Ovens and King Football League 2014

Five out of six games could be decided by 100-plus points this week, depending on the weather.

Have you made contact with the league or O'Donohue to comment on the blowouts this year Nonch, as all these issues were supposed to be resolved by shafting two teams.
There are a few wispers that there may still may be legal action against the league for compensation for the way they have handled the whole situation, or more to the point not handled it!

I
Brock26, how is that any different to any other town or city with another team with a major league playing? It would be like saying if you lived in Melbourne you should only watch an AFL side.... the Tatongs, Swanpools & Goorambats don't (unfortunately) have sufficient numbers living & playing in those areas to sustain a competitive football side - that has been spoken about in depth countless times! FYI All blacks were introduced into the O & K in 2005, so it's not quite 10 years & while the first couple of seasons were challenging in the seniors they started to build from 2009 and played finals up to 2012. During that time the club has featured in 7 Grand Finals through junior & reserve grade ranks.
I don't see any difference between all blacks and the others. Benalla hasn't 'sustained' a competitive side either. I didn't say you should watch the better league rather that you would. I have never seen any worth while amount of supporters at an all blacks home match. I don't leave this thought alone to all blacks either. North wang, Wodonga saints and Murray magpies all fall under my axe. I feel the 'city's' wouldn't miss a district club, the 'towns' (as shown by tatong/swanpool) In many ways need their clubs. And appreciate it a lot more. The one thing I will commend of all blacks is the thirds representation over the years. But where do all those promising kids go? Dare I say down the road. (I don't know). Is benalla making the same naive mistake tatong and swanpool made by not conceding earlier? Just a question anyway. A merged club could see some games at both clubs. My opinion is there should be accountability in how low the standard of each clubs drops to. Greta a good example. They never let themselves to get that far off the mark before they 'dealt' with it. Anyway o and k should make paper two weeks in a row.

I

I don't see any difference between all blacks and the others. Benalla hasn't 'sustained' a competitive side either. I didn't say you should watch the better league rather that you would. I have never seen any worth while amount of supporters at an all blacks home match. I don't leave this thought alone to all blacks either. North wang, Wodonga saints and Murray magpies all fall under my axe. I feel the 'city's' wouldn't miss a district club, the 'towns' (as shown by tatong/swanpool) In many ways need their clubs. And appreciate it a lot more. The one thing I will commend of all blacks is the thirds representation over the years. But where do all those promising kids go? Dare I say down the road. (I don't know). Is benalla making the same naive mistake tatong and swanpool made by not conceding earlier? Just a question anyway. A merged club could see some games at both clubs. My opinion is there should be accountability in how low the standard of each clubs drops to. Greta a good example. They never let themselves to get that far off the mark before they 'dealt' with it. Anyway o and k should make paper two weeks in a row.

Kids like me are leaving town to find work. Benalla has bugger all unless you want a factory job

Have you made contact with the league or O'Donohue to comment on the blowouts this year Nonch, as all these issues were supposed to be resolved by shafting two teams.

We will see how things go over the next week or two, but I think you'll find the official position is that we are getting some quality contests between the sides in the middle tier (Whorouly, Greta, Moyhu, Bright, King Valley and Bonnie Doon). The top tier is well above, the bottom tier is well below - having two divisions won't fix that.

Hi guy's,
I have just moved into the area ( Myrtleford) approx. 12 months ago with my job and have taken a keen interest in the local comps. I played all my football at Bundoora FC in the NFL down in Melbourne and think local footy would benefit up here with 2 Divisions. The NFL a few years ago started a 3rd Div and a lot of people said they were mad, me included but it has worked out really well. It took a few years of hard work for the clubs but now they have a strong competitive division where teams aren't getting flogged every week and young and older players that can't get a game at 1st or 2nd Div clubs can filter down and get a game each week at a competitive level and not be lost to the game. It looks like there are a few clubs in the O & K that would benefit from a 2nd Div and maybe clubs like Tatong etc don't have to disappear. It took 3 or 4 years for it to bite in the NFL but eventually the crowds have come back and the clubs aren't struggling for numbers anymore because they aren't getting flogged every week and have a good chance to play finals. Maybe if the O & K administration got together with the clubs and put a really positive spin on a 2 tiered competition and sold it to other clubs in close by competitions who knows what might come of it because all I hear at the moment is doom and gloom around the O & K.

