• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Ovens and King Football League 2006-2010

Wrong on nearly every count mate. Swanpool have lost quite a few players and i can assure you they have been trying to recruit. Goorambat have not recruited at all and are worse than what they were in the BDFL last year. This is not because they are not trying it's just that things have not gone their way and a lot of players don't want to join clubs that are going to struggle in a new league.

All these comments from people suggesting that the BDFL teams assumed that the switch to O+K would be "easy" are absolutely ridiculous. All four clubs knew it would be tough but we cannot simply change our level of football in one pre season. All four clubs are proud clubs and over time will be a great addition to the league. Get off their backs and show a bit of support rather than shit canning them at every opportunity. During our trips to Whorouly, Greta and Bright we have had nothing but support. We have hung around for a beer at all three clubs and stayed for their awards. Then you come on here and hear people suggesting we should "just fold" and wonder who these people are.

Also to all the people getting sucked in by Swansong you are absolute morons, The guy is laughing at all of you as he baits you with every post.

We (Greta) were very impressed with your support after the game - I believe that there was still a fair crew around at 6:30 that evening!!

This is the dumbest comment ever made on Big Footy.(take a prize) The new clubs are struggling but is that not what everyone excpected. North Wang are no better but nobody is having a crack at them. The scorlines have been a worry but no different to what All Blacks and Glenrowan were no more than 3 years ago. There is no such thing as a tight and even competition, have a look at footy scoreboard every week there is some huge scores kicked. In the AFL Richmond got spanked by Geelong Should they too just give up and fold.

We should stop knocking the effort that thesse clubs are putting in. I think they know that they are up against it. In five years time if they can survive they will be competitive. They will of had a chance to identify what they need and put into place a plan for both the financial side of things as well as the football department. This will take time.

The bigger picture here is worth a mention "community". These communities haver as much right as any other to have their football clubs functioning. They are the hub of the community and it would be very sad to see these people miss out on the positives that a football club provides for its participants.

I commend these people that have put there hand up to have a go at tackling a task that at the moment must seem insumountable. But to thier credit they are having ago. The easy option would of been to say to hard and just walk away, these people at least have a bit of character.

On finishing this post would like to ask if a football club is judged soley on a win losss ratio or do other factord come into this assessment?
The new clubs dont need to be judged on a win/loss ration rather just being competitive in the football game, so far i would have to say only Bonnie Doon are the only competitve side out of the BDFL teams. They have plenty to work on so it will interesting to see what happens over the next preseason in relation to recruiting which will be based around the financial strength of the clubs, Swansong seems like a natural leader so no doubt Swanpool will be early premiership favourite for next season

Good to see Benalla All Blacks doing well... the club really has what it takes in that town and will hopefully figure prominently in the Finals - despite the road-hump last weekend. Ian Thomas must also being doing a good job in administration with an increase in workload of almost 50%..?! Heard he has a strong board to support him..? Who does the O&KFL play in interleague in 2010?

Hopefully the Blacks are on the right track AI, as for Sandy, he's been great to the Blacks since we came in though I know there are others who would have differing opinions but he really does have a mongrel of a job...14 clubs and a couple of hundred personalities to deal with....

We (Greta) were very impressed with your support after the game - I believe that there was still a fair crew around at 6:30 that evening!!

Yep, quite a few of us stayed for that "extra" beer or two and had a good chat. There were some nice platters doing the rounds also due to your sponsors day so that certainly didn't encourage us to leave. And although you guys got the chocolates i wouldn't think you would have considered it an "easy" game. Certainly Greta were the better team but we were definitely competitive and that's what you want from the new clubs.

We played Tatong on the weekend and ok they need to improve on feild,but there off feild is up there with the best. Committy,coachs, footballers, netballers and supporters all came in for a drink and a chat after the game, they a most welcome back at Glenrowan and if some of the old O&K sides did the same, the league would be better off.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Look forward to seeing you over at Doon this week Tiger09. Do you play or are you a supporter?

Couldnt agree more Nth Wang were pretty good aswell as Glenrowen. Milawamust of had something on cause not many stuck around

People were saying the same about glenrowan 2 weeks ago to tige :D:D:D

I agree with Slim - Sandy does an ok job considering all the personalities of both the clubs and the board he reports to.

