Please Channel Seven - Don't even think about using Sandy Roberts for the footy

Sandy is a lot better than, well, anyone that channel ten currently uses.

peejay said:
There is a god.

Yes, but this thread isn't about Eddie.

Please no Sandy or Drew or Robbo or Dipper or Dunstall or Dermie or Dougie or BT or Rex or Sam or SOS. Actually there are more annoying ones than good ones when you think about it.

Porthos said:
Sandy is a lot better than, well, anyone that channel ten currently uses.

Surely you're taking the pi$$ here.
Lane, Quartermain, Huddo and Chriso are all better than Roberts. Fair Dinkum, if he says "Oh my hat" one more time.........

Sandy Roberts is by far the worst commentator going around. He makes Michael Christian sound like Dennis Commetti...

Watching 2001 games on Fox has just refreshed my memory, he is awful...

A Sandy special: "Kicks it down to Carey and Co"....

And Co? Shut the ******** up idiot...

HugeBluesFan said:
Lane, Quartermain, Huddo and Chriso are all better than Roberts.
Maybe if you're Victorian. All they know about other teams is what they got in the media guide at the start of the year, and even then they have to look it up.

Sandy is one of if not my all time favourite football commentator, he has the insite into the game and all sports which most people could only dream of. I am always astounded by his knowledge, and personality and he really gets the viewer involved in the game.

Off the topic but i competely lost respect for drew morphett when he commentated Womens Basketball

theorangeapple said:
There is something about the way he commentates which doesnt sit well with me.

It's that stupid paly nickname thing he does.

"Smith kicks to jones who says ' thank you big ears and puts it through'"

Being a bored crows supporter in the off-season, I watched the 1997 finals series. The number one thing I noticed looking back was how many mistakes Sandy Roberts made with his commenting.

Boring, inaccurate, and just plain stupid comments. I can't recall any specific examples, but he was simply horrible.

I second the motion to not use Sandy Roberts wholeheartedly.

Stephen2 said:
Being a bored crows supporter in the off-season, I watched the 1997 finals series. The number one thing I noticed looking back was how many mistakes Sandy Roberts made with his commenting.

Boring, inaccurate, and just plain stupid comments. I can't recall any specific examples, but he was simply horrible.

I second the motion to not use Sandy Roberts wholeheartedly.
Are you sure it was sandy making the mistakes?

steveo_999 said:
Sandy is one of if not my all time favourite football commentator, he has the insite into the game and all sports which most people could only dream of. I am always astounded by his knowledge, and personality and he really gets the viewer involved in the game.

Sandy stop posting on this forum and do some reporting! He is scheizen

Joffaboy said:
Tries to be hip and with it but comes across as cheesy and folksy.

Called the area where the Olympians were assembling during the Opening Cermony the Moshe Pit.

FFS the MOSHE PIT !!!!!!!!!:eek: :rolleyes:

Banal in the extreme.
Anyone with joffa in thier name must be a bogan, sandy is a god

HugeBluesFan said:
Lane, Quartermain, Huddo and Chriso are all better than Roberts. Fair Dinkum, if he says "Oh my hat" one more time.........

Lane is highly overrated. And Chriso is probably one of the worst. The guy is a liar. He keeps telling people stuff that isn't happening, which works better on radio than tv. Sandy was a great commentator. Just hope 7 don't give pig guts a job, but sadly I think they will.

Fact is Sandy is one of if not the longest serving on air personnel at Ch7. He goes back a long way and was the late great general manager Ron Casey's very valuable lieutenant in the sports department. Started off as a small town radio DJ to be what a lot of the critics in this place would ever dream to have as a career.

No Australian sportscaster has been to more Olympics. Highly thought of amongst his peers. Has been in his latter years of broadcasting a part time farmer and is edging towards retirement. Well done Sandy. Not many have lasted as long as you have in the broadcasting industry.

Please Channel Seven - Don't even think about using Sandy Roberts for the footy