Paul Gardiner

If Paul Gardiner cannot find a way to attend his team's first match as president AND support a charity that he feels strongly about then I would have to question his aptitude for the job as a footy club president. It isn't so much that his presence would have made much difference to the result that matters. The fact that Melbourne acknowledge disunity and are trying to over come it, the fact they are and inch from bankruptcy and the fact they have a reputation, even if only based on perception, for a lack of passion all makes it vital that the president is 100% and that it is clear he would move mountains for his club. This is the impression you get from Eddie and plenty of others.

The furphy that starving children are more important than a game of football would be insulting to me if it was my club’s president. Sure starving kids is an emotive and unquestionably important issue. However I am absolutely positive that if Paul Gardiner attended that football match and otherwise contributed to the cause not a single child would have eaten a single grain less over their entire lifetime. That is the real perspective. Whatever benefit was obtained for OXFAM via Gardener’s participation could have been obtained via other means, even if it was a substituted walker or cash donation.

I don’t really have an issue with Gardiner making the choice he did. I would be disappointed if my club was in the same circumstances and my president made the same decision but that's for Melbourne members to decide and deal with. I am bemused by Gardiner's absolute refusal to acknowledge any merit in any of the arguments though. To bring it down to an argument about kids lives v a game of footy trivialises the job he has asked the members to vote him in for, the concerns of his members and the dire situation that he himself tells him members that the club is in. Add to that it also significantly overstates his personal contribution to saving the lives of children. Full credit for Gardiner for having a social conscience and full credit to him for doing something positive but if he couldn't achieve all that and attend the game he may not be right for the job IMO. That is a call impossible to make after 1 act though. I would be starting to worry just the same if I was a Melbourne member and I would be very annoyed that he ahs refused to acknowledge the concerns.

Melbourne should be proud to finally have somebody who knows what is needed and can help the club financially. They need more ppl like him on the board.

As for the charity work, it is up to him to do what he wishes. It is up to the supporters to do the same. It's not our job to tell him what he can do all the time. We are not in that position to do so.

Hopefully his message to Dee fans gets through! Go do other things more important than supporting your team. He has compromised himself and the next time he appeals for fans to support the team by showing up he will look like a two faced individual.

Then again this is a bloke from the advertising world so being two faced would be just part of the package.

This is starting to get out of hand I reckon, Give the bloke a fair go I can't believe that some people have the audacity to question him for particpating in a charity event which is helping starving kids in Africa.

Originally posted by MarkT
If Paul Gardiner cannot find a way to attend his team's first match as president AND support a charity that he feels strongly about then I would have to question his aptitude for the job as a footy club president. It isn't so much that his presence would have made much difference to the result that matters. The fact that Melbourne acknowledge disunity and are trying to over come it, the fact they are and inch from bankruptcy and the fact they have a reputation, even if only based on perception, for a lack of passion all makes it vital that the president is 100% and that it is clear he would move mountains for his club. This is the impression you get from Eddie and plenty of others.

Has Eddie or any other President ever missed a match? How many Friday night and Saturday matches did Joe Gutnik attend ?

The furphy that starving children are more important than a game of football would be insulting to me if it was my club’s president. Sure starving kids is an emotive and unquestionably important issue. However I am absolutely positive that if Paul Gardiner attended that football match and otherwise contributed to the cause not a single child would have eaten a single grain less over their entire lifetime. That is the real perspective. Whatever benefit was obtained for OXFAM via Gardener’s participation could have been obtained via other means, even if it was a substituted walker or cash donation.

We should all take a leaf out of your humanitarian attitude and never do anything for Oxfam or CAA. I have just rung up CCF and cancelled my sponsorship of our Mexican child, after all they can get the money from other means, i have more important thing to do.

I don’t really have an issue with Gardiner making the choice he did. I would be disappointed if my club was in the same circumstances and my president made the same decision but that's for Melbourne members to decide and deal with.

I hope you critisism Eddie next time he misses a Collingwood game, which he has in the past, and will in future due to work committments, but then making money for yourself is more important than honouring your commitments and raising money for the underpriviliged of the world.

I am bemused by Gardiner's absolute refusal to acknowledge any merit in any of the arguments though. To bring it down to an argument about kids lives v a game of footy trivialises the job he has asked the members to vote him in for, the concerns of his members and the dire situation that he himself tells him members that the club is in. Add to that it also significantly overstates his personal contribution to saving the lives of children.

