Ovens and King Football League 2013

Good luck to the 3 ex B&D clubs playing for the very last time today, Its very unfortunate that it has come to this, a lot of history finishing today for all 3 clubs and a lot of dissapointed members, supporters, players and club officials. You can all thank the vcfl for this and a lack of juniors coming through the ranks and develpment from the afl of country and junior football.

Only saw Carl Groth once this year & while admittedly the Blues have struggled on-field he ran rings around us. He went from contest to contest without appearing to tire, hitting each pack at speed so when he took possession he was able to break tackles & once clear always delivered the ball to a teammates advantage. If his performance that day is any guide he'll be hard to beat for the Baker Medal. After the game he had a couple of beers & stayed around after others had gone which was appreciated.

The amount of coin he's on he could probably afford to hang around a bit longer and buy a few beers, could have shouted the bar while he was there

Good luck to the 3 ex B&D clubs playing for the very last time today, Its very unfortunate that it has come to this, a lot of history finishing today for all 3 clubs and a lot of dissapointed members, supporters, players and club officials. You can all thank the vcfl for this and a lack of juniors coming through the ranks and develpment from the afl of country and junior football.
Unfortunate for any league, however Milawa V Swanpool result only appears to ratify the VCFL decision. Scores apparently flashed up at Etihad Saturday night during the Dons v Roos fixture.
Shades of last year's Violet Town v Longwood result in the Ky League - reinforces the sad state of affairs for some of the minor leagues around the State.

Unfortunate for any league, however Milawa V Swanpool result only appears to ratify the VCFL decision. Scores apparently flashed up at Etihad Saturday night during the Dons v Roos fixture.
Shades of last year's Violet Town v Longwood result in the Ky League - reinforces the sad state of affairs for some of the minor leagues around the State.

It's s fact of life there is less people living in the small communites these days for access to jobs and education. If Swanpool and Tatong merge then still keep footy and netball alive in both towns and will be more competitive. Might even be able to field a thirds team!

Tips for this weekend?

Milawa to beat Glenrowan
Tarra to beat King Valley
Bright to beat Whorouly
Moyhu to beat North Wang

Will be interesting to see how the two grounds hold up with all the rain we have had and both Milawa and Tarra playing home games on the weekend. Could get very messy by Sunday!

Good luck to all clubs on the weekend!

Tips for this weekend?

Milawa to beat Glenrowan
Bright to beat Whorouly
Moyhu to beat North Wang

Will be interesting to see how the two grounds hold up with all the rain we have had and both Milawa and Tarra playing home games on the weekend. Could get very messy by Sunday!

Will be interesting....Why not add Moyhu, Whorouly or Nth Wang for the first week of the finals to alleviate the possiblity of wet grounds being turned into mud heaps....A few years back they had to move finals games away from Nth W for that reason...

How much Rain have they had over the last couple of days? conditions could possibly make it anyone's game on the day, plenty of stoppages and hard ball gets!

Tips for this weekend?

Milawa to beat Glenrowan
Bright to beat Whorouly
Moyhu to beat North Wang

Three out of four ain't bad, next weeks games mightn't be as easy to pick

How many times have you guys had to supply a central umpire this year TM, you appear to have got the rough end of the pineapple with umps....I think we've had to supply central umps for the snrs 3 times this year so far....one of those against you guys in rd 5...I know there's a shortage but O&M don't miss out
Hey Slim,
Just spent 2 hours catchin up on the old league....a lot of innuendos and assumptions from what I can see...and a few throwing in unfounded opinions rather than facts... took a bit of notice of your umpire situation... we had that up here (GRFL) for years when the major leagues had virtual control of the umpiring appointments.... Umpires who weren't impressed, backed by the clubs, started up their own umpire association and recruited ex footballers and blokes that could umpire. Has worked a treat and actually players from neighbouring major leagues have commented on the professionalism and dedication of the setup. Does need the sanction and backing of the League though. And pleased to see your club looking toward next season with coach appointment and players back.
Cheers and bring back the Sunday Barrel (CC)

Hey Slim,
Just spent 2 hours catchin up on the old league....a lot of innuendos and assumptions from what I can see...and a few throwing in unfounded opinions rather than facts... took a bit of notice of your umpire situation... we had that up here (GRFL) for years when the major leagues had virtual control of the umpiring appointments.... Umpires who weren't impressed, backed by the clubs, started up their own umpire association and recruited ex footballers and blokes that could umpire. Has worked a treat and actually players from neighbouring major leagues have commented on the professionalism and dedication of the setup. Does need the sanction and backing of the League though. And pleased to see your club looking toward next season with coach appointment and players back.
Cheers and bring back the Sunday Barrel (CC)

G'day CC mate will be interesting to see what transpires with the league but we'll have to wait and see..As for umpiring situation I spend a bit of time perusing the GRFL thread myself, got some extended family over that way, and the comments I see about the umpires are pretty harsh but I'm assuming that's just the normal pissing and moaning that goes on...Where is your umpiring assoc based out of or do they belong to the league.

Yeah Slim, the last couple of years have brought a bit of slanging over the umps, but the cause is a lot of the originals have retired (old age etc). Still the basis of some good umps there tho, as they are bringing in some younger kids who are still learning the process. A few umpires have migrated to the league from the CMFL in the last few years and this will help the younger kids in the future. The Umps can officiate in all senior games, with the better matches on the day getting three umps. The assoc is based in Kerang, and are their own identity, although obviously have some association with the league, however the league can not override them in selection throughout the year, or finals. As with all leagues, there are always the few whingers, but the league abhors any abuse of umpires and stands tall at the tribunal. I have been out of the umpiring in that league for a couple of years now, but if you interested can get you a couple of contacts to follow up if you would like. Cheers

Might go for a few upsets this week

Whorouly to beat Glenrowan
Moyhu to beat King Valley

Good finals weather starting to greet us!!!'

Good luck to all clubs

I reckon Glenrowan will be too physically strong for their opponents Tarra.(or anyone else) Tarra a chance if they can get the ball on the outside but I think 3-4 goals will be the margin. Can anyone go past Milawa this week? Stranger things have happened..... demons by 30 points In the twos, Milawa looked pretty sharp last week and will take some beating against Nth Wang, Whorouly should knock off the doggies 12 points. In the thirds the Panthers should beat the Suns by 5 or 6 goals

Ovens and King Football League 2013