Old Scholars

Saw in yesterday's Mercury that the Hutchins coaching position is up for grabs for next year.

Have it on fairly good authority that Heath Barwin will be coaching at Richmond again next year.

Anyone got any other early rumours?

Saw in yesterday's Mercury that the Hutchins coaching position is up for grabs for next year.

Have it on fairly good authority that Heath Barwin will be coaching at Richmond again next year.

Heard a whisper that Barge is contemplating coming out of of retirement to captain-coach DOSA.

The Rooster's have told the Shepherd King to name his price.

Barge has allegedly given a "Wish List" to the Rooster's committee, this list has the following demands,

1. A upgrade of their canteen facilities to accomodate a wider variety of bakery products.
2. That they will only sell Boags products.
3. That Sportstalk be appointed his assistant coach.
4. $500,000 to sign up a recently retired ex Collingwood captain and key defender to bolster their midfield and backline.
5. An all expenses paid trip to the 2009 AFL grand final if Collingwood make the final two.
6. A weekly "massage" by a selection of fine ladies from a certain Glenorchy establishment of ill repute.
7. Former DOSA superstar Goose McConnon be appointed to the position of Chairman of Selectors.
8. Mrs Barge to be made the number 1 ticket holder.

Disclaimer.....'Tis the silly season so the above comments should not be taken too seriously.;)

Heard a whisper that Barge is contemplating coming out of of retirement to captain-coach DOSA.

Barge has allegedly given a "Wish List" to the Rooster's committee, this list has the following demands,

1. A upgrade of their canteen facilities to accomodate a wider variety of bakery products. I've been to a few games at Cadburys. Their Canteen is just fine.

2. That they will only sell Boags products.Like F..... Hell!

3. That Sportstalk be appointed his assistant coach. Heard he's going to Channel 7 next year to do Special Comments! I'd actually want Wilbur and Footyguard helping me!

4. $500,000 to sign up a recently retired ex Collingwood captain and key defender to bolster their midfield and backline. Nathan Buckley and Shane Wakelin would fit in nicely up there at just 36 and 34 years old!

5. An all expenses paid trip to the 2009 AFL grand final if Collingwood make the final two. Won't say no!

6. A weekly "massage" by a selection of fine ladies from a certain Glenorchy establishment of ill repute. From what I've heard there's nothing "fine" about those ladies in question. Compared to some, I'd near jump you!

7. Former DOSA superstar Goose McConnon be appointed to the position of Chairman of Selectors. Former? I was under the impression he was still up there. Has he retired?

8. Mrs Barge to be made the number 1 ticket holder. Bulls..t! I go to the footy to get away from her for the day!

4. $500,000 to sign up a recently retired ex Collingwood captain and key defender to bolster their midfield and backline. Nathan Buckley and Shane Wakelin would fit in nicely up there at just 36 and 34 years old!

6. A weekly "massage" by a selection of fine ladies from a certain Glenorchy establishment of ill repute. From what I've heard there's nothing "fine" about those ladies in question. Compared to some, I'd near jump you!

7. Former DOSA superstar Goose McConnon be appointed to the position of Chairman of Selectors. Former? I was under the impression he was still up there. Has he retired?

4. - I was actually thinking of Scott Burns, Buckley has long been retired.

6. - Jeez, more than half of them are former classmates of ours aren't they?

7. - "Former" meaning he has gone past his use by date.

Any news on Claremont's Nippa Webster? Has his condition improved?

1. A upgrade of their canteen facilities to accomodate a wider variety of bakery products. I've been to a few games at Cadburys. Their Canteen is just fine.

2. That they will only sell Boags products.Like F..... Hell!

3. That Sportstalk be appointed his assistant coach. Heard he's going to Channel 7 next year to do Special Comments! I'd actually want Wilbur and Footyguard helping me!

5. An all expenses paid trip to the 2009 AFL grand final if Collingwood make the final two. Won't say no!

8. Mrs Barge to be made the number 1 ticket holder. Bulls..t! I go to the footy to get away from her for the day!

Im staying put thanks anyway Barge

Nothing yet, Mccullam stiil has a year to run on his contract.
Will be interesting should be a few players looking around who dont want to travel.

Froggy Williams (ex North Hobart coach) to coach Hutchins is the rumour and those not willing to travel for the statewide league from his former club (north hobart) to join him at Hutchins.
Alex Gilmour (ex devil, Brighton etc....) to coach University as they are cashed up.

6. - Jeez, more than half of them are former classmates of ours aren't they?

7. - "Former" meaning he has gone past his use by date.

Any news on Claremont's Nippa Webster? Has his condition improved?

6 - I don't know - you tell me! :D

7 - Bit harsh? Worse players at DOSA than Goose from my observations.

No real news on Nippa, it's gonna be a long haul either way.

