Once again we have a higher ranked team playing away gf - solution:

"Other Home" makes sense though and arguing otherwise is still quibbling. If Geelong win 20% more games at the MCG than they do away games, and Port for instance lose 5% more games away than home then that really adds up. May not make a difference if the game is an 80 point win, but if it is a close game that definitely makes a difference.
Damn Geelong, if it wasn't for the big bad MCG they wouldn't have beaten the poor interstaters in either 2007 or 2022.

Maybe Sydney should simply remember how to win everywhere when it matters, like Geelong - who plays NO finals at their home ground - did in 2022.

The excuses and whinging are unbelievable.

Mate, people still think we get an advantage because of the shape of our ground despite no one thinking the eagles got one from Subiaco for 30 years. What do you think a poll is gonna prove šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚
The shape is closer to Circus Maximus than it is to the MCG. Ī“MHBA Hippodrome. The fact you donā€™t see how that is an advantage to the team that plays and trains there is quite astounding. Itā€™s akin to climate change denialists who choose to ignore the findings and advice of >95% of scientists and academics, because it doesnā€™t suit their viewpoint. Have you never heard players and commentators (usually ex-players) talk of the challenge of playing at Geelong (or other unique grounds).

Home ground advantage exists on playing surfaces as uniform as a basketball court. Players just know spots, even on hardwood. Hawkins knows how to kick from the pockets, Dangerfield intuitively knows that the wings are tighter from the centre.

And Iā€™ve never heard anyone say the Eagles didnā€™t have a home ground advantage. It was well known as the longest ground, and commentators regularly talked about how teams needed to adjust. Regardless, Subi had 1400 m^2 more playing area than KP (admittedly it was still some way off the MCG).

The shape is closer to Circus Maximus than it is to the MCG. Ī“MHBA Hippodrome. The fact you donā€™t see how that is an advantage to the team that plays and trains there is quite astounding. Itā€™s akin to climate change denialists who choose to ignore the findings and advice of >95% of scientists and academics, because it doesnā€™t suit their viewpoint. Have you never heard players and commentators (usually ex-players) talk of the challenge of playing at Geelong (or other unique grounds).

Home ground advantage exists on playing surfaces as uniform as a basketball court. Players just know spots, even on hardwood. Hawkins knows how to kick from the pockets, Dangerfield intuitively knows that the wings are tighter from the centre.

And Iā€™ve never heard anyone say the Eagles didnā€™t have a home ground advantage. It was well known as the longest ground, and commentators regularly talked about how teams needed to adjust. Regardless, Subi had 1400 m^2 more playing area than KP (admittedly it was still some way off the MCG).

Tell me how many people have ever made the claim that the MCG is a cheat ground for those that play there. Or York Park. Or the Adelaide Oval. Or Waverley. Or Princes Park. Or Football Park. Or the Gabba. Or the SCG.

Teams have familiarity yeah sure. You can train for familiarity, though. You canā€™t train for hostility and calls going against you because the umpire is getting swayed by the crowd and the opposition is being lifted by them which is what most home ground advantage would come from in a sport like AFL.

People talking about the Eagles was never due to the dimensions. In all the time Iā€™ve had arguments about the ground thing Iā€™ve not once read a single comment from anyone saying that Subiaco gave the eagles or dockers an advantage because of its shape. Only because of the parochial crowd, and its location. Because people want these things to become a factor when it becomes convenient for them: ie, when itā€™s a nuisance.

- ā€˜cheat groundā€™ only matters when a team amasses so many wins that people canā€™t think of a way to explain away the records: so they ā€˜excuseā€™ away the record. Theyā€™re too lazy to actually find a way to go through records and understand that a team who wins an exceptional amount of games everywhere, who hosts interstate teams and often lowly ranked local teams will always win a huge percentage of home games. So they attribute success to a venue.

- the lifestyle thing: wow, we have some beaches and apparently a real estate market. So that means every footballer in Australia will want to play for Geelong for nothing. Because a) no one wants to live in Melbourne aside from the 5 million people who live there (let alone the other 5 cities where teams are based and players can go) and b) there is no property market anywhere else. Just Geelong. Itā€™s the only place there is a market šŸ¤¦
Not only all of that - but it helps mediocre players kick goals or shut down opposition players. Seriously, youā€™d think weā€™ve brought in gun player after gun player the way people talk about it. The reality is weā€™ve signed two superstars in the last 15 years and one of them came from near Geelong in the first place.

