Ovens and King Football League 2016

That's
Surprised no one has mentioned Milawa. Absolute shitouse ground with pot holes everywhere. Good luck when it pours down raining especially around the forward pockets.
yeah good call, that's why they play finals there you genious! Drove past it 2 weeks ago looks really good for this time of the year

That's
yeah good call, that's why they play finals there you genious! Drove past it 2 weeks ago looks really good for this time of the year
They play finals there because the rest of the league are shithouse. Honestly why do you think they play the grand final at an Ovens and Murray ground when most leagues like PDFL OnM and the murray league all stick to their own backyard. Seriously don't have to be thick to work that out.

Finals and grand finals are not just played at grounds because of surface quality. It is also largely to do with facilities and capacity. You are not going to attract big numbers to an O&K grand final if it is out of town, car parking is an issue, amenities and facilities are an issue, the list goes on. If however you play it in town like it is, ground is up to it, facilities are up to it, amenities are up to it and people do not have to drive out of town and then back in to go to it. It is in the best interest of the league for its biggest game to have a much larger profile than it would if it was played anywhere else.

and most games aren't elite enough to worry about playing on much more. grand finals certainly are and should showcase the league. which is why they are in town.

So Goorambat and all blacks have been granted an additional 4 points due to struggling the last couple of years..... Goorambat will always struggle due to location and lack of players to pool from, all blacks only have themselves to blame with poor club culture over such a long period and trying to buy a flag a few years back imo only set the club back at least 10 years in being able to have another crack! What I would've liked would've been to see Glenrowan and milawa deducted 4 points to even up the competition! 3rd to 8th is already so competitive but no teams seem to be able to touch the 2 powerhouses

Not sure but can only guess but would only think the VCFL would have given clubs room to move first year up. I am expecting once things settle the points system will be reduced and adjusted.
Lets have this conversation in 2-3 years time. The problem won't be solved in one year.

i heard from a reliable source that a struggling club will be getting extra points so they don't have to turn quality players away that want to play with the club, it's a good thing for the league i reckon..

Can't see it happening IMO
any submissions for extra points would have to be in well before now

All Black & Goorambat have been give 4 extra points already
Was that done close to when points were allocated ?
Would imagine getting closer to season starting that it would be hard to get extra points
If so then can clubs lodge complaints to a clubs points reduced ?
I think stability is a major key to the format

Was that done close to when points were allocated ?
Would imagine getting closer to season starting that it would be hard to get extra points
If so then can clubs lodge complaints to a clubs points reduced ?
I think stability is a major key to the format

they both applied and where granted about 10 days ago along with Myrtleford
due to hardship & lack of success in recent years & have not qualified for finals for a number of years
I think Benalla's lack of success is there own doing spent a lot of money pervious to this & then recruited poorly
are they going to do this for every side that does this

The positions these two clubs are in is understandably worthy of a 4 point buffer. They are in that position for different reasons for each club but are both working positively to address it. The idea that the league would have been better off to take 4 points off the top two is crazy. The idea should be to assist the lower "on field" performing clubs to come up a bit, not drag the two best teams back.....remember we want to increase the level and profile of the league in general not pull it back.

And besides that, if you look through some of the scores from the 2015 season there were games that were quite close and the clubs that finished at the top had to really fight for it, they didn't just run out there and smash everyone week in week out. They had to earn it, and that's what we want in the comp

Who does everyone think has had the best off season? Goorambat and Benalla seem to look like they may be the big improvers. Wont match it with the big teams yet but will show big improvements. Still think the top 4 will be Glenrowan, Milawa, Bright and Tarra.

Top 4 looks right.

I think sides like Greta, Nth wang, Whorouly, moyhu will get a shock when they play Goorambat and Benalla and may end up with a long year ahead. The middle part of the ladder is going to very hotly contested that's for sure. I think 2016 has the potential to see the average skill level of O&K footy be the best yet and that's the main thing we all want to see. Out of all those teams I just mentioned, I don't think anyone could pick ladder spots now.....they could all end up anywhere from 5th to 12th depending on how the year unfolds.

Top 4 looks right.

