Operation : Get Harley Reid

e4c599be7534e7ecc93f755c53f6e061.gif

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

This thread is sad. Everyone move on.

All this tanking talk assumes we would have been given Pick 2 for McKay if we got the spoon.

Good luck on that. We ain't exactly the AFL's love child.

Losing that game would have given us Reid but would have denied us the two punch hit that will be Kerch and Duursma.

No matter how good Reid is - he won't pump as hard or as long as George.

Thank goodness for George.

All this tanking talk assumes we would have been given Pick 2 for McKay if we got the spoon.

Losing that game would have given us Reid but would have denied us the two punch hit that will be Kerch and Duursma.

Exactly

I love how the Eagles beating the Dogs at Marvel in round 23 that year constantly gets looked over in the Reid situation, the Eagles were paying $7-8 to win that game
Yes, it's true, but remember, only smart clubs tank for higher draft pick and only dumb clubs make trying to win every game their priority. The Eagles were smart enough to realise that it was okay for them to win that Dogs game as they knew that we would beat Gold Coast the following week. Or something.

What blow back did gold coast get? We could've easily lost that game. We've been pretty successful at losing for 10yrs now, I don't think it would've raised any suspicions. Not doing due diligence with Tarryn, using pick 3 on Phillips and a plethora of pathetic second round draft choices have us exactly where we deserve to be.
Come on, mate. We would have been the spooners, on a 21 game losing streak, with our hand out for AFL assistance and already coping negative press.

The shit show if we pulled an obvious tank for Reid would be more generational than he is.

Gold Coast won 9 games last season. That's more than we've won in the last 3 seasons. They are very different situations.

You haven't answered what we do to lose the game? Are you saying that we go to the players and say "listen, I know that you haven't won in 5 months but just don't try to win this one"?

Come on, mate. We would have been the spooners, on a 21 game losing streak, with our hand out for AFL assistance and already coping negative press.

The shit show if we pulled an obvious tank for Reid would be more generational than he is.

Gold Coast won 9 games last season. That's more than we've won in the last 3 seasons. They are very different situations.

You haven't answered what we do to lose the game? Are you saying that we go to the players and say "listen, I know that you haven't won in 5 months but just don't try to win this one"?
Yes. Yes I am. I'm also 💯 sure we don't get pick 2 for magoo if we lose either, so it's a double edged sword. We'll know in about 4-5 years how much that win will or won't hurt but I know one thing for sure Harley would've put bums on seats and sold a heap of jumpers and memberships.

Eagles aren’t going to let him go prior to his 3 years and he isn’t going to request a trade knowing this.

The hype around him over here is greater than Judd (He isn’t and won’t be as good as Judd).

Any list manager or whoever that trades him in contract may as well leave the state with him.

Unless the wheels totally fall off next year at WCE, I reckon he signs for another 2 years on insane money, then will assess from there.

If we are contending at that point, I guess we are a chance to snare him.

Yes. Yes I am. I'm also 💯 sure we don't get pick 2 for magoo if we lose either, so it's a double edged sword. We'll know in about 4-5 years how much that win will or won't hurt but I know one thing for sure Harley would've put bums on seats and sold a heap of jumpers and memberships.
you dont think sheezel does that?

We've made some massive blues to get were we are today, that game was probably top of the list. If we weren't so poorly run we'd have JHF and Harley in the same team!
Harley i'll give you, but JHFF was lying to us the entire time. It's borderline insanity to blame the club for that goose. I certainly don't.

How do we get Harley Reid to come to us from the Weagles?

Step 1 : Play Zane in most , if not all, our games next season

Step 2: Recruit Willem Duursma in next years draft

Step 3: get Yasmin Duursma "Harley Reids Girlfriend" to play for our Womens team in 2025.

Step 4: have all the girls make Yasmin feel very accepted and welcomed at North

Step 5 :get Yasmin to make Harley accompany her to all our functions once she joins.

Step 6: then offer Harley Reid a godfather offer .

Time to put plan in place.... :grin:

sailing.gif

Great thread, would read again.

I think we target him and end up recruiting Jayden Hunt.

Good stuff

Yes 100% we would not have gotten pick 2 first for McKay.

The blow back from the rest of the comp and big 4 would have been to much. For GC GWS Bris Syd no worries

But not North

I've always rationalised it Reid vs McKercher / Duursma

Logic says that if both McKercher and Dursma reach there full potential than those would be greater of Reid on his own.

And WC wanted those two picks and end of first rounder

It's....
Reid and two of Hardeman Goad or Dawson
Say Reid Dawson Hardemon

vs

McKercher Durrsma Hardeman Goad and Dawson + Stephens/Fisher

Vs

WC Reid or they had McKercher Duursma Hardemon

WC would have taken that.

Jury is out on seven of those players , but for ****'s sake , any rational person woujd take what we drafted or attempted to do last year over Reid which is what WC ended up with

Considering McKay was on a mil this year

There would have been no way for them to rort us

Unless first round compo was abolished league wide from now on

JHF will be a better player than HR over their respective careers. That’s my bet.

JHF left for a range of reasons, including numerous that indicate he’s a flog and never bought in. But amongst all that another strong reason in any case is very likely that we were sh*t at all organisational levels and he wanted more.

Moral of the story: don’t be sh*t, don’t count on one player to change your fortunes if you are sh*t, and get on with it. And don’t try to build a winners culture by losing. Even just one game. Be better.

Operation : Get Harley Reid