• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Port Magpies teetering

It's not over yet.

SA Footy Commission to decide Magpies’ fate.
09 Feb 10 @ 05:30pm

link

UPDATE: The SA Football Commission will tomorrow consider the fate of the Port Adelaide Magpies, after talks tonight.

The announcement was made after merger talks at AAMI stadium earlier tonight.

The SA Football Commission will meet tomorrow at 7.30am to consider the proposal.
link

jarmanagic said:
They made this bed. They changed the SANFL forever. Other clubs like North, Norwood and Sturt were decimated but survived through shrewd financial management. The PAFC challenges might be unique but if you want someone to blame now look to 1990. Look to Albertion generally. You wanted to play with the big boys, well guess what you are and just maybe you aren't quite as all powerful as you thought

Inferiority complex much?

Are all you crow-eaters forgetting that PAFC was and is bigger and better than the SANFL and that is why they ARE now successfully competing in the national competition?

PAMFC is there for YOUR benefit. Protect it. You'll inch closer to the local sports wrap in small print without them.

Go Hawks.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/vote-underway-for-port-power-merger/story-e6frecj3-1225828477830

they voted against it - Power board saing oh its the ONLY way and it will kill port magpies is scaremongering at best

They will have do what every other club in their position has done previously - and thats get their house into order without thinking they should get help from the AFL Clubs

Its the port fans with an inferiority complex thinking the world is out to get them and they are bigger than the competion - not all problems are caused by external forces and instead of blaming everyone else should start by looking within

I will not be able to look at the SANFL as favourably as I do today with no Magpies there. Say what you want about them, the Power ran off with everything that made Port what it is and left their offspring -- the Magpies -- behind like an unwanted pet.

Central District are my team, but the SANFL is my league and in whatever shape or form they are, Port Adelaide must be in it.

PAMFC is there for YOUR benefit. Protect it. You'll inch closer to the local sports wrap in small print without them.

Are they now? So how come every other club can sod off and die when they had financial problems.

If they'd stop blaming everyone else ten years ago and had plans in place this wouldn't be happening.

Strange days.

Inferiority complex much?

Are all you crow-eaters forgetting that PAFC was and is bigger and better than the SANFL and that is why they ARE now successfully competing in the national competition?

Go Hawks.

Port were better than the SANFL back then

PAMFC is not there for my benefit thanks very much. Never has been there for anyones benefit apart from Port. Did they help Norwood when we went through our financial crisis? No they couldn't care less. No doubt there was spin offs for the SANFL from a successful Port but Port has only ever been interested in Port

Your club is a model for Port, on the brink in 96, stood firm, now more members than anyone. Helped themselves with forward planning and innovative thinking at a time when on field success had dried up. Somebody should call J Kennett

Port were better than the SANFL back then

PAMFC is not there for my benefit thanks very much. Never has been there for anyones benefit apart from Port. Did they help Norwood when we went through our financial crisis? No they couldn't care less. No doubt there was spin offs for the SANFL from a successful Port but Port has only ever been interested in Port

Your club is a model for Port, on the brink in 96, stood firm, now more members than anyone. Helped themselves with forward planning and innovative thinking at a time when on field success had dried up. Somebody should call J Kennett

...my point being that the Port that was better than the SANFL is now playing AFL.They were better and they moved on.

The resulting shadow of a football club placed in the SANFL is there to benefit the SANFL. They are not the football club that left you all behind. But there link to that football club provides the remaining footy clubs a fiercely disliked opponent that you can all enjoy going head to head with each week and continue to bag.

And, if all reports are correct, the old supporters continue to follow their matches with gretaer numbers than the rest of the comp.

Surely this is good for the Tigers, Roosters et al.

Stop being so bitter about the club that ran out on you - they've gone to bigger and better things. Use the scraps to your advantage.

Kennet for PM. :)

Not sure you really understand what's happening here. Here's the overview:
Port Power are broke, dont have any assets to sell to help them out of it.
Port Magpies are broke, but have a pub that could be sold if desperate enough.
The 2 clubs want to merge into one club cos they're both broke, and Power need the pub as an asset to help them out of financial ruin.
Does this make financial sense to you? Cos it doesn't to anyone else outside the Power.

The Power accuse the SANFL of suffocating their financial income at Footy Park, but from I reckon they are doing exactly the same thing to the Magpies at the Alberton Clubrooms.

Most SANFL supporters generally want the Magpies to survive, but don't want the AFL club to take them over.

I think get rid of them. They are in the AFL now and thats that. Cut out the ambiguity.

Are they now? So how come every other club can sod off and die when they had financial problems.

Tunnel vision

When Sturt were on its knees I became a member, just to help them survive.

Now the Port Magpies will die, they will not be in the SANFL after this year, and that could have been avoided.

With all due respect Asgardian, you becoming a member of a rival club because they are in trouble is a lot different than this.

There aren't many SANFL clubs that are doing it easy out there, probably Centrals being the exception. They have to find ways to survive, cut costs, increase revenue - this is no different for PAMFC.

They have to find a way to survive?

