News Pies to build stronger connections: Buckley.

One of the more open and honest interviews you'll ever see from an AFL coach.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-02-05/pies-seek-stronger-connections

COLLINGWOOD coach Nathan Buckley has ramped up efforts to strengthen the connection between the club's coaching and playing groups.

In an interview with AFL.com.au, he admitted a post-season review revealed the connection between Collingwood's coaches and players was not as strong as it needed to be.

It became a focus during the pre-season and has led to a tight group that heads into the new season with high expectations.

Buckley said the post-season review identified the club had enough talent on its list, and the challenge for the team was to ensure it was better prepared for this season than it was for 2013.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-02-05/pies-seek-stronger-connections

"Macaffer, Blair, Toovey Goldsack, all want to be better leaders" - Bucks

"Elliott, Williams, Adams, who come in and drive standards with the way they go about their business on the track" - Bucks

"Ball, Beams, Swan, Pendlebury in the same side 5 times. So we haven't had access to our A grade talent for as long as we would have liked, so we've had to call up on our youth at times." - Bucks

Also mentioned that we were too Cloke focused, and have addressed that this pre-season.

Jeeze Matty what a difference from Mick! Every interview he gives is not only great it's getting better, partly I think because he is understanding his role better and the other factor is people are beginning to understand him and his imperatives a bit better and know what questions to ask.

As for the content itself you can only acknowlege the depth and earnestness of the soul searching and the willingness to change what needs to be changed.

Its brave and refreshing for an AFL coach not to cloak his answers but just speak straight out. Bucks has been fairly unique in this regard and also using an honest up front answer to defuse a potentail crisis. Eddie and MM could lean a bit there. Hope no one uses it against him if times get tough. We need more like him.

Obviously Bucks still recognises the need to improve relationships with the players and I find that encouraging if a little bit of a concern. The concern relates basically to an implied recognition that he still has weaknesses in that area although it may be using a bit of license to assume that he refers to himself with those comments. If there are still issues in that area then one can only hope that Bucks is able to finally rid himself of those things which I have no doubt would translate to better team performances. Regardless of that, it is also extremely obvious that Bucks is the consummate media performer and makes Mick look very second rate in that area.

I doubt it is a problem that can be fixed over one pre-season.

Which is precisely the point that Bucks makes but the reality may well be that the problems actually relate to other members of the coaching panel. That would make sense given that there are a number of youngish members on that panel who are still very much in a learning phase.

I just love the way Nathan Buckley goes about it and conducts himself. Fine example to others.
There are a lot of things that have to go right for you to win a flag but I have little doubt that at the end of his tenure Buckley will either as a premiership coach or not, know that he left no stone unturned and no drops of sweat unspent.

Its brave and refreshing for an AFL coach not to cloak his answers but just speak straight out. Bucks has been fairly unique in this regard and also using an honest up front answer to defuse a potentail crisis. Eddie and MM could lean a bit there. Hope no one uses it against him if times get tough. We need more like him.
The hyenas will always circle, first because he's Buckley and second because it's Collingwood - any excuse mate - you know that.

Unfortunately, the world judges people too much by what they say. If a coach never hints at doubts or weaknesses in themselves, then journalists and people in general seem to think that the coach is actually strong and in charge. It takes a stronger man to acknowledge that he doesnt have all the answers.

But of course, there's a lot of people who like the traditional mask that a coach puts on. It makes them feel secure. The previous guy had a mask that scared the crap out of any journalist who would question his capabilities. The fact that people are too gutless to hold a coach accountable for his bad decisions doesnt mean that the coach is perfect.

As for relationships, I would much prefer to deal with someone like Buckley than the previous guy. I dont particular like my bosses to play favourites and make decisions that are often based on their own authority rather than team rules. It might be great for the guys who are considered special, like players that the coach have a kick with prior to games, but it leaves players on the outer feeling a bit insignificant. It seems that a lot of these players spent their time trying to meet the coach's expectations.... but personally, I'm not a big fan of this "playing for the coach" thing. I would prefer players to push themselves for the reasons that Buckley is trying to get installed.

The biggest threat in the current situation is that there will be supposed supporters who will interpret the current openness and transparency as a sign of weakness. Unfortunately, there are people in this world that feel happy only when a so-called strong leader is in charge.

