No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXXVIII

The whole 'He tried to smother' defense is bullshit. Remember in 2018 when Caddy got a week for striking when trying to smother a handball?

Tiger to miss Hawks clash after accepting ban - Tiger to miss Hawks clash after accepting ban

I get your point. I don’t agree that a player should be suspended for it though. It’s accidental. It’s just unlucky. I can’t recall ever seeing a similar incident?
I was thinking along similar lines until I compared it to how the bump has changed over the last few years.

You elect to bump, you risk the consequences, his smothering attempt should be considered the same.

you seem to be confused

im not saying

all head collisions should result in weeks

im saying

if you jump, and then while in the air you brace your shoulder and it collects an opposition player in the head, thats weeks,

did you feel this way when they took out sliding into a contest out of the game to stop players having their legs snapped? did that remove all physical action in a game of football?

I watch a lot of old footy. Its my happy place. I watch probably as many games from the 1980s-90s-2000 a year than i would new games. Just generally as background stuff, but it really makes me very happy.

Watching the games, blows your mind how different the game has become. The 70's & 80's were just ridiculous with the snipering - its so out of taste now its actually comical & for good reason. But the snipering was only about 10% of the physical elements of the game. There was far more jostling, shows of strength - great one on one contest of 2 beast of men. Carey-Jackovich, Silvagni-Lockett, Rance-Franklin. They played a tough style, but not one that endangered the head. The only stuff that really affected the head back then was sniper players, which is really easy to manage out of the game, as its already against the rules.

The one thing you really not tho - the game is so so so much slower. Its more a test of strength and endurance than a series of 100m sprints which is what the game is now.

You know what is the biggest cause of serious damage when considering car accidents? Speed.

The issues we have today regarding head trauma are not related to snipering, as that has been removed. It's the speed of the game. The speed of the game has accounted for more injuries than snipering ever did. It's the main cause for all the hammy and soft tissue injuries. Knee's buckling. Achilles issues. Groins. And the biggest cause of the high impact collisons that are causing all the serious head injuries.

All the AFL needs to do now is slow the game right down and head injuries will be over. Its incredibly obvious once you realise it. Without the snipering, once speed is slowed down in the game we will no longer have collison's like Maynard. The AFL legit created this problem by being obsessed with the problem & not the symptom. In their quest to take out "fair, hard contact" they turned the game into a "spread & speed" game that has now turned them all into a pinball multiball situation. they are idiots

thats fine were free to disagree considering neither of us are on the rules commission

unless you are in which case can we please discuss those free kick differentials:)

I simply think a rule such as i proposed is inevitable, that the rough and tumble wild west days were it was ok to leap directly at your opponent with not thoughts on their safety and then falling back on the defence of well i needed to protect myself from an incident i put myself in have gone and they wont come back

Fair enough, I’m only laugh reacting for the bold part though 😂

I don't get the smother defence, I've never seen technique like jumping at someone's face.
To me it was just purely he fell where he was looking. He could have braced to the left and tried to avoid contact, instead he braced where he was looking and Brayshaw copped the full weight of him.

Obviously the incident happens so quick, but just liek bumps the AFL are expecting more from players

Good to hear Balmey today mystified about the Mansell decision and also criticising the rule which meant an umpire on the weekend paid 50 metres against a player pursuing a player who had played on.

While we don’t hear it often, Balmey has been a consistent critic of rule changes. Not that it’s helped us (or the game) at all.

Mate, when you drive your car and accidently hit another because you sneezed at the wheel and lost control - who is footing the bill on that? And Why?

Its called accountability for your actions, not your intent. That head collision was ******* serious. It was a very, very sickening hit with very serious long term effect likely on Brayshaw. The guy was already wearing a ******* helmet & still got concussed. The damage caused in both that hit & the car accident are comparable - Thats how hard a hit it was & the level of concussion Brayshaw incurred.

It was blows like this that led to situations like Tuck. The AFL will rue this call - it will be the smoking bullet on a class action one day.

Broad got a month for not even making contact to someones head, the bloody ground knocked him out. This stinks to high hell. Its such a blatant breaking of the standards and rules they set that its completely comparable to the 2 ARCgates. They have completely walked away from their own standards to suit their whim, once again.

