No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXXVII

Totally agree. Surely the clubs have the power to remove these clowns on the grounds of corruption and/or gross incompetence.
If the clubs held a majority they could but it needs something like 80% and the AFL owns over 25% of the clubs

i crack up whenever i see a pic of the aa team in their cute little school blazers

lucious lyon wtf GIF

Dustin was in the centre in the 2017 AA team. 2023 Dustin was a forward.

Comparing Dustin the midfielder to Dustin the forward, if that's what you think they did, proves that we have idiots picking this team.
2017 Dusty standard vs class of 23

1693531469772.png

A lot of posters on here spend all season hanging s**t on the people that eventually make the selection panel, then lose their minds when that panel inevitably makes stupid selections.

What were you guys expecting?
I think some people just like showing how stupid the selectors actually are.
Clearly if a player does a cringeworthy motorbike gesture after getting a cheap goal out the back, that will carry more weight with the AA selectors than disposals, score involvements and goals.
P. Cripps 2019 H&A stats: 560 disposals, 13 goals, 6 behinds, 103 score involvements.

D. Martin 2019 H&A stats: 544 disposals, 20 goals, 13 behinds, 142 score involvements.

Who do you pick for the 2019 AA team?

I'd take 7 goals and 39 score involvements over 16 disposals.

P. Cripps 2019 H&A stats: 560 disposals, 13 goals, 6 behinds, 103 score involvements.

D. Martin 2019 H&A stats: 544 disposals, 20 goals, 13 behinds, 142 score involvements.

Who do you pick for the 2019 AA team?

What else is astonishing Dusty played mostly in the forward half not in the midfield. The selection panel can say they werent biased but they all have preconceived ideas on players that hinder their decision-making process.

Was Dusty judged on his past performances against this years standard. Would hope not. Should have made the side.

I reckon so, Dusty's 2017 was so dominate that he is constantly held to that standard.

Not even Chris Judd was held to his high standards after crossing from West Coast.

Bloody rort.

I reckon so, Dusty's 2017 was so dominate that he is constantly held to that standard.

Not even Chris Judd was held to his high standards after crossing from West Coast.

Bloody rort.
Anything to prevent a Richmond player getting an award or anything else for that matter. Many could make way for Dusty to come in.

Bloody rort.

2017 - now

Geelong 1 Premiership
, 101 home and away wins, 19 AA selections, 2 AA captains, 1 AA Vice-Captain

Richmond 3 Premierships, 95 home and away wins, 10 AA selections, 1 AA Captain, 0 AA Vive-Captains

....Dustin Martin by miles the best player in the AFL across that period...3 AA selections, never as Captain or Vice-Captain. But wait, what, Geelong have 3 players as good or better than the best player in the comp, who would ever have thought that:

Patrick Dangerfield selected 4 times AA in this period, once as captain once as vice-captain

Tom Stewart
selected 5 times

Tom Hawkins
selected 4 times, once as captain

That is how ****ing laughable this award is. It is so farcical, you can only laugh about it.

What I cannot wait to see is Tom Stewart made AA skipper next year on the back of his 6th AA selection, one of which was when he was the 450th rated player in the AFL, I kid you not.

2017 - now

Geelong 1 Premiership

Richmond 3 Premierships, 95 home and away wins, 10 AA selections, 1 AA Captain, 0 AA Vive-Captains

....Dustin Martin by miles the best player in the AFL across that period...3 AA selections, never as Captain or Vice-Captain. But wait, what, Geelong have 3 players as good or better than the best player in the comp, who would ever have thought that:

Patrick Dangerfield selected 4 times AA in this period, once as captain once as vice-captain

Tom Stewart
selected 5 times

Tom Hawkins

That is how ******* laughable this award is. It is so farcical, you can only laugh about it.

What I cannot wait to see is Tom Stewart made AA skipper next year on the back of his 6th AA selection, one of which was when he was the 450th rated player in the AFL, I kid you not.
What’s the point having an All Australian side that never plays. What’s it mean for the players I wonder.

2017 - now

Geelong 1 Premiership

Tom Stewart
selected 5 times

Tom Hawkins

That is how ******* laughable this award is. It is so farcical, you can only laugh about it.

Tom Stewart inclusion is a farce and goes to show how those selecting the side are going off previous seasons. Stewart's year is not best 6 in the backline, yet when the excuse comes why one of our greatest doesn't get picked it's because he isn't as good as he used to be.

Joke of an award.

I reckon spud frawleys golden fist is a better award these days.
Yeh I enjoyed that, finally an award mostly not won by midfielders. Votes by the coaches before the Brownlow. Like for like really.

What’s the point having an All Australian side that never plays. What’s it mean for the players I wonder.
gaelic footy bruz

bigger than the grand final

All I know is the things that mean most, finals and Premierships, Richmond and Dusty have dominated in that period.

You just would never even suspect that from AA selections.

How about this one....

From 2008 onwards(16 seasons,) largely in an 18 team comp, 4 separate players who have played for Geelong have Captained the AA team on 6 separate occasions. And players who have played for Geelong have quietly snuck in there as Vice-Captain on no fewer than 5 occasions. So Geelong make up under 6% of the teams in the AFL but provide 38% of the Captains and 31 % of the vice-captains.

Players who have played for Geelong AA leadership roles(Captain, Vice-Captain) 2008-current = 11(6 Captains, 5 Vice-Captains)

Players who never played at Geelong make up well over 90% of the playing population in the AFL. Those players have been selected as AA Captain or Vice-Captain on 21 occasions between them. 10 Captains, 11 Vice-Captains. The roughly 94% of the AFL playing population has been awarded an AA leadership position only twice as often as the other 6%(players who have played for Geelong.)

So the "played at Geelong" population of players is < 1/15th the size of the "not played at Geelong" population. But from that < 1/15th of the player population has come > 1/3rd of the AA leaders.

They really are a superior race down there at Geelong, only you would never know it watching them play finals.

Anyone else smell a Cat here? :)

Edit: Fellow dynasty teams from this era, Richmond and Hawthorn with a combined 7 Premierships to Geelong's 2, provided 2 Captains, no Vice-Captains. 3 Captains when you add in Lance Franklin who had moved to Sydney. Players who had played for the 2 clubs who won 7 flags combined: 3 Captains no Vice-Captains. Players who played for Geelong, with 2 Premierships, : 6 Captains, 5 Vice-Captains. This is corrupt beyond belief.

Tom Lynch was third for the coleman medal in 2019 and didn't even make the squad

Jeremy Cameron, still at GWS, won the coleman, was in the AA team - fair enough

Tom Hawkins finished 6th in the coleman and made the AA team

The 6th best key forward was selected ahead of 2nd through to 5th.

What a load of crap

Tom Lynch was third for the coleman medal in 2019 and didn't even make the squad

Jeremy Cameron, still at GWS, won the coleman, was in the AA team - fair enough

Tom Hawkins finished 6th in the coleman and made the AA team

The 6th best key forward was selected ahead of 2nd through to 5th.

What a load of crap
we won the 2019 flag cos of big sexy and no recognition

It's not just stupid. These people are - if I can quote Raylan Givens - a special kind of stupid.
Remember who we're dealing with here. These are the gold standard of morons.

It's not just stupid. These people are - if I can quote Raylan Givens - a special kind of stupid.

Remember who we're dealing with here. These are the gold standard of morons.

I actually think they are smart the selectors.

If you ever want to work or consult in the AFL industry, you vote 1 Geelong at every single opportunity.