Coaching Staff Past Coach: Matthew Knights - Finally gets his second shot - 5/5

Was it just me or did anyone else get the impression from Knights in the box that he had no idea what to do next???

It was just you misinterpreting footy again.

He was actually thinking "what new skeleton will I find in Sheedys cupboard" or, "now I know why Vossy didn't apply for the job". At least Knighter's taking it on the chin.

Ok mate if i did misread the post which i have a habit of doing, then what is the plan, rocket science? Surely it cant be that hard ffs, the players can't to the basics right. Firstly they have to learn how to stay on their feet, win the hard ball, and find a team mate whether by hand or foot. We are incapable of executing even that. If we could then we might have a chance.

That's exactly the point. There's no point in moving on to the next phase if the current phase isn't working.

So the current phase is to learn how to kick, learn how to win the ball and find a team mate? Is that right because i thought when you have been playing the game all your life and get selected in the draft you know how to do this. Or is the current phase learning all of the above plus the attacking style?

Not quite. The current game is to run and handball the ball out of defensive fifty, look up and kick long to a leading half forward, or run the lines down the middle, before either having a shot, or popping the ball on the head of the resting ruckman/Lloyd. Obviously, when the confidence is down, the skills are down, and the gameplan falls to bits.

Potentially very exciting brand of football.

I think the highlighted bit sums it up.
If you are not a devoted reader of comments on this site then how can you form such a strong opinion on the comments made on this site ?
You can't.

That's all you've got? A complete misinterpretation of the point being made? And not a single other point in my post addressed?

Shame.

It was just you misinterpreting footy again.

He was actually thinking "what new skeleton will I find in Sheedys cupboard" or, "now I know why Vossy didn't apply for the job". At least Knighter's taking it on the chin.

I made a comment about Knights body language on Saturday night when we were in trouble..... big deal. I went on record as saying that I disagreed with the decision to appoint him but would give him a chance and I reckon I've stayed true to my word this season.
We are all Essendon fans so why fight amongst ourselves? Not everyone shares the same opinions. I'm not saying I know everything about footy and you are probably more senior than me but enoughs enough. We are all here because we love the club.

Or the supporters who are calling for him to teach a different game plan when the players are not able to carry out the first one which is not overly complicated.
Please do explain to me how exactly we can carry out plain b,c,d or bloody plan z if we can not ____ing hit a target to save ourselves :mad:
Last night we gave up 7.5 to turnovers (including 3 out of the first 5 that Richmond kicked), remind me by how much we lost agian ? Tells a story doesn't it. We have given up just under 5 goals in turnovers per game on average for the last 4 years. It is now wonder we can't win games when we are kicking 3 or 4 goals for the opposition ourselves !!!

Agreed. And who is the key protagonist here..... Andrew Welsh. 45% efficiency. I hope the coaching staff is beggining to realise that he is very very limited in what he can offer the team.

That's all you've got? A complete misinterpretation of the point being made? And not a single other point in my post addressed?

Shame.

Why would i bother to go on.
Fact , i said most on here where whinging becasue they overated the list.
Fact , you said that in your view you had not seen a lot of it.
Fact , you also said that you where not an avid reader of this forum.
Fact , you can not form an informative view if you are not an avid reader of the posts in this forum.
Fact , i have never said that Knights was the be al and end all. All i have ever said about the topic is there are a number of problems involved and i doubt anyone would be doing much better given the circumstances.

If you are going to have a decent shot at me at least try and know the history involved as far as my opinion goes on the matter at hand.
End of story.

About these boots, didnt Lovett run out onto the ground against Carltank in Rd 3 with them on? He was ordered to go back and change them before the first bounce. Weird stuff that Reimers was allowed to wear them

Obviously Knights didn't want to risk Lovett getting injured. Which is probably what would have happened if Kyle thought he'd nicked his boots.

I made a comment about Knights body language on Saturday night when we were in trouble..... big deal. I went on record as saying that I disagreed with the decision to appoint him but would give him a chance and I reckon I've stayed true to my word this season.
We are all Essendon fans so why fight amongst ourselves? Not everyone shares the same opinions. I'm not saying I know everything about footy and you are probably more senior than me but enoughs enough. We are all here because we love the club.

You love the club? Let me remark that there are few on this forum sick of the surreptitious s******ing and bagging of Knights going on at the minute. Do you think the EFC, an unlisted public company, entrusted with the administration of over $30m, would appoint Knights without the right level of due diligence? It's not done on the back of some hearsay at the local pub that you, no doubt used for your assessment of his appointment. They got it wrong with too many Sheedy contracts; that E 36, will take time to rectify. If Knights doesn't measure up after 3 years- out he goes.

