10k Posts
Jun 15, 2006
Middle of nowhere
Sowfs
Let me preface this by saying that I went into the sandy desert 3 weeks ago with a heavy heart, holding little hope of improvement and expecting more turmoil and disappointment on my return to civilisation.

Well I was wrong...dead wrong...and very pleasantly surprised.

Now to my point...

Was it just me or did young Peake show some flashes of a young Peter Matera today ...don't get me wrong he has a hell of a long way to go, especially in his disposal, but that turn of pace, running style and body shape had me thinking of a certain opposition wingman on more than one occasion. This isnt the first time I have thought it, but today I thought he was a very influential player who showed that he will one day tear a game apart through his own efforts.

Apart from Peake, that would have been one of the best efforts I have seen from the boys in a very, very long time.

Congrats to all and lets all hope it continues into September.

bushie said:
Let me preface this by saying that I went into the sandy desert 3 weeks ago with a heavy heart, holding little hope of improvement and expecting more turmoil and disappointment on my return to civilisation.

Well I was wrong...dead wrong...and very pleasantly surprised.

Now to my point...

Was it just me or did young Peake show some flashes of a young Peter Matera today ...don't get me wrong he has a hell of a long way to go, especially in his disposal, but that turn of pace, running style and body shape had me thinking of a certain opposition wingman on more than one occasion. This isnt the first time I have thought it, but today I thought he was a very influential player who showed that he will one day tear a game apart through his own efforts.

Apart from Peake, that would have been one of the best efforts I have seen from the boys in a very, very long time.

Congrats to all and lets all hope it continues into September.

By far the most impressive thing is that he has added a very good "inside game" to his CV.

I thought also that Happy Gilmore & Luke Webster took steps forward today as well.

And I reckon the OM Dodd would be top 5 in the fairest and best at this point of the year

doesnt have the skills to be as good as Matera but every week his reputation is growing. He is exactly what we need in our midfield

Well short of Matera at this stage but heading in the right direction. Needs to add a fair bit of strength to his frame and improve skills a tad but he's not putting a foot wrong atm. Lets hope for continued improvement from the likes of Gilmore, Drum, Dunn, Murphy etc and we may be going places.

Good to see the young lad coming along nicely. Not often a father / son draftee does well in a side, but Peake is one of your best up and coming and will do good things for your side. I was a fan of Brian Peake and though he played for East Fremantle, (I am a Swannies man), he was a delight to watch. I just hope his son does as well as Peake senior.

pinkus maximus said:
doesnt have the skills to be as good as Matera but every week his reputation is growing. He is exactly what we need in our midfield

Why doesn't Connolly ring the East perth footy Club and ask to speak to matera. Invite Pete down to have a few words to young bomber about skill execution a top pace. Yes Bomber is learning, however if he watches videos of Matera he'd see a player who was balanced at speed and always ran straight towards goal not across the ground.

Yes get one speed machine to talk to the other.

wehavethepassion said:
Why doesn't Connolly ring the East perth footy Club and ask to speak to matera. Invite Pete down to have a few words to young bomber about skill execution a top pace. Yes Bomber is learning, however if he watches videos of Matera he'd see a player who was balanced at speed and always ran straight towards goal not across the ground.

Good point, but I reckon he has a person closer to him who knows just a little about the footy game. Why you want to poison him by making him contact the North Perth Royals ?.

Yes his disposal needs improvement, but as long as he breaks the lines, he can then pass the ball off by hand to the more competant goal kickers.

He's developing nicely! He makes mistakes, but he is learning from them! It's exciting just watching the guy grow each week!

Belnakor said:
He seems to be a pretty fanastic shot on goal from what i've seen.

Is he good on both feet? I must confess i haven't been monitoring that much.

He drilled a nice 50m plus left footer pass last year running down the members toward perth end. Otherwise I havnt seen him use his left much.

wehavethepassion said:

i agree 110% shuld call him down and give tips and train young fella

A lot of his disposals let him down on Sunday ... but he would be a fair dinkum nightmare to defend. I love how he, literally, attacks the opposition and gets them going on the back foot.

I remember playing against guys like that. What a nightmare.

You can't use one player to corral them against the boundary -- because they'll just run around you. You can't give them any space because 5 cm and they're off. Meaning another player downfield has to come up to meet them. And you get buggered chasing them all day.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
A lot of his disposals let him down on Sunday ... but he would be a fair dinkum nightmare to defend. I love how he, literally, attacks the opposition and gets them going on the back foot.

I remember playing against guys like that. What a nightmare.

You can't use one player to corral them against the boundary -- because they'll just run around you. You can't give them any space because 5 cm and they're off. Meaning another player downfield has to come up to meet them. And you get buggered chasing them all day.

heh yeah well there was that passage where he had the ball on the southern wing by the boundary, passed it inboard, ran outside the boundary for a bit and got it back a couple of seconds later when he came back into the field of play... shame his kicking let him down. He's lightning fast though. Haven't seen number 17 do something good like that for a while :p

flanktwo said:
heh yeah well there was that passage where he had the ball on the southern wing by the boundary, passed it inboard, ran outside the boundary for a bit and got it back a couple of seconds later when he came back into the field of play... shame his kicking let him down. He's lightning fast though. Haven't seen number 17 do something good like that for a while :p

I think you'll find he is No7, the number his old man used.:thumbsu:

I think he's probably impressed enough that he will get a gig in the International Rules series later in the year (I assume it's still being played this year?). With Sheedy looking for specialist players, he'd be a hand full for the Irish!

He's ranked number 1 in the AFL for bounces per game, and ranked 2 in the AFL for bounces this year despite playing only 11 games compared with Jason Gram who has played all 16. Gram leads Peake by a total of 8 bounces for the year.

Peake Gram
76 total < 84 total
6.9 average > 5.2 average

fat wombat said:
I think he's probably impressed enough that he will get a gig in the International Rules series later in the year (I assume it's still being played this year?). With Sheedy looking for specialist players, he'd be a hand full for the Irish!
Fair call Wombat.
The thought hadn't crossed my mind, but you are spot on, Peake would suit the IR game to a tee. Being around the best players in the comp would be a great learning experience for the guy, and could fast-track his development. Bout time we had another Docker in the green and gold.

Peake