Unfortunately, the world judges people too much by what they say. If a coach never hints at doubts or weaknesses in themselves, then journalists and people in general seem to think that the coach is actually strong and in charge. It takes a stronger man to acknowledge that he doesnt have all the answers.

But of course, there's a lot of people who like the traditional mask that a coach puts on. It makes them feel secure. The previous guy had a mask that scared the crap out of any journalist who would question his capabilities. The fact that people are too gutless to hold a coach accountable for his bad decisions doesnt mean that the coach is perfect.

As for relationships, I would much prefer to deal with someone like Buckley than the previous guy. I dont particular like my bosses to play favourites and make decisions that are often based on their own authority rather than team rules. It might be great for the guys who are considered special, like players that the coach have a kick with prior to games, but it leaves players on the outer feeling a bit insignificant. It seems that a lot of these players spent their time trying to meet the coach's expectations.... but personally, I'm not a big fan of this "playing for the coach" thing. I would prefer players to push themselves for the reasons that Buckley is trying to get installed.

The biggest threat in the current situation is that there will be supposed supporters who will interpret the current openness and transparency as a sign of weakness. Unfortunately, there are people in this world that feel happy only when a so-called strong leader is in charge.
Yep Mark always plenty of sheep that can see no deeper than the surface, I pity them but leave them be - none as blind as those who will not see.

When I was sub contracting to a particular courier company for a few years they had two owners, one was the nicest bloke you are ever likely to meet and the other was a pr1ck of a bloke that was never, ever satisfied.

Guess what? The pr1ck was the most popular guy with the drivers, because if you screwed up he was into you boots and all but by chr1st it was behind closed doors and not behind your back. The 'nice' guy was a two faced pr1ck, who would tear into you in public behind your back.

"Ball, Beams, Swan, Pendlebury in the same side 5 times. So we haven't had access to our A grade talent for as long as we would have liked, so we've had to call up on our youth at times." - Bucks

Five times.....surely you jest?

Is that five times ever or five times under Bucks? Little wonder we've struggled. And add Adams and Sidebottom to that rotation....should be awesome if thet all get on the park....as long as we get some legspeed around the ground too.

I actually think this is a strategy by the club to stop the hyenas circling over this particular issue. By coming out and addressing it directly, and saying there 'is' or 'was' a problem, won't give the journalists anything to write about regarding the issue any more. There'll be an article in each newspaper tomorrow and that'll be that, they'll have to find more stories to write about.

Buckley has always been up front - he used to be so much so as to be considered blunt - much of this is the basis for his 'figjam' tag. He's learned since doing his coaching apprentiship to temper bluntness to candidness - a much better balance.

But based on the circumstances of this - a video randomly popping up on the AFL website - it makes me think that the club put themselves forward for this to happen. It's not like it's a scheduled press conference after a match or something, and he was being peppered with these tiring questions by the journos. Even if the AFL website went to Collingwood and asked for permission to do the video, they could have easily said no (which probably happens quite often). Instead they went ahead with it, and Buckley decided to address this issue specifically, at the very beginning of the podcast - therefore making it the centrepoint of the podcast. It all seems heavily calculated to me.

No argument with calculation on behalf of the club Bard, what I meant was it's no stretch for Bucks to be up front and self critical - that's in his nature.

Yep Mark always plenty of sheep that can see no deeper than the surface, I pity them but leave them be - none as blind as those who will not see.

When I was sub contracting to a particular courier company for a few years they had two owners, one was the nicest bloke you are ever likely to meet and the other was a pr1ck of a bloke that was never, ever satisfied.

Guess what? The pr1ck was the most popular guy with the drivers, because if you screwed up he was into you boots and all but by chr1st it was behind closed doors and not behind your back. The 'nice' guy was a two faced pr1ck, who would tear into you in public behind your back.