Itā€™s not just us it happens with.
People have tried to explain away the Swans for years, moaning about Academy selections and COLA etc while ignoring the fact that not only does COLA actually probably have some merit to it, but for basically their entire history theyā€™ve had to prise most of their players from areas that arenā€™t Sydney. Itā€™s starting to change a bit but for the most part it hasnā€™t been a ā€˜localā€™ team and managing to put together and keep a decent team in Sydney has been a remarkable feat. The grand final side two years ago had something like 5 NsW players. How much do you think they have to juggle to try and keep all the interstaters they have? And people moan because they have some academy players? Itā€™s nothing short of a miracle that they achieve what they achieve without a mass exodus of players wanting more money elsewhere. But people will simply excuse it away because they donā€™t like it when it goes on for too long. It would have happened with Hawthorn too if they had been at the top any longer.

Kardinia Park, MCG, Adelaide Oval and Optus Stadium are just some of the cheat grounds we have around the country. Without these beautiful venues Geelong wouldn't be playing in a prelim this weekend. We are constantly looking to add more cheat grounds to our collection.

Tell me how many people have ever made the claim that the MCG is a cheat ground for those that play there. Or York Park. Or the Adelaide Oval. Or Waverley. Or Princes Park. Or Football Park. Or the Gabba. Or the SCG.

Teams have familiarity yeah sure. You can train for familiarity, though. You canā€™t train for hostility and calls going against you because the umpire is getting swayed by the crowd and the opposition is being lifted by them which is what most home ground advantage would come from in a sport like AFL.

People talking about the Eagles was never due to the dimensions. In all the time Iā€™ve had arguments about the ground thing Iā€™ve not once read a single comment from anyone saying that Subiaco gave the eagles or dockers an advantage because of its shape. Only because of the parochial crowd, and its location. Because people want these things to become a factor when it becomes convenient for them: ie, when itā€™s a nuisance.

- ā€˜cheat groundā€™ only matters when a team amasses so many wins that people canā€™t think of a way to explain away the records: so they ā€˜excuseā€™ away the record. Theyā€™re too lazy to actually find a way to go through records and understand that a team who wins an exceptional amount of games everywhere, who hosts interstate teams and often lowly ranked local teams will always win a huge percentage of home games. So they attribute success to a venue.

- the lifestyle thing: wow, we have some beaches and apparently a real estate market. So that means every footballer in Australia will want to play for Geelong for nothing. Because a) no one wants to live in Melbourne aside from the 5 million people who live there (let alone the other 5 cities where teams are based and players can go) and b) there is no property market anywhere else. Just Geelong. Itā€™s the only place there is a market šŸ¤¦
Not only all of that - but it helps mediocre players kick goals or shut down opposition players. Seriously, youā€™d think weā€™ve brought in gun player after gun player the way people talk about it. The reality is weā€™ve signed two superstars in the last 15 years and one of them came from near Geelong in the first place.

Itā€™s not just us it happens with.
People have tried to explain away the Swans for years, moaning about Academy selections and COLA etc while ignoring the fact that not only does COLA actually probably have some merit to it, but for basically their entire history theyā€™ve had to prise most of their players from areas that arenā€™t Sydney. Itā€™s starting to change a bit but for the most part it hasnā€™t been a ā€˜localā€™ team and managing to put together and keep a decent team in Sydney has been a remarkable feat. The grand final side two years ago had something like 5 NsW players. How much do you think they have to juggle to try and keep all the interstaters they have? And people moan because they have some academy players? Itā€™s nothing short of a miracle that they achieve what they achieve without a mass exodus of players wanting more money elsewhere. But people will simply excuse it away because they donā€™t like it when it goes on for too long. It would have happened with Hawthorn too if they had been at the top any longer.
Nice rant, with you going off on some tangents as well. Lifestyle, COLAā€¦ trying to cover all bases.

Anyway, with you thinking a patch of grass is just a patch of grass I guess youā€™re free to go to Blackpool and tell everyone youā€™ve seen the Eiffel Tower, because a tower is just a tower.

Hell, you probably see a cover band on Friday night and the next day youā€™re telling everyone you saw the Beatles, Stones, Fleetwood Mac, U2ā€¦ because music is just music. Maybe you even catch yourself humming a tune and think your Elton John.

Damn Geelong, if it wasn't for the big bad MCG they wouldn't have beaten the poor interstaters in either 2007 or 2022.

Maybe Sydney should simply remember how to win everywhere when it matters, like Geelong - who plays NO finals at their home ground - did in 2022.

The excuses and whinging are unbelievable.
Exactly what Iā€™d expect an entitled someone who gets advantages to say.

Nice rant, with you going off on some tangents as well. Lifestyle, COLAā€¦ trying to cover all bases.

Anyway, with you thinking a patch of grass is just a patch of grass I guess youā€™re free to go to Blackpool and tell everyone youā€™ve seen the Eiffel Tower, because a tower is just a tower.

