Ovens and King Football League 2016

Nonch dont tease your ignorance is appalling

I'm simply stating facts about what I have and have not seen and heard. I don't claim to have any particular insight, because I don't socialise with any of the players. But saying I'm ignorant would imply that I should just accept these things as truth because nameless internet entities tell me to. I would argue that would make me far worse than ignorant. But feel free to indulge us all with with a fact bomb, BJH, and relieve me of the ignorance that blinds!

I think your lack of movement in social circles around footy clubs is abit crook or maybe people just dont open up around you due to you position. Im not one to name people because as much as i find it repulsive it like some of the blokes who are infringing...

Let's face it Bojack, Glenrowan were just better on the day, even if they kicked with their left feet they probably would've still beaten Tarra. End of conversation, just let them enjoy the win and stop trying to turn it into some rant about them being on drugs... Have you ever thought about the fact that they're just gun footballers who don't need roids? Lol

Drug issue or no drug issue, Glenrowan were far superior across every line on Saturday, you can't deny that they are a fit, skilful, hard working and well organised team that play well as a team when it counts. Tarra were up against it from the start when the Tigers Started stronger. Tarra are renowned for their pressure but I thought Glenrowan looked to be putting Tarras Stars under the most pressure. Dan Mulrooney was run down twice within 5 minutes heading inside 50, Tarra couldn't find the same space they normally would and as a result Ravo was unable to take a mark on the lead all day due to the pressure applied by Glenrowan defenders and mids in the ball carrier

The start was the most important aspect of the game, and always is in my opinion, you start well and play your way without worrying about the other team, you will 75 percent of the time win.
But, if all week people are telling you you're up against it and that you will need to watch just about every player on the other team it weighs on your mind.

I think the 'finals fatigue' of Tarra would have been thrown out of the conversation had Glenrowan showed even the slightest amount of rust from playing just one game in three weeks and given Tarra a sniff. The Bulldogs would have been all over it, all they needed was a two more goals in the first quarter.
That wasn't the case.
The Tigers didn't allow Tarra the space to play their style of footy and they exposed the Tarra pressure by simply outrunning it.
It was a complete game from the Tigers and well done to them.
They beat Tarra at their own game, while still playing their own. That speaks volumes.

As for a drug culture, i am fairly sure every club has a shady group that may dabble. Blokes are young and dumb, i think it is more the whispers that have arisen from Glenrowan of a drug culture that has caused such a large stirr. But if it isn't at your club, why comment? I think the supporters and sponsors of any club in question of a possible drugs problem have more right than any outside observers.

Maybe next year we can make two threads, on field 2017 and off field 2017? Less BS, more footy.

The start was the most important aspect of the game, and always is in my opinion, you start well and play your way without worrying about the other team, you will 75 percent of the time win.
But, if all week people are telling you you're up against it and that you will need to watch just about every player on the other team it weighs on your mind.

I think the 'finals fatigue' of Tarra would have been thrown out of the conversation had Glenrowan showed even the slightest amount of rust from playing just one game in three weeks and given Tarra a sniff. The Bulldogs would have been all over it, all they needed was a two more goals in the first quarter.
That wasn't the case.
The Tigers didn't allow Tarra the space to play their style of footy and they exposed the Tarra pressure by simply outrunning it.
It was a complete game from the Tigers and well done to them.
They beat Tarra at their own game, while still playing their own. That speaks volumes.

As for a drug culture, i am fairly sure every club has a shady group that may dabble. Blokes are young and dumb, i think it is more the whispers that have arisen from Glenrowan of a drug culture that has caused such a large stirr. But if it isn't at your club, why comment? I think the supporters and sponsors of any club in question of a possible drugs problem have more right than any outside observers.

Maybe next year we can make two threads, on field 2017 and off field 2017? Less BS, more footy.

Couldn't agree more with this post. I also think that if someone does take part in drugs in their own time and at their own home, it doesn't mean the club should be labelled as a 'drug club'. As I've stated previously, perhaps the club is welcoming them to try and distract them from the dark side of drugs, so really - a club should not be punished for accepting someone who may have a drug effected background because in reality they want to play sport to stay away from the dangers of it and to distract them... To me, that's a good sports club.

I think we should also stick to the footy side of things and quit with the whole labelling people and accusing people of things we don't completely or entirely know about.

Once again, if you reckon you know something; think again before you post it because unless you have some kind of evidence, then it's purely crap.

Couldn't agree more with this post. I also think that if someone does take part in drugs in their own time and at their own home, it doesn't mean the club should be labelled as a 'drug club'. As I've stated previously, perhaps the club is welcoming them to try and distract them from the dark side of drugs, so really - a club should not be punished for accepting someone who may have a drug effected background because in reality they want to play sport to stay away from the dangers of it and to distract them... To me, that's a good sports club.

I think we should also stick to the footy side of things and quit with the whole labelling people and accusing people of things we don't completely or entirely know about.

Once again, if you reckon you know something; think again before you post it because unless you have some kind of evidence, then it's purely crap.

Agreed!

Let's move on to 2017 footy talk!

Milawa- will Josh Owen bring anyone with him from Wang?

