Paul Gardiner

Wouldn't call him slick - far from it.

Caught him on Talking Footy last night, and this bloke is so out of touch it's not funny (and that view has nothing to do with his Oxfam walk).

His tip for this week:

" It will be a smashing game, and out boys will try hard!"

Rah Rah - Go Dees!

I reckon a blind traffic cop would provide better direction & leadership for a club on the ropes, such as the Demons than this ponce.

Perhaps only those who don't support Melbourne notice this?

that is why he is one of the most successful guys in the advertising game lidge !!

Yeah you become the head of a major multi national advertising irm by having less direction than a blind traffic cop !

Paul is there to lead the club from a business side of things not necessarily a football side that is why you have a coach and football operations manager.

He is a great leader and just because he is well spoken does not make him a ponce. What did you expect him to say ?

My views are based on his performance in a footy sense (not in business outside of footy).

FFS - A smashing game and our boys will try hard!

I'd fair dinkum puke if Doc Aylett said that in public if talking about my team.

Hardly instills confidence in those supporters yet to put their hands in their pockets to shell of for a membership I would have thought. And he simply reinforces the belief from outsiders that the MFC 'leaders' have lost the plot, are so out of touch and have next to no footy knowledge.

That's your problem - not mine.

And back onto his business acumen - let's judge that after he's been in the job for a full year and see if he can stop the financial bleeding, pay the tax bill, unite the board and reduce debt and increase revenues.

At the moment - Neale Daniher is the only bloke who appears to be providing any leadership (on & off the field).

My 2 cents worth anyway.

Having met him a couple of times, I think his support for the Demons is genuine and is not just spin.

He's only been in the job a few months but my early impressions are that he is doing a good job, and really wants to see Melbourne have success both on and off the field.

While it may not seem a lot to other supporters, for us Melbourne fans to see the club be the first to put its hand up to have a membership drive on SEN, and even having acting CEO John Phillips make phone calls to volunteers thanking them for their efforts on the SEN day is a positive. And there was a sponsorship announcement with Primus Telecom last week.

The real judgment will come of course, a couple of years down the track and we ask if the club has managed to fix up its finances.

Rather than having a crack at Gardiner, its people like the club's former president Szondy which have escaped any criticism or media scrutiny - and need to be made to answer why we are in the financial mess we are (Szondy and his financial team didn't bother turning up to the AGM last year).

So for the moment, I think Gardiner is doing a good job given the cirumstances.

Is it true Gardiner wasn't at the footy at the weekend, in his capacity as President and being the first H&A game, you'd have thought he'd be there.

Didn't anyone tell him that the chances of snow in March are slim, especially when the temp is about 30 degrees or therabouts

Originally posted by FuManchu
Is it true Gardiner wasn't at the footy at the weekend, in his capacity as President and being the first H&A game, you'd have thought he'd be there.

Didn't anyone tell him that the chances of snow in March are slim, especially when the temp is about 30 degrees or therabouts

very original joke there. Never heard anything like that before.:rolleyes: As was mentioned in another thread, he missed the game as he was doing a charity walk which was organised last July.

He said he hasnt even watched the tape of the game and probally wont :rolleyes:
Dont think Daniher quite cuts it either. His boys better put in for him soon or he will be the first coach under the pump. When you are calling for all Melbournians to be Demons for the day for the match this week things must be looking grim, or should i say desperate.
I feel Gary Lyons time is nearing. They need something to give them a spark and i feel that this is what it will eventually come to.

Patrick Bateman ( American Pycho ) is right about Paul Gardiner. He is one smooth dude. He and Rod Butters could give a speech at the presidents conference that would ensure a very quick game of Bull**** Bingo

Originally posted by Eagles4Eva
Dont think Daniher quite cuts it either.

There is alot of people that would agree with you about that, I'm undecided at this stage, sometimes I agree sometimes not. One thing is for certain is that he will be our coah come round 22 cause we can't afford to pay him out of his contract.
As to your comments about being desperate, if we have the same financial results as last year I fear we may become insolvent, so yeah I'd call that pretty desperate.

Originally posted by Eagles4Eva
When you are calling for all Melbournians to be Demons for the day for the match this week things must be looking grim, or should i say desperate.
I'm surprised nobody has started a thread on this. Had a chuckle when I heard that one.

I think asking people who hate Richmond to turn up would have been a more succesful ploy - half the Essendon membership would think of turning up.

I truely hope Melbourne can work there way out of this mess - but when you have to call on opposition supporters things are getting desperate.

Parkin gave Gardiner a spray last night on Talking Footy for not being at the first game of the season. Parkin needs to wakeup and realise there are more important issues to life than footy. Gardiner gained my respect by putting a worthy cause ahead of the showbiz of the AFL.

Originally posted by Cat In A Hat
jUST GIVE HIM A GO

Good to see someone from an outside club gives him a bit of a break.

Isn't there any better issues to bring up than one sentence Gardiner said on Talking Footy?

At least he is trying to have a go at helping the club off the field which is very crucial at the moment as we are still very fragile financially.

Pat on the back for his performance tonight on the Footy Show.

Eddie was like a dog with a bone on this one. Just kept repeating himself over and over, clearly not listening to Gardner, or if he was, clearly showed his disapproval of his non-showing. Might have covered it up with - "the people out there want to know", but was clearly very opinionated about it.

Congratulations to Paul Gardner who certainly put things into perspective. Starving children vs game of football.

The thing that amazed me was the way it was continually brushed off, and the questioning reverting to - "don't you think for the first game though.....blah blah blah"

Once again, I applaud you Paul Gardner. A few could certainly take a leaf out of your book on this one.

