Ovens and King Football League 2013

Can't recall offering "excuses" or complaining pal. But feel free to check what I've written. Have simply pointed out what you've so poorly articulated, that some clubs are doing things better than others. Our club has underperformed in one area of its business & the results this year reflect that. All other areas are doing fine. I mentioned both Whorouly & North Wang because they've both dropped 6 spots on the ladder from last year. As I mentioned, our club is well aware of the need to be pro-active & is doing exactly that.

I dont think dropping 4- 5 rungs on the ladder ie Whorouly and Nth Wang as a massive drop and this should be deemed a failure... This season the top end Clubs have lifted the Bar that is clear ... I would think that a top 6 or so finish for Nth Wang and Whorouly would not be deemed a failure or they should be alarmed , They've just slipped a little and will need to do work next year .....
Im not trying to attack you Bunyip but I'm sick of hearing that the dominant Clubs are Dominant purely through money ..Im suggesting that money has something to do with it but I think its a lot more than just that ...Thats all Mate

Also I keep hearing about these dominant Clubs ...Can someone please inform who these dominant Clubs are ???

Knowing your position at the club slim, I'm sure you'd have a good idea of what was spent then. Care to give me a more accurate figure? But before you do I'll do some sums for you. Woppa would of been getting around 10-14k to coach. So 65-70 on players. Divided by 20 games is about 3.5k a game approx. Yeah? Now divide that between these players bull, dockers, wright, martinello, Donahue, Evans, Hearn, haebich bros, Webby, Robinson, rogers, smith and not forgetting Pickering. Doesn't seem that out of the question now does it? ;)

C56, you've put a lot of time and effort into the above and I can tell you emphatically that you've wasted all of it......I'm not in the position to know individual amounts etc but I have been told the total expenditure over the last few seasons and I will say again that it is NOWHERE near what you're suggesting....Now that that doesn't seem too hard to swallow now does it?;)

I dont think dropping 4- 5 rungs on the ladder ie Whorouly and Nth Wang as a massive drop and this should be deemed a failure... This season the top end Clubs have lifted the Bar that is clear ... I would think that a top 6 or so finish for Nth Wang and Whorouly would not be deemed a failure or they should be alarmed , They've just slipped a little and will need to do work next year .....
Im not trying to attack you Bunyip but I'm sick of hearing that the dominant Clubs are Dominant purely through money ..Im suggesting that money has something to do with it but I think its a lot more than just that ...Thats all Mate

Also I keep hearing about these dominant Clubs ...Can someone please inform who these dominant Clubs are ???

Fair enough, there are a number of things that make a good club, money is high on my list though. I'll assume your question about the "dominant clubs" is tongue in cheek & let the results of the last 5-6 years speak for themselves.

Interesting reading over the last week with the former B&D clubs claiming they haven't been supported or excepted by the O&K league and clubs!

What do they expect the league to do for them? Recruit players? Give them money?

Unfortunately to be competitive in this day and age you need to spend money. That is the way footy is going these days. Prime example is in the O&M with yarra and Albury.

Because of the location of some of the clubs in the league I'm sure it is very hard to get money for sponsorship. Is benalla big enough for all the sides to be pulling players and sponsorship money out of?

I even think wang is getting close to not being big enough for pulling players and sponsorship moment from.

Business are just not putting the money out there as much as they used to with harder times.

Bit if a rant there I guess. Don't get me wrong I'm sure every club is great and have wonderful histories but we have to look to the future.

All in all we need more people playing and supporting our local clubs!

Interesting reading over the last week with the former B&D clubs claiming they haven't been supported or excepted by the O&K league and clubs!

What do they expect the league to do for them? Recruit players? Give them money?

Unfortunately to be competitive in this day and age you need to spend money. That is the way footy is going these days. Prime example is in the O&M with yarra and Albury.

Because of the location of some of the clubs in the league I'm sure it is very hard to get money for sponsorship. Is benalla big enough for all the sides to be pulling players and sponsorship money out of?

I even think wang is getting close to not being big enough for pulling players and sponsorship moment from.

Business are just not putting the money out there as much as they used to with harder times.

Bit if a rant there I guess. Don't get me wrong I'm sure every club is great and have wonderful histories but we have to look to the future.

