No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXII

Rayzor Ray or Curtarse Deboy to be the 1st Scump to issue one. At one of our players too I’m betting :soccerball:

They will be directed to use it only in situations where a player is injured due to a flog act. Our players don’t go out to injure anyone so that’s a plus.

True ND. It’s funny you mention the our players bit , I was telling my mum the other day about the free kick differential so lopsidedly against us this year and I said to her and asked would she consider Richmond players dirty or highly undisciplined and even for a Colliwobble supporter she said a categorical “NO”. My mate said as much as well.

Rayzor Ray or Curtarse Deboy to be the 1st Scump to issue one. At one of our players too I’m betting :soccerball:

Ray Chamberlain will run the length of the ground to push the red in someones face.

Intent and outcome don't always correlate

Hey Andrew Gaff,
If you’re reading this, just remember
Things may seem pretty bad just now,
But they’re not ‘sign-with- #lolnorf ’ bad!
Chin up, buttercup. :)

Red card is a good idea.
Most of the serious hits result in concussions.
Jack was knocked out at the start of the St Kilda match.
He was concussed in mid-air and was fortunate the way he landed.

Are Geelong the biggest campaigners in the league?

Discuss?

Yes Bob, yes they are.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower

Red card is a good idea.
Most of the serious hits result in concussions.
Jack was knocked out at the start of the St Kilda match.
He was concussed in mid-air and was fortunate the way he landed.
I can’t see it stopping players getting hit. It’ll stop properly planned hits from happening - but does that really exist? It MIGHT stop some of the dumb stuff - the Gaff hit etc, but there might only be 2 or 3 of those a year. Late bumps etc it simply won’t stop.
If done perfectly then it can’t hurt the game, it’s just that all I can see is a player being wrongly sent off in a final and it costing a team a flag - and no major benefits.

People pay good money to go to the football and see the stars play.
End of the day it is family entertainment.
The children look forward to seeing their heroes play.
I am only using the Riewoldt case as an example.
He was taken off early and it impacted the match, rotations, and so on.
Jack was very lucky that day he landed forwards.
Concussion is a huge issue in NFL, with US$500 million in payouts.

People pay good money to go to the football and see the stars play.
End of the day it is family entertainment.
The children look forward to seeing their heroes play.
I am only using the Riewoldt case as an example.
He was taken off early and it impacted the match, rotations, and so on.
Jack was very lucky that day he landed forwards.
Concussion is a huge issue in NFL, with US$500 million in payouts.

Concussion and red cards are not the same thing. Red cards are for Toby Greene and punches.

The perfect tackle could concuss someone and would not deserve a red card. It's probably something all the contact sports are worried about because we are in the era of litigation.

Striking is relatively rare these days but a red card will deter it.
I wasn't saying all striking results in concussion.
I was pointing to the Riewoldt case as an example.
Carlisle struck Riewoldt, who was concussed mid-air, early in the match.
Rotations were down and it affected the game.
Concussion is a massive issue, as we see the US$500 million payout in NFL.
Striking can lead to concussion, but not in all cases.

Nielsen Footy Season Wrap: How Richmond and Roosters rule

https://mediaweek.com.au/nielsen-footy-season-wrap/

(edited to remove information on Rugby League)

To coincide with the end of the AFL season, Nielsen has compiled data forMediaweek that ranks all the AFL clubs. The metrics used to determine the two charts are TV audience, jersey value, number of fans and their passion, plus social engagement.

The charts closely resemble how many of the teams finished the football year.

On the AFL chart, premiers West Coast Eagles rank just under last year’s winners Richmond.

There are many ladders to look to when assessing the relative successes of teams in the 2018 football season.

For the AFL, irrespective of who lifted the trophy on the last Saturday in September, the Swans have led the competition in terms of delivering the greatest regular season audiences and carrying the greatest fan base and the most avid fans.

Looking at the number of people who actually reached into their wallet to formalise their support for their team via membership, Richmond have led the League with 100,728 members in 2018. However, due to the intensity of competition in the Melbourne market, their broader fan base is ranked seventh. They’ve also put together a strong social engagement strategy, which has delivered the highest engagement across the AFL.

upload_2018-10-5_21-51-10.png

One stat that is puzzling is that we are 6th in %Avid Team Fans while Sydney is top. No doubt Sydney have the most supporters (the main team in the most populous state) plus the loyal South Melbourne supporters. Based on their moderate crowds, it is strange they have been ranked the most avid supporters and that we have been ranked 6th.