Ovens and Murray

1-6-2006 - By David Johnston, The Border Mail

Wagga Tigers raise OM option again

WAGGA Tigers joining the Ovens and Murray Football League has been placed firmly back on the agenda.
The once powerful Riverina league club has failed to make to make a serious impact in the Canberra AFL competition since being rejected by the O and M in 2001.
The Tigers have not made the finals in four completed seasons in the Canberra AFL and have only recorded one win this year against bottom-placed Weston Creek.
“There is no secret we are struggling in Canberra,” Wagga Tigers president Ray Carroll said yesterday.
“We simply don’t have the money to compete with some of the clubs up there.
“Our bid to join the O and M five years ago wasn’t successful, but I am not sure whether attitudes have changed.
“It’s always an option.”
Carroll said the Tigers had not ruled out staying in the Canberra AFL next season, but said a return to the Riverina league where they were a perennial powerhouse was not an option.
“From a club point of view we are not going back to the RFL,” Carroll said.
“If push came to shove we would certainly have a look down that way and see how responsive the clubs would be.
“We are working through a few things to see if we can make ourselves more competitive (in Canberra).
“But, we’ve got to do what is right for the club.
“You never say, never.”
Carroll added there wasn’t a lot of sympathy among former RFL rivals for the Tigers’ present struggles in the national capital.
The Canberra AFL is an eight-team competition and includes the Sydney Swans reserves who won the premiership under the coaching of John Longmire last season.
Rookie-listed duo Adam Prior and Sam Rowe play for the Swans who thrashed mega-rich Canberra club Ainslie last round by 148 points.
“They beat us by 80 and we thought that wasn’t too bad,” Carroll said.
Due to a lack of success in Canberra in recent seasons, Wagga Tigers players have become recruiting targets for clubs in the Riverina, Farrer and O and M leagues.
Jared Kahlefeldt and Matt Fife joined Wodonga Raiders from Wagga Tigers this season.
The Canberra AFL also doesn’t include netball.
“The footy is great, but there is no netball and that’s a big thing,” Carroll said.
“You lose them out of your club.”

if we allow wagga tigers to join, it wouldnt be all bad, raiders would have some competition for the wooden spoon then!!

Whats everyones thoughts on Albury? They have really stamped themselves on season 2006 with there display on Saturday completely outpointing Myrtleford in all aspects of football.
Myrtleford need to find a bit of discipline before coming up against some of the better sides. Rumour has it they got flogged on sunday morning.

I read in the O&M website that Wangaratta Rovers had a big win over Raiders,and that forward Peter Cristoforo kicked 9 in his return from some sort of a leg injury,he was out for 3 weeks,he has now booted 27 in just 5 games -i spoke to someone who said that he kicked his 9 goals well before 3quarter time on saturday and left the field for the remander of the game 20 minutes into 3rd quarter,is this true? if so then he would have booted a massive bag had a played the full game.
Anyone have any info?

daisy_train said:
Whats everyones thoughts on Albury? They have really stamped themselves on season 2006 with there display on Saturday completely outpointing Myrtleford in all aspects of football.
Myrtleford need to find a bit of discipline before coming up against some of the better sides. Rumour has it they got flogged on sunday morning.

Where have you been hiding for the last 3 years, hey Tige?

roo9699 said:
I read in the O&M website that Wangaratta Rovers had a big win over Raiders,and that forward Peter Cristoforo kicked 9 in his return from some sort of a leg injury,he was out for 3 weeks,he has now booted 27 in just 5 games -i spoke to someone who said that he kicked his 9 goals well before 3quarter time on saturday and left the field for the remander of the game 20 minutes into 3rd quarter,is this true? if so then he would have booted a massive bag had a played the full game.
Anyone have any info?

