Coaching Staff Past Coach: Matthew Knights - Finally gets his second shot - 5/5

I'm all for Knighta 100%very impressive. It's refreshing to have a coach who actually works hard rather than go AWOL following his own persuits, leaving the pre-season to the fitness staff and assistants.
I just hope everyone on here will still be supporting Knighta when the chips are down - we're in rebuilding mode and will still be a bit off the pace in 2008.
So let's stick. Show loyalty. Don't have unreal expectations.

really good post! :thumbsu:

I'm all for Knighta 100%very impressive. It's refreshing to have a coach who actually works hard rather than go AWOL following his own persuits, leaving the pre-season to the fitness staff and assistants.
I just hope everyone on here will still be supporting Knighta when the chips are down - we're in rebuilding mode and will still be a bit off the pace in 2008.
So let's stick. Show loyalty. Don't have unreal expectations.
What would be a reasonable expectation for this year for you?

Unlike St.Kilda, eh ? ;) A friend will connections at Windy Hill believes Knights will be there for three years, then Dimma will take over. I'm not so sure...

That's absolute garbage.

I like Knights so far but will reserve judgment for a few months. I don't expect him to get us to the finals this year but just for the players to show a bit of pride in the jumper, something that's been missing over the last few years.

What would be a reasonable expectation for this year for you?
Good question and a tough one to answer. Probably a year similar to 2007, and remembering that without Hird to pull games out of the fire for us, if we did have a similar year then it would stand as a year of improvement.
I'm more concerned with the way the team is managed - I haven't been happy with Sheeds for quite a while and I see this this year as one where Knights & co must bring team management,fitness,top class assistants and a big increase in spending in the footy dept as essential to our long term future.
We have a few "class acts" within our younger players that the general public has been slow to acknowledge. Alwyn Davey was a revelation last season. Paddy Ryder is class,class,class. Stanton, despite indifferent kicking is a fine midfielder with a dedication to his career and our footy club that tells me he'll soon be a leader at Windy Hill.
Monfries will be better in 2008. He has a fire in the belly and is prepared (like Stants and Alwyn) to go in and get the pill.
Gumbleton and Laycock are big fellas with a lot of natural talent, and both have huge futures in the game, and SOT - Watson - is already a genuine ball magnet.
We must get games into these kids asap, and not get down on them for off days. The emphasis on skills by Knights is long overdue at Essendon, and this skills instruction, plus game time, and greater fitness, are the areas we must start making great strides in NOW.
PS Tommy Hyslop is another boy Essendon must try and bring on in 2008 - he has the toughness and strong body we've so badly lacked in the midfield.

That's absolute garbage.

I like Knights so far but will reserve judgment for a few months. I don't expect him to get us to the finals this year but just for the players to show a bit of pride in the jumper, something that's been missing over the last few years.

It's not necessarily "garbage" it's just another man's opinion. Certainly, Knights is in the boxed seat. If he gets results then he'll stay as our coach.
I'm more concerned with what we achieve within the next three years than worrying about what may or may not happen beyond that time.

Unlike St.Kilda, eh ? ;) A friend will connections at Windy Hill believes Knights will be there for three years, then Dimma will take over. I'm not so sure...

Why in the world would we employ an interim coach?

The next 3 years could well play a major part in determining the next 10, to employ a coach without imagining him in the role 3 years later would just be ridiculous.

Thankfully, it's rubbish.

Why in the world would we employ an interim coach?

The next 3 years could well play a major part in determining the next 10, to employ a coach without imagining him in the role 3 years later would just be ridiculous.

Thankfully, it's rubbish.
Totally agree.

Not necessarily any more or less creditable than any other (and there are a lot) rumour posted
FWIW I heard exactly the same thing about Clarkson

There are times when a club is looking to compete, and times when it is better to develop a young list
eg Barry Stevens vs K Sheedy

Sheedy credits much of his early success to the "kids" that Stevens brought into the side &/or developed. Handy kids too, Watson Madden Daniher etc
The question is really where the board sees our list
The rumour (there I go again) was that Hardwick saw our list as being many years away from finals, Knights thought it was a more achievable goal
They appointed Knights (obviously)

So I would be surprised if Knights was treated as Starry's rumour says

A mate rang me up on Australia day and said Knights is doing an interview on 6PR in the next hour.
I thought this was strange because you would think that Knights had better things to do than give a radio interview to Perth on Australia day..but maybe thats a sign to come. He's committed to the whole promotional job as coach of EFC by the sounds of it..so I tuned in.