How does suspending Maynard prevent this from happening again? It doesn’t. It’s a reaction in the heat of battle. I doubt if a similar incident happened again, the player in the air trying to smother would stop and think and land safely on the grass because Maynard copped a suspension. It’s just ridiculous. Some things can’t be avoided. It happens, everyone playing footy knows what the risk is. Same as driving your car everyday.

I mean this wasn't a ground or marking contest where he's realised last second the other bloke got it first. he ran straight at a player that already had the ball from way back and jumped straight at him, no secret they were going to make contact and he went about the impact the worst possible way

did he intentionally tuck into them? we will never know if that was truly intentional because we're not bruzzy. I can say pretty confidently he would've pulled out differently had he not been okay with injuring that player though

So what should he do? It’s just an unfortunate incident. The same thing could happen one hundred times and I doubt the opposing player gets knocked out even half the time

Honestly? Yeah I’d be fine with it. This is possibly going to end Brayshaw’s career, players have a duty of care as well and the AFL needs to stop shielding them from this duty of care. I know it was a mistake, but that shouldn’t be excuse him from it.
Who are you talking about?

How does suspending Maynard prevent this from happening again? It doesn’t. It’s a reaction in the heat of battle. I doubt if a similar incident happened again, the player in the air trying to smother would stop and think and land safely on the grass because Maynard copped a suspension. It’s just ridiculous. Some things can’t be avoided. It happens, everyone playing footy knows what the risk is. Same as driving your car everyday.

It doesn't matter. You suspend him because that is the precedent that has been set to others countless times before. You are either doing everything possible to discourage people from causing incidents that may result in high impact to the head, or your not.

You can't suspend one for a month & let another one go free. Plus i reckon there is a lot about what Maynard did that is pretty pisspoor. Where did he ever expect to land? He left the ground with a player running straight at him & made himself a a huge lump of mass. He did SFA to make take any duty of care. If i was playing footy and i was running full pelt and the guy in front of me just dealt with that by jumping at me..... i'd be pissed off. So many footy actions make sense before that one.

Correct call was made with Maynard.

It was not a bump.

Not an intentional act. The exact reason we got lynch off his suspension for knocking out Keath in that marking contest.

Was a smother attempt which Is a football act.

And in a contact sport unfortunately contact happens.

I encourage everyone who has doubts to read the full verdict, they break it down and it makes complete sense.

I understand the CTE issue but realistically the only way to solve that is to either eliminate all forms of contact or suspend absolutely everything be it football act or not.

However this does highlight how flawed the Mansell decision was. He should have got off too for the exact same reasons.

I feel like we maybe argued it incorrectly though.

Correct call was made with Maynard.

It was not a bump.

Not an intentional act. The exact reason we got lynch off his suspension for knocking out Keath in that marking contest.

Was a smother attempt which Is a football act.

And in a contact sport unfortunately contact happens.

I encourage everyone who has doubts to read the full verdict, they break it down and it makes complete sense.

I understand the CTE issue but realistically the only way to solve that is to either eliminate all forms of contact or suspend absolutely everything be it football act or not.

However this does highlight how flawed the Mansell decision was. He should have got off too for the exact same reasons.

I feel like we maybe argued it incorrectly though.
Mansell getting done for 3 weeks is the issue, its a complete inconsistency

Agree, tonight has highlighted how flawed and wrong that decision was.

But I think it goes back to how we presented the case to be honest.

That being said, it was a genuine football act, like Lynch and Maynard and should have been 0 weeks too in terms of consistency.

Agree, tonight has highlighted how flawed and wrong that decision was.

But I think it goes back to how we presented the case to be honest.

That being said, it was a genuine football act, like Lynch and Maynard and should have been 0 weeks too in terms of consistency.
Where was the media outrage for Maynard as the commentary on the footage set the tone for Rhyan Mansell.

Suck s**t dimma your not getting jack

Careful. Dimma's contract with the Suns ends not long after they get a team. Im betting with Richmonds rich history with Tasmania - they are going to be another club that feast off the success of our dynasty era while we entertain X Clarke & Mini to sausage rolls & diet coke from the mini bar.

Screenshot 2023-09-13 at 12.12.55 am.png