Hell, you probably see a cover band on Friday night and the next day youā€™re telling everyone you saw the Beatles, Stones, Fleetwood Mac, U2ā€¦ because music is just music. Maybe you even catch yourself humming a tune and think your Elton John.

Youā€™re better than that. Way better than that. Argue the point, donā€™t make a knob of yourself.

Exactly what Iā€™d expect an entitled someone who gets advantages to say.
Yep Geelong sure were entitled when, as the number one seed, they thrashed Port Adelaide and Sydney at a venue that wasn't even their home ground, after beating an MCG tenant at THEIR home ground in a final. Again, as the number one seed.

Then in recent years they have dared thrash Brisbane and Port at THEIR home ground in finals, to earn a final away from their actual home ground.

Look how glorious the entitlement is with these Cats.

Yep Geelong sure were entitled when, as the number one seed, they thrashed Port Adelaide and Sydney at a venue that wasn't even their home ground, after beating an MCG tenant at THEIR home ground in a final. Again, as the number one seed.

Then in recent years they have dared thrash Brisbane and Port at THEIR home ground in finals, to earn a final away from their actual home ground.

Look how glorious the entitlement is with these Cats.
And you miss the point again. Even though the point you make highlights the bias.

You think that getting a guaranteed home state GF is justified because you win away.

Yet will you even come to admit that if the reverse result were to happen, the Vic team still retains the advantage.

Thatā€™s called bias. But youā€™ll resort to the ā€œit doesnā€™t exist you have to win anywhereā€ which flies in the face of a known proven HGA in every professional sport world wide. Except in Victoria.

And you miss the point again. Even though the point you make highlights the bias.

You think that getting a guaranteed home state GF is justified because you win away.

Yet will you even come to admit that if the reverse result were to happen, the Vic team still retains the advantage.

Thatā€™s called bias. But youā€™ll resort to the ā€œit doesnā€™t exist you have to win anywhereā€ which flies in the face of a known proven HGA in every professional sport world wide. Except in Victoria.
More ironic deliciousness as it was you that missed my point.

"Entitled" club that has won 4 premierships since 2007: none of them involving finals at its home ground, all of them needing to win a final against an MCG tenant on their home ground despite being the higher seeded team. It's "home" grand finals against interstate teams were not given to it as the lower ranked team.

That is what I meant by Sydney perhaps learning to win important matches away from its cosy SCG.

Embrace the splash of adversity that comes with having to win a single important match away from your home ground once a year to win a premiership. Geelong has to do it 3 times for every premiership.

We just played an away final against you at your home ground.

If it was our home final you would not have to play at our home ground. You wouldnt even have to play us in our home city.

Thats bias. And in your favour.

Translation: It's tradition.

Don't like it.
Make your own comp to play in.

We just played an away final against you at your home ground.

If it was our home final you would not have to play at our home ground. You wouldnt even have to play us in our home city.

Thats bias. And in your favour.
Ha ha thatā€™s funny.

I reckon weā€™d actually prefer to play you at Alphabet Stadium, our recent record then isnā€™t that bad given how dominant you are there.

More ironic deliciousness as it was you that missed my point.

"Entitled" club that has won 4 premierships since 2007: none of them involving finals at its home ground, all of them needing to win a final against an MCG tenant on their home ground despite being the higher seeded team. It's "home" grand finals against interstate teams were not given to it as the lower ranked team.

That is what I meant by Sydney perhaps learning to win important matches away from its cosy SCG.

Embrace the splash of adversity that comes with having to win a single important match away from your home ground once a year to win a premiership. Geelong has to do it 3 times for every premiership.
If Geelong chooses to move home H&A games to the MCG, then itā€™s hard to take the high ground about where to play finals.

We do what we're told besides some token statements to appease a few supporters.

Getting on with the job is the name of the game. And enjoying incessant sooking from the likes of you.

Like I said Geelong has won 4 premierships since 2007, involving zero finals at its home ground. Facing MCG sides along the way. Port will wear that as a badge of honour if they achieve similar (but only need to win one game at the scary G).

We don't. Since Stage 4 onwards we have requested 11 home games in Geelong.
Been rejected each season.
We do what we're told besides some token statements to appease a few supporters.

Getting on with the job is the name of the game. And enjoying incessant sooking from the likes of you.

Like I said Geelong has won 4 premierships since 2007, involving zero finals at its home ground. Facing MCG sides along the way. Port will wear that as a badge of honour if they achieve similar (but only need to win one game at the scary G).
6 GFs in that time.
4 neutral and 2 away against MCG tenants. Add in all the away "home" finals weeks 1-3 and the interstate clubs cannot complain. They at least get home finals from QF to PF rounds.

Once again we have a higher ranked team playing away gf - solution: