Past Player - Patrick Dangerfield

Re: ND Pick # 10 - Patrick Dangerfield - Geelong Falcons

For the crows to ignore Ebert and the fact that the bloke won't be training with us next year, we must seriously rate this bloke and he must be something special. I was schocked we took him before Ebert, but the more i think about it the more it could turn out to be a stoke of genius, then again could be the exact opposite, and Rendell would be out of West Lakes quicker than Ben Cousins would be out of his car at the sight of an RBT.

Offers us something we don't have in a super quick, in and under clearance specialist. We needed this probably more than we needed Ebert, not a short term fix, but long term definitely.

Ok,I was also disappointed when I heard they didnt take Ebert,but he must've had some question marks that we didnt know about if he slid to 13 when the Lions and Bombers were also looking at him.Look atthe bright side;he didn't go to Port! Let's all not jump to conclusions and assume that Dangerfield will want to go home.Van Berlo & Reilly are great examples of team loyalty.Welcome Rodney to the team and all the best for the future.On another note,I'm looking forward to seeing Taylor Walker play.Matty Clarke said his professionalism at training was sensational and he trains the house down.

Jesus! Speed machine!
Kicking is definately a bit shonky, but it there aren't too many players who can kick with 100% accuracy at full speed. Doesn't look like too much of a problem.
Has a nice grab on him and reads the ball well in the air.
All this is based on a highlights package, but I liked what I saw.

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Judd like. :D

I'm happy.

Hey? Ebert is supposedly a beautiful kick on both sides, but there are numerous reports with question marks over Rodney's foot skills.

his disposal isn't bad, very quick, a good grab, good decision maker, leader. I guess we wait a couple of years to be sure.

Was shocked we didn't take Ebert... but after seeing that Highlights package I am happy. Inside mid who looks like TANK and is bloody quick as well. His kicking and decision making looked a bit iffy though... Meh, welcome Patrick and you surname is friken awwsome. See you in 2009:thumbsu:

I have seen this kid play, a Geelong game whislt over in melbourne last year to visit some mates....Once he is reasy 2009 onwards he will be the next big name player for us.

He shits on Ebert. If Ebert did not have the name we would be geeing this guy up. How he got to pick 10 is beyond me. I guess the fact he wants to finish year 12 scared a few off.

Welcome to the AFC Patrick

staying in Victoria to do his Year 12 in 2008...

:mad:
Are you serious?! :eek:

This just gets better and better. This is a HUGE risk by us and if in 3 years time if I hear the word "hindsight" from the AFC I will personally bitch slap them into never never land.

How the **** do we overlook a great local kid who is also a SAFE pick for a roll of the dice. I am livid with this one :mad:

This nerd will probably defer his footy career so he can complete a university degree :D

I had the same thoughts exactly. Im really worried that the AFC have p!ssed another 1st Round pick down the drain.

His disposal is a bit of a worry but the rest is great, especially his pace. Looks like he loves to break the lines and bust tackles..... hugely quick as weve said. In a sense its disappointing looking at the vision because we are missing out next year.

He looks a good size as well. Im pretty happy with this. Would have been great to get Ebert but then our midfield would be pretty slow. This is exactly the type of player we need. The fact that we wont see him next year means the club must really really rate him.

Is it confirmed Dangerfield will sit out of AFL next year for year 12 or was this just his way of trying to get drafted by a Vic club?
I reckon any kid would either do year 12 in a different state or put studies on hold rather than pass up on the opportunity of playing AFL!

Is it confirmed Dangerfield will sit out of AFL next year for year 12 or was this just his way of trying to get drafted by a Vic club?
I reckon any kid would either do year 12 in a different state or put studies on hold rather than pass up on the opportunity of playing AFL!
Yes, apparently will sit out of the AFL next year.

You would think we could convince him to study here & say split it over 2 years to reduce the load.

Given we are rebuilding, the sooner we get our younger players in the side the better. He isn't going to be much use if playing in the VFL.

If we look at what the AFC really really needed we have done the right thing, ok the guy isn't playing next year, but was he ever going to regardless of the fact he wanted to finish year 12 ???

FFS we have written of a pick already even though he hasn't played a game.

If we look at what the AFC really really needed we have done the right thing, ok the guy isn't playing next year, but was he ever going to regardless of the fact he wanted to finish year 12 ???

FFS we have written of a pick already even though he hasn't played a game.

Obviously you would prefer him to be here. But, it's not the end of the world.

But bloody hell, he's exciting. Electric pace, backs himself, looks good at the stoppage/contested ball, excellent size, and it's just what we need. Disposal needs work, but can be worked on.

I'm sold! This kid flys, and more importantly keeps his balance.

He's very underage, which explains why the AFC are 'happy' for him to stay back in Melbourne for one season.

Speaking of underage the Crows have 2 of the 10 youngest lads on AFL books for next year. Walker is the 2nd youngest listed player in the AFL, and Dangerfield is 8th.

Like everyone else, I was surprised when we passed on the Potatohead (Ebert), but not now.

Only time will tell though, so get off the Crows' recruiters backs. At least Dangerfield is not an early key possie pick. :eek:

Hell yeah, speed kills he absolutely burns it.

Palmers quick, this guy looks quicker and has that Judd poise about him did a 2.93 in the top 10, I reckon Judd would be doing 2.60 flat though.

Are you serious?! :eek:

This just gets better and better. This is a HUGE risk by us and if in 3 years time if I hear the word "hindsight" from the AFC I will personally bitch slap them into never never land.

How the **** do we overlook a great local kid who is also a SAFE pick for a roll of the dice. I am livid with this one :mad:

STIFFY PLEASE GET IN LINE TO BITCH SLAP OUR CLUB, THANKS.

I agree with you entirely. Hindsight! Give me a f***in break.

Past Player - Patrick Dangerfield

Write your reply...