Ovens and Murray

I think the credibility of the Championships was really damaged with the withdrawal of the Geelong FL due to financial issues and the current situation in Group B with only the Hampden and Mornington Peninsula FL competing.

I liked the old knock out format much better. The current format is just like one day cricket in that it is more like a "kick and giggle" with the strongest generally the winner.

Another issue with the championships is the withdrawal of many key players from all leagues due to injury, unavailability etc. All these withdrawals basically assist in casting a shadow over the future of the round robin format.

Would still like to be at Lavington this weekend though to say how things pan out - Goulburn Valley would certainly start hot favorites I think.

Fair dinkum, is that you Timba (Here It Is)?

Congratulations on last year mate. Great effort.

Will you be right to play after the inter-league?

Seriously, if it is you Timba, I hope you blokes go back-to-back. I reckon Yarra amd Myrtleford are ahead at this stage, but you blokes are capable of lifting a cog or two.

arceri said:
Seriously, if it is you Timba, I hope you blokes go back-to-back. I reckon Yarra amd Myrtleford are ahead at this stage, but you blokes are capable of lifting a cog or two.

get out of his arse!!! ;)

How is Damian Slater going at woodonga bulldogs? Can anyone tell me? What about the two's he coaches is it true they are on the slide

The Top 10 players for this week are:

Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 30
Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 27
Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 27
Rhys Fitzpatrick (Myrtleford) 26
Adam Williams (Wodonga) 26
Matt Wollington (Yarrawonga) 25
Joel Mackie (North Albury) 23
Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 22
Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 22
Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 22
Kade Stevens (Lavington) 22

Gotheroos said:
Good to see that the O:thumbsu: MFL pulled the pants down of the GVFL and smacked there arses!!!
Just read a couple of your rescent posts Gotheroos, and you seem to like pulling peoples pants down and smacking them.:thumbsu:

jimmyboy said:
Just read a couple of your rescent posts Gotheroos, and you seem to like pulling peoples pants down and smacking them.:thumbsu:

I just like having the last laugh. And as I was a past player of the OMFL league it was good to see them shut the GVFL guys up for a least a year.:)

I see that Guy Rigoni is playing for Myrtleford this weekend against Corowa. Should put a few more people through the gate and this game should be a good one with both teams having a few injury concerns at the minute.

Anyone got any thoughts about rigoni playing! Would you tag him or just let him go? Wonder how he will go?

Fair comment Timba. I'll have a bit of coleshaw on my roll from the Black Range cafe.

PS: Are you right to play on Saturday. if you blokes can win the next two, I reckon top three is well and truly alive.

How many do you get back from injury (without giving away too many secrets)?

I see that Guy Rigoni is playing for Myrtleford this weekend against Corowa. Should put a few more people through the gate and this game should be a good one with both teams having a few injury concerns at the minute.

Anyone got any thoughts about rigoni playing! Would you tag him or just let him go? Wonder how he will go?

Mate Brad Murray being out for Myrtleford is a massive blow, Rigoni will fill the void for the week.

Lavi will be okay.

I'm a bit concerned about persistent rumours that a Panther veteran is about to leave the club for a district league club though.

daisy_train said:
Mate Brad Murray being out for Myrtleford is a massive blow, Rigoni will fill the void for the week.
I agree that losing Murray is a blow,but there is plenty of depth in the on ball department at Myrtleford! Carey,Fitzpatrick,Browne,Nightingale,Ivone,Dean-Johns,Cartwright,Peters,Jones just to name a few!

Pearce off Jack said:
I agree that losing Murray is a blow,but there is plenty of depth in the on ball department at Myrtleford! Carey,Fitzpatrick,Browne,Nightingale,Ivone,Dean-Johns,Cartwright,Peters,Jones just to name a few!

Good to see Myrtleford bringing up a local Bright youngster in Benstead. It will be interesting to hear how the young fella goes. Ivone is becoming a great midfielder really gets his head over the footy.

What has been going on with Shane Peters playing in the reserves, wasn't he in last years o&m representative side?

Has anyone heard that funky millar is returning to the myrtleford football club next season. I heard that he was down there signing up for next season.

I'll admit I'm worried about Lavi after the weekend.

Timba, have you got a message for your supporters?

I'd be interested if anyone has got anything to say about how pathetic Damien Pattison is as an Ovens & Murray umpire.

It is that obvious that he has not got any idea about what he is doing and he is going to cost a side a match sooner or later.
He would not know how to hold a frigging football let alone umpire a ovens & murray match. He spoils a good game of footy every time he umpires.

If any umpires are out there and following the big footy forum then for christ sake, tell me how this ******* continually gets the green light to officiate in one of the best leagues in country victoria. Send him else where, where the standard is of the same as his umpiring ability, if you can find such a s h i t standard.

He is woeful and shorely the umpiring board can see this!

Has anyone else been involved in a game , or been at a game where this poor excuse for an umpire has "officiated"?