Fishing pier fishing

same i think , i like the fact it goes out a fair way the brain tells me i will get a big fish but i haven't yet but i still like it , i like mallacoota pier too and when i was a kid caught some nice fish there

26933e2b-8c29-4a81-b22d-e8da0993ee8b_original.jpg

this is the fish i caught at mornington pier nice one isn't it tasted good too
3kg 70cm long

Cowes pier is my favourite! I remember one New years morning me and my dad somehow managed to get up and go fishing at 8am. That day we caught 12 salmon, 5 flathead, 1 silver trevaly, 4 snapper and 1 baby gummy shark.
If you know where to fish off this pier you will definately catch fish.

The best is to come at night with the big rods and cast out long for shark. Lots of fun!:)

What are we currently getting off Portarlington and St Leonards piers/other areas on the Bellarine? And with what bait and times?

Looking at taking the boy for his first outing in the next couple of weeks, if l can get him hooked then I'll be able to go more often.

On a nice hot Summer night head down to St kilda pier with some pilchard or sandworms and most nights i have been have caught some pinkies and a few big flatties.

went for a week at port phillip island caught small flathead off the rhyll pier and a 2.5-3kg banjo shark saw a 1.5kg flathead caught there yesterday caught a 1-2kg banjo off the newhaven pier and hooked a ray but it broke my line cowes pier i hooked that ray a few times but didn't get it up either broke my line or let go of the bait saw a little shark get caught off the cowes pier i think it was a leopard shark all fish i caught were put back in too small or in the case of the banjo was not sure on cooking methods etc and skinning methods so thought better to let it go saw rock cods get caught off the rhyll pier and the cowes pier too and saw a 3 kg snapper get brought in after being caught from a boat

i went fishing on sat i caught a salmon then had 2 rays on my line got one to the pier and broke the line [ did not want them ] the other had to break the line before it got to the pier due to french island ferry leaving at about 10 got a gummy shark got it to the pier in the process of getting ready to get it out of the water when he death rolled and dived and broke my line .

fishing can be fun but not if you get snags or no bites

Fishing is boring

Post of the year :cool:

for those in Perth, the Palm Beach Jetty in Rockingham is going great guns@ moment for Tailor in evenings with plenty of herring & blue mackerel during day.

Just came back from Jurien Bay last week & the jetty over there was awesome at night. Caught some ripper Skippys, Tailor, 2 Mulloway & as much Snook & Herring as u like.

Very windy but fishing was tops :thumbsu:

Fishing is boring

It can be if you are watching someone else fish, it's rather relaxing when you toss a line in and wait for a bite.

Haven't tried Pier fishing, went up the East Coast of Tassie and tried to catch a fish in one of the lakes up there, plenty of fish, none wanted a bite that day.

Fishing pier fishing