They did find a way and it was denied to them last night. Not only that but part of the very reason the PAMFC is in this situation is because of the other clubs putting over zealous restrictions on them when they were formed.
Which was agreed to by all parties at the time.

PAMFC is no different to any other SANFL club, and a partnership with an AFL club is not the answer. It has the potential to give PAMFC a significant advantage over the other clubs, which is why i think they voted no.

So you would rather a club fold, then to perhaps gain a slight advantage over their counterparts (even though the magpies have been medicore for over a decade).
So you think the other clubs should have voted for Port Adelaide to get an unfair advantage to their own detriment? You've got to be joking.

If you want to look at 'significant advantage' look at Centrals, they have been posting bigger profits then most of the AFL clubs.
What has the success of Centrals got to do with it? Centrals didn't get a red cent from anyone... ever. The success of Centrals is all their own doing and their business plan, club ethos and culture are about as far removed from the Port culture as you could possibly imagine.

I honestly reckon its disgrace that some people have been wishing the death of this club. It must be a SA thing?
No matter how incompetent and unviable a club becomes, we must keep throwing money at them. There's a real welfare mentality at work here. Now that is a SA thing.

Yes, there are some shit stirrers around the place, but the vast majority of people do not want the Magpies to die. Yes, this is an emotional time for Port supporters, but I would challenge them to spend a few minutes reading the judgement to understand how the UNANIMOUS decision was reached.

'No' was the only logical and reasonable way to vote. I just hope all the Port supporters - who are busy blaming everyone but themselves right now - will see reason in time for them to concentrate on saving their club.

Port have long boasted of their VAST numbers of supporters. Surely if minnows like Sturt and North can save their clubs, Port can do it?

ps. ok North is a bad example. They had a rich bloke bail them out and some strings were pulled in political back rooms to get an act of Parliament changed specifically for their situation. :eek:

I'd seriously like to know what the actual proposal was. Does anyone on here know the specific details?

I cant see how two organisations losing money can amalgamate and make a winner of it (especially when the P.O.W. Hotel is losing money as well) - I'd like to be proven wrong though.

I've been a Port supporter for nearly 40 years but I'm of the view the Power are the real PA, and the Maggies are the new club. Regardless, I continue to support the Maggies and beleive it'd be a shame for them to go.

I'm sure the SANFL wont let the Maggies fold. The remaining clubs and SANFL get much satisfaction from continuing to constrain both PAFC and PAMFC off field which directly contributes to their poor financial position and on field performances.

So you think the other clubs should have voted for Port Adelaide to get an unfair advantage to their own detriment? You've got to be joking.

What has the success of Centrals got to do with it? Centrals didn't get a red cent from anyone... ever. The success of Centrals is all their own doing and their business plan, club ethos and culture are about as far removed from the Port culture as you could possibly imagine.

No matter how incompetent and unviable a club becomes, we must keep throwing money at them. There's a real welfare mentality at work here. Now that is a SA thing.

Yes, there are some shit stirrers around the place, but the vast majority of people do not want the Magpies to die. Yes, this is an emotional time for Port supporters, but I would challenge them to spend a few minutes reading the judgement to understand how the UNANIMOUS decision was reached.

'No' was the only logical and reasonable way to vote. I just hope all the Port supporters - who are busy blaming everyone but themselves right now - will see reason in time for them to concentrate on saving their club.

Port have long boasted of their VAST numbers of supporters. Surely if minnows like Sturt and North can save their clubs, Port can do it?

ps. ok North is a bad example. They had a rich bloke bail them out and some strings were pulled in political back rooms to get an act of Parliament changed specifically for their situation. :eek:

Excuse Me? Centrals are a self confessed clone of everything that made Port Adelaide FC great.

So you would rather a club fold, then to perhaps gain a slight advantage over their counterparts (even though the magpies have been medicore for over a decade).

If you want to look at 'significant advantage' look at Centrals, they have been posting bigger profits then most of the AFL clubs.

I honestly reckon its disgrace that some people have been wishing the death of this club. It must be a SA thing?

You over here whining now. Get over it. Port have no one to blame but themselves. And why do and your fellow Port supporters keep bringing up Centrals. So Centrals should be disadvantaged because they have good management. If a club is well run it has a "significant advantage". Typical Port mentality, it's everyone elses fault but your own.

I hope the Port Magpies survive but not at the expense of the 8 clubs. Who the hell do they think they are. Get some of their massive "loyal" supporter base to help them out.

I'd seriously like to know what the actual proposal was. Does anyone on here know the specific details?

I cant see how two organisations losing money can amalgamate and make a winner of it (especially when the P.O.W. Hotel is losing money as well) - I'd like to be proven wrong though.

I've been a Port supporter for nearly 40 years but I'm of the view the Power are the real PA, and the Maggies are the new club. Regardless, I continue to support the Maggies and beleive it'd be a shame for them to go.

I'm sure the SANFL wont let the Maggies fold. The remaining clubs and SANFL get much satisfaction from continuing to constrain both PAFC and PAMFC off field which directly contributes to their poor financial position and on field performances.

Someone bring on the violins. Everyone is out to get us. Sad, very sad. Funny how you guys are quick to blame everyone else yet you, the fickle Port supporter, is one of the main reasons both clubs are struggling.