Hi guy's,
I have just moved into the area ( Myrtleford) approx. 12 months ago with my job and have taken a keen interest in the local comps. I played all my football at Bundoora FC in the NFL down in Melbourne and think local footy would benefit up here with 2 Divisions. The NFL a few years ago started a 3rd Div and a lot of people said they were mad, me included but it has worked out really well. It took a few years of hard work for the clubs but now they have a strong competitive division where teams aren't getting flogged every week and young and older players that can't get a game at 1st or 2nd Div clubs can filter down and get a game each week at a competitive level and not be lost to the game. It looks like there are a few clubs in the O & K that would benefit from a 2nd Div and maybe clubs like Tatong etc don't have to disappear. It took 3 or 4 years for it to bite in the NFL but eventually the crowds have come back and the clubs aren't struggling for numbers anymore because they aren't getting flogged every week and have a good chance to play finals. Maybe if the O & K administration got together with the clubs and put a really positive spin on a 2 tiered competition and sold it to other clubs in close by competitions who knows what might come of it because all I hear at the moment is doom and gloom around the O & K.

Welcome aboard TB. I grew up in Bundoora many years ago & have a good mate still strongly connected with North Heidelberg. We talk about money a lot on this forum but I venture that if Bundoora can afford the likes of Gary Moorcroft & Cameron Cloke they must doing something right.
I've kind of stayed clear of this issue online because it's a very emotive one where frankly there can be no winners.

Before the decision to drop to 12 clubs was finalised each club had a chat with the O&K hierarchy to discuss rationalization options. I got the impression from comments made then that "if" there were to be two divisions, that clubs would be split geographically. In other words, because Greta is in the southerly area of the O&K catchment we would be linked to the Benalla based sides. Whereas the sides along the Great Alpine Road, being more northerly would also be linked together. That's what I understood was being suggested at the time.

Can you explain or expand on what basis the NFL clubs were split into divisions?

Hi guy's,

From what i have heard the only way the league has worked with the less successful sides is with a big stick, anyhow they are only puttets on O'Donhues string and have no influence as to how footy is structured in the area. A number of different 2 Division proposals were but forward in the review but were not even given reasonable consideration even if there was examples to show the success of it in other areas. it was the same with a player points system. There was only one objective of the review and that was to get rid of some of the district clubs, they have been trying to do it for over 10 years.

Ok if you are to have a 2 tiered comp how far are sides expected to travel
If you were to include o&k and Talangatta leagues would Benalla sides travel to Mitta ?..Big drive

I
If you were to include o&k and Talangatta leagues would Benalla sides travel to Mitta ?..Big drive
I would think most players would travel the distance (within reason) if every game was a good one. Not real fun travelling an hour or more to beat or lose to a side by upwards of 15 goals.

Over 2 hours between bright and Bonnie doon, benalla to mitta a fair bit less.

I

I would think most players would travel the distance (within reason) if every game was a good one. Not real fun travelling an hour or more to beat or lose to a side by upwards of 15 goals.
Understand that but local guys playing for not much monetary reward driving 2+hrs to Mitta
It has the potential to effect more than the O&K
Still like the idea of Player ranking as I think it will stop rich clubs paying the way to be good
also would drop player expectations for payment. eg I was going to Milawa for $600 a game and they can't fit me in so going to Moyhu for $300 as that's what they can afford

Welcome aboard TB. I grew up in Bundoora many years ago & have a good mate still strongly connected with North Heidelberg. We talk about money a lot on this forum but I venture that if Bundoora can afford the likes of Gary Moorcroft & Cameron Cloke they must doing something right.
I've kind of stayed clear of this issue online because it's a very emotive one where frankly there can be no winners.

Before the decision to drop to 12 clubs was finalised each club had a chat with the O&K hierarchy to discuss rationalization options. I got the impression from comments made then that "if" there were to be two divisions, that clubs would be split geographically. In other words, because Greta is in the southerly area of the O&K catchment we would be linked to the Benalla based sides. Whereas the sides along the Great Alpine Road, being more northerly would also be linked together. That's what I understood was being suggested at the time.

Can you explain or expand on what basis the NFL clubs were split into divisions?
There has always been a 2nd division as long as I can remember in the NFL but I know Bundoora many years ago were in the Panton Hill league along with Northcote Park, Thomastown and Panton Hill and maybe Whittlesea who all came over to the NFL or DVFL as it was known then. So I believe that's when a 2nd division was added because they managed to get a few sides from other comps. The 3rd division was added after many years of struggling clubs getting flogged every week and a few of them almost going out of existence because no one wants to play each week knowing you can't win. So the 1st Div was reduced from 12 teams to 10, the 2nd Div went down to 8 sides and the 3rd is made up of 7 sides. Looking at the results from all divisions this year there hasn't been any huge blow outs and the big money clubs have come back to the field. I agree with a points system as it is getting out of control in local footy with my old club spending 200k min a year on players and coaching staff. It's well known Montmorency FC spent 250k plus last year and we knocked them off in the grand final which is a huge waste of money, imagine if they spent half of that on junior development!
They decided to put teams in Divisions based on where they finished on the ladder not where they were located and it has worked well and teams still travel long distances to games but if you are a chance to win a game of footy with your mates who cares if you have to go a bit further.
By the way has the O & K ever had any NFL players come up and play in the comp? I know plenty have played in the O & M.

