Ovens and King Football League 2013

Not the first time it's happened - Glenrowan did it often last year. Same thing with the KV vs Tatong game from the weekend as well.

I understand that people have different views on football and see different things. When games are one sided like moyhu v swanpool and valley v tatong surely their players haven't played that well!

Get it forward said:
Wow I think I have seen it all now. Reading in the border today and looking at the footballer of the year votes.

Moyhu has beaten swanpool by 41 goals on the weekend.
Looking at the votes it seems that swanpool have given votes to all their players and not one moyhu player. Or moyhu have been very generous in giving swanpool players votes!

Time to scap the footballer of the year I think if this is how clubs are going to vote!

What a joke!!!!​

What a disgrace, No wonder Swanpool are going no where when there coaches think like this, makes the award abit of a joke and if done properly by the coaches would be a privilage to win, how would you feel if you were Jaimon McGeehan who by all reports was best on ground by the length of the straight with over 50possies and running second in the award misses out on 5 votes which could be the differance in him winning the coin at the end of the year, Your not in the B&D comp now Swannies, where you might have taken these awards as jokes

i did hear a rumour around Slim that a few of the boys were interested in leap frog at the club... i think it would be a good combination with the sack races... but i also heard that in your day when you played you were good at sliding into non existent holes... any truth to this rumour?? If so you are more than welcome out at Swanny ;)

Never let a chance go by SS...:eek:

Not the first time it's happened - Glenrowan did it often last year. Same thing with the KV vs Tatong game from the weekend as well.

Nonch I really think some clubs don't read the sheet properly.....From memory in the snrs it's the best 5 players on the ground as judged by each side, in the 3rds and the ressies it's the 3 best opp players (I think most clubs fill in their own).....can be a bit confusing and I suppose it depends on whether you have the same team mgr each week....

where will you be playing at and what is going to be the new name ?

I think both clubs are very much against the idea GO......I guess we will find out soon, the first part of the review must be nearly due to be released....As for a name how about the" Mollyulah Mud Hens" (joke guys)...
You must be nostradamus slim, preliminary findings released today. Wash up is they want a 12 team comp and the benalla area clubs are the ones that have to rationalise. Maybe Tatong and Swanpool can negitiate to have their community grants of approx $350K combined and build a superdome at Moorngag, and be called the Moorngag Mud Crabs!

I thought I read on this post or tallangatta's that Bright was going there next season? If they go and Bats go to Picola as also mentioned earlier that would be 12.

The Review declares that the 12 side competition includes Bright as one of those teams, and understand that with fewer Benalla side clubs for Bright to travel to they will remain part of O&KFNL.

I've got a wallet full of TAB tickets that say different TM......Just remembered reading it was due out before Aug..

The Review declares that the 12 side competition includes Bright as one of those teams, and understand that with fewer Benalla side clubs for Bright to travel to they will remain part of O&KFNL.

Read a copy yesty NAL and it's not too flattering....TM makes a good point about the money both Tatong and Swannie are spending to upgrade, that doesn't even get a mention to say it's being taken into consideration....
With Bright staying in the O&K, merging two clubs gives 13 teams not 12....so there would have to be 2 mergers not 1.....or perhaps 1 merge and 1 club trans to another league ???..Dunno what the answer will be.
The recommendations have/are being forwarded to the new commission to make decision aren't they?. Not sure what powers the NE Commission have but I'm guessing it would be ultimate power to make decisions for the "betterment of the game" ITO...Also not a lot said about the strength of the netball following of clubs..

I thought Tatong was financially ok....not sure about Swanpool....The best thing that could happen to these two would be for Benalla to become a one team town....
All Blacks won their last flag in the Tungamah league in 1981 ...and Benalla won their last flag when in the O&M in 1973. More combined money from Community to go into one team would make it stronger in a major league and the excess players would filter thru to the surrounging clubs in the O&K, making them stronger.
Since Benalla's last flag, All Blacks also won the BDFL in 1976, but Tatong and Swanpool have won 8 BDFL premierships with Tatong winning 1975,1984,1988,1994-1996 and Swanpool in 1997-98. So don't disband or merge the more recent successful teams of the last 40 years in this area....look at the two Benalla teams!

