Ovens and King Football League 2014

Wooden Spoon - would more be along the lines of North Wang / Goorambat & District which is just looking like the same team as last year.

Anyone know what is going on with the newly formed Benalla and district team. Do they get new jumpers or are they staying the same??

TATONG and Swanpool football clubs have conceded they will not field teams in 2014.
The clubs had been searching for a new league after a heated split with the Ovens and King competition late last year.
Governing body AFL North East Border recommended the merger of three Ovens and King clubs — Goorambat, Tatong and Swanpool — in July, after a review of the ailing competition where huge losing margins are common.
Tatong and Swanpool refused to be part of the three-way merger, instead formally requesting to be released from the league.
Goorambat agreed to the merger and has since rebranded as the Goorambat and District Football Club, while Tatong and Swanpool were left off this year’s fixture.
The cast-off clubs made a last-ditch bid to transfer as a united entity to the Picola and District Football League, but AFL Victoria stymied negotiations as the cut-off date for league transfer talks had passed.
Tatong and Swanpool yesterday announced they would not field teams this year, through a statement on Tatong’s Facebook page.
“After lengthy discussions and negotiations which appeared to be progressing, we unfortunately need to step away from pursing fielding a team in 2014,” the statement said.
“We have been very fortunate to have received audience with higher level AFL administrators but it appears the system the AFL has created is greater than the communities that support it.
“For the footballers and netballers, we thank you for your continued loyalty in putting your options on hold while we aimed to secure a team for 2014.
“We wish you all the best with whatever option you choose to take for season 2014.”
But the statement warned the fight to return to the field was not over.
“Both Tatong and Swanpool football netball clubs continue to pursue the best option for our communities now and into the future,” it said.
“There will be a public meeting in coming months so stay tuned.”

My top 6
1- Glenrowan (if Karl Norman doesn't go down)
2- Tarrawingee
3- Milawa
4- Moyhu
5- Bright
6- Not sure

- Nigel Robinson will win the baker medal
- Hamish Moore will kick the most goals

I’ve heard Campbell Brown has already committed to two other “one-off” appearances this year. He will be playing in Tasmania on Good Friday with former Hawthorn teammate Brent Guerra, while Brown also said he will play one game later in the year for Lower Plenty.

He was quoted in recent media saying “I don’t really feel comfortable going around the country playing one-off games all year. I’m happy to play a couple just for a bit of fun but I think if you’re going to commit to something for the year, you do it properly. I don’t want to be a mercenary.”

Where does that leave Greta in the picture? Bunyip, do you have any more updates on the situation?

I’ve heard Campbell Brown has already committed to two other “one-off” appearances this year. He will be playing in Tasmania on Good Friday with former Hawthorn teammate Brent Guerra, while Brown also said he will play one game later in the year for Lower Plenty.

He was quoted in recent media saying “I don’t really feel comfortable going around the country playing one-off games all year. I’m happy to play a couple just for a bit of fun but I think if you’re going to commit to something for the year, you do it properly. I don’t want to be a mercenary.”

Where does that leave Greta in the picture? Bunyip, do you have any more updates on the situation?

As I've said previously, I've deliberately never mentioned a player name, an opponent or a date in any of my posts. I'm not in a position to elaborate right now but the club has decided to cease from further comment on this forum out of respect for all parties.

In other words, Bunyip and his crew have wasted all their money on 15 so called recruits that wont improve them one little bit. Now they've got nothing left for a star...

Getting a marquee player & putting it all together is a logistical feat in itself. If it was easy everyone would be doing it.
It's dead easy to slag off at those of us having a crack, but Nescout you're fishing expedition is so far off the mark it's laughable.

Good to see you have a philosophy Change Bunyip ..Your were quite critical , sarcastic and as you put it "slagging off"towards clubs last year that as you put it were "having a crack " .Good to see you acknowledge how hard it is . We all hope you can get your Marquee Player game off the ground as we are all very excited about it as the build up by the Greta Footy Club has been magnificent and we will just wait for the announcement ..Please do not disappoint us all by telling us you went to early with your announcement . Anyway Bunyip we have heard a lot about the the proactive ways of Greta and your recruiting ...How about some predictions on the league and Greta in particular ..There was been so much possitivity coming out of Greta that I and Maybe others would be interested to hear what Greta are thinking internally about their chances and other Clubs for the 2014 season ?

Good to see you have a philosophy Change Bunyip ..Your were quite critical , sarcastic and as you put it "slagging off"towards clubs last year that as you put it were "having a crack " .Good to see you acknowledge how hard it is . We all hope you can get your Marquee Player game off the ground as we are all very excited about it as the build up by the Greta Footy Club has been magnificent and we will just wait for the announcement ..Please do not disappoint us all by telling us you went to early with your announcement . Anyway Bunyip we have heard a lot about the the proactive ways of Greta and your recruiting ...How about some predictions on the league and Greta in particular ..There was been so much possitivity coming
out of Greta that I and Maybe others would be interested to hear what Greta are thinking internally about their chances and other Clubs for the 2014 season ?

I'm pretty passionate & can shoot from the hip at times so I'll take some of what you've said on the chin. Technically the club hasn't announced anything yet & I've deliberately not posted any info that will confirm who where & when. That's for others to speculate. With Nicko in charge our guys are under no illusions as to what's expected of them. This isn't a prediction but I'd like to think we can squeeze into the top six if all goes well. I think the top 3 are pretty much settled & then injuries & the draw will decide positions thereafter. We will improve though , 2013 couldn't end quickly enough for some of us.

Driving to Bonnie Doon for a day of fishing yesterday and saw the sign out the front of the Swanpool Football Club "League Wanted" has there been any progress in this matter? I also noticed that there are some very good solar panels out there at the ground, any chance i can purchase them for a decent footy club or even my house?
Sarcastic TOSSER, Get a life Ya w***er

Sarcastic TOSSER, Get a life Ya ******
Good call plummer, The panels are already on the roof of a decent football/netball and community club, unfortunately the f...wits at AFLNEB dont appreaciate the role these clubs have in the comminuty. OTL obvously comes from a club where the money is spent on players rather than upgrading facilities.

I reckon that this might be the best thing ever for those two clubs. Whilst no revenue this year is bad, the committee and players having a year off will only make them hungry to succeed.
Next year they can get some recruits, join a new league and prove everybody wrong!
Good luck to the 'pool'.

It's "Marquee Game On". I understand full details will be in the press next week.
It's a long story but Ratpack you were right in a previous post so a big note of "thanks" goes to the opposition club for being so patient, understanding & supportive.
Great news for local footy!!!!

It's "Marquee Game On". I understand full details will be in the press next week.
It's a long story but Ratpack you were right in a previous post so a big note of "thanks" goes to the opposition club for being so patient, understanding & supportive.
Great news for local footy!!!!
noticed on your facebook save the date. Why wait until a press release. More people use facebook then newspapers these days

My directions were to mention it on Big Footy" without giving away details". Until the club tells me otherwise I'll stick to that. Within a week it's going to be everywhere!
Fair although KV players already telling people about big C Brown game. So might of wanted to let both clubs know you didn't want it out of the hat yet.

Mate the proverbial "cat was let out the bag" weeks ago. You just didn't hear it from me out of respect for KV because we created an obstacle not anticipated.
It's all good now though. That KV players are talking about it is great.

Tweet by Campbell Brown this morning....

Campbell brown ‏@Browndogg_30x 8h
Can't wait to put the boots on for a game with @gretafnc on April 6th. Looking fwd to playing and giving back to a grass roots footy club

There was an interesting reply by someone
Ash Riches ‏@ashdugriches 6h
@Browndogg_30x so you're doing it for free then

Had a bit of a laugh at what the fella asked, but would be interesting to know the figure that he is asking for....
Looks like the Press release has come early Bunyip!

Rhys who? What connection does he have with the O&K? Had you mentioned Rhys-Jones I'd be interested.
Did a google search and all I can find is a King Valley seconds player... Speaking of KV. Who plays on Campbell Brown? Who is the first player he hits? ETC ETC

Ovens and King Football League 2014