There has always been a 2nd division as long as I can remember in the NFL but I know Bundoora many years ago were in the Panton Hill league along with Northcote Park, Thomastown and Panton Hill and maybe Whittlesea who all came over to the NFL or DVFL as it was known then. So I believe that's when a 2nd division was added because they managed to get a few sides from other comps. The 3rd division was added after many years of struggling clubs getting flogged every week and a few of them almost going out of existence because no one wants to play each week knowing you can't win. So the 1st Div was reduced from 12 teams to 10, the 2nd Div went down to 8 sides and the 3rd is made up of 7 sides. Looking at the results from all divisions this year there hasn't been any huge blow outs and the big money clubs have come back to the field. I agree with a points system as it is getting out of control in local footy with my old club spending 200k min a year on players and coaching staff. It's well known Montmorency FC spent 250k plus last year and we knocked them off in the grand final which is a huge waste of money, imagine if they spent half of that on junior development!
They decided to put teams in Divisions based on where they finished on the ladder not where they were located and it has worked well and teams still travel long distances to games but if you are a chance to win a game of footy with your mates who cares if you have to go a bit further.
By the way has the O & K ever had any NFL players come up and play in the comp? I know plenty have played in the O & M.

Sounds like this rating system some speak of has some merit. Most people I speak with seem to think it works elsewhere.
Montmerency are proof that money doesn't buy flags. They've been chokers for years now. Miles in front at 3/4 time in the GF then Bundoora kick 9 goals to none in the last quarter.
Have included a link as follows: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...ooras-spectacular-victory-20130923-2u8zs.html

What makes in even sweeter is that Montmerency wear Black & White!!!

Sounds like this rating system some speak of has some merit. Most people I speak with seem to think it works elsewhere.
Montmerency are proof that money doesn't buy flags. They've been chokers for years now. Miles in front at 3/4 time in the GF then Bundoora kick 9 goals to none in the last quarter.
Have included a link as follows: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...ooras-spectacular-victory-20130923-2u8zs.html

What makes in even sweeter is that Montmerency wear Black & White!!!
What all scribes seem to forget is that it is the o&k fnl. How do you envisage the netballers fitting in with the divisions? I.e premier netballers resigned to div2 because their men aren't much!
Lot of suburban leagues have no netball. Plus most I've seen have quite poor facilities.

Caught up this morning with a few mates who were at the Whorouly v Moyhu match yesterday. One was supporting Moyhu and one was supporting Whorouly so there was no biase in what they told me. And they both told me exactly the same thing. I want to get this clear before I tell you what happened. They said the game was close all day - 1 point result indicates this. But they told me that one umpire paid a crucial 50 metre penalty to Whorouly against a Moyhu supporter in the crowd and they kicked a goal from it. I have never in my life heard that an umpire has paid a 50 metre penalty against the crowd. I was stunned by this.

I know supporters should pull their heads in, but from what I was told the person in the crowd didn't say anything offensive or even swear - he apparently told the umpire to get closer to the contest. If that is the case I have lost all faith in football. Yes, supporters should not abuse umpires but where do you draw the line. The AFL wants to get rid of the bump, umpires paying 50 metre penalties against the crowd - where will it stop?

A couple of questions I will raise here for debate. Should umpires really be listening to the crowd? Shouldn't they be concentrating on their job. And are umpires becoming a little too precious now? Should the league/umpires board be addressing clubs and telling them that they will be paying free kicks or 50 metre penalties against the crowd as I was not aware they could do this?

They also told me that there was a bit of a fight at 3/4 time and a Whorouly player ran from the bench to get involved - this is a bit disturbing if that is the case.

Caught up this morning with a few mates who were at the Whorouly v Moyhu match yesterday. One was supporting Moyhu and one was supporting Whorouly so there was no biase in what they told me. And they both told me exactly the same thing. I want to get this clear before I tell you what happened. They said the game was close all day - 1 point result indicates this. But they told me that one umpire paid a crucial 50 metre penalty to Whorouly against a Moyhu supporter in the crowd and they kicked a goal from it. I have never in my life heard that an umpire has paid a 50 metre penalty against the crowd. I was stunned by this.

I know supporters should pull their heads in, but from what I was told the person in the crowd didn't say anything offensive or even swear - he apparently told the umpire to get closer to the contest. If that is the case I have lost all faith in football. Yes, supporters should not abuse umpires but where do you draw the line. The AFL wants to get rid of the bump, umpires paying 50 metre penalties against the crowd - where will it stop?

