Politics & Government "Pay for our trips home" - Islamic Womens Association

^ As soon as they print a story involving benefits (real or, as in this case, imaginary) for minority groups, it goes from fishing with a rod to shooting fish in a barrel. Every time.

"I'm not racist, but this tips the scales for me" etc etc - I have no doubt he is normally measured in his overreactions.

I think the fact that Australia is so isolated cultivates this mentality with a certain amount of ease compared to less isolated countries.

It is not simply a racial/xenophobic thing, though. All minority groups to some degree can be and are used to excite the likes of those seen in this thread by the tabloid media.

Dole bludgers, gay people, the poor, the wealthy. Any group that can be singled out and made to be 'bad guys taking your stuff' are ripe to be used as bait.

And it works. Time and time again. And it will continue to do so until the masses are properly educated about the motivations of commerical entities such as newspapers and television stations... but that will never happen, so on and on it will go.

:thumbsu:

How is the use of 'events' a sense of entitlement?

Read in the context of the paragraph it speaks to their sense of entitlement.

These people do not have to attend these 'events' (whatever they may be) and we should hardly cough up money to compensate them for their sacrifice in not having been able to attend these events.

I migrated to this country with my parents when I was primary-school aged and have gone back to my home country (non-muslim) on several occasions for weddings/funerals and general visits, at no time would I ever say that I had to attend these events.

The idea that any of you in this thread (and the public in general) should effectively subsidise these trips is ridiculous, and I wouldn't want to bring shame on my home country or other migrants from that country by demanding funding. I'm sure there are muslims who feel exactly as I do.

Publicly petitioning for these trips to be funded is more likely to further alienate muslim women and muslims in general who already have a tough enough of a time integrating as it is.

I wonder how the indigenous people felt when the poms came here and didnt even ask to change their country?

;)

I'm just so sick and tired of all this disguised racism and lack of understanding and accepting from most australians. It happened in the 50s, 60s,70s, 80s and now again.

Maybe we should revert back to the "white australia policy" eh?

Maybe you should start up a seperate thread on the "white australia policy" being reintroduced and see what responses you get seeing as you have seen fit to bring it up.

What I'm most looking forward to is those who have come in as "refugees" fleeing "persecution" in the countries they came from, countries they would at great risk in if they were sent back, lining up for their government handout to go back for a holiday.

So you can benefit from moving here and be at home when you want? It's one or the other!! My family migrated in the mid 90's, we pay for holidays home to S Africa

If you sought refuge in Australia from oppression and persecution that existed in your former country I would have thought that you wouldn't be in any hurry to go back to your former home/country unless of course you came here as a refugee under false pretences.

Firstly, flog, the OP never mentions refugees - It mentions migrants

Secondly, there is no chance of this submission being accepted, and as someone else has previously posted, there seems to be all sorts of crazy applications submitted by all kinds of social groups in an attempt to access public funds. Don't see people complaining about those applications.

Thirdly, this application was made April last year. Obviously the Herald have just dug it up, or have been holding onto it for a slow news day, to stir up the anti-Islam sentiment that sells newspapers and sends hot headed ignorant bogans into a fit of fury. See through the spin that the tabloid media shoves down your throat.

Radiojake

Lol

Your point?

--------------

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/mig/multiculturalism/

Inquiry into Multiculturalism in Australia

On 9 February 2011, the Joint Standing Committee on Migration accepted terms of reference from the Minister for Immigration and Citizenship, the Hon Chris Bowen MP, to inquire into the economic, social and cultural impacts of migration and make recommendations to maximise the positive benefits of migration. The Committee is seeking written submissions from interested persons and organisations preferable sent by email to jscm@aph.gov.au.

So the Government actively asked for groups to submit applications asking how they could maximise benefits of migration. There are over 800 applications and some of the ones I have read are pretty ridiculous - A lot of them are from anglo whites complaing about multiculturalism - To pick out only one of these submissions, without explaining the context of its submission, and use it against an entire social group because of already underlying discrimination and pre-conceptions is a low act but the Herald Sun

The proposal may not be as far fetched as people are making out. In "The Next 100 Years" George Friedman speculates that low western birth rates and aging populations will see a situation where nations are actively competing for immigrants to support their economies.

I was tempted to leave the comment at that to see the frenzy it would generate :), but will qualify it by saying it's not really relevant to today's situation.

I always stop reading when i come across this sort of rubbish. Every time someone rants about ethnics on the HS or on BF they always use the above reply as a source or justification to their silly rants.

I still can't understand how such a large % of the population still believe everything the trash media says. This article and the reactions are a perfect example.

They just print out what people really are thinking i guess. Sad refelction on australian society.

Just for the record, this is something that I have seen happen first hand, and I am not talking about refugees, I am talking about people who make an educated decision to come here for a better life for themselves and their families, they do their homework and know what they are entitled to immediately.

My point is - should they be entitled to any payments immediately? They are yet to contribute anything, and maybe we should be looking at a different class of migrant, ones who have skills or qualifications that are genuinely required in this country and can start contributing immediately upon arrival.

What the hell are we doing as a nation allowing immigrants into the country that need welfare to survive, not to mention health care etc as they keep having children at taxpayer expense, how can that actually be a good thing?

Surely there are plenty of people in this world that would want to come her and can contribute to society.

What the hell are we doing as a nation allowing immigrants into the country that need welfare to survive, not to mention health care etc as they keep having children at taxpayer expense, how can that actually be a good thing?

How about we start with the locals eh? The family of deadshit bogans who have never worked a single minute in their life and all they do is take take take. These are people who a breeding at alarming rates so they can be in a higher dole bracket. I mean you have cases of bogans earning 1-1500k a fortnight for popping out kids every year. I have seen countless amount of mothers standing outside centrelink having a smoke with their 14-15 year old heavily pregnant daughters.

Thats a big blight and one which will effect australia in the long run.

How about we start with the locals eh? The family of deadshit bogans who have never worked a single minute in their life and all they do is take take take. These are people who a breeding at alarming rates so they can be in a higher dole bracket. I mean you have cases of bogans earning 1-1500k a fortnight for popping out kids every year. I have seen countless amount of mothers standing outside centrelink having a smoke with their 14-15 year old heavily pregnant daughters.

Thats a big blight and one which will effect australia in the long run.

Would prefer deadshit bogans than people who don't even speak english.

So Port Adelaide supporters are worst than collingwood supporters, yes? In fact collingwood supporters are more accepting of non anglos these days..but i have heard that Port Adelaide is just a big sewer with feral rodents as fans.

amirite?

this country will be an islamic theocracy before i'm dead. think i'm just going to move to the netherlands and hope geert wilders takes power or something.

Politics & Government "Pay for our trips home" - Islamic Womens Association