I'm not sure if your example supports buckley or supports the view that he could be a two-faced prick who tears into players behind people's backs. I tend to judge people in the long-term and from what I've seen, Buckley has never displayed any sneaky, devious parts in his character. I know a lot of people thought he was arrogant in his early days as a player, but I think they misinterpreted the fact that he was as hard on himself as he was on his team-mates. He probably told Tarrant that he was a slacker....and I would think that Tarrant would agree with him now. A lot of those attitudes, Buckley got from his father. I think that he's learnt over the years and become his own man. I think that he realises that you can't bully a guy into training harder. Except for that part of his personality, I haven't seen anything that would support this bullshit that the media projects onto Buckley. I could name half a dozen coaches that I would think would be harder to deal with than Buckley. Jolly says that he doesn't listen. Well for someone that doesnt listen, he's got an excellent grasp of how to deal with the feelings etc of all the people involved in sensitive situations.

No argument with calculation on behalf of the club Bard, what I meant was it's no stretch for Bucks to be up front and self critical - that's in his nature.

I agree. He has the bravery to back himself by answering questions with the truth.... and he has the skills to do it brilliantly. Personally, if I was on the board of a large multinational company, I would be trying to make him my CEO.

I'm not sure if your example supports buckley or supports the view that he could be a two-faced prick who tears into players behind people's backs. I tend to judge people in the long-term and from what I've seen, Buckley has never displayed any sneaky, devious parts in his character. I know a lot of people thought he was arrogant in his early days as a player, but I think they misinterpreted the fact that he was as hard on himself as he was on his team-mates. He probably told Tarrant that he was a slacker....and I would think that Tarrant would agree with him now. A lot of those attitudes, Buckley got from his father. I think that he's learnt over the years and become his own man. I think that he realises that you can't bully a guy into training harder. Except for that part of his personality, I haven't seen anything that would support this bullshit that the media projects onto Buckley. I could name half a dozen coaches that I would think would be harder to deal with than Buckley. Jolly says that he doesn't listen. Well for someone that doesnt listen, he's got an excellent grasp of how to deal with the feelings etc of all the people involved in sensitive situations.
Mmmm probably could have made myself clearer. I was alluding to surface perceptions. Both Man. Dirs. had surface qualities that were not really indicitive of their basic nature - or at least not entirely so.

The 'hard' guy was always at you for more but was straight up and down with his opinions - to your face and behind closed doors (this I believe is close to the Buckley personality) and the 'nice' guy was a two faced sneaky pr1ck that would sell his mother for a custard tart.

Lots of people would look at 'hard' guy and say 'what a pr1ck' when he was in fact just demanding but straightforward and fair.

Simarly lots would look at 'nice' guy and say what a wonderful bloke he was.

Both surface impressions are misleading, but the 'hard' guy is the one genuine people like when they get to know him.

I got what you meant but it could be interpreted that Buckley is just a good media performer and he doesnt demonstrate the same qualities to the team when there's no cameras. Honesty is a something that a lot of players mention when they comment on their coach.... honest feedback etc. I think buckley would deliver that... I would also say that the previous coach would do that too. I think the difference between the two is that the previous coach thought the universe circled around him. Ironically, I dont feel that with Buckley. I say "ironically" because of the figjam crap. Personally, I think the previous coach was drowning in figjam.

I got what you meant but it could be interpreted that Buckley is just a good media performer and he doesnt demonstrate the same qualities to the team when there's no cameras.

Its a possibility but Bucks doesnt come across as a sleazy snake oil salesman in his media appearances. I reckon what you see publicly is what you will see privately....at least in the honesty department. Every chance of course hes a lot more animated behind closed doors at times.

Couldn't agree more with these comments. Buckley has always taken responsibility for his shortcomings and hasn't been afraid to discuss - publicly - ways he can do better. Stay with me here but it was around 1994 when I had been travelling in India/ Asia for a couple of years, my mum - god bless her - sent me a copy of INSIDE FOOTY when I was staying in Kathmandu. Nathan Buckley was on the cover and featured in an in-depth interview about his first season with Collingwood. I read the piece with great interest since I had never seen Bucks play. He was questioned about the fact that he would become frustrated and angry with teammates during games and openly criticize them out on the field and that this had made him unpopular among some of his teammates. Buckley responded that he recognised that this was a problem and realised that he had been at fault. He said that he was taking steps to rectify this problem and to prevent it from happening in the future.

Doesnt mention beamsy in the next 3 or 4 names of next line leaders.. All things point to a falling out between the two because late last year i heard that beamsy got dropped from leadership group and now suddenly off the map of leaders

News Pies to build stronger connections: Buckley.