A couple of questions I will raise here for debate. Should umpires really be listening to the crowd? Shouldn't they be concentrating on their job. And are umpires becoming a little too precious now? Should the league/umpires board be addressing clubs and telling them that they will be paying free kicks or 50 metre penalties against the crowd as I was not aware they could do this?

They also told me that there was a bit of a fight at 3/4 time and a Whorouly player ran from the bench to get involved - this is a bit disturbing if that is the case.
Rumble,
I to have witnessed a crowd 50 and also there was no abuse just a bloke letting the umpire know what he was missing.
I agree with them getting to precious
Back when I was playing the umpires came into the rooms before and after the game and most new the players by first name and having that contact led to a different set of conversations on the field and a lot more of all on one level and certainly more respect. Now they distance themselves from the payers at all times and are untouchable/unapproachable I know the game can't go on without them but they also need to explore ways to create conversation between umpires and players and not putting themselves on a pedestal and thinking its all about me

Rumble,
I to have witnessed a crowd 50 and also there was no abuse just a bloke letting the umpire know what he was missing.
I agree with them getting to precious
Back when I was playing the umpires came into the rooms before and after the game and most new the players by first name and having that contact led to a different set of conversations on the field and a lot more of all on one level and certainly more respect. Now they distance themselves from the payers at all times and are untouchable/unapproachable I know the game can't go on without them but they also need to explore ways to create conversation between umpires and players and not putting themselves on a pedestal and thinking its all about me

I reckon it starts from the top. The fact AFL Umpires cannot be criticised for fear of a hefty fine which IMHO sends the wrong message. You're right in that they do nothing to make the players familiar with them. They play an important part of each game. So their communication with others involved should start before the ball is bounced, not just when they hold the ball aloft for the start of each game.

On a similar topic, yesterday North Wang provided no boundary umpire (Greta did) so the players & The Field Umpires took turns throwing the ball back in on the far side of the ground. Luckily someone stepped in just before 1/4 time & for the rest of the game!!

I reckon it starts from the top. The fact AFL Umpires cannot be criticised for fear of a hefty fine which IMHO sends the wrong message. You're right in that they do nothing to make the players familiar with them. They play an important part of each game. So their communication with others involved should start before the ball is bounced, not just when they hold the ball aloft for the start of each game.

On a similar topic, yesterday North Wang provided no boundary umpire (Greta did) so the players & The Field Umpires took turns throwing the ball back in on the far side of the ground. Luckily someone stepped in just before 1/4 time & for the rest of the game!!
At my club this year the umpires have been asked in to have a quick talk to players. They are introduced by name and it's pointed out to players that they are normal guys out there because they love football. A few clarifications of rules are passed on by umpires and they go on there way. Respect for umpires among players and supporters who witness this has risen significantly. The umpires make by far less mistakes than players at this level of footy. The standard of umpiring will not change much and we should stop worrying about it and respect them for what they are doing for the game. Moyhu should be pointing at the supporter for costing them a goal not the umpire.

Good

I was also at the game as I was hoping to see a tight game instead of what seems to be the regular blowout in the league currently, which was exactly what I got!

As an impartial spectator at the game what I saw was a great game of tough physical footy

I also made my way out to whorouly with my young bloke to hopefully see a tight game of footy instead of the blowouts that are currently occurring across the league, and that was exactly what we got.

What a fantastic game that was played by 2 teams that obviously have a great rivalry and a group of players that both have a lot of pride in the jumper they wear each Saturday arvo.

In regards to the 50 m penalty that was given against moyhu due to the spectator, I was close by, I didn't hear what was said by the spectator, however the umpire stated that it was a 50 given due to a personal attack on himself by the moyhu supporter. I wouldn't say it was a super crucial moment of the game, as the whole game was very tight, however, the fact of the matter is, you can't have people abusing umpires regardless if their players or not!

These blokes are only trying to judge to the best of their ability. Neither umpire favoured either team, so to have people personally attack them from the sidelines is nothing short of a joke, and I agree with the penalty handed down.

Yes it is hard for the blokes running around the paddock to swallow that sort of penalty, but at the end of the day, it can't be happening! I remember it was publicised in the last year or so with nth WANGARATTA supporters threatening umpires, which I believe led to one senior umpire hanging up the whistle for good over the incident! Clubs must take responsibility for their supporters as they are also representatives of their respected club

Well

Well I think you will find it is a rule & I know for a fact the supporter in question used the umpires name!
I was at the game to just watch a game of footy but I thought it was well umpired.

Regrading the Whorouly player coming onto the field well the siren had gone so last time I checked that's isn't against the rules either.
You really seem to be taking a Moyhu side here!!

Ovens and King Football League 2014