Why not? Thats what it is. He is doing something for the less fortunate of the world, and according to you cant use that as a defence?

Full credit for Gardiner for having a social conscience and full credit to him for doing something positive but if he couldn't achieve all that and attend the game he may not be right for the job IMO.

What is your opinion of Frank Costa being overseas for six weeks last year, or Eddie not attending Collingwood matches for work committments? Are they the right people for the job?
Gardner was part of a team in a sponsored walk-a-thon type engagement, you want him to squib on his committments for one football match. For goodness sake Mark, do you really understand what you are critisising here?

That is a call impossible to make after 1 act though. I would be starting to worry just the same if I was a Melbourne member and I would be very annoyed that he ahs refused to acknowledge the concerns.

But you are not a Melbourne supporter so why does it concern you so.

Congratulations Paul Gardner. I admire your committment, self esteem, and dignity. I have come to respect you and your committment to what you are attempting to do for the MFC. You seem like a level headed person who has football and its place in the world in perspective. You are an impressive person and i wish you all the luck in your endevours for the MFC and your other life persuits.

You're not very good at reading comprehension, are you Joffaboy?

I don't know what the fuss is all about. Frankly, it's not worth talking about IMO. This guy has geniunly supports the Melbourne Football Club, and suddenly he gets all this unwarranted criticism? He has only missed ONE football match and had a very good excuse for doing it... a charity involving a run to help starving children in Africa. He wanted to go to the game, but thought that this run was far more important. Fair enough. He is right in saying that there are far more important things in life than football, but that doesn't mean he doesn't care about the MFC. Realise that most presidents won't be able to go to all games due to family reasons/business/charity etc but missing one game is nothing. Especially if that said president said long ago that he had made a commitment of running under a certain charity long before the first bounce.

I wouldn't care if Collo missed the first match providing he had a really good excuse. Just as long as he attends all the matches he can, provide some moral support for the playing group and help out in other departments besides attending matches then that's great. I'm sure Gardiner will do other things with his life not involving the MFC - so would other club presidents and their teams. Football isn't everything. As long as he does a good job with keeping Melbourne alive and out of the doldrums then there's noting wrong with missing a few matches is there? Keep things in perpecstive... as a supporter I'd rather miss a football match than miss the birth of my first child - no matter how fanatical I am or no matter how much I love Carlton, I'll always put family first.

Gardiner's decision wasn't bad IMO and there are 21 matches to go (if Melbourne are lucky then moreso). He is only one man - one missing attendance from one match is nothing. But he should go to all matches that he can - to show the supporters that he cares and to follow his lead. But only one match? Mainly because he can help the club with other things What needs to happen is for the supporters to get their act together - the president can do everything in his power to keep a club above water but the supporters have the real power, and they need to realise this. And for people who are saying "but he's a role model to supporters - him missing a match would justify supporters missing a match". People do have to realise that not everyone can attend matches all the time.

I wish Paul Gardner very well. He's an honest man from what I've seen, and that's admirable. I like a person who speaks his mind more often than not, but not one who likes to drag out robotic cliches all the time. If he supports the club in other avenues too rather than attending a few matches here and there providing he has a good excuse - fair enough. He's doing his job well if Melboune can stabliise off-field. He has a life too you know, maybe sometimes football and his personal life clash and at those times he opts to miss a game or two. So what? I'm sure he loves the MFC, and is doing all he can for 'em.

Yep, its great what he's doing for them. He really is a Dees fan, and represents his constituency well.

He understands that you might not be able to make it every week, so hey, why buy a season ticket? Better value at the gate or with the MCC membership.

Also, if you reckon the Dees are going to lose, then why go and watch them? No one wants to see their side flogged. But rest assured, the boys will go out and have a good crack! Smashing!

A true Dee.

Originally posted by Porthos
You're not very good at reading comprehension, are you Joffaboy?

Don't you mean - You're not very good at reading, comprehension, are you Joffaboy or You're not good at read and comprehension, are you Joffaboy?

Or do you mean reading comprehension Postos?

Anyway go and **** yourself you arrogant tool.

Originally posted by Porthos
Yep, its great what he's doing for them. He really is a Dees fan, and represents his constituency well.

He understands that you might not be able to make it every week, so hey, why buy a season ticket? Better value at the gate or with the MCC membership.

