys decided as a group they'd try & create history with a 4th consecutive premiership.
I'm led to believe that includes pay cuts this year to fit inside the salary cap. So all power to them I reckon.
But win or lose in 2017 I can't honestly see how the Tigers can continue with such an outstanding list of footballers on a $70,000 budget with a playing coach.
Time will tell I suppose.

A

Not sure you can seriously take a dig at Tarra or Milawa and the way they have spend money v success.

Perhaps your not a long time supporter of the league so I'll help you out with some history.

2007/8 Tarra recruited well from O&M
2008/9 Milawa did the same.

In the decade since both clubs have played finals and finished top 4 every year with the exception of perhaps one or two years.

Tarra 2 flags 3 x R/ups
Milawa 2 flags 5 x R/ups

Tigers have been strong for 4 years but let's not forget where they were from 2008-2012 when comparing clubs.

OKFL 2017