Ovens and King Football League 2016

God - I've got no idea. Maybe 2 senior games, 50 reserves (1 flag), 10 at Uni, 25 Under 19's (it was in Northern Metro League).

Another great win by the interleague side yesterday. After beating Hume last year and now Tallangatta this year a few people outside of the O&K might start to realize that the O&K is a good comp.

Realistically we haven't been given a chance by anyone to beat these leagues. But we have. Was it a case of in the words of their coach not having players available? I think not. Both sides could have been different but they weren't. You can only play who is out there. And we have proved a fair few people wrong!!

Another great win by the interleague side yesterday. After beating Hume last year and now Tallangatta this year a few people outside of the O&K might start to realize that the O&K is a good comp.

Realistically we haven't been given a chance by anyone to beat these leagues. But we have. Was it a case of in the words of their coach not having players available? I think not. Both sides could have been different but they weren't. You can only play who is out there. And we have proved a fair few people wrong!!

Top performance by O&K. Herbert showed his class. Must say that it helped that TDFL had a reserves player as their ruckman though - Newton slaughtered him!

How did the other 2 Bonnie Doon players go?

Without getting a lot of the ball, Cosaitis was impressive - took a couple of nice grabs and kicked three goals despite never being the focal point up forward.

Swindells was alright but didn't star. Like most of the O&K midfielders he just played his role. They rotated the mids very heavily so a lot of players probably struggled to get into a rhythm, but it kept them all fresh and able to run out the game.

Whorouly not a great organisation and this seriously shows. If you want to be respected you need more than just onfield success...

Given the efforts Whorouly puts into its annual Pink Day and the initiative it has shown in adopting the local Youth Girls' team, I reckon they do a lot of things right as an organisation!

...local Youth Girls' ...

Hey Nonch - On a tangent here. Is the O&K the slowest competition in the state to embrace girls footy? From an outsider (with an 11 y/o girl that wants to play footy) - it appears to be amazing that the WJFL can't scratch together a girls team based in Wang....

I have to plead ignorance as I'm not sure what other leagues/regions are doing with regards to girls' footy. Are you suggesting there should be a girls' team in the WDJFL to compete against boys' teams? Or to compete against girls' teams from other regions?

At the moment the WDJFL's biggest concern is the declining numbers of boys playing in Wangaratta, but I suppose that more of a focus on girls could help reinvigorate the competition and promote growth.

I have to plead ignorance as I'm not sure what other leagues/regions are doing with regards to girls' footy. Are you suggesting there should be a girls' team in the WDJFL to compete against boys' teams? Or to compete against girls' teams from other regions?

At the moment the WDJFL's biggest concern is the declining numbers of boys playing in Wangaratta, but I suppose that more of a focus on girls could help reinvigorate the competition and promote growth.

No need to reinvent the wheel - just do what every other league in the country is doing - start a girls comp.

Just got this from the AFL website:
In 2015 almost 600,000 girls played in a structured competitions and there are now 253 leagues for women and girls football with 226 new teams.

Tips for this week - and a seriously good week of footy ahead:

Benalla V Tarra - Benalla are about the have the two biggest weeks of the 1st 1/2 of the season, first up against Tarra and then Milawa. I think they would have hoped to be better placed than 2-5 at this stage, and unless they can do something special they will be 2-7 and out of contention by June. Tarra should make light work after the break and will win it by 10 goals.

And it is the same story for Whorouly against Glenrowan. I'd expect that Whorouly to chuck everything at Glenrowan and it could be the match of the round. Scores will be level at 3/4 time - but Glenrowan will have too much class and will run away by 20 points.

Amazingly the Bats are favorites against Bright - that isn't something I thought I'd be saying this season. I still can't write Bright off this year - but seriously if they can't get the chocolates it's all over. Bat's by 2 goals.

