pfeiffer anyone ?

What about Torney? Probably two good years left, big body, courageous, strong mark, good skills. Is he worth a Hardwick type situation?

Hes more of a back pocket/flank type than a key defender.
he does play on decent size players.... we also got our fair share of back pockets and obviously traded one too....

but regardless, Lower needs to be given a chance, he's probably very similar and 10 years younger.

What about Torney? Probably two good years left, big body, courageous, strong mark, good skills. Is he worth a Hardwick type situation?

I am astounded by the decision on Torney I would have much rather delisted Mr Gold Card Michael Doughty.

With Port looking to go after a flag over the next couple of seasons I really think that Torney would have to come under Choco's radar. Definately still has some good footy left in him.

The reason why I wouldn't pick up Torney is much the same reason as why the Cows delisted him.

The #1 requirement for developing 10-year defenders is AFL experience. We will do ourselves no favours if we put up roadblocks to inhibit our defenders from gaining it.

Its going to hurt a lot of egos, but we are still `rebuilding' and that means not patching and filling with short-term solutions for holes that you have long-term solutions for.

If we pick up Torney, it means we think Lower, Thomas & Williams are duds. Do we?

Yeah Id prefer to see Lower and Thomas get regular gametime and see Williams develop a lot more...but our defence next year looks like being Carlile, Chaplin, Surjan, Pettigrew, Thurstans and Lower/Thomas. Its very light on in experience.

At the end of next year, every player will have 22+ games more experience.

If we play Torney for two years, then at the end of 2 years we still don't have a replacement and Lower & Thomas will have been delisted/traded to other clubs that will play them, ala Gilham.

We need to suck it up.

Pfeiffer has the ability & skill set to make it as an AFL player, hence I'd be happy to invite him to training, have a good look, see if he can show some maturity & determination.

It doesn't hurt us to have a look at him

At the end of next year, every player will have 22+ games more experience.

If we play Torney for two years, then at the end of 2 years we still don't have a replacement and Lower & Thomas will have been delisted/traded to other clubs that will play them, ala Gilham.

We need to suck it up.

Yeah, it's the one step back to take two steps forward principle - same as we need to do up forward.

I think there's been a bit of hyping on the basis of making the GF. But for 6 seconds of football we could've been 5th, been knocked out in rd 1 of finals and finished 7th or 8th. Then people would be more tolerant of further list development next year.

Personally I'd have done a bit more recruiting just to ease the development of Thomas, Lower, Williams a bit more, work it for a dozen games each in 08. I'm not talking stars here, even someone like a David Johnson from Geelong who's 25, strong bodied, played 70 games, a dozen in 07 I think, and could fill a role playing on medium/small forwards. Lower should've played a dozen games this year, but Choco got wide eyed at the sight of finals again IMHO.

Don't usually like going for former Adelaide players but this year I reckon we should be seriously looking at both Pfeiffer and Fergus Watts who was delisted by the Saints. Quality players, the type we need and could have a massive development step sooner rather than later.

We should be looking at these 2 rather than Torney who would be a reasonable quick fix but would hinder the development of a couple of players who are right on the cusp of making the first 18.

Yep, Watts is quality alright. Has hardly played a game of AFL footy in his few years in the system, and once a year he kicks a bag. What a champion.

Pfeiffer will be a great pickup if you want Drummond to join dyertribe in converting to Islam (;)), and he has a great record off the field too.

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Keep him in SA!!!!!!!!!!!!

Gun, will play a lot of AFL football, just because the Crows only care about having off field angels doesn't mean Pfeiffer won't develop into a quality AFL player.

1124.jpg

I'll miss you Pfeiff. :( :( :(

dam Drummond.. the amount you carry on about this photo really questions what u actually like about him

Do I recall correctly that Pfeiffer was taken with the pick (17) that Port didn't accept for Damon White? The same pick that all crow supporters say "glad we dodged that bullet" about?

Goes to show how draft picks can be somewhat over-rated....

Not interested in picking him up. I can quote from Monty P on this - "Tell him we've already got one".

After the rule chages relating to trading of picks, it will be interesting to see how many delisted players get taken up this year. You would imagine that all delisted players will have been touted around last week already...

Pass on Torney as he would be competing with the likes of Wilson, Thomas, Lower and Williams for a defensive position and I would rather go with the players on our list. I am excited about Lower and Thomas in particular.

I would consider Watts - big men develope late. I wouldn't mind it if Choco trials him first as he did with Rodan and then re-assesses him.

Pfeiffer - I would seriously consider drafting this guy. A good mate of mine who never misses a Redlegs match (no, its not Drummond) believes this guy is a talent and can't believe he was de-listed. He was a 1st round pick so he must have some ability and IMO, should at least be invited to train at Alberton.

Well he was selected with pick 17 - and I don't believe anyone was suprised at the time ... although some had concerns over his kicking/decision making skills and accountability....

I'm guessing though that at 19/20 hes still young enough to make it and the question may become to compare him to kids that will be around our 4th/5th round. Certainly would look at rookie draft if nothing else.

pfeiffer anyone ?