Payback's a BITCH!

BLAH, BLAH, BLAH! More ill-informed cliche's being thrown around.

Last night's FARCE was the culmination of 140 years of petty jealousies, bitterness and hatred towards the Port Adelaide Football Club.

Clandestine meetings, "Ostrich-like attitudes" and disqualification of potential voters, certainly could not be described as the so called, "Independent League of Directors" finest hour.

This morning I purchased a 2010, Season Ticket from my club, because in what will be my final year of SANFL football, I am determined that not one cent of my hard earned money will enter the coffers of that Nest of Vipers known as the SANFL! I urge my fellow Black and White (and Teal) Brethren to do likewise.

I think Aurelio Vidmar said it best; We really do live in a Pissant Town!

Go the Magpies! Go the Power!

Aaron M. Richards

MEMBERSHIPS
Port Adelaide 1843
Norwood 1210
Woodville West Torrens 1011
West Adelaide 1007
North Adelaide 1063
Glenelg 1025
Central District
Sturt
South Adelaide

Re: Payback's a BITCH!

Last night's FARCE was the culmination of 140 years of petty jealousies, bitterness and hatred towards the Port Adelaide Football Club.

Clandestine meetings, "Ostrich-like attitudes" and disqualification of potential voters, certainly could not be described as the so called, "Independent League of Directors" finest hour.

This morning I purchased a 2010, Season Ticket from my club, because in what will be my final year of SANFL football, I am determined that not one cent of my hard earned money will enter the coffers of that Nest of Vipers known as the SANFL! I urge my fellow Black and White (and Teal) Brethren to do likewise.

Aaron M. Richards

MEMBERSHIPS
Port Adelaide 1843
Norwood 1210
West Adelaide 1007
North Adelaide 1063
Glenelg 1025
Central District
Sturt
South Adelaide

WAH WAH WAH WAH WAH WAH

Have a sook.

Is this what it takes for you to buy a membership? Have you given up already? Is there no alternative for the PAMFC?

Port wanted to move their team in 1990 from the SANFL to the AFL. Now it looks like they have their wish.

And is that the Power's membership figure, or the Magpies?

Aaron M. Richards

MEMBERSHIPS
Port Adelaide 1843
Norwood 1210
West Adelaide 1007
North Adelaide 1063
Glenelg 1025
Central District
Sturt
South Adelaide

Does anyone at Port take responsibility (even part ) for your current plight or do we blame it all on the SANFL, AFL, AFC, Global Warming, Bin Laden?

Prior to this current saga, if the tables were turned and Sth Adelaide wanted to form an alliance with the AFC would you have been happy with that? Would you consider that fair on your club and the other 7 clubs? No, of course you wouldn't.

Why all of a sudden are Port Power supporters concerned with the Magpies? Twelve months ago alot of you wanted them dead and buried.

Does anyone at Port take responsibility (even part ) for your current plight or do we blame it all on the SANFL, AFL, AFC, Global Warming, Bin Laden?

Prior to this current saga, if the tables were turned and Sth Adelaide wanted to form an alliance with the AFC would you have been happy with that? Would you consider that fair on your club and the other 7 clubs? No, of course you wouldn't.

Why all of a sudden are Port Power supporters concerned with the Magpies? Twelve months ago alot of you wanted them dead and buried.
If it was a purely financial merger, then why the **** not?

Tell me, how does anyone get an unfair advantage out of this? It's purely to cut on admin costs and rearrange assets, so that both clubs can remain financially viable. Are you the North Adelaide CEO that refused to see the proposal or something?

Thanks for the intelligent replies Capt Dangerfield and DB Crow.

So what specific part of the proposal are you opposed to? I dont think you really have a clue!

Mark my words this wont be the last time this issue comes up. Both Ports will continue to survive but will struggle financially under the weight of SANFL pettyness.

The Maggies wont fold, Power will continue to bleed money, the SANFL and it's small minded clubs will still sit back with glee watching the mess unfold and SA will remain the laughing stock of the country.

If nothing else it's a good marketing opportunity for both clubs.

Ok all crap aside, if the power never joined the afl who would have the magpies gone running to.
How can be an advantage to the magpies merging with the power when both are in serious debt.and for the facts north adelaide did sit and talk to p.a.f.c back in october
RD 3 north vs port at alberton will be an interesting day

the reason we are in debt is solely because of the SANFL, we have the worst stadium deal in the league, if we had what freo or wce has we would (according) to our CEO that we would make 2mill profits with our crowds.

anyway, kill off the magpies. The real club is in the AFL

Ok all crap aside, if the power never joined the afl who would have the magpies gone running to.
How can be an advantage to the magpies merging with the power when both are in serious debt.and for the facts north adelaide did sit and talk to p.a.f.c back in october
RD 3 north vs port at alberton will be an interesting day

They wouldn't need to run to anyone because just like Glenelg, South, Centrals, etc, they would keep ALL the revenue generated through their club. Instead they hand 75% to an AFL side that shares the same name, the same oval and the same supporter base.

Port Magpies teetering