Workload increase of 50% - questionable - considering he basically has a PA help him......plus the clubs are doing more then ever (while paying more then ever) under stricter time frames.....

As for the strong board support - they probably do support him well - though I question their ability on running the league.

As I said, that's exactly how we were and we could see a light 5 yrs down the track and stuck it out and the league exec supported us all the way....

Originally Posted by kno it all
No info slim just my prediction big losses are not fun so eventually people will lose interest. I think it's good for the competition that there is more sides but at the end of the day the comp has to be pretty well equal and fair. At the moment the scores each week haven't been close and it really is shit football. Each to there own but I know I rather a close fought game then a absoulete drubbing of sides.

G’day Slim,

What the’ ..is this what the Ovens & Murray Football Group means .. OMFG!!!

Have these two guys - KIA .. Killed In Action and his mate the other fella - have any idea what the concept of District Footy is about??

Are you a player Pharkin (KIA)? Do you get paid to play fella?

Get your feet out of the duck shite and stop trying to kill the goose who lays the Golden eggs.

Give your bagging of the new teams a rest. Give ‘em this season to adjust and then see what happens.

Like Benalla All Blacks who were flogged by Longwood in the Benalla DFL 1977 Grand final then went running to the shelter of (I think) the Tungamah League in 1978!! .. no offence Slimbo..

KIA .. or Kno It All .. ((sic) misspelled) reminds me of the pizza cook in that Aussie movie who said .. “They tell me I know pharkin nuthin .. but I know phar call!!

Cheers John Carrot:thumbsu:
Ps and for the other fella .. please .. the word “to” or “too” is not spelled by the number 2!!
.. And if any linguist says that I shooda writ “Spelt”! Look it up in you Funk and Wagnall!!:)

And if anyone out there can tell me when North Wang last won a senior match? they must be hanging out to play the struggling new sides..

Nth wangs last win was Rnd 18 2008 against Greta to avoid the wooden spoon. I think the margin was 5 points and it gave Greta their forst wooden spoon in the history of the club.

Originally Posted by kno it all
No info slim just my prediction big losses are not fun so eventually people will lose interest. I think it's good for the competition that there is more sides but at the end of the day the comp has to be pretty well equal and fair. At the moment the scores each week haven't been close and it really is shit football. Each to there own but I know I rather a close fought game then a absoulete drubbing of sides.

G’day Slim,

What the’ ..is this what the Ovens & Murray Football Group means .. OMFG!!!

Have these two guys - KIA .. Killed In Action and his mate the other fella - have any idea what the concept of District Footy is about??

Are you a player Pharkin (KIA)? Do you get paid to play fella?

Get your feet out of the duck shite and stop trying to kill the goose who lays the Golden eggs.

Give your bagging of the new teams a rest. Give ‘em this season to adjust and then see what happens.

Like Benalla All Blacks who were flogged by Longwood in the Benalla DFL 1977 Grand final then went running to the shelter of (I think) the Tungamah League in 1978!! .. no offence Slimbo..

KIA .. or Kno It All .. ((sic) misspelled) reminds me of the pizza cook in that Aussie movie who said .. “They tell me I know pharkin nuthin .. but I know phar call!!

Cheers John Carrot:thumbsu:
Ps and for the other fella .. please .. the word “to” or “too” is not spelled by the number 2!!
.. And if any linguist says that I shooda writ “Spelt”! Look it up in you Funk and Wagnall!!:)

Thanks John, your wisdom stems far beyond your roots. I could be entertained (and slightly confused) by your posts for hours. But if you are saying what I think you are saying then I agree with you 100%.:confused::thumbsu:

Pliz, it's called "Red Wine Philosophy" and it can keep one amused for some time trying to understand it........I reckon something gets lost in translation between Longwood and here.....:..:D:D:D..:thumbsu:

Thanks Slim, that explains why I was so confused, I am not to familiar with "Red Wine Philosophies", I am however well accustomed to the "Melbourne Bitter Beliefs" and the "Bundy Values" which is why I have been able to translate SwanSongs dribble so easily.:D:thumbsu:

Pliz if SS is who I reckon it is, he suffers from the Johnnie Walker Wipeouts..:D:D:D