I know it's a bit old but only discovered this part of the forums so sorry fellas!

In response to Benalla becoming a one-team-town you have to remember that the majority of players have either family allegiences or personal reasons for playing/supporting either the All Blacks or the Saints.

It will never happen. Ever.

I know it's a bit old but only discovered this part of the forums so sorry fellas!

In response to Benalla becoming a one-team-town you have to remember that the majority of players have either family allegiences or personal reasons for playing/supporting either the All Blacks or the Saints.

It will never happen. Ever.
It is a bit old Mick, but glad you found it and agree with your allegiance comment! I know there are allegiances at every club but when we played against Benalla a couple of months back, two of the saints people I ran into at the after match drinks were David Sharpe and Bruce Biggs. I think they are the current saints 3rds coach and president, both of whom were at All Blacks when I played there nearly 20 years ago.... Maybe see how the major merger of the two Hamilton teams this year goes...they would have had a bigger rivalry as they played against each other in the same league...it would be like the Wang Rovers and Magpies merging!

Slim did it have anywhere in the findings anything about how the top end teams are going to be able to sustain their rediculous budgets and player payments for years to come so they themselves don't become one of the cellar dwellers??and how it's actually the top teams paying these crazy dollars to players that is causing the seperation in the league ??getting the bottom teams to merge isn't goin to change the fact that to play finals in the o and k you have to spend big money and then keep it up for years to come.after you get rid of the ex b and d clubs its only a matter of time before some other clubs take there place and then this happens all over again.

Good post! Makes me think the old tungamah league needs to be reformed

For the O&K to function with the teams it has now, a points system needs to be integrated, similar to the one in the Sunraysia FNL. Each team has a maximum amount of points and each player is worth points. This has to happen because as long as my arse points to the ground, teams like Swanpool and Goorambat will not be able to compete with the money the teams at the top end spend. If the league is not willing to realise there is a problem, then unfortunately these teams will have to go or merge. Simple

For me this post is spot on. I know out our way we don't waste a cent. Because we can't cut of expenses any further, we're working on ways to generate more revenue to simply "compete" against the more dominant clubs.

The key however must be "sustainability".

Can Glenrowan sustain their current approach? Time will tell. Have heard that after last years spending spree North Wang are struggling with player payments this year. It's also common knowledge they've approached Karl Norman for 2014, go figure!!! Whorouly threw truckloads of $$'s @ Archibald last year now they've dropped away this year. Milawa, Tarra & KV are very active in applying for the various gov't grants available to sporting clubs. Naturally these don't cover player payments but on occasions grants for items such as sporting equipment can free up cash.

Bunyip you seem so concerned about every other Club other than yours .... I suggest you stop worrying about them and worry about yours ...Nth Wang have one in the Bank and are still in the mix , Whorouly are still in the mix and the 3 so called " big Spenders " are 1, 2 and 3 . They will sustain it cos the people they have running the clubs while they remain there know what they're doing . Maybe these clubs are showing what the new generation of Country Football Clubs need to do in order to survive and remain at the top , identified with that and adjusted to it ..In know way am I endorsing it but Mate its the facts of the situation ..It is way to easy to sit at a non performing Club who are basically 100 points off the top 8 clubs and sit there and complain that the only reason Clubs are very competative is Money ..Thats very easy for non performing clubs to stomach as it justifies there lack of effort .. You need to get real Bunyip and stop whinging and complaining about other Clubs and start worrying about your Club and what it can do to stop embarrassing the History of what is a great club .. The facts are you can put up whatever excuse you want but you are non -competetive because your club or someone at your Club is not doing the job properly ...Mate if you cant piss with the Big Dogs Mate go piss with the puppies ..stop whinging and get the job done ! Cos all you're excuses and reasons why ...may make you feel better but arn't going to changer the facts .