I think sides like Greta, Nth wang, Whorouly, moyhu will get a shock when they play Goorambat and Benalla and may end up with a long year ahead. The middle part of the ladder is going to very hotly contested that's for sure. I think 2016 has the potential to see the average skill level of O&K footy be the best yet and that's the main thing we all want to see. Out of all those teams I just mentioned, I don't think anyone could pick ladder spots now.....they could all end up anywhere from 5th to 12th depending on how the year unfolds.

I agree with you in that I think Goorambat will certainly improve and I'm hoping the same with Benalla. But how much they improve remains to be seen. You very rarely hear anything out of Whorouly and they always seem to be around the mark (despite missing finals last year). Let's just see how the Bats and All Blacks go early in the season before getting too far ahead of ourselves.

Yep agree. The best part is that it will be different to the last few years, where the sides in the lower half of the ladder will be very competitive at worst and at their best will prove very dangerous to anyone that lets their guard down. Its what our footy needs. Hopefully we have at least seen the end of the 200 point margins of the last few years.

I see clearances have started! 14 already in for goorambat so they may need more than 4 extra points. Also 4 out as well.
As most have said time will tell how clubs improve this year. I hope this is a long term thing as would hate for these players to come for a year or two then go!

I see clearances have started! 14 already in for goorambat so they may need more than 4 extra points. Also 4 out as well.
As most have said time will tell how clubs improve this year. I hope this is a long term thing as would hate for these players to come for a year or two then go!

Mckean 4 points (gv)
Polwarth 4 (gv)
Symes 5 (gv + 1 penalty 3rd club in last 3 years)
Dalton 4 (gv)
Hyde 4 (gv)
Pollard 4 (2015 BnF + from another O&K club)
Brennan 3 (gv)
Cook 3 (gv)
Ant Symes 3 (gv)
Mark pollard 3 (GRETA)
Barker 3 (gv)
Creamer 3 (gv)

12 players worth 43 points by my estimate. Each O&K club allowed 46 plus additional 4 for gbat. That leaves them 7 points with 9 players still to fill a side??

Ps throw in Brendan Stevens if he plays? Clearance in but unsure if it's a coaching role or playing. That's another 3 I'd say.

Mckean 4 points (gv)
Polwarth 4 (gv)
Symes 5 (gv + 1 penalty 3rd club in last 3 years)
Dalton 4 (gv)
Hyde 4 (gv)
Pollard 4 (2015 BnF + from another O&K club)
Brennan 3 (gv)
Cook 3 (gv)
Ant Symes 3 (gv)
Mark pollard 3 (GRETA)
Barker 3 (gv)
Creamer 3 (gv)

12 players worth 43 points by my estimate. Each O&K club allowed 46 plus additional 4 for gbat. That leaves them 7 points with 9 players still to fill a side??

Ps throw in Brendan Stevens if he plays? Clearance in but unsure if it's a coaching role or playing. That's another 3 I'd say.

LOL at this, you have no idea!

Lol all you want mate, Iv read the points system and understand how they are allocated. Any player from gv or ovens and Murray are worth 3 points or 4 if they have played equal amounts of senior/reserves games in the previous season or two.

Pretty sure your spot on there navyblueman!
This is part of why the points system was put in place to stop all the movement between clubs. This in turn doesn't help a club that needs a fair few players to be competitive. If this movement of players had happened last year at goorambat it would of been a bit easier to fit them in.
I don't think anyone is having a go at Goorambat for trying just could be hard to fit all players inn, with the current point system. Just the facts of it.

Lol all you want mate, Iv read the points system and understand how they are allocated. Any player from gv or ovens and Murray are worth 3 points or 4 if they have played equal amounts of senior/reserves games in the previous season or two.

ruling under state clause 16.2 - any player that leaves a club having played at a higher level previous to joining an ovens and King club within 2 years is a 3 point player which means 3 players leave that's 9 more points!

That statement doesn't quite make sense, not saying you're wrong just want to clarify what you think it means?? It reads as though you are saying Goorambat should get and extra 9 points because 3 players that previously played a higher level of footy left..?? Or are the guys that have left Goorambat for 2016 all 3 point players....

Either way, the boys are right....good on them for getting these guys in to commit to the club but that's a huge amount of points in. The saving grace should be though that Goorambats best players for the last few years are all local guys that mostly only ever played there and there is no extra points for premierships etc.

Ovens and King Football League 2016