Peter Vlahoff fired off the usual 'what are you doing different during the pre-season,who's doing well?' type questions and Knights answered them in a pleasent,conversational manner that was both positive and optimistic.

He basically stuck to the standard company line approach and didn't give to much away.

I sent an SMS while he was talking and it was read out by PV asking Knights 'that an Essendon supporter was surprised that EFC gave Dyson another 2 years at the club and what does he think Ricky needs to do to improve'

He replied along the lines of..'I've had a fair bit of time with Ricky at the BBs and I know what he can do as a footballer. He just needs to be have more consistant form'....(a Knighter pet project?)

Knights sounded like he knew something about Dyson that we all don't. Wish he'd share that information with others. To me,he's playing his cards very close to his chest and is being very reserved atm in this early stage of his coaching career. Don't blame him though for not promising big changes.

When he was asked about what young blokes might step up this year he mentioned Gumbleton,Jetta,Neagle,Daniher,Houli and even Danny Chartres got a mentioned.

I like him so far. He's the anti-Sheedy. Polar opposite. Round 1 will be judgment day...

Knights to take Bombers into new era

Chip Le Grand | February 09, 2008

MATTHEW KNIGHTS described the feeling as "a little bit eerie". On the opening day of last October's trade period, Essendon's rookie coach found himself sharing a board table with Hall of Fame legend Leigh Matthews, 25-year coach Mick Malthouse and the man they couldn't kill with a sponsor's truck, Port Adelaide's Mark Williams.
0,,5880939,00.jpg

The Bomber's new coach Matthew Knights is ready and prepared for the new season. Picture: Richard Cisar-Wright

"You could probably tell who the new coaches were in the room," Knights recalled sheepishly. "Brett Ratten and Mark Harvey and myself just sat there taking it all in.
"I didn't say too much."
Yet as the debate went on, with Williams, Matthews and others telling the AFL exactly what they thought of proposed changes to the interchange rules then being considered by the laws of the game committee, another feeling struck Knights. "Not once did I feel I shouldn't be there."
Whether Knights feels the same way a week from now, when he sits in a coaches' box for the first time opposite Matthews to direct the Bombers through their opening NAB Cup match, is another matter. Then there is his round one assignment against the Kangaroos, a club Essendon hasn't beaten since 2001.

Yet in the four months since Knights moved into the Windy Hill office for so long occupied by Kevin Sheedy, there are few signs of Essendon pining for its old coach or Knights being daunted by following football's most celebrated act. As of yesterday, 29,832 Essendon supporters had signed as members, 5 per cent above the corresponding mark from this time last year.
Knights had no hesitation revealing the changes they should expect to see in how the Bombers go about their football this year.
Just so there is no confusion about this, Knights has written down his philosophies on the game, 300-word assessments of every Essendon player and a point-by-point plan on how to develop a modern football department and team capable of winning a premiership.
It was this manifesto which Knights presented to the Essendon board to clinch the senior coaching job. It is the same document he refers to, almost daily, to check his own progress and that of his players and staff.
Already, there are things Knights has been forced to edit. For example, his initial assessment on Brent Stanton was that the emerging midfielder was too reluctant to speak his mind, both at training and in games. After a pre-season working with Stanton, Knights was so taken by the 21-year-old he offered him the burden of carrying James Hird's old number on his back.
"He is becoming more assertive, he is giving direction and giving feedback and in his one-on-one meetings with me, he has stated that he would love to be a leader at the Essendon Football Club one day," he said. "You get people changing your views and changing your mind all the time and, as a coach, I must be flexible enough to give them their dues."
Yet for all Knights' preparedness to be proven wrong on certain things, there are non-negotiables -- to borrow a line from the book of Matthews -- that Knights will expect every Essendon player to adhere to.
At the top of Knights' list is his belief that Essendon has not given sufficient attention to the defensive side of its game and enough respect to opposition teams when they get the ball.