Also, if you reckon the Dees are going to lose, then why go and watch them? No one wants to see their side flogged. But rest assured, the boys will go out and have a good crack! Smashing!

A true Dee.

How many Port games do you get to every week? Do you fly down to Adelaide every week?

You are a tool of the highest order.

Originally posted by Joffaboy
How many Port games do you get to every week? Do you fly down to Adelaide every week?

You are a tool of the highest order.
No, you're quite right. I live in Sydney but there's no reason why I shouldn't be a good chairman for the Port Adelaide Football Club, despite my virtual non-attendance of games and lack of accessability.

Bugger it, maybe I'll apply to do the CEO's job on Saturdays too. Smashing!

Has Eddie or any other President ever missed a match? How many Friday night and Saturday matches did Joe Gutnik attend ?
Yes he has and none. I never said the president had to attend every match. His first match as president at this time in Melboune’s histoty was a time to be there IMO. As for Joe, I don’t rate him a president’s bum hole either. Nevertheless when he was elected by the members they knew full well his religious status and he at least put his own money into the club.
We should all take a leaf out of your humanitarian attitude and never do anything for Oxfam or CAA. I have just rung up CCF and cancelled my sponsorship of our Mexican child, after all they can get the money from other means, i have more important thing to do.
?? What does this have to do with anything? I said he should have attended the clubs forst match and he could have ensures OXFAM received whatever he gave by other means if that was important to him. I actually said he should have done both but the actual walk was symbolic only IMO. I donp;t think you are well placed to comment on my humanitarianism. Lets not forget though that a football club president is an elected position and the president is elected to do a job.
I hope you critisism Eddie next time he misses a Collingwood game, which he has in the past, and will in future due to work committments, but then making money for yourself is more important than honouring your commitments and raising money for the underpriviliged of the world.
I think you have no idea what I am talking about but if Collingwood were in Melbourne’s position and it was game 1 of his presidency I would be critical. As it is I am more than happy with what Eddie contributes and if wouldn’t dare presume to critisise his effort. His actions perhaps but the dedication he has to the task, not for one second. The man give more to my club than we have a right to ask for. Regardless of that I was not aware that my house had to be clean before my eyes could see dirt on another window. The point, Joffa is not attendance at a game of footy. The point is Melbourne have a new president and if things don’t go very well they may have their last president. Now he is going to ask for the world from supporters and sponsors. Don’t underestimate the significance of the latter either.
Why not? Thats what it is. He is doing something for the less fortunate of the world, and according to you cant use that as a defence?
Not all. He can use it as a defense if he chooses. The consequences are for him to contemplate and for Melbourne members to ultimately judge. However if couldn’t work out a way to achieve both aims he is not cut out for the job. The reality appears to me to be that he is a club president who can’t see the importance of missing game 1 in a season this vital.
What is your opinion of Frank Costa being overseas for six weeks last year, or Eddie not attending Collingwood matches for work committments? Are they the right people for the job?
Gardner was part of a team in a sponsored walk-a-thon type engagement, you want him to squib on his committments for one football match. For goodness sake Mark, do you really understand what you are critisising here?
My opinion is that both men have done a very good job of lifting their clubs from the financial mire and do not have to attend every game to still do a good job. If Eddie did not attend lots of games I would worry. One game is not the point at all. I think I understand the issue but I don’t think you do.

Ultimately Joffa I can sit back and say what the heck should I care for. When Melbourne goes from being on it knees to wishing it still had knees to be on it isn’t really my problem. Hell it probably even benefits my club. I don’t look at that way though.
But you are not a Melbourne supporter so why does it concern you so.
I am not aboriginal either but I don’t like the way they have been treated over 200 years. I am opinionated and I like expressing my opinions. You strike me as someone similar in that regard. Indeed I could ask why the hell you care about the issue yourself? Are you a starving child?
Congratulations Paul Gardner. I admire your committment, self esteem, and dignity. I have come to respect you and your committment to what you are attempting to do for the MFC. You seem like a level headed person who has football and its place in the world in perspective. You are an impressive person and i wish you all the luck in your endevours for the MFC and your other life persuits.
I don’t disagree with any of that except that he seems from this one isolated act to be unable to multi task, problem solve or understand his constituents. Not good signs for a football club president let alone the president of one who is on the edge of oblivion and not making any progress from the edge.

Paul Gardiner