All in all we need more people playing and supporting our local clubs!
I think you are right in relation to business support and if you have driven through Shepparton recently....alot of vacant shops there, so will the picola league clubs also get sponsorship loss with less businesses in the area...maybe..and why could that be? Because too many of the voters in these areas continue to vote coalition! Not many around here understands that to get government funding to support infrastructure and businesses in regional areas you need to be in a marginal seat.... Make your area seats marginal and watch the money flow in by the governments...then there will be more industries and businesses that can support the communities!

Tats maybe you should stop smoking crack before you post on here what you wrote makes no sense whatsoever
It makes perfect sense Showtime. Tats is completely on the ball. Governments don't give money to areas that are 'safe seats' - they care about marginal seats because they want to get the undecided swinging voters. But this is not a Political Site.

Get it Forward makes so many valid points. The towns that are being drawn upon for football players just aren't big enough to supply the numbers required. And businesses don't have the money to throw it around for sponsorship - although some clubs seem to be able to find 'big' sponsors who keep them up and going!

The former b& d sides could form a "super rules" comp, each club to have only one team , no player under 30 on any of the sides & play every second week.

So what are Glenrowan paying the word is around 80k , from yesterdays showing it was money not very well spent , umpires report cited and seen by yours truly glenrowan players abusing umpires from the start to the finish of play and a certain furniture shop owner having words with the coach out the back after the game , "wheels are falling off" just need to get under their skin and the old glenrowan comes out

!

Would be nice to have support in the form of umpires for the game or even replies to queries that we send to the league instead of being ignored and pushed aside. IMHO the league didnt want the B&D clubs in the first place and are making it as hard as possible for these clubs to survive. How about giving ALL of the struggling clubs some support, not in funding and players, but maybe some business direction or applying a salary cap/points system so the wealthier clubs dont create a market where players are overpriced, and impossible to lure with little more than club culture and team values. (Admittedly the market for footballers in Melbourne is incredible too with blokes struggling to get a game in the twos at any club in the O&K getting over $200 a game to pull the boots on).

The report into the comp was bloody ridiculous, I would like to know where the all the data came from and if it is factual would like to see it in context. The report claims that there is a 50% drop in gate takings when a "traditional" O&K team is playing a "B&D" team. Out of context thats a fair drop but what is the comparison???? I'm pretty sure that the gate takings between Milawa and Greta would be pretty significant, as they are next to each other, in comparison to Bright V Bonnie Doon gate takings, purely down to location, and wouldnt have anything to do with which comp is the team originated from.
And it really pisses me off that four seasons on we are still talking about O&K teams v B&D teams WE ARE ALL PART OF THE SAME BLOODY COMPETITION!!!!!!

That's ambitious: well said what you have written makes perfect sense unlike these other flogs writing about overthrowing a political party to get funding to survive.and trotta your opinions on what the district clubs should do count for nothing ever since there were whispers of the clubs joining the o and k you have gone above and beyond to slag off the ex district clubs making yourself look like a complete wank the whole time.and especially when your beloved all blacks were terrible the first 5 years they were in the league and are even worse now that the money has dried up and all of your "loyal" players have walked out

Showtime, ease up a bit.... go rub one out and calm down. Opinions are like arse holes, everyone has got one and on a football forum everyone uses one - you included.

gee whiz some of the lengths the ex b and d sides are going to to stay a stand alone club next year is ridiculous!! why and how are they going to be any more competitive next year compared to previous years? are they going to get a truck load of money thrown at them or a truck load of "quailty" players?? swallow your pride and merge it will make the club more competitive and have better numbers and better competition for years to come if the comp keeps going the way it is there will be no teams worth watching each week!!!

Gameon I think the solution to the problem is pretty simple lets just fold up all blacks???i mean its pretty obvious when you look at the facts.they are the least successful club in the Benalla area in terms of flags,they are the youngest club in the Benalla area in terms of when the club was established,they have the worst reputation in the Benalla area with players and supporters,they have league hopped their whole existence to try and be successful without success,and they are clearly the worst team in the comp at the moment.so maybe all blacks should swallow their pride and fold in the best interests of local footy?

Show time, your obviously trying to get a bite from anyone with ties with the panthers. I m not going to get into a slinging match with whoever u are. Blacks & saints are the only clubs in the benalla area with thirds- the foundation of any club. The club has been able to develop juniors as good as anyone in recent times and yes, while a large number of existing senior players left for various reasons, the club has been able to rely upon the strong junior development. Panthers have 42 players on their list under the age of 21 and while the win loss ratio doesn't look great on paper, the future is bright. If it was a shit environment or culture I can guarantee the parents & families wouldn't support there sons playing there! The former b& d sides haven't got thirds and benalla s football decreasing participation means its not feasible for them to have them either. Anyway, as I said in my previous post, everyone has an opinion ..