Greta V North Wang. I had a mate who use to go to his local footy and watch the two worst teams in the comp - he called it the Bazza cup. He'd go to these games because you could always strike up a conversation with the biggest die hard legends on the outer (usually called 'Bazza'). Greta win will be equal to the number of paying fans at the game. Greta by 55.

Moyhu V Milawa. I have been so unimpressed by Milawa this year, that I could even be tempted into a dumb selection and pick Moyhu. But nah - Milawa will should have enough class to win here. But they'll only win by 18 points and it could well be another step towards a disappointing season.

Lastly King Valley against Bonnie Doon. KV impressed against Tarra, but BD will do it easy. 36 points.

Football in general in the NE is too "clunky". It would make sense to me to dissolve the junior league completely, align each of the current teams with an O&K club, change the ages to U13/U15/U17 (3rds)/Reserves/Seniors.

That way, if you've got 2 kids a couple of years apart (and even the old man that might dabble in a 2s game here and there), you're not constantly having to shuffle your weekends around to try and suit everyone.

I can't imagine how painful it would be if you had to play at BD on a Saturday then take the young fella to Bright or Mansfield on the sunday. Thats a lot of travel.

Although it would likely increase distances travelled week to week by parents, it would probably be beneficial for footy in the NE as we would probably see higher retention rates from juniors in to senior grade as they have already formed the relationships at the club they've been aligned with.

Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk

Just a wild stab,and i know the travel would be a hassle. But what if North wang played there home games at Swanpool or Tatong seeing as both grounds don't get used and have allocation for gates, change rooms and bar facilities it would also bring some old supporters from the old clubs to come down and watch the games.

I had the same idea, but i think the travel would end up being the dealbreaker. Im not sure they've found us anywhere yet but we are training monday at the baseball field and wednesday at rovers ground.

Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk

On the north wang dilemma i know money would be an issue but perhaps tempfence wareena oval.. Gate takings wont be high but in all honesty they werent going to be high out at the nest anyway.. Temporary bar facility, im just not sure on changerooms. Havent played there since i was 16, loved the surface though

Well done to the guys from the interleague side. I am very happy to say I underestimated them! So I'll happily eat my words from last week!
Get it forward, you are spot on. Both sides had what they had and went out here to have a crack at knocking each other off, so well done to our boys for getting the win.

That's a couple in a row now after a bit of a disappointing history beforehand, hopefully it assists in lifting the profile a bit.

I see the TDFL haven't taken the loss too well, calling for a review of the TDFL interleague involvement and what they feel is a lack of commitment to the league from clubs and players.....I wonder if they would be doing that if they won?

Tips for the week:

Benalla vs Tarra; Tarrawingee too strong across the board and should win comfortably. Tarra by 12 goals, don't know that Benalla will have a match up for Raven.

Whorouly vs Glenrowan; I think the Tigers will win this by 100+, big Suss will kick a bag!

Bats vs Bright; I am tipping Bright on the fact they just have to win to stay in contention. Too good of a side to miss finals. Bright by 9pts

Greta vs North Wangaratta; Greta will win this one by 6 goals

Moyhu vs Milawa; Milawa should regain a few players after the interleague bye. Smith back in for Moyhu will certainly help but not enough for the Hoppers to get the points. Milawa 30pts

King Valley vs Bonnie Doon; I am tipping the Valley to win at home. Had a strong performance at Tarra last round. Bonnie Doon going well & this may be just a bump along the road for them. KV by 20pts.

I'm going to have a guess at the weekends games before I head back to the Doon in a couple of weeks time

Tarra will be to strong for the blacks 45 points +

Glenrowan to get passed the lions by about 5 goals

Bright in a good contest by 20 points

Greta And North Wang will be closer than expected but the Blues to runnaway in the latter stages by 8 goals

Milawa to bounce back by 5 goals

Doon and KV will be a close one and will go down to the wire I'm predicting either way 1 goal between the two teams maybe KV at home

Ovens and King Football League 2016