Perth Demons Supporters Thread.

I would be surprised if they win three games this year, I've seen all their three scratchies the midfield is pedestrian no key forwards or backmen the Tigers will smash them on Saturday and that's with a very weakened side on previous years.
The opposite happened Perth gave Tigers a pummelling

That was the best I've seen a Perth side run out a game yesterday for 4 qtrs. Ugly first qtr, thought I was watching Auskick. Manuel made up for a pathetic effort in the first qtr where it should have been a simple 10m hand pass to Moody in the goal square. We've got some real talented Aboriginal fellas running around atm. Callum Collard stood out for me. Pretty special little player. Leyendekkers had the better of Seaby and stuck his hand up to lead our ruck this year and proven he can drift forward, take marks and kick goals. That goal into the breeze from about 45 m after the half time siren was telling. With M and C. Morton to come into the side we might go better than expected this year. Claremont were very very ordinary though. Worst Claremont side I've seen in a long long time.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Tapatalk

Dockersman you are not wrong about the first quarter, should have kicked 8 goals not the 2. Not sure what happened at the very start but gifted Claremont a goal with first two kicks of the game. The first twelve minutes were very very ordinary!!!

Agree with your comments on the aboriginal boys , really liked the look of Smith who looked super composed and was refreshing to see such a young defender stick to his task and actually play on his man. Hopefully Freo will pick him up. Ugle and Collard both showed promising signs.

Irons looks like he has stepped up this season. Risol made a few howlers but straight away redeemed himself. I noticed that with quite a fee players yesterday, as soon as they had a clanger straight back into it. Admire the way Hug goes about it but his kicking needs serious improving. Jarryd Morton seemed to be very vocal revving the players up during the half time break.

We should really have kicked 25 goals but it was a warm arvo and the players with good reason started to tire in the last. Welburn and Edmonds probably most likely to miss if Bateman and Morton return. Bevan didn't kick a major so to kick 18 goals without him contributing was a pleasing sign.

Notice Billings was reported in the ressies, yet again!

All in all a performance which will derive plenty of confidence, lets hope we can continue our solid Friday night at Freo form this Friday and please no repeat of that horrendous last qtr brain fade

Philosophical about the weekends loss to reigning premiers by 18 points. Had our chances to win but happy with the start to the season. Will take a 2 and 1 start any day. Needs to be some ball winners brought into the midfield to help out Dene White who is in career best form. Great to see Hayden Busher back and looked in good knick and good touch. Like to see him forward though.

Fantastic game today. Just a comment I'd like to make, but I reckon you are a lot tougher side this year than I have seen in the past, say, 10. The pressure around the ball was fantastic and your ability to get hands on the ball in close were fantastic. Something I haven't seen from Perth in a long time. :thumbsu:

Fair comment Swannies, unfortunately our skills let us down at crucial times, I know of at least two errors in the second qtr that resulted in goals one dropped mark across half back and an out on the full under no pressure. And you blokes had 5 goals on the board before we got going. Full credit to Swans you deserved the win. Another great game between the two sides that have built up a great rivalry over the past 5 or 6 years.

Who should be the new coach? I'll start a thread on the main page discussing this as well.

OK Perth supporters, what does your club need to do to turn the on field performances around?

They seem to promise so much, season after season, but deliver so little. What is it that needs to be done?

OK Perth supporters, what does your club need to do to turn the on field performances around?

They seem to promise so much, season after season, but deliver so little. What is it that needs to be done?

Rosbender to ruck.

Cable to rover.

Lofts to back flank.

Ramshaw to full back.

Stinga to full forward.

Couper to forward pocket.

Oh, Chubby Stiles to back pocket.

Solved.

A coach would be a good start. Supposedly an announcement this week. We wait with baited breath.

Laugh all you want, at least the Duke wanted the job, unlike a lot of coaches out there who cherry pick the plumb jobs. He's done a thorough coaching apprenticeship and he is familiar with the Perth footy club being a former Demon. He might surprise a few people. Hopefully the club will work hard in the recruiting department to give him the cattle and assistance any half decent coach needs.

I don't think it's necessarily a bad appointment. It's just hilarious how woefully amateur the recruitment process was.
Unless you've heard it directly from a source how do you know that.? They offered it to Todd Curley after the initial process, he turned it down for the SF job so they readvertised and extended the closing date hoping more applicants would emerge. None emerged that the club thought were better than Earl Spalding so they offered it to him. Obviously Earl was not first choice but it is what it is. He could yet turn out to be a good appointment. He has been involved in coaching in some capacity since his retirement so he's certainly done a thorough apprenticeship.

Perth has sent Ugle to Peel in exchange for Toby Gianatti, Liam McKenna and Kelvin Lawrence.

Anybody know much about these guys? Not sure adding players from Peel is going to make us any better. :oops:

Any names we should be targeting?

McKenna has been terrific in Peel's reserves for a number of years now, with surprisingly limited opportunities.

Perth Demons Supporters Thread.