See Glenrowan Have announced the re-signing of Nigel Robinson and the whole leadership group of this year for 2014 season ....Maybe the cracks arn't too big !

I can't reply to all the drivel that I have caught up on over the last couple pages (inbetween some reasonable posts), some are outright s%$t.

Since when has football only been about the money? I do not believe that any club should have to fold or merge just because everyone thinks they are not competitive. You know part of the reason the competition is lopsided? Because not everyone has the same resources & that is always going to be the case... In any league and in any decade there are always the bottom clubs trying to catch the top. But some of these clubs (and this is all around the state) are the last remaining part of communities. Surely that is important to the fabric of society (and considered by AFLNE) and not just Senior scoreboards!

When will the top be reached by the bottom? Probably never as the finishing line keeps creeping upwards and I dread the time when a bloke who never played as Junior or new to the country just doesn't have the opportunity to footy because every league is all about competition and he just isn't 'good' enough to get a game. It'll be too hard for non-professionals to get a game so we all just sit about & watch instead of participating. Maybe I am in dreamland but the lessening of numbers available is not only about the people not being there - it is just getting to hard for them to play. The commitment level required to play even MINOR league football in an increasing 24-7 lifestyle just isn't practical for many men, women and families.

If these clubs decide that O&K Premiership Glory is all that it's about then maybe they should merge or whatever. But if it is about community, social, participation where is the option that allows them to take that path?

See Glenrowan Have announced the re-signing of Nigel Robinson and the whole leadership group of this year for 2014 season ....Maybe the cracks arn't too big !

Notch's article in today's cronny has more info about it. Perhaps the loss on the weekend was the kick in the arse they needed, I reckon they'll refocus pretty well from here on.

To NOTALOCAL

It becomes about money when the Top sides spend around 80-100K (approx.) for players and the "Bottom" sides spend only around 20-40k (approx.)
It is this gap in player payments that makes it impossible for the less wealthy teams to compete. Swanpool for instance, will never have the money to attract the big name recruits that are going to help them surge up the ladder. Even if they did have money, what player coming out of Melbourne or one of the 'major' leagues in the area (GVFL, O&M) are going to want to play for a side that has struggled to win a game in 3 years and has absolutely no reasonable chance of ever playing finals.
Some teams can sustain a few years down the bottom and build back up with juniors developing but the 'bottom teams' in the O&K don't even have thirds.
You can argue till your blue in the face but the AFLNE commission will not worry about the 'social fabric' its all about the image of the league and while teams are getting belted by 200 points every week it makes the league look substandard.

Once the merge goes through with us and Tatong we will be looking good for finals in 2014. Got some real talent at both clubs... When we are put together we will give the league a real shake up.

SS I reckon you'd be the man to coach the combine should it come to be..:thumbsu:;)

Heard today that the next round of "consultation meetings" are set down for next week...with clubs to inform the review panel which direction they will be going in etc in terms of the review findings....????

To NOTALOCAL

It becomes about money when the Top sides spend around 80-100K (approx.) for players and the "Bottom" sides spend only around 20-40k (approx.)
It is this gap in player payments that makes it impossible for the less wealthy teams to compete. Swanpool for instance, will never have the money to attract the big name recruits that are going to help them surge up the ladder. Even if they did have money, what player coming out of Melbourne or one of the 'major' leagues in the area (GVFL, O&M) are going to want to play for a side that has struggled to win a game in 3 years and has absolutely no reasonable chance of ever playing finals.
Some teams can sustain a few years down the bottom and build back up with juniors developing but the 'bottom teams' in the O&K don't even have thirds.
You can argue till your blue in the face but the AFLNE commission will not worry about the 'social fabric' its all about the image of the league and while teams are getting belted by 200 points every week it makes the league look substandard.

Agreed. I could argue until blue in the face and they don't care an iota about the football communities around Benalla. And their image? Forcing merges/folds works really well for that. I believe that there will be many people who will wash their hands of O&K Football (and some even football all together) based on this review, and the 'perceived' benefits will take many years to be achieved if at all.

Ovens and King Football League 2013