So do us all a favour, get off the fence and put your foot in a red and black paddock.

im not saying we are going to get instant success .....but if your going to teach a side to play fast attacking footy u need to have the skills and also the skill to play the other way when u havent got the ball.....

we did that with sheedy and werent gettting smacked like we are now.....maybe knights will turn out to be a good coach but i doubt it right now.....living here in adelaide and being a lifelong port magpies supporter i know whats its like......we did the wrong thing here, the magpies in appointing him as coach we were shocking for 2 years .....didnt even make the finals.....and i know from a few people at the club that they said he didnt have that much idea......

so now that hes stepped up at afl level i have my doubts.....if we continue to get belted like we have this year that can really destroy a players confidence so bad it takes a long time to get back.....a winning culture like ours can easily be turned around with a losing one......i dont want that from a great club like essendon.....we have seen what it did and has done to carlton......we will lose respect quickly too......losing is one one thing but being uncompetitive is different all together......since round 3 we have been shocking and its really pissing me off, start to do something about it knights.......

I have complete faith in matthew knights in the fact he has a goal he ultimately hopes to acheive. But theres only so much 1 can do when your players are not commited to the club. Its like a father trying to convince his son to play soccer. Its not the fathers fault if the son is so hell bent not to play soccer. The buck stops with the players. they will not bleed for this club. Then i say next training, Knights give them a tour on how to exit windy hill. Knights is doing all he can. But if the players are to lazy or are no commited, then knights won't have a chance to implement a gameplan successfully.

WTF? Kyle was one of the few blokes out there giving it a red hot go.....

I agree completely. Just not about the boots.

A bit of humility before he does stuff like that'd be nice.

You love the club? Let me remark that there are few on this forum sick of the surreptitious s******ing and bagging of Knights going on at the minute. Do you think the EFC, an unlisted public company, entrusted with the administration of over $30m, would appoint Knights without the right level of due diligence? It's not done on the back of some hearsay at the local pub that you, no doubt used for your assessment of his appointment. They got it wrong with too many Sheedy contracts; that E 36, will take time to rectify. If Knights doesn't measure up after 3 years- out he goes.

So do us all a favour, get off the fence and put your foot in a red and black paddock.

Don't you worry I'm red and black all the way and wouldn't be anywhere else this Friday night than at the game. As much as Sheeds did for the club to become a legend of it, they probably did keep him too long, no arguments with you there.
I agree that some of the comments on Knights are unfair and you will find it wasnt me that made them, bar that one comment about his body language in the coaches box. With the injuries we've had there is no way to gauge where we are at accurately, the coming weeks will be a better guide and if we show steady improvement over the rest of the season as injured players return then fantastic.
We are all allowed an opinion on his appointment, just as we are on an any player that we draft or that we bring into or drop from the seniors. If Knights achieves success and leads us back to the glory days then great, I will be very happy to be wrong and full of praise for the powers that be and their appointment but just because it is a corporate power doesnt mean a thing. Carlton would say they got it wrong with Pagan, Adelaide got it wrong with Robert Shaw back in the 90s and I'm sure they were all certain they had the right man!
I'll admit I have heard horror stories of Knights and his time at Port over here (Adelaides a small town!) which was the main reason for my concern and I don't like the game plan of all out attack and leaving the defence to later. It didnt work for a coach like Pagan. The players are professionals and IMO should be able to handle more of a defensive game plan.
Anyway, I actually enjoy reading your contributions on here even though we can sometimes have differred opinions!

Why would i bother to go on.
Fact , i said most on here where whinging becasue they overated the list.
Fact , you said that in your view you had not seen a lot of it.
Fact , you also said that you where not an avid reader of this forum.
Fact , you can not form an informative view if you are not an avid reader of the posts in this forum.
Fact , i have never said that Knights was the be al and end all. All i have ever said about the topic is there are a number of problems involved and i doubt anyone would be doing much better given the circumstances.

If you are going to have a decent shot at me at least try and know the history involved as far as my opinion goes on the matter at hand.
End of story.

Grow up (and dry up), honestly.

You're the one who's continually tried to force the point about what everyone else has been saying on this board. It was entirely irrelevant to the post of mine which you chose to attack and which triggered our discussion.

It's a complete side issue, and one that you introduced while near-ignoring my invitation to give a straight answer to a very simple question.

Go back and read the thread if you don't believe or can't understand any of that - especially as it's something you seem so keen on lecturing others to do.

(And where do you get the idea that I'm trying to have "a decent shot" at you, btw? You're the one who's been having more of a crack at me, I'd have thought. Any comment of mine that's even vaguely been a shot at you has been directly in response to one of yours. Again, go back to that pastime of reading the thread if you don't believe me.)

