Plan for Sunday night football

We all know AFL is designed for TV these days, and having three overlapping games on Sunday afternoons means the viewer is forced to miss one or two games.

With Sunday games starting at 5:10 or 5:40pm AEST, Victorian viewers can watch the best part of all three:

12:30 or 1:00: Live "network game" - Channel Nine

3:15 or 4:00: Live game from Adelaide or Perth, or replay from Melbourne - Channel Nine

5:00 or 5:30: Live game from Adelaide, Perth or Telstra Dome - Fox Footy

With this scheduling, footy fans can watch up to 8 hours of live football on a Sunday - plus participating teams get the greatest exposure.

The downside is of course, it may be difficult to entice fans to attend games, be promoted correctly, I believe it could work. Games finishing at 8:00 or 8:30pm means families can get home at a reasonable time.

I wouldn't mind attending a Collingwood game at Telstra Dome at 5 or 5:30pm because I could watch the early game on TV instead of missing it completely because I'm at the footy at 2pm.

I think it could work if they promote it correctly and choose the right matches to trial it with. I guess the only way to find out is if they trial it and see how it goes. :)

Too much is on a Sunday night - everyone is mentally prepping themsleves for yet another work/school week.

Having Sunday night footy would mean - go to the footy - then have to go to bed by the time you get home - not eactly enticing - Sat/Fri nights work because there is no work (for the majority of Aust public) the following day.

I like the idea myself, it certainly has some potential. The point of overlapping games on a Sunday is truly a good argument in favour of trialling the idea for next season, at the earliest.

The issue of whether or not it will hurt attendance at other venues is one that will be investigated in terms of further research and development on the idea.

However, I can say that back home, the NFL has been doing Sunday night games on a weekly basis for the last several years (dating back to 1988, I think, as part of ESPN's long-time NFL package), and it hasn't hurt attendance one bit, with regard to the other stadiums in the league.

So if that sets a bit of a precedent as per an example, I think that might justify the AFL to go ahead and give it a go.

At first I presumed they were doing this for TV but channel nine who have the rights to Sunday footy would then have to move 60 minutes one of the top rating shows from a time slot it's been in for 15 years.

I don't think the AFL consider fans at all, what family is going to want to go to the footy on a Sunday night, even the corporate's would prefer a Friday or Saturday night. The only people going would be your diehard supporters and even they would be annoyed.

Originally posted by JUBJUB
Another dumb move by the AFL. :rolleyes:

Stupid, stupid move.

Bulldogs, Geelong, Freo and Port and other low drawing sides are guaranteed to get the short straw here.

Originally posted by you_idiot
However, I can say that back home, the NFL has been doing Sunday night games on a weekly basis for the last several years (dating back to 1988, I think, as part of ESPN's long-time NFL package), and it hasn't hurt attendance one bit, with regard to the other stadiums in the league.
In a competition with one team per city, with cities that primarily support the code. I reckon you could play NFL games at 6:00am on Wednesdays and not impact on the crowds much.

Originally posted by Porthos
In a competition with one team per city, with cities that primarily support the code. I reckon you could play NFL games at 6:00am on Wednesdays and not impact on the crowds much.

Fair point, Porthos. However, with more than one team in the New York metro and Bay Area markets, to name a couple, as well as baseball, NBA and NHL seasons overlapping that of the NFL during certain points of the NFL's season, there is a good deal of competition for the sports entertainment dollar.

But as you've said, it hasn't seemed to hurt the NFL all that much, and I'm sure the same demand for tickets will exist here, as per the AFL.

I think an appropriate event mentality and need for tickets will be created, if you play games on Sunday evenings.

So if that sets a bit of a precedent as per an example, I think that might justify the AFL to go ahead and give it a go.

Monday night football is also huge over there but didn't work here. I don't think the US league is a good yardstick for the comp over here.

Originally posted by jont2020
Monday night football is also huge over there but didn't work here. I don't think the US league is a good yardstick for the comp over here.

Good point, re Monday nights.

But with the success of Sunday nights being what it's been, I didn't say that those at AFL house were going to measure the entire yardstick. Still, though, I'm sure it's a model that the AFL would like to emulate, for inspiration into its plan.

We'll wait and see what happens next, I guess.

It wont work. It is designed as a ploy to make people watch on telly, games of zero interest that people would not attend in person.

You idiot.

Originally posted by hotpie
It is designed as a ploy to make people watch on telly, games of zero interest that people would not attend in person.

I don't think we know that for sure, until the schedules are actually drawn up.

Might make for an interesting debate here-- which teams or games would be likely candidates for Sunday night/Sunday evening feature matches?

I don't think we know that for sure, until the schedules are actually drawn up.

Might make for an interesting debate here-- which teams or games would be likely candidates for Sunday night/Sunday evening feature matches?

I can almost guarantee without fear of contradiction they will be games at Telstra Dome, with Geelong, Melbourne, Bulldogs and North hosting Freo, Swans, and Port.

This is back to the early 1990's stuff.

Hands up all those who can remember when Adelaide games were shown on Channel 7 on Sunday nights, starting anytime from 5pm to 7pm Melbourne time.

Can always remember the make-up of the 1993 finals series wasn't decided until the Adelaide versus Collingwood game in Round 24, which finished at something like 7.30 on the Sunday night.

Back to the Future!!!

The report said that games would start at 5:10 or 5:40pm - AEST, I'm presuming. It also said that some of the games would be played in Perth.

Perth time these games would start at 3:10 or 3:40, which isn't night-time, rather late afternoon. I don't think this would affect crowds much at all.

No worries then, play them all in Perth.

AFL should concentrate on Super Saturday Afternoons at the MCG for Victorian games and the DOME for Friday and Saturday Night Games.

They should have the WA & SA derby/showdowns live across the whole country on TV.

Get better TV times for NSW & Qld. Rugby League already plays late Sunday afternoon games dont they? this wont help the northern market.

I prefer my football on Friday nights and Saturday afternoons. I doubt Sunday twilight games will work, but it could be worth a shot...

Sunday 'twilight' games arent new. Its been done before back in the early-mid 90s.

The one game that comes immediately to mind was Adelaide v Carlton Round 1 94 when Modra kicked 13 or 14 goals. That was played on a late Sunday afternoon/early evening and it was dark by halftime.

Another one that comes to mind was Port v St Kilda Round 22 1997. That was played on a late Sunday afternoon as well where it was dark by 1/4 time. I remember watching the TV in the bar which had the Adelaide v Essendon game on (a close one) and that match finished during the last half of the curtain raiser.

So its not a new thing. Dunno about it becoming a regular occurence tho.

Plan for Sunday night football