Once again we have a higher ranked team playing away gf - solution:

Except the facts are pretty damn clear. Says that Geelong wins at "other home" around 18% more than they win "away" and "other home" is the MCG.

We win there more, where the crowd will be less of a factor but still somewhat biased, than we do interstate, but less than we do at our actual home ground against interstate teams and smaller Melbourne clubs. Mind blown

‘Other home’ means, effectively, games played against hawthorn, Collingwood, Richmond at the mcg with a couple more latterly against Carlton. That’s what it means, doesn’t it. Teams who are based there permanently. Away games.

As has already been addressed, it’s not hawthorn flying to Tassie to meet Fremantle
Except in finals. Where only one time this century it "hosted" an interstate team at the G as the lower ranked side. Brisbane 2004. It did "host" over 10 different MCG teams in finals during that time. Imagine the interstaters crying if they had to do that. Not just in grand finals. In all finals.

We do what we're told besides some token statements to appease a few supporters.

Getting on with the job is the name of the game. And enjoying incessant sooking from the likes of you.

Like I said Geelong has won 4 premierships since 2007, involving zero finals at its home ground. Facing MCG sides along the way. Port will wear that as a badge of honour if they achieve similar (but only need to win one game at the scary G).

Geelong have played one final since 2007 at Kardinya Park - a 15 point loss to Fremantle in 2023 Qualifying Final. Apart from that, all other finals in Victoria have been played at the MCG.

Correct and my post said that none of the 4 premierships involved, or required, a home final in Geelong. All involved hosting an MCG team at that ground. And it's all good fun, wouldn't have it any other way.

The interstaters will always whinge and blame lack of success on VicBias. They get home finals then just need to win once at the G.

I have. Twice.

The 2024 Grand Final is guaranteed to be a neutral grand final.

That's 3 times now.
Amazon Studios Yes GIF by Amazon Prime Video

Unsurprisingly you've reverted to emotional rambles after failing to coherently respond to anything.

Geelong this century are yet to play a single grand final at the G against a higher ranked interstate team. It was gifted an MCG prelim in 2004 against the higher ranked Lions.

Whereas it has "hosted" many MCG finals against MCG tenants (including in each premiership) and had ONE actual home final in that time. We are still waiting on one of those favours paid back by an interstate team "hosting" us at the G if they are the higher ranked team. If that happens in 2024 it's been well earned.

Still, this hasn't stopped you sooking about the staggeringly easy ride it has supposedly had.

Great entertainment value, but little beyond that.
Of course, you are absolutely correct, it’s your competition, you can write whatever take on history and reality you like.
Well done,

You've got to love the people in here saying we have a home ground advantage against Non Victorian sides in finals at the MCG, which is due to us playing more games there than those sides do.

Newsflash, we play more games at the MCG than we'd like to because the AFL has to meet their games per year quota in the contract they signed with the MCC.
This robs us of games at Kardinia Park.

Our game this week against Brisbane will be at a neutral venue.
The grand final will be at a neutral venue.

It doesn’t matter why. The reality is you do.

Cheers.

I'm here for your next delusional whinge but it looks like you're ready for a breather.
No, no more whinges, I’ve seen the error of my ways, you’ve shown me the path of enlightenment.

Go Cats, hope you can overcome the AFL bias and strike another blow for the disadvantaged Victorians.

We can’t have the AFL losing money it’s a business. There is no solution in regards to Geelong home finals as they say they can’t increase the size of the stadium.

Irrelevant twaddle.

You are trying to argue against 3 objective facts.

1. We are not an MCG tenant.
2. We are not a Melbourne club.
3. We are forced to play MCG home games against our will. H&A and Finals included.
1. Who cares if you are a "tenant" by name? Geelong play 5 or 6 H&A games at the G most years. Essendon, Carlton and Hawthorn play 8 or 9 as actual tenants.

Since 2014, Geelong have played 71 games at the G, Essendon have played 74. Geelong are as familiar with the G as a "co-tenant".

For context, North have played just 18 games at the G since 2014.

2. Correct. But recent Geelong membership figures revealed that just 32% of Geelong's members actually hail from the Geelong region. More Geelong members actually live in Melbourne, Geelong get plenty of support at the G.

3. You are in a much better position than a Marvel tenant like WB or STK. When they get finals at the G it is their 2nd or 3rd game for the year at the G. For Geelong it is their 7th game at the G.

Geelong get the best of both worlds, a unique stadium with a home ground advantage and heaps of exposure at the G.

1. Who cares if you are a "tenant" by name? Geelong play 5 or 6 H&A games at the G most years. Essendon, Carlton and Hawthorn play 8 or 9 as actual tenants.

Since 2014, Geelong have played 71 games at the G, Essendon have played 74. Geelong are as familiar with the G as a "co-tenant".

2. Correct. But recent Geelong membership figures revealed that just 32% of Geelong's members actually hail from the Geelong region. More Geelong members actually live in Melbourne, Geelong get plenty of support at the G.

3. You are in a much better position than a Marvel tenant like WB or STK. When they get finals at the G it is their 2nd or 3rd game for the year at the G. For Geelong it is their 7th game at the G.

Geelong get the best of both worlds, a unique stadium with a home ground advantage and heaps of exposure at the G.

I thought Essendon and Carlton were Marvel tenants?

We also draw bigger crowds than WB, Stk and North. Hence they don't get much MCG time.

Geelong always play their "blockbuster" games at the G if the opposing side is doing well. Collingwood are the only big club that haven't had to travel to KP.

Wonder when that will happen?

The other thing to remember is Geelong love to openly complain about having to play at the MCG but in private they love it because it makes them far more money because only the big games end up at the MCG.

Factually incorrect and refuted by Cook some years ago. 22k in Geelong earns as much money as 65-70k at the MCG.

I thought Essendon and Carlton were Marvel tenants?

We also draw bigger crowds than WB, Stk and North. Hence they don't get much MCG time.

Geelong always play their "blockbuster" games at the G if the opposing side is doing well. Collingwood are the only big club that haven't had to travel to KP.

Wonder when that will happen?
Yeah Geelong play 2 home games at the G

1 is Easter Monday / Country Game that rotstes between Essendon / Hawthorn

The other is a big blockbuster against the strongest Melbourne club - was Carlton this year, but has been Rich / Coll for majority of games.

Now that the KP is fully developed, it would be great to have Collingwood play there...do that instead of a game at Marvel!

Yeah Geelong play 2 home games at the G

1 is Easter Monday / Country Game that rotstes between Essendon / Hawthorn

The other is a big blockbuster against the strongest Melbourne club - was Carlton this year, but has been Rich / Coll for majority of games.

Now that the KP is fully developed, it would be great to have Collingwood play there...do that instead of a game at Marvel!

Doesn't rotate. We always play Hawthorn Easter Monday and Essendon in that crap country round.

We don't play home games at Marvel anymore.

Once again we have a higher ranked team playing away gf - solution: