Ovens and King Football League 2016

I think having Tarra versus Glenrowan in the grand final is very refreshing. Will definitely draw a more local crowd which will make it a successful day for the league. With both these teams going head to head on a pristine and dry ground will make it a ripper one to watch, however I'm putting in an early prediction for Glenrowan to take it out. They have much more class, tough backline and strong forwards. I feel Tarra will put in a good fight but will be very sore from the tough conditions today and the extra games they've played. Glenrowan will take it out by 5 snags with the extra momentum they will be carrying into the game. I think either Gus Gray, Luke Fox, Kilner or Norman could take out the best on the day - as they're all brilliant contributors.

Please, you cannot even mention kilner in the same conversation as those 3 guys

Glenrowan on a dry deck will destroy tarra this week 50 points . Reserves might be a bit different to what everyone thinks heard tarra are spruiking about players who will now qualify and are quietly confident - I'm still leaning towards the Roos though

Yeah for sure the dry deck will suit glenrowan they train harder then any other club. I think there fitness will be too good. Tigers by plenty

Is it true that Ben Bell did his hamstring playing in the twos on the weekend?? What injuries do Tarra have at the moment, surely they'd be struggling for both teams to be filled with fit bodies? Apparently BD were without their captain on the weekend after he spat the dummy due to his brother being dropped and went to the game sipping on cans instead... Poor effort from him if it's true.

Glenrowan on a dry deck will destroy tarra this week 50 points . Reserves might be a bit different to what everyone thinks heard tarra are spruiking about players who will now qualify and are quietly confident - I'm still leaning towards the Roos though

Ive heard this reserves rumour as well, just have to feel for the poor blokes who've played all year and miss out compared to those that haven't played a reserves game all year eg. Bell, jenvey.
Will salmon take a reserves spot also or will he slot straight back into the ones, therefore pushing another player back? Happens everywhere i know but its just heartbreaking for those involved

Is it true that Ben Bell did his hamstring playing in the twos on the weekend?? What injuries do Tarra have at the moment, surely they'd be struggling for both teams to be filled with fit bodies? Apparently BD were without their captain on the weekend after he spat the dummy due to his brother being dropped and went to the game sipping on cans instead... Poor effort from him if it's true.
Surely not.I see Colliss didnt play just presumed injured?Reckon he helped recruit bout 8 others so what comes of them fellas next year if true?

My understanding of the reserves also is that ottrey, fisher and okeefe are all due back in this week as well as panozzo making it back after a long stint on the sidelines, thats without salmon coming back and with bell also being put back into the senior side, your thoughts GET IT FORWARD?

Surely not.I see Colliss didnt play just presumed injured?Reckon he helped recruit bout 8 others so what comes of them fellas next year if true?

Apparently so. Cracked it because his brother was dropped and sat on the other side of the oval sinking cans. Don't think Doon were very impressed, he could've made an impact to the game

Saw bell play reckon he did the hammy 3rd qtr I reckon valley would be happy having him play as I reckon speed is what helps tarra and a Hammy will not heal in a week . Salmon will play ones Jayden Allan out , fisher a risk having not played for a month

Some good articles on the Hawks in today's local rag. Nthwangman- have you had any interest with the coaches advertisement or any recruitments so far? Onwards and upwards is the only way now.

I get the feeling that most of the people on this forum are players or ex-players - and hence have a preference for quality ground cover over everything else? The O&K have to consider a number of major factors in selecting a ground for finals including: Ground conditions, clubrooms, changerooms, netball facilities, location. Taking all of this into consideration Tarra has to be the best venue - however I do agree that it would have been better to have given the ground a rest last weekend.

To propose Greta or Moyhu is just daft - the facilities are OK for 200 people on a sunny day, but would not cope with the numbers on Saturday.

Bonnie Doon - please..... It could be as pristine as the 18th at St Andrews and would still be totally unacceptable as a option.

Milawa would be an acceptable option, but netball facilities are substandard, and the ground was in worse condition than Tarra.

On to the game on Saturday - firstly my tip was wayyyyyy off. I was amazed that Tarra had far more fitness and run in the final quarter.

After a brilliant season by Bonnie Doon it must have been devastating to go out in straight sets - especially on the back of one of the biggest stuff up's I think I have ever seen in a goal square. That was the game lost right there.

A quick question on this - is the qualification different if both 1's and 2's are in the granny on the same day?

I'm assuming you may be referring to Jess cosaitis missing that goal? That was shithouse!! Paul mahoneys was t much better!

If both teams are in the grandfinal like tarra have, the qualification rule goes out the window and they can play whoever they want wherever they want. Aslong as they have played 3 club matches throughout the home and away season.

I think this weekends reserves grandfinal could go either way!

Fact. How he could show up and look the other blokes in the eye is beyond me. If u crack the sads and dont want to play dont turn up. Cost BD a grand final appearance. In my opinion.

I'm assuming you may be referring to Jess cosaitis missing that goal?

It was worse than shithouse.... Honestly, open goal, no one within 20 meters - At the time I think BD were 4 points up. It would have finished the game for sure. Let's just call him Blighty from now on.

Fact. How he could show up and look the other blokes in the eye is beyond me. If u crack the sads and dont want to play dont turn up. Cost BD a grand final appearance. In my opinion.

He even had the nerve to go over to Doons 3/4 time huddle and tell players what they needed to do... In a very pissed manner. Definitely not something a captain should be doing, they're supposed to lead by example. Not good.

It was worse than shithouse.... Honestly, open goal, no one within 20 meters - At the time I think BD were 4 points up. It would have finished the game for sure. Let's just call him Blighty from now on.

It was five minutes into the third quarter and Bombers were eight points up. Bad miss, but it wouldn't have decided the game with almost a full half still to play.

My understanding of the reserves also is that ottrey, fisher and okeefe are all due back in this week as well as panozzo making it back after a long stint on the sidelines, thats without salmon coming back and with bell also being put back into the senior side, your thoughts GET IT FORWARD?

I find the interest in on who and who won't play for tarra this week end in both grades interesting. All clubs that get through to the grand final have selection issues.

I think the best thing about this weekend is that from my knoweledge tarra, Glenrowan and King valley will be almost full strength.

All the best to all clubs playing this weekend! Should be a cracker!

I get the feeling that most of the people on this forum are players or ex-players - and hence have a preference for quality ground cover over everything else? The O&K have to consider a number of major factors in selecting a ground for finals including: Ground conditions, clubrooms, changerooms, netball facilities, location. Taking all of this into consideration Tarra has to be the best venue - however I do agree that it would have been better to have given the ground a rest last weekend.

To propose Greta or Moyhu is just daft - the facilities are OK for 200 people on a sunny day, but would not cope with the numbers on Saturday.

Bonnie Doon - please..... It could be as pristine as the 18th at St Andrews and would still be totally unacceptable as a option.

Milawa would be an acceptable option, but netball facilities are substandard, and the ground was in worse condition than Tarra.

On to the game on Saturday - firstly my tip was wayyyyyy off. I was amazed that Tarra had far more fitness and run in the final quarter.

After a brilliant season by Bonnie Doon it must have been devastating to go out in straight sets - especially on the back of one of the biggest stuff up's I think I have ever seen in a goal square. That was the game lost right there.

A quick question on this - is the qualification different if both 1's and 2's are in the granny on the same day?
Normally the rules are that a senior player who has played all year in the ones can play two's in the finals if both sides play on the same day.

Michael newton played for wang maggies 2nds on the weekend without playing a game in that grade all year

The O&K have different by laws than the O&M regarding players playing in finals. As stated before for players that haven't played seniors in the home and way season to be able to play finals in either grade both teams need to be playing on the same week end.

Ovens and King Football League 2016