• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

One year on Feb 7 - Anybody still think infractions are coming?

I'd be very surprised if Hird's text to Corcoran about needing his UN skills to circumvent Reid shutting down the doping program wasn't viewed as circumventing doping control.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Be prepared to be very surpised then.

I'd say the reason the investigation is still going is because ASADA are making sure that they have a watertight case.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

From a public point of view, it's hard to see where all their man hours are currently going though. Between Feb and August 2013 they completed (most) of the interviews and put together the interim report. If that interim report was half way, we should only be a month or 2 away. haha.

You just made up "half way". Pulled it out of thin air.

No, because only damned fools think Essendon 'did nothing wrong'. That was clear from the beginning.

The interesting question is whether there are still people out there DUMB ENOUGH to think that everything since the Blackest Day in Sport (trololol) has been anything but a charade.
This is just pure blather.

You're happy about your players being injected with an unknown substance?

Yes or no.

I am unhappy with any injections - Full stop - Have posted this on the Essendon board for the last 12 months. And I don't accept pain-killing injections.

You're happy about your players being injected with an unknown substance?

Yes or no.

And I am unhappy with any supplement programs - The reality is that supplement programs are only 1 or 2% of the total preparation to play footy program. You still have to win the ball and use it effectively. This is paramount.

The WADA code makes it very clear that athletes are required to know everything they take or are administered. The Code even requires educational programs be set up by signatories to ensure that all athletes subject to the WADA code understand this. If it is established that an athlete has taken or was administered an undocumented, unidentified substance then I believe it is likely that WADA/ASADA will deem that there was a subversion, or attempted subversion of the Doping Control Process. Under Article 2.5 they will have committed an offence.

Well I expect that 34 players will receive infraction notices.

If not, you have been lying.:)

Sorry reading on my phone so not easy to see what's what. However he has absolutely shown you where players may have breached the code by allowing an unknown substance to be injected. If they could say they knew it was substance x, no worries (unless it is prohibited). If they don't know what it was they have definitely breached that obligation under the code.

Lets take a different tact ?

Can we find any athlete that has been charged and suspended under this part of the code ?

And this is not even considering whether the AFL will wear it ?

The above is something that concerns me. In my view there is a real possibility the WADA code allows the administration of unknown substances.

If WADA does allow the administration of unknown substances, and if EFC and Sharks can prove the substances are truly unverifiable (including the Mexican substance), the players imo will get let off.

Are you surprised ?

Every club would take the same approach.

The above is something that concerns me. In my view there is a real possibility the WADA code allows the administration of unknown substances.

If WADA does allow the administration of unknown substances, and if EFC and Sharks can prove the substances are truly unverifiable (including the Mexican substance), the players imo will get let off.

Good post.

This is my reading of the code. Though I am unsure how WADA can stop this, seeing that dopers are usually 5 years ahead of the testers.

I am unhappy with any injections - Full stop - Have posted this on the Essendon board for the last 12 months. And I don't accept pain-killing injections.

Fair enough.

50,000 documents. Over 130 interviews to sift through. Yeah nah they aren't doing a thing. o_O

Can we find any athlete that has been charged and suspended under this part of the code ?

That seems a fair enough question to me.

Does anyone have an answer?

I too would have thought that the AFL had finished with its part of the Code, they said as much back in August.

Obviously, if ASADA pull something they didn't know about out of the bag, they might need to act, but otherwise.....

Good post.

This is my reading of the code. Though I am unsure how WADA can stop this, seeing that dopers are usually 5 years ahead of the testers.

So where does it say in the Code that WADA "allows the administration of unknown substances"?
But the AFL has finished with EFC.

Whats the relevance ?

I thought the AFL has said ASADA's investigation was ongoing. Only the "governance/disrepute" charges were dealt with by the AFL weren't they?

Looks like we've missed the next cutoff of Australia Day.

Keep fighting the good fight folks.

Care to show who from ASADA/WADA or the AFL suggested the cutoff date was Australia Day.
Apart from EFC posters and supporters who gleefully suggest any date that comes and goes exonerates them, it hasn't happened, has it? But you know that.

OK geniuses what was Hird trying to achieve with Corcoran and his UN skills?

They weren't trying to save Rwandan orphans that's for sure.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

We have an old school Doc Reid who is sceptical (and rightly so) about the benefits, substances and implementation of the supplements programs.

We have Corcoran, a good friend of the Docs, who Hird believes can help Doc Reid see 'the light'.

It's really no more complicated then that. Black ops.

That seems a fair enough question to me.

Does anyone have an answer?

I too would have thought that the AFL had finished with its part of the Code, they said as much back in August.

Obviously, if ASADA pull something they didn't know about out of the bag, they might need to act, but otherwise.....
The AFL drug code has specific rules regarding the keeping of records. If what is in the public record is half way true Essendon has breached them.

The WADA code is less specific about documentation and it is difficult to get detailed case data from the web. I suggest the following sections at least apply:
  • Purpose, Scope and Organisation
  • Art 2.2.1 (duty of athlete)
  • Art 2.5 (tampering)
  • Art 2.8 (covering up)
  • Art 21 (responsibilities)

We have an old school Doc Reid who is sceptical (and rightly so) about the benefits, substances and implementation of the supplements programs.

We have Corcoran, a good friend of the Docs, who Hird believes can help Doc Reid see 'the light'.

It's really no more complicated then that. Black ops.

So if Doc Reid is "old school" and is "sceptical" but highly respected throughout the medical world and within AFL club circles, they decide he doesn't know what he's talking about and needs to get with the program. And the good doc signs off on the players consent list. Why the change of heart from him? What brought abut this change of professional concern?

Whether an athlete has been charged before or not is irrevelant. Are they able to charge an athlete under this part of the code if there is evidence that it has happened?

One year on Feb 7 - Anybody still think infractions are coming?