And, seeing as the context of my remark about how much reading I do on this board was clearly completely lost on you, substitute the word "slavish" for "devoted" and see if that makes it a bit more obvious. Or shoot me for choosing a word that was too vague for some to understand the pretty obvious point that was being made.

Alternatively, if you're still struggling, read my lips: I don't read every single post on this board exhaustively. Nor, I'm sure, do many others.

However, I do read a lot of them - and I have read the overwhelming majority of them as they relate to peoples' opinions about Knights. More to the point, I stand completely by my interpretation of the sentiments being expressed in those posts.

And the *fact* that you're far more interested in hiding behind a stupid semantic dispute than addressing almost any of the deeper issues would indicate that you're really battling to mount an argument that counters this.

Now maybe you can let us go back to addressing the issue of Knights' quarter time spray instead of all this off-topic crap?

I have looked on Essendon as my second side for about 15 years and that is due to the way Sheedy developed and promoted the club - The Jacket waving against West Coast is one of the great moments.
Understand that clubs will make wrong decisions.
Remember Alan Joyce who took over a premiership side and won one despite him and his legacy was a club that almost folded within 5 years.
Peter Rhode at the Bulldogs nearly destroyed some quality players.
Essendon are in serious danger - Knights CANNOT coach - He has no success in his background. SACK HIM NOW to give the club chance to recover.

I have looked on Essendon as my second side for about 15 years and that is due to the way Sheedy developed and promoted the club - The Jacket waving against West Coast is one of the great moments.
Understand that clubs will make wrong decisions.
Remember Alan Joyce who took over a premiership side and won one despite him and his legacy was a club that almost folded within 5 years.
Peter Rhode at the Bulldogs nearly destroyed some quality players.
Essendon are in serious danger - Knights CANNOT coach - He has no success in his background. SACK HIM NOW to give the club chance to recover.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Apologies to anyone's ignore filter I've just screwed up.

EDIT: Which, of course, is making the rather large assumption that you haven't all ignored me

*cue "Who said that?" jokes*

Grow up (and dry up), honestly.

You're the one who's continually tried to force the point about what everyone else has been saying on this board. It was entirely irrelevant to the post of mine which you chose to attack and which triggered our discussion.

It's a complete side issue, and one that you introduced while near-ignoring my invitation to give a straight answer to a very simple question.

Go back and read the thread if you don't believe or can't understand any of that - especially as it's something you seem so keen on lecturing others to do.

(And where do you get the idea that I'm trying to have "a decent shot" at you, btw? You're the one who's been having more of a crack at me, I'd have thought. Any comment of mine that's even vaguely been a shot at you has been directly in response to one of yours. Again, go back to that pastime of reading the thread if you don't believe me.)

And, seeing as the context of my remark about how much reading I do on this board was clearly completely lost on you, substitute the word "slavish" for "devoted" and see if that makes it a bit more obvious. Or shoot me for choosing a word that was too vague for some to understand the pretty obvious point that was being made.

Alternatively, if you're still struggling, read my lips: I don't read every single post on this board exhaustively. Nor, I'm sure, do many others.

However, I do read a lot of them - and I have read the overwhelming majority of them as they relate to peoples' opinions about Knights. More to the point, I stand completely by my interpretation of the sentiments being expressed in those posts.

And the *fact* that you're far more interested in hiding behind a stupid semantic dispute than addressing almost any of the deeper issues would indicate that you're really battling to mount an argument that counters this.

Now maybe you can let us go back to addressing the issue of Knights' quarter time spray instead of all this off-topic crap?

Well if you had bothered to read way back in about the seond post i actually said i doubted Knights would be our next premiership coach and the jury was still out. What more do you wan't ? I am not going make a judgment call after 8 rounds like some of the idiots are doing.

And getting back to the Knights quarter time spary he is the coach. He can spray the players any time he want's and his playing record or matchups from previous games have nothing at all to do with it.
On top of this any player who would think that the coach has no right to give him a spray should not be at the club becasue he is obviously not a team player which leads us to one of our biggest problems. WE have too many blokes who are not team players and are not prepared to put in the hard yards for the jumper and their team mates!

How would you rate Matty Knights's performance up to this point in the season as coach of the Essendon Footy Club, do you feel he's done a fantastic Job and that he's heading our Club in the right direction, or do you feel he's been the worst thing that has happened to Essendon up to this point in time.

Comment, Quote, Post..... Do whatever you want to prove your point if needed.

Coaching Staff Past Coach: Matthew Knights - Finally gets his second shot - 5/5