Cheers
POTP

P.S. This is not an Eddie bashing thread Collingwood fans - The post is primarily to congratulate Gardner, Eddie just happened to be the one asking the questions.

Originally posted by Lidge
My views are based on his performance in a footy sense (not in business outside of footy).

FFS - A smashing game and our boys will try hard!

I'd fair dinkum puke if Doc Aylett said that in public if talking about my team.

Hardly instills confidence in those supporters yet to put their hands in their pockets to shell of for a membership I would have thought. And he simply reinforces the belief from outsiders that the MFC 'leaders' have lost the plot, are so out of touch and have next to no footy knowledge.

That's your problem - not mine.

And back onto his business acumen - let's judge that after he's been in the job for a full year and see if he can stop the financial bleeding, pay the tax bill, unite the board and reduce debt and increase revenues.

At the moment - Neale Daniher is the only bloke who appears to be providing any leadership (on & off the field).

My 2 cents worth anyway.

just because he's an educated man and is well spoken you have a go at him, "I spose all youse fellas down at Arden st are intimi....intimima....****e, are scared of an educated bloke are ya?

just shows you for the jerks you are

Originally posted by PowerOfThePussy
Congratulations to Paul Gardner who certainly put things into perspective. Starving children vs game of football.
You could dismiss the purpose and importance of almost every job on the planet based on that argument. Not many people will survive long in their workplace when they start skipping important dates and meetings because of that stance though.

From the couple of times I've seen him interviewed this week, it hasn't been just putting football in perspective, but it's almost as if he genuinely dislikes the game being so popular among the masses. Not saying that it's a bad attitude per se - the "football ain't that important" outlook is shared by millions across the country - but the key difference is that those people haven't fought like hell to gain control of football clubs!

"I'd rather walk for charity than see the team get flogged" - FFS, how are supporters expected to put their money where their mouth and get behind the side when they're down when their club's president really doesn't give two shlts either way? If he doesn't like the job / thinks football ain't all that important, step aside and give it to someone who's passionate about the cause and will do everything they possibly can to help out the football club. Like turn up to games.

Originally posted by Westy_Boy
You could dismiss the purpose and importance of almost every job on the planet based on that argument. Not many people will survive long in their workplace when they start skipping important dates and meetings because of that stance though.

From the couple of times I've seen him interviewed this week, it hasn't been just putting football in perspective, but it's almost as if he genuinely dislikes the game being so popular among the masses. Not saying that it's a bad attitude per se - the "football ain't that important" outlook is shared by millions across the country - but the key difference is that those people haven't fought like hell to gain control of football clubs!

"I'd rather walk for charity than see the team get flogged" - FFS, how are supporters expected to put their money where their mouth and get behind the side when they're down when their club's president really doesn't give two shlts either way? If he doesn't like the job / thinks football ain't all that important, step aside and give it to someone who's passionate about the cause and will do everything they possibly can to help out the football club. Like turn up to games.

Spot on! Anyone who seriously thinks that football is more important than helping fight world hunger has rocks in their head. That has never been the issue with regard to criticism of him.

The criticism stems from a view that if he doesn't have the time to commit to important football club events then he shouldn't have campaigned for and then agreed to accept the presidency. Presidents, whether they like it or not, are the public figureheads of the club. They need to represent commitment - and he does not do that.

Agreed and whatever anyone else thinks of Eddie you can't fault him for his passion for the Pies and his efforts to promote them.

But the guy made the commitment to the team he was in in July 2003. That team relied on him being there and participating in that walk.

In July 2003 Paul Gardner (Note correct spelling for those that can't get it right) was not the president of the Melbourne Football Club, so how could he have known what was going to happen.

If he walked out on his group and didn't honour his commitment there would be some that would be criticising him for that.

Give the guy a break.

As Adrian has stated, the guy made the commitment a long time ago. That makes him a man of integrity and his word in my book.

He gave his word and followed up with it. Yes I am well aware that he has a large responsibility to the Melbourne Football Club, but he also has a responsibility to keep his word.

Many others, so it seems, would be prepared to go back on their word to show some sort of solidarity within the club. If he breaks his word on this issue, where does his integrity stand?

There is more to life than football, and to be quite honest, I cannot believe the stance many have taken against this guy just because he kept his word.

Cheers
POTP

Best MFC president ever.

* Charity is more important than MFC
* Its not worth paying to see Melbourne get flogged
* If you don't like the result, ignore that it happened

Awesome. Go you Tassie Demons!

impressive

Originally posted by PowerOfThePussy
Pat on the back for his performance tonight on the Footy Show.

Eddie was like a dog with a bone on this one. Just kept repeating himself over and over, clearly not listening to Gardner, or if he was, clearly showed his disapproval of his non-showing. Might have covered it up with - "the people out there want to know", but was clearly very opinionated about it.

The thing that amazed me was the way it was continually brushed off, and the questioning reverting to - "don't you think for the first game though.....blah blah blah"

Once again, I applaud you Paul Gardner. A few could certainly take a leaf out of your book on this one.

Cheers

From an outsider's point of view - I think he is a most impressive individual. I had never heard of him until I saw him on White Line Fever the other night and then on the Footy Show. I applaud him for his actions. He had made a committment to go on the charity walk and should be congratulated for doing so. I think MFC and very fortunate to have someone like him at the helm. Just because he is well spoken is no reason to deride him. He certainly showed up Fat Eddie and his cohorts !
POTP

P.S. This is not an Eddie bashing thread Collingwood fans - The post is primarily to congratulate Gardner, Eddie just happened to be the one asking the questions.

Paul Gardiner