He did in fact kick 9 which broke the Rovers record for most goals against Raiders.
The previous record of six was jointly shared by two of his team-mates on Sat (Peter Taylor and Matt Allen) plus two others whose names escape me at the moment.
The club record of 14 held by Allen was in doubt until the Rovers elected not to risk the hamstring he has carried since the round 3 game against Wodonga.

harsh said:
All very good points you make Hornet and I reckon the addition of Wagga Tigers would be great.
The travel time for the southern clubs will be reduced next year with the completion of the internal freeway through Albury.
But, OM clubs only have to make the journey once and Wagga Tigers have to do the bulk of the travel which is no issue because they are used to it from the RFL days.
The biggest hurdle will be getting the OM out of its comfort zone of having a 10-team competition where everybody plays eachother twice in an 18-round draw and no byes.
The longest anyone has to travel at the moment is 1hr15min which is heaven compared to some of the other comps including the neighouring GV.
I think you would find that the travel time for Myrtleford would still be between 2.5 to 3 hours by the time you arrived at the ground.The equivalent of asking them to play in the outskirts of melbourne i doubt that anyone would call that a viable exercise!

harsh said:
He did in fact kick 9 which broke the Rovers record for most goals against Raiders.
The previous record of six was jointly shared by two of his team-mates on Sat (Peter Taylor and Matt Allen) plus two others whose names escape me at the moment.
The club record of 14 held by Allen was in doubt until the Rovers elected not to risk the hamstring he has carried since the round 3 game against Wodonga.

Very good footballer,Cristoforo,yes he did play only 3 quarters on saturday for his 9 goals.
Thats the 3rd record he has broken in his short time at the Rovers - he kicked 7 vs Albury in Round 1 was the most by a Rovers player vs that club and his 8 vs Lavington in Round 3 was also the most by a rovers player vs that club.

My Top 10 players after round 8.

Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 41
Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 37
Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 35
Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 35
Clint Runnalls (Yarrawonga) 34
Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 32
Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 32
Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 31
Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 31
Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 31

may i ask why are there no albury players in that top 10? although they havnt had their latest form all season, i cant understand how not even one albury player didnt get into your top 10.

simple mate - it's a **** system.

Luke Carroll has been struggling as well. (joke)

daisy_train said:

Albury is a contender there is no doubt about that. I think Myrtleford is still in 1st gear at this stage of the season, but they still seem to be able to beat the likes of the rovers, roos, hoppers. I have been and seen the last few Myrtleford games and they have been in ordinary form. This week they have no better motivation to snap out of their form slump against the side who beat them in the grandfinal last year. Should be a cracker of a game.

Here It Is said:
My Top 10 players after round 8.

1. Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 41
2. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 37
3. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 35
3. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 35
5. Clint Runnalls (Yarrawonga) 34
6. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 32
6. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 32
8. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 31
8. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 31
8. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 31

where to you come up with that this garbage may i ask?
Is this a weekly total or cumulative added for the whole year?

maclurem said:
may i ask why are there no albury players in that top 10? although they havnt had their latest form all season, i cant understand how not even one albury player didnt get into your top 10.

Albury is obviously a very even team with no standout players, judging on the best players as named on the website.

Trent Crothers (Albury) 24
Charles Gaylard (Albury) 21
David Gregory (Albury) 21
Daniel Anglin (Albury) 20
Calan McClay (Albury) 20

Arceri - and remember I can only go on best players as named - Carroll is in fact either having a bad season by his standards, or has instructed the timekeepers not to name him in the best (which does happen and I can't control it). The system is not my opinion, it is purely based on the stats of best players as named by the club timekeepers and submitted on the website.

Luke Carroll (Albury) 7

Off the cuff - it's cumulative of the whole season, and we'll see if it is garbage on Morris Medal night. If it is, it is - but I reckon it won't be too far off the mark.

If trent crothers finishes higher than Luke Carroll then the moderator's should take this thread off air.

it's an embarrassment to the service.

What are you suggesting Arceri? that Crothers is a hack? bit harsh, the paper has been talking up Crothers big time. He must be a gun.

I have a feeling Luke Carroll will poll a few more votes than your man Crothers though Here it is. Daniel Maher will also poll more votes and he's not mentioned and i can't imagine why the time-keepers would be instructed not to mention him. The system is flawed champ.