The most damning statistic on last year's Bombers is they conceded more inside-50s than any team in the competition. In response, Knights has appointed his most experienced assistant coach, Gary O'Donnell, to the new position of defensive actions coach. While O'Donnell's title is a mouthful, his brief is simple.
"We hadn't had any problems scoring," Knights said. "On the flip-side of that, we were continually opening ourselves up the other way. We might kick 18 and get 23 kicked against us. That needed to be addressed and it wasn't something that was going to be turned around in one session.
"Gary has the autonomy to coach the team all over the ground defensively; not just in the defensive part of the ground. Because Gary played that way himself -- he didn't give an inch -- I thought he would fit that appointment."
Knights knows where his team was being hurt last year: at the stoppages, where opposition teams were able to win and move the ball too quickly, and in defensive rebound, where the Essendon forwards and midfielders were not doing enough to stop opposition players surging downfield. A more difficult question is why this was happening.
"We have discussed what the breakdown is, how much of it is attitude and heart compared to technique and knowledge," he said. "What we have done pre-season is focus on our technique and our knowledge. But we won't hide away from the fact that a greater percentage of tackling and chasing and selflessly covering someone else's man comes down to attitude and heart. Alwyn Davey came and set the standard at our club last year because he has a willingness to push and he has heart."

The other change Essendon supporters should notice this year is how often they see the club's younger, emerging players.
"I will give young players opportunities but only if they deserve it. I am not going to be handing out games."
The difference from last year is that instead of appearing for one or two weeks in the senior team, players who do get an opportunity will be given six to eight weeks to prove their worth.
A third change, one that will become apparent once the regular season starts, is how Knights intends to use the interchange. Despite Sheedy's reputation as one of the great innovators, Essendon lagged behind the competition in its use of interchange rotations over the past three years. Last year Essendon swung 54 changes on average per match, nearly 20 fewer than Sydney.
To get more bang from his bench, Knights has this year invited his conditioning coach John Quinn to sit in the coaches' box. From there, Quinn will have access to real-time, GPS data detailing the heart-rates of players, stress levels and how far they have run. While Knights admits the use of such information is not a perfect science, particularly now that Essendon won't be able to trial its system during the NAB Cup due to AFL limits on interchange, he says greater use of the bench reflects a broader cultural shift within clubs.
"It has almost got to the stage in the AFL where rotations are irrelevant of form on the day. You need all 22 to win the game. You cannot have one or two players who are just sitting there because you think they are not in good touch," he said.
"I can remember intimately in West Coast's grand final victory that at the 23-minute mark of the last quarter, Daniel Kerr and Dean Cox came off the ground for one or two minutes and then went back on.
"That is John Worsfold's nerve and also his confidence in the whole 22 to get the job done."

In the Essendon context, this shift in thinking also represents a break from the Hird mentality; when the club's best player grumbled at the idea of spending time on the bench. Although Hird has now retired, Knights admits there is a challenge for the remaining Essendon players to embrace the new order.
In other ways, Knights is determined for things to stay as they were under Sheedy.
As a coach, Knights can be intense and exacting. But one thing he learned from Sheedy -- and from Kevin Bartlett, his first coach at Richmond -- was the importance of seeing the good in players as well as their flaws.
Sheedy was one of football's great optimists, forever seeing the AFL ladder from the top down instead of the bottom up. As a result, Essendon under Sheedy had a warmth which Knights noticed the first time he walked into Windy Hill. He also recalled times during his 15-year playing career at Richmond -- a career which spanned 279 games, six senior coaches and only two finals campaigns -- when Punt Road felt stone cold.
"You have always got to remember to give recognition when it is deserved," he said. "In a predominantly male culture, it can become a very cold environment if you don't have that recognition. You start to get players or staff members who are gun-shy and that is the last thing I want as coach.
"I want my players to be relaxed, I want them to be calm and I want them to be able to take the game on. If you are getting constant negativity that will inhibit any person."
An example of this is Knights' attitude towards Jobe Watson. A natural ball-winning midfielder, Watson is as good or bad a player as people want to see. Where his fans see a prolific accumulator of possession and clever use of handball, his critics see slow leg-speed and an ungainly kick.
After travelling with Watson and other young Essendon players to Japan last year and overseeing his pre-season work, Knights believes Watson's flaws have been exaggerated and his strengths undersold. Pointedly, when Knights chose an eight-man player leadership group for this season, he included Watson.
"To spend 10 days with Jobe, you understand how articulate he is and how he is looked up to by our other young players. We have refused, possibly, to look at Jobe's strong points and his value to the team. There has been too much focus on his kicking, which I think is pretty decent.
"He is our best stoppage player, he is a wonderful handball exponent and he gives direction on and off the field, which is essential in a leader. He attracts the ball and brings others into the game. There were a lot of players at this club last year who benefited greatly from Jobe putting them into space."