Interesting to note a couple of B & D clubs had there total player and coach payments in the mid to high range in the league so we can't be using that excuse, for why they are struggling.
Don't think anyone wants to see clubs fold or merge but for the betterment of our local football its whats needed at present.
The whole league has become a laughing stock and opening the weekly times every week we have normally 2 sides that have kicked huge scores.

Interesting to note a couple of B & D clubs had there total player and coach payments in the mid to high range in the league so we can't be using that excuse, for why they are struggling.
Don't think anyone wants to see clubs fold or merge but for the betterment of our local football its whats needed at present.
The whole league has become a laughing stock and opening the weekly times every week we have normally 2 sides that have kicked huge scores.

Very interesting comment CA, may I enquire as to how you acquired this info...Was it from the info supplied by the clubs to the review panel...

Can't remember anything about the $$ spending Showy but talking to ppl in neighbouring district leagues around Benalla, some clubs are spending upwards of $80K....I don't think any O&K clubs would be spending that much but I'm happy to stand corrected.....I'm told some of the Major league clubs are between 100-200K plus...

What do you believe is medium to high range??? I know what one of the ex b and d clubs is roughly spending. 40k including coach. If you believe that to be medium to high your head is in the clouds with John Odonehue. And slim please mate blacks easily spent that (80k) last year and the year before that. If you want to be a finals contender these days the minimum clubs are spending is 80k. That's just the way the district footy is going.

Bunyip you seem so concerned about every other Club other than yours .... I suggest you stop worrying about them and worry about yours ...Nth Wang have one in the Bank and are still in the mix , Whorouly are still in the mix and the 3 so called " big Spenders " are 1, 2 and 3 . They will sustain it cos the people they have running the clubs while they remain there know what they're doing . Maybe these clubs are showing what the new generation of Country Football Clubs need to do in order to survive and remain at the top , identified with that and adjusted to it ..In know way am I endorsing it but Mate its the facts of the situation ..It is way to easy to sit at a non performing Club who are basically 100 points off the top 8 clubs and sit there and complain that the only reason Clubs are very competative is Money ..Thats very easy for non performing clubs to stomach as it justifies there lack of effort .. You need to get real Bunyip and stop whinging and complaining about other Clubs and start worrying about your Club and what it can do to stop embarrassing the History of what is a great club .. The facts are you can put up whatever excuse you want but you are non -competetive because your club or someone at your Club is not doing the job properly ...Mate if you cant piss with the Big Dogs Mate go piss with the puppies ..stop whinging and get the job done ! Cos all you're excuses and reasons why ...may make you feel better but arn't going to changer the facts .
Can't recall offering "excuses" or complaining pal. But feel free to check what I've written. Have simply pointed out what you've so poorly articulated, that some clubs are doing things better than others. Our club has underperformed in one area of its business & the results this year reflect that. All other areas are doing fine. I mentioned both Whorouly & North Wang because they've both dropped 6 spots on the ladder from last year. As I mentioned, our club is well aware of the need to be pro-active & is doing exactly that.

What do you believe is medium to high range??? I know what one of the ex b and d clubs is roughly spending. 40k including coach. If you believe that to be medium to high your head is in the clouds with John Odonehue. And slim please mate blacks easily spent that (80k) last year and the year before that. If you want to be a finals contender these days the minimum clubs are spending is 80k. That's just the way the district footy is going.

C56, don't know where you plucked that bit of info from but I reckon your sphincter may be suffering bas a result of it....There is no way the club would pay that sort of money....

Knowing your position at the club slim, I'm sure you'd have a good idea of what was spent then. Care to give me a more accurate figure? But before you do I'll do some sums for you. Woppa would of been getting around 10-14k to coach. So 65-70 on players. Divided by 20 games is about 3.5k a game approx. Yeah? Now divide that between these players bull, dockers, wright, martinello, Donahue, Evans, Hearn, haebich bros, Webby, Robinson, rogers, smith and not forgetting Pickering. Doesn't seem that out of the question now does it? ;)

Ovens and King Football League 2013