Froggy Williams (ex North Hobart coach) to coach Hutchins is the rumour and those not willing to travel for the statewide league from his former club (north hobart) to join him at Hutchins.
Alex Gilmour (ex devil, Brighton etc....) to coach University as they are cashed up.

Be suprised if frog coached them..... Most likely be at New Town Oval with his good mate daniel Gray, thats if he plays at all!!!

Have been told that Hutchins approached Daniel Willing from Lindisfarne. $$$$ very nice offer too.

Alex Gilmor to join Bucket at the Mont, but he is shopping himself around to everyone, so it may not happen.

Salter, Wilson and Joker Barwick supposedly signed for Richmond some time ago. $$$$ again, enough to quit their day jobs.

OHA DVD's

Just letting OHA players & supporters know that you can order DVD's via the club.

Its $30 a pop via the club.

I was hoping to have DVD's ready for this weekends presentation night but we won't make that deadline.

"Flash" the hard running half back flanker from the reserves will be coming in next week to do the commentary with a few of the boys for both games.

The end product is sure to be a beauty.

not gonna say anything about my past comments however it appears that some very interesting things are happening in the DOSA FC. I think the committee need to look long and hard about whom they appoint as coach, a non playing, playing coach for past 2 years is a problem:eek: the team's general appalling lack of fitness and obviously some clashes of personality's e.g snowy non selection sounds to be a sign of internal issues, unless of course he just wants to take a backward step with a young family, new job etc:confused:

DOSA decision makers wake up, get a decent coach and recruit some young kids that want to train hard and work hard on game day and less of the guys who live the club song mantra, otherwise stop talking yourselves up as footballers as opposed to blokes who have kick to kick and then get on the gas:thumbsdown:

And for goodness sake shoot Matt Honey and put him out of his misery, he bleeds for the club and they fall over every year in the big games, he'll be 50 soon and needs a premiership!
i reckon it would take a gun to stop him from playing football,he will keep playing 4 a few more years yet maybe 2 more or 3,

Trent Moore won OHA B&F on the weekend 1 vote ahead of Cal Garvey.

Cal Garvey took out best in finals to cap of a great year after winning BOG in the grand final.

Who's going to be coaching in 2009?? Forgive me if i'm wrong but the layout looks like this so far

OHA - McCallum
Richmond - Barwin
DOSA - ?????
St. Virgils - ????
Hutchins - ?????
UNI - ????

Surely some people have some news/rumours out there and are playing their cards close to their chest's.

Who's going to be coaching in 2009?? Forgive me if i'm wrong but the layout looks like this so far

OHA - McCallum
Richmond - Barwin
DOSA - ?????
St. Virgils - ????
Hutchins - ?????
UNI - ????

Surely some people have some news/rumours out there and are playing their cards close to their chest's.

Pretty sure Daniel Grey is coaching the Saints again.

Bowden at DOSA again???? with a couple of Glenorchy guys like Milko returning to their roots:)

Matt Honey only playing still so he can get in over 40's super-rules team so he can get the medal for best player of tournament when Perry turns 50;)

Bowden at DOSA again???? with a couple of Glenorchy guys like Milko returning to their roots:)

Matt Honey only playing still so he can get in over 40's super-rules team so he can get the medal for best player of tournament when Perry turns 50;)

For those in the know - is it true Allan was told he had not produced a premiership over his years as coach so the club did not require his services in 2009?

He is in contention as far as I know, but I think the club would prefer a playing coach is all..

btw: who is "Milko"

Milko = Daniel Lamont - Glenorchy 2's player, capt i think
Milko:
triple premiership player at Glenorchy in two's (he's a copper) and premiership player at DOSA under Bowden. If he came up probably would get a couple of others follow that don't want to do SWL provided of course the pies go in which we would all assume will happen now all the other weak buggers decided to go.

:cool:

Milko:
triple premiership player at Glenorchy in two's (he's a copper) and premiership player at DOSA under Bowden. If he came up probably would get a couple of others follow that don't want to do SWL provided of course the pies go in which we would all assume will happen now all the other weak buggers decided to go.

:cool:

Very funny man is Milko :) Belts out a good rendition of Mustang Sally

that is one strange quote about mat honey dosachoker ,do you no the bloke how old do you think he is,the only reason he is still playing on is he wants to reach 250 games 4 association life member,then his biggest aim is 2 play 300 games,ard task i reckon but he might get there.

For those in the know - is it true Allan was told he had not produced a premiership over his years as coach so the club did not require his services in 2009?
From what I heard this is definatley not true,pretty sure he was keen to continue next season - From the posts on here I dont think most people understand the impact Allen has had on DOSA - give the guy a break two years ago this guy nearly won the Roosters a Grand Final off his own boot (so put the knives away)