As for his own lot as the first Essendon coach in the post-Sheedy era, Knights takes comfort and a degree of freedom in knowing that no-one, not even the most demanding Bombers supporter, will expect him to be another Sheedy.
Knights doubts we will see Sheedy's kind again, whether at Essendon or any other club.
It also helps Knights that his affection for Sheedy is mutual. At a recent wedding of Adam McPhee, who Knights is this year planning to use as a high forward, Sheedy and Knights talked well into the night, with the old coach inquiring about his former players and the new one seeking advice about surviving in the bizarre world of senior coaching.
"He was really jovial and interested in how the club and certain players were going. That gives you a degree of karma."

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,23182523-5012432,00.html

Swervyn, I like the bit about honouring a players selection with 6 to 8 weeks in the team, but I have my doubts he'll stick by it rigidly. Would you keep a Johns or a Lee in the team if they are flunking week in week out ?

Article from AAP this morning ..

Nervous Knights encouraged by win

GOLD COAST, Qld, Feb 17 AAP - Pre-game nerves should not be a problem for a hardened veteran of 279 AFL matches.

But ex-Richmond skipper Matthew Knights reckoned he was packing his slacks before his debut as Essendon coach.

No wonder - for the last 27 years Kevin Sheedy had reigned supreme at Windy Hill, garnering four premierships, seven grand finals and a daunting legacy. However, Knights said he was feeling for his young players before their NAB Cup pre-season opener against the Brisbane Lions at Gold Coast Stadium last night.

"I was nervous before the game for the young players like Sam Lonergan, Danny Chartres and Courtenay Dempsey who train for months and months and sometimes don't get a shot at the big stage, to play in front of a crowd and on TV," he said.

"I was more nervous for them."

He needn't have stressed. The baby Bombers, missing 11 first choice players, sunk the Lions by 27 points in greasy conditions in front of more than 10,000 - oddly pro-Essendon - fans.

Knights was on a hiding to nothing trying to fill the beloved Sheedy's boots last night but came away with plenty to smile about.

"Coming to the game tonight we wanted to walk away and be convinced we had another six or eight players that could really vie for selection so when we sit down to pick our team for round one against the Kangaroos we have 30 to 35 players to pick from," he said.

"We have a achieved that to a degree - there were a number of young players that played quite well and they will need to keep working over the next month to prove their worth.

"The starting midfield was very young and it was good to see Angus Monfries play against Luke Power and Heath Hocking, Sam Lonergan and Ricky Dyson all showed bits and pieces of good play.

"I wouldn't say all of them were the complete package (last night) but there were some good signs."

Big man David Hille kicked three goals and Courtenay Dempsey looked at home playing across half back.

But former Lions fullback Mal Michael also earned praise in his first game in Queensland since controversially coming out of retirement and heading to Essendon. Despite Brisbane's top draft pick Lachlan Henderson kicking three goals on Michael, Knights issued an ominous warning to the burly defender's rivals this season.

"Mal joined us late last year and ... you are playing catch up when you miss two months of pre-season, that is the reality," he said.

"This year he hasn't missed a session and he is jumping out of his skin. He wanted to play (last night), I gave him the option.

"I have asked him to be a real leader of this club and to start mentoring our young defenders."

Everything didn't go to plan for Knights last night - Scott Gumbleton suffered a hamstring strain in the first quarter, an injury still being assessed.

"As a coach I really feel for Scott, he is a wonderful young man that just can't get a run at it," he said.

