Positives...

• Pendlebury
  • Nicholls, Toovey, Brown, ******** all had an impact
  • Forward line works well when ball is transferred quickly, this will happen more when the experienced ones come back in
  • Wakelin still looks up to it
  • Bryan is clearly a better ruck than Richards
  • Johnson is a worthy leader of the team and was brilliant

All in all, we got done by 50 missing half of our team, while the Roos were pretty much full strength. Now we go back to proper rules (by the way that hands in the back rule is f*cking disgusting), slowly integrate our players back in, and build for round 1.

North did nothing to suggest they will be a force, we should knock them off in the real stuff I believe.

Nothing to be too worried about

main concern was rusling-but who would want to play forward with the side we had in

Most of the blokes who will play ones look pretty fit and ready to go to me and couple look like they will take a step. Pendles was awesome. I was not 100% sold on the kid but if that is anything to go by he does look the goods. We really need a bloke who can win it in traffic and feed it out. He has unbelievable vision. He now needs to prove he can do it in a game with high intensity.
I also thought isles looked ok. His possies where very neat tonight. He could definately play a few more senior games this year.

Pendlebury looks very Dal Santo like. Great game seems to have plenty of time and a good side step.

Heath Shaw talking to the umpire was a classic

Two worries for the pies:
* Half forwardline looks weak (maybe Rocca can fix that)
* Ruckmen was smashed (minus Fraiser)

Hoggy said:
North did nothing to suggