No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXXVI

When Ross Lyon pulls the trigger he rarely misses.

Actually think he had a few before the interview and let slip that comment. He got a bit loosey goosey at freo at the end after a few sherbets too didn’t he

bummers premiers feel good stories

best start to season since 2000

View attachment 1641216

Essendon-Finals-Back-to-the-Future-blog-image.png

Days Since as at 27 Mar 2023 = 6,778

Actually think he had a few before the interview and let slip that comment. He got a bit loosey goosey at freo at the end after a few sherbets too didn’t he
He is actually a nice bloke Rossy.
Talked to him at The Supper Inn.

He is actually a nice bloke Rossy.
Talked to him at The Supper Inn.

With the amount of gooey they put in their food I’m not surprised he was chatty

Great place the supper inn. Might go there the next time I’m in the city

Essendon-Finals-Back-to-the-Future-blog-image.png

Days Since as at 27 Mar 2023 = 6,778
peverill had the perfect face shape to play the joker in a batman movie

farrken david coulthard on steroids

Was rather hoping someone would get the reference.

I am an avid SH student since about age 9. It is probably fair to say I was not endowed with the angular features of Holmes. During my years living in the UK, I visited the commercial museum there at 221b Baker Street. As a memento, I preferred the Dr Watson bowler hat to the deer stalker often favoured by Holmes. Afterall, a man has to work with what he has, not what he wishes he had.

For a time I worked in low finance, a business so putrid that it is impossible to take seriously. It used to get right up the nostrils of management and some of my colleagues when I took to turning up to work in a pin striped suit and that bowler hat sitting proudly atop my otherwise unremarkable countenance, whilst I twirled an umbrella ala Mr Steed from The Avengers. Their scorn was so great I gave serious consideration to ceasing the whole charade....for about 3 seconds. I was light of heart in those days. Now that I am old I only seem to laugh if something bad happens to someone I hate. :)

Goodes got booed because he turned into a flopper and then when everyone jumped on board the booing train they turned into a race issue.
No, he initially got booed because he called out a teenager for yelling racist remarks at him during a game. The booing public then started booing him because they thought he was being precious and uppity.

Then it was the indigenous war dance that exacerbated it. Again, the booing public thought he was being too aggressive and threatening their right to boo and abuse players at the footy. After all, they pay their money.

Then the booers started trying to rationalise their booing by saying it was because he staged for frees and did slide tackles. But their timeline was all arse backwards.

And yep, he staged at times, he slid into blokes at times. I certainly wasn't a big fan of Goodes. But there has never been that level of booing at Dangerfield, Shuey and even Selwood for way worse. Even Hayden Ballantyne did get the relentless spraying by the crowd that Goodes did, and staging and basically being a campaigner on the footy field was his one wood.

Oh really … I had no idea. Is it seven times removed on his cousins side? I’ll stand by my point …. if I didn’t realise he was indigenous there’s no way those toothless in-breds at the Pies did
I addressed my error in thinking Fabian was his biological dad and apologised already before you posted. He's got his surname ffs - not a ridiculous assumption that he was his bio-dad surely? Any reason why you couldn't accept that retraction/apology mate? I'll always call myself out on this board if I've made a blue. If you missed it, fair enough.

You're a brilliant poster Noid and I've said that many times, but I don't reckon you needed to make out the JHF and Goodes scenarios are the same. I don't think it does anyone any good.

Anyway, go right ahead if you want to keep on down this path, but I'm leaving it at that. It's been done to death.

I assume because there is a direct impact on the scoreboard.

For example a teammate cannot make a play on the ball to force it over the goal line for a point if it’s short but an opposition player can.

Also it can’t be on the full unless it lands before the siren. Means the ball is effectively dead as soon as the siren goes with the exception of scoring.

In this case the umpire deemed that the ball was still in play when the siren went (which was not true) but based on that assumption the ball can no longer cross the boundary line as it’s dead the second the siren goes.
I looked it up to piss of a Freo supporter who was so sure that the AFLs explanation was incorrect on Saturday night. Effectively the boundary umps have to signal to the field ump that the ball is out. Until the field ump notices that signal the ball can still be in play but when the ump does notice the signal, the ball is pulled back.

Basically Freo were a victim of timing. Ball went out, siren sounded before boundary ump made the signal. Can't have a deliberate out of bounds until the ball has been deemed out of bounds.

On another note, the rule around out of bounds on the full is interesting. It is written that it is a free kick the moment the ball crosses the boundary line with no mention of what to do if the ball actually lands back into play.

Another interesting one which I am surprised we haven't been pinged for yet; if you don't give the ball straight back to the boundary ump or put it on the ground, that is a free against you.

Now that I am old I only seem to laugh if something bad happens to someone I hate. :)
Yes, I do that too.

For a time I worked in low finance, a business so putrid that it is impossible to take seriously. It used to get right up the nostrils of management and some of my colleagues when I took to turning up to work in a pin striped suit and that bowler hat sitting proudly atop my otherwise unremarkable countenance, whilst I twirled an umbrella ala Mr Steed from The Avengers. Their scorn was so great I gave serious consideration to ceasing the whole charade....for about 3 seconds.
This is magnificent. A bowler hat atop the appropriate bonce is an underrated piece of head wear. And if you are required to wear a suit, well a pinstripe is a good a choice as any. Probably better.
Was rather hoping someone would get the reference.
I was going to say elementary, but when you read the books - or the unsurpassed TV series with the great Jeremy Brett (best Holmes ever IMHO) - it's remarkable how rarely Holmes utters that word.

But I digress...