Tigers- I heard they have had a new coach locked away for a couple of weeks. Potentially to come in and co coach with Matt Robinson. Anyone else heard this? Could be all rumour but have heard it twice recently.

Nth Wang - any positive news about filling the coaching position?

Moyhu have Appointed Michael Kruen as coach haven't they?

KV?

Agreed!

Let's move on to 2017 footy talk!

Milawa- will Josh Owen bring anyone with him from Wang?

Tigers- I heard they have had a new coach locked away for a couple of weeks. Potentially to come in and co coach with Matt Robinson. Anyone else heard this? Could be all rumour but have heard it twice recently.

Nth Wang - any positive news about filling the coaching position?

Moyhu have Appointed Michael Kruen as coach haven't they?

KV?

Josh Owen could be good to Milawa, however Scott Pell isn't a very good talker so it's hard to see him doing a lot.

I believe Glenrowan will be getting a lot of their old players back including Cohen, Lawrence, Pike, Bradley etc. Have heard Matt Robinson and someone else may be co coaches?

Would be good to see some news come out of North Wang regarding the coaching job. They really need a Nigel Robinson sort to bring a lot of friends to the job - however it will be hard with the points system.

Moyhu would have to be my biggest disappointment for the year as there was a lot of hype regarding the players they recruited at the beginning of the season but they didn't do a lot. Hopefully they attract some more people so they can get More out of CJ.

I heard Greta have the coach from Yack for next year???

Haven't heard any news from the Valley or Whorouly... Benalla, Bonnie Doon and Goorambat are all going with the same coaches I believe?

Well done to Glenrowan they were far to good on the day and didn't allow tarra to get into the game!

The silly season now starts and I look forward to hearing all the wonderful rumors on where players are going, how much they are getting paid and who has cracked the shits with who!

Josh Owen could be good to Milawa, however Scott Pell isn't a very good talker so it's hard to see him doing a lot.

I believe Glenrowan will be getting a lot of their old players back including Cohen, Lawrence, Pike, Bradley etc. Have heard Matt Robinson and someone else may be co coaches?

Would be good to see some news come out of North Wang regarding the coaching job. They really need a Nigel Robinson sort to bring a lot of friends to the job - however it will be hard with the points system.

Moyhu would have to be my biggest disappointment for the year as there was a lot of hype regarding the players they recruited at the beginning of the season but they didn't do a lot. Hopefully they attract some more people so they can get More out of CJ.

I heard Greta have the coach from Yack for next year???

Haven't heard any news from the Valley or Whorouly... Benalla, Bonnie Doon and Goorambat are all going with the same coaches I believe?

Benalla doon and Gbat all resigned their coaches during the year I think.

Greta coach is correct. Ex Yack coach of the last 3 years.

I don't know what more they could have hoped for our of CJ, he kicked 80 odd for the year in a team that missed finals and would have gone close to the ton of not for suspension.

Benalla doon and Gbat all resigned their coaches during the year I think.

Greta coach is correct. Ex Yack coach of the last 3 years.

I don't know what more they could have hoped for our of CJ, he kicked 80 odd for the year in a team that missed finals and would have gone close to the ton of not for suspension.

CJ could have been an even more dangerous forward if Moyhu had some better inclusions into the side... You do need quality players to kick the ball to him to win you the games. It's tough to really judge the teams that finished 5-9th as they could have all been a lot better.

Dear aspykid25,
I am concerned that you are now commenting on virtually every post, and there are about 200 days between now and the first round of the 2017 season.
There will of course, be a bit of dissecting stuff about the season that was (picking over the corpse in the case of some sides) - and in February stuff may start up again with talk of preseason hatches, matches and dispatches. But really, now that all is said and done, don't you think you should give it a rest?
From a health perspective - I am just concerned that you may have some serious Big Footy withdraws. So for your own sake - just remove the Big Footy icon from the favorites bar, and step away from the keyboard.
I mean it's not like others are lining up to praise you for your poetic insights.

just joined the forum and it looks like when Glenrowan come into the league people were talking about Glenrowan as an embarrassment to the league and that like tatong and swanpool they weren't good enough to compete and should exit the league.. now there are many haters that don't like them for various reasons. since they are non football rumors im wondering if these rumors are due to the fact that they are solely jealousy.. It baffles me that people could think they know what goes on inside the 4 walls of a football club unless the were apart of the club. could all you jealous strugglers please confirm if im correct ??

Ive heard similar things from Hoggo. Wouldnt be suprised if the boots say in his bag again.
Xavs too lean these days to play key position, but would still murder O&K.
Anyone heard who Greta have picked up im hearing a carload of blokes? Sadly they might need a mini bus worth

Ive heard similar things from Hoggo. Wouldnt be suprised if the boots say in his bag again.
Xavs too lean these days to play key position, but would still murder O&K.
Anyone heard who Greta have picked up im hearing a carload of blokes? Sadly they might need a mini bus worth
The X man too lean?

The long distance running he was doing took some of the size away. But he has be a feature down at Valeo, so could come back like the hulk. Also notice big quarters Aumman has been bouncing around in an old tarra top abit... may be on his way to the kennel

Ovens and King Football League 2016