Here It Is said:
Off the cuff - it's cumulative of the whole season, and we'll see if it is garbage on Morris Medal night. If it is, it is - but I reckon it won't be too far off the mark.

Thats fine by me,now that i know how you work it - but how does the points system work then,may i ask???

Could you then print out a whole list say top 100 or so at the halfway mark or every 4 weeks because it would be more interesting seeing the players who have had slower starts to the year move in or players that opned the season well fall off if you know what i mean.
Having a top 10 doesnt really mean much,may i suggest a top 20 or 25? every week?
Thats just my 2 bobs worth thats all.:)

Time-keepers don't do the best players _ the respective coaching staffs do and some coaches leave themselves out to pump up other players in the team.
The only objective best players in the OM are the ones which are done independantly (I hope I spelled that right) for the Border Mail each Monday.
These people also give votes in the BM Footballer of the Year and I doubt there is a more accurate guide to who is actually playing well.
Albury coach Luke Carroll is leading for what it's worth and Wangaratta's Dale Carmody is also right up there.

harsh said:
Time-keepers don't do the best players _ the respective coaching staffs do and some coaches leave themselves out to pump up other players in the team.
The only objective best players in the OM are the ones which are done independantly (I hope I spelled that right) for the Border Mail each Monday.
These people also give votes in the BM Footballer of the Year and I doubt there is a more accurate guide to who is actually playing well.
Albury coach Luke Carroll is leading for what it's worth and Wangaratta's Dale Carmody is also right up there.

I admit my system is reliant on clubs taking the best players seriously and actually using them for what they are meant to be used for - naming who the six blokes who actually were the best six.
If clubs want to throw in smokies and leave out good players they are just treating long distance supporters who can't attend matches with contempt.
I can't do anything about this.
I used the Border Mail best players for my list in the previous four seasons I have done an O and M list - I successfully picked Tim Hargreaves' Morris Medal, but haven't gone closer than a No.4 winning it (Ryan MacKenzie) since.
Thus I decided to try the different list of best players this season to see if it was any more accurate.
Off the Cuff's request will be answered this week - and if I find time I might do a list based on the Border Mail's best players to see if it is much different.
Perhaps Harsh could post the weekly votes and leaderboard of the BM Player of the Year and also the OAKFM player of the year as I would be interested in knowing how these two awards are progressing.
Arceri - Crothers' rank surprises me, as does Carroll's, but I think I've covered that above.

Lavy_Panther said:
Where did he say the system's crap? He perhaps alluded to it being somewhat flawed, but it still has merit.

Exactly.
The only flaw comes from clubs treating supporters with contempt.

Arceri said:
so, if the systen's crap, why run it?

A systen (or should it be cistern?) is the part of a toilet that holds the water before you flush. It is run so you don't end up with a heap of **** in the bottom of your toilet.

arceri said:
so, if the systen's crap, why run it?

Arceri, It s obviously a system that has it s flaws, but it s simply a system of adding provided votes. Instead of bagging it why don t you suggest improvements or another system to use?

Or are you filthy your not in the top ten..?

Sunbury signs star onballer

First published by:

Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

Sunbury has high hopes for a former Ovens and Murray Football League star it has recruited.
Lavington premiership player Corey Brown could play for the Lions as soon as this week’s blockbuster with East Point at the Eastern Oval.
Although the Lions signed him last week, coach Mark Power said Brown would not play in today’s clash with Sebastopol at Clarke Oval.
“He won’t play against Sebastopol because he hasn’t been cleared,” Power said yesterday.
“We put his clearance in on Friday and we’re hoping that he will be right for the big one against East Point.”
Brown, an onballer, was named man-of-the-match in Lavington’s one-point grand final win over Myrtleford last year.
He is the nephew of Sunbury legends Ashley and Rohan Brand.
Brown contacted Sunbury wanting to play because he had grown tired of travelling from Melbourne to Albury each week, Power said.
The Lions will aim for their first win since round four today after suffering consecutive losses to Ballarat and Redan.
However, the Kookaburras would rise from the bottom of the ladder if they claim only their second win for the season.