Patrick Dangerfield?

$1 million per season for one player isn't good list management unless you have a COLA.
Skews your ability to have a group of 25 - 30 players who can go on a flag run.
The trading goal of Beams should be getting Pick 4 & Aish.
Anything less is a failure for losing your second best player.
Add a Greenwood to Pick 4 & Aish rather than Dangerfield.

Does anybody else think keeping #4 and Aish might not be such a bad idea?

Still prefer Dangers over #4 and Aish. Proven elite match winner. Same age as Beams. Might also be pull for Aish to head back to SA at some point too. 2 (player and pick in) for 1 (Beams) also means we would have to find an extra list spot or take one less pick in the draft.

We are also going to land a kid named Darcy Moore who would be pushing the top 5 of the draft anyway.

Can't help but wonder if the elephant in the room here is a certain F/S pick. Is it beyond the realms of possibility that if we are only a ****teenth away from getting Danger we may have to pass on Darcy? I know it's sacrilegious to suggest it but it's food for thought!

Still prefer Dangers over #4 and Aish. Proven elite match winner. Same age as Beams. Might also be pull for Aish to head back to SA at some point too. 2 (player and pick in) for 1 (Beams) also means we would have to find an extra list spot or take one less pick in the draft.

We are also going to land a kid named Darcy Moore who would be pushing the top 5 of the draft anyway.
I understand we are in the box seat for Moore, I'm also aware of his talent. Yet I can't help but wonder why we wouldn't keep pick 4 (which is almost always a jet these days) plus Aish who will be a jet, plus freeman, shazza, grundy it's great youth, and I think great for the direction we are heading

I would offer Dangerfield 1mill a year, we need him or we will be stuffed next season.

We can either front load his contract or the opposite, depending on our salary cap situation.

I understand we are in the box seat for Moore, I'm also aware of his talent. Yet I can't help but wonder why we wouldn't keep pick 4 (which is almost always a jet these days) plus Aish who will be a jet, plus freeman, shazza, grundy it's great youth, and I think great for the direction we are heading

I suppose it also depends on whether or not the club thinks we are in total rebuild or not. If they do 4, Aish and Moore along with another couple of kids would be the way to go. If the club are confident that with a good run of injuries we could again be pushing up into the bottom half of the 8 then a Dangers might help you retain that standing. Don't forget as much as Bucks is building for the future (and I think he is on the right path) if we are wallowing at the half way mark of next year with our abundance of kids the heat will come. So for selfish reasons I think Bucks needs a Dangers more than Aish and #4. Just my opinion though.

As for passing up Moore (as suggested above). Not going to happen the kid is quoted on the AFL site this morning that Collingwood runs through his veins. Will be in a Pies #30 jumper next year. I have no doubt.

Can't help but wonder if the elephant in the room here is a certain F/S pick. Is it beyond the realms of possibility that if we are only a ****teenth away from getting Danger we may have to pass on Darcy? I know it's sacrilegious to suggest it but it's food for thought!
Maybe, but if that's the case than I would guess we would be paying too much for Danger. We should at least get pick 4 from Brisbane for Beams. This plus a second rounder and/or player should be enough allowing us to keep pick 7. If we are talking about picks 4 & 7 for Danger than I'm not sure I'm on-board. This will be tough but you're right, it's very complicated and could quiet easy see us end with nothing.

Adelaide, Danger and Collingwood may have come to an agreement already based on the proviso that we can get pick 4 and Aish from Brisbane. We may hear nothing publically from Adelaide or Dangerfield until later in the trade period if it looks like we will be able to satisfy the deal through getting the goods from Brisbane.

Or it could be total nonsense... but I reckon we would have heard something from the Dangerfield camp by now if there was no chance this will happen.
You wont get pick 4 PLUS Aish....keep dreaming

Will get pick 4 plus steak knives or a lte pick....

Maybe, but if that's the case than I would guess we would be paying too much for Danger. We should at least get pick 4 from Brisbane for Beams. This plus a second rounder and/or player should be enough allowing us to keep pick 7. If we are talking about picks 4 & 7 for Danger than I'm not sure I'm on-board. This will be tough but you're right, it's very complicated and could quiet easy see us end with nothing.
Nonsense....why do we need to pass on Darcy Moore at 8 to get traction on Dangerfiled....2 different issues....can you guys talk sense please this is getting hard to read.

Um OK! I'm pretty sure that's what I was saying but no worries.

To clarify, we won't be using 2 first round draft picks on Danger IMO as one should be saved for Moore. However, stranger things have happened and believe it or not, I have no inside knowledge of what the club is doing so nothing will surprise me. You should prepare yourself for disappointment, in fact everyone should prepare themselves for disappointment if they think Danger will end up in Black & White. It is but a pipe dream!

Ok Mr expert, not everyone around here is fully conversant with how F/S works. Most of us are more than happy to be corrected but most of us try to at least keep our manners when we point out a mistake.

44 posts and he's Big Footy Buddha....

The Dangerfield Dilemma - 'Should he STAY or Should he GO?'

Why would Danger wait until next year to decide?
  • Ask for more money?
  • Dedicated/loyal player/happy at Crows?
    • If he wanted to stay at Adelaide, the club should put a contract extension offer in front of him now to end all the speculation.. Yeah?
Why should Danger go now?
  • Crows would get nothing next year.
  • He could get injured, have a bad season, lose value, have a punch up with Tex etc...
  • Crows are coachless at the moment which fuels uncertainity. Is it worth hanging around for 1 year with a new coach if he is planning on going next year? Surely not!
  • Does Danger want to go through the next year of hell and face all the speculation, media attention and pressure from Club/Players like Ablett, Buddy and Cloke did? Surely not!
  • History says the majority of players are able to leave when they ask to be traded. Surely Adelaide wouldn't refuse him?
I just can't see any real upside for Danger to stay at Crows through my B&W bias eye. ;)

Hiney - Get it done!

Talk that Pies are into Levi Greenwood. Wouldn't be a bad Beams replacement (and come cheaper) but wonder if we would be better off involving North in a 3 team trade that somehow saw 4 & Greenwood (SA product) to Crows for Paddy.

You wont get pick 4 PLUS Aish....keep dreaming

Will get pick 4 plus steak knives or a lte pick....

100% agree mate. Love how people just assume this is what we will have to settle for.

It will be a pick 4 and a custard danish or Lions might strike a deal with the Dees for swap of 2 & 4 by moving Merrett. Then we would end up with #2.

If we somehow got Greenwood and Dangerfield all of a sudden we'd be relevant next year
Not only relevant, but we are better than we were last season.

I thought we were missing another good midfielder last season, Greenwood fixes that issue and Danger fills in the massive hole Beams has left us with.

Greenwood has done some ripping shut down jobs of recent times as well as finding his own pill. So Caff's loss wouldn't be felt so much for next year either.
He is better when he isn't the tagger. He finds his own ball and this is what North allowed him to do this season hence his breakout year. If somehow he ended up with us, which prob wont happen, i hope he isnt used as the tagger

Patrick Dangerfield?