"We think he is a prodigious talent and (last night) was really unfortunate."

Hey Bombers just thought I would add my two cents about Knights.

I am really enjoying watching this guy prove me wrong, and am pretty pumped about your club. Don't be buying me a membership or anything but I think it is fantastic for you guys to have him. The similarities between Knights and Clarkson are fitting really when you consider the Hawks and Bombers to me are two clubs that belong at the top fighting it out.

Like Clarkson he was met with a lot of criticism and plenty from me too, but like I said I am really enjoying being proven wrong. I have probably driven you all nuts with excitement and joy about my coach Clarko, and am happy you guys will likely be feeling the same soon about Knights. I think most of my criticism was that I held Clarko in such high regard and thought the Bombers were trying to find one too and given the Knights decision was so quick assumed it was wrong. Whether they knew it at the time or not, you seem to have found the proverbial diamond in the rough too.

People will give me heaps and probably be confused about me sticking up for him now, but I love to hate your club and really am genuinely happy for you.

Gee I am pumped. By the way don't worry about wins this year, in fact it is inevitable that you take a while because of all the kids and the enormous task at hand, but enjoy the ride and relish in the slagging you will cop ... There is nothing better really than copping it along the way, because it's great knowing you are on the right path and even better when the others don't see you coming.

You may think I am being premature here but coaching is one of my fascinations in footy and for whatever reasons I saw Clarko coming and see the same with Knights.

Thanks for the comments H2F.
I'm one of those people who wont bag anyone until they've been given a decent chance to prove themselves at the level they've been picked to play or coach in. Theres nothing to gain by it.
We don't bag a player who's just been drafted and hasn't played a game, so why do people do it to the new coaches? Its the same theory.
From my point of view, theres a lot to look forward to with this Essendon outfit. I'm not expecting miracles, and there will be some disappointments along the way, but we are heading in the right direction from what I've witnessed over the pre season. We are an unknown quantity so teams need to be wary of us.

Its good to hear opposition supporters who have taken the time to really watch us make comments unlike others who do not and feel that the comments are vaild.

I see us being a similar side to Hawthorn a couple of years back when they were bringing through there kids.

Top stuff H2F

Good work H2F.

I wonder if any of the other Hawk fans might admit maybe they were wrong about Knighter...

Spike.. i think u'd need to start with 'Dons fans first. And there won't be humble pie eaten just yet as we're only 3 pre-season games in.

First assessment needs to be made at the mid-season break.

Ok, what have you done with the real H2F? :eek:

I've always found it perplexing why Hawks fans in particular have been quick to bag Knights, even before he had even coached a game of football. Especially when their current coach, who also came out of left field, has done such a great job!

Hope you continue to be proved wrong! ;)

Good work H2F.

I wonder if any of the other Hawk fans might admit maybe they were wrong about Knighter...

I haven't made any comment about Knights on BigFooty but as a known Essendon basher on Bay 13, I thought it prudent to congratulate you guys on his coaching appointment on your board. Early days, but your pre-season/NAB performances would suggest that the Essendon Football Club is in safe hands.

Cheers to the next Essendon/Hawthorn grand final.

Knights is 0-0 so don't go pissing in his pocket now. Give him a chance, definitely, shit i hope he becomes the greatest coach in the history of coaches. But to me, so far he's proven nothing. Opposition coaches don't plan too deeply for stopping teams in the NAB Cup, more interested in how their own team plays. Real test is in the Prem season and how his game plan stands up to intense scrutiny and how he deals with it.

People will give me heaps and probably be confused about me sticking up for him now, but I love to hate your club and really am genuinely happy for you.

I'm genuinely touched, but seriously is there anything more sickening than a supporter from another club blowing smoke up our arse when we really haven't achieved a thing yet? OK if we were 6-0 or something, but really..

And to go on as if Clarkson has proven himself and is used as some sort of yardstick is even more patronising. Maybe when the Hawks make the top 4 and win a final or two, but really it's a big year for Clarkson. Anything less than top 4 is a failure IMO. No more hiding behind "it's a young team" excuse.

Coaching Staff Past Coach: Matthew Knights - Finally gets his second shot - 5/5