Betstar Champions Cup OMFL 2024 Discussion

I rate North Albury and Yarra's home crowds as the most entertaining to interact with. The few Albury supporters that exist like to get vocal during games, if they can't handle it both ways don't go to the
What happened
Admittedly the weather meant supporters were close together under shelter, but a lot of banter. At the end of the game a guy with a cow bell was antagonising Albury supporters. Was pushed and things could have got out of hand very quickly. First time I have seen even close to a physical altercation at O&M footy

Maybe more cowbell wasn’t required on this occasion?

It wasnt that long ago after a Nth Albury ve Albury clash at the Tigers home ground , Tigers legend Peter Cross was belted by a Hoppers supporter ,,

Attended Yarra v Corowa as a visitor on the weekend. Surprised that cars can’t get into the ground but facilities and catering pretty good. Start with under 18 game disappointing to see neither club had 18 players Yarra maybe 17 and Corowa 16 so on a huge deck they play 14 a side with a couple of interchange each is this normal. Sadly then 4 or 5 kids from Corowa had to front up for the Ressies match which turned into a non event. I could see the effect in Steve Js coaching eve with the Ressies. In the ones Corowa too classy and I left at 1/2 time because of the cold. Just my observations on a day at the footy at a strong country league. By the way I’m aware of Corowa struggles recently. 😊
Champs 53,, geez pal ,, you could of picked a better game to attend then a top of the table vs bottom of the table and poor sides in the lower grades at Corowa,, and in the shit weather ....
I suggest next time attend a game with the better sides against each other in good weather lol

I would’ve grabbed the cowbell and wrapped it around his head. I won’t tolerate disrespect in the crowd. I’ve escorted at least half a dozen blokes out the gates over the years. I turfed one out at John Foord years ago, he came back with 6 men. I had two on their backsides with one jab, chased the other four over the bridge. These blokes were giving grief most the day, word got out when I arrived back to the ground, half the crowd put money over the bar as a thank you.

Of course you did

Geez ,, very low scoring games again,, how bad was the weather ?
The rain and temperature can be adapted to, the swirling wind is what levels the playing field. I saw a 40m hand pass on the weekend, ball caught like a kite. Not much of a spectacle. Hypothetically speaking, I have no doubt results would’ve been vastly different if played under the likes of Colonial stadium.

What do we all think about the young hopper getting 4 weeks? Seems a bit of overkill. First offence, Powell is fine.

Wonder if the league will have something to say about Daly sooking

I’ll be bringing it to the north v rovers game in a couple weeks, more then happy for you to come up and have a go champ

Sounds like the North Albury way this year is to coward hit blokes behind the play, come off the square and play the man instead of the ball, and encourage bogan supporters to drink copious amounts of pi$$ and start fights. Are you lads alright up there or just been indulging in a bit of pre-game “Fightin’ Round the World with Russell Crowe”?

Where was Geoff to sort out the boys from the men and he should have been their scouting the opposition. Notepad in one hand, north albury supporter headlock in the other

I'm picturing you as a cross between Aussie Joe bugner, Steven seagal and the hulksta

Sounds like the North Albury way this year is to coward hit blokes behind the play, come off the square and play the man instead of the ball, and encourage bogan supporters to drink copious amounts of pi$$ and start fights. Are you lads alright up there or just been indulging in a bit of pre-game “Fightin’ Round the World with Russell Crowe”?
There's still gotta be a level of intimidation and physicality in our great game doesn't there? I'm not suggesting any 1990 grand final stuff, but we asking for grown men to be psyched up ready for a combative physical game not to go overboard sometimes, they are humans not robots

Who hit who behind the play ?

Geez you have bloody good dreams.

Champs 53,, geez pal ,, you could of picked a better game to attend then a top of the table vs bottom of the table and poor sides in the lower grades at Corowa,, and in the shit weather ....
I suggest next time attend a game with the better sides against each other in good weather lol
Thanks for the reply I was only in Yarra for the weekend but a committed footy follower in local footy down here in Melbourne but follow a lot on social media so was interested to see how Corowa have come out of their issues and how good Yarra are. An ordinary day at footy but no such thing as a bad one 😊

Albury sounding like the England cricket team, taking the moral high ground.

Let’s not forget your history….
If the tribunal was as strict back 2009-2020 then your superstars would be have a few weeks off regularly.

Don’t think anyone from North has argued the punishments they have received. Gardner was clumsy young guy trying to make a statement and got it wrong.

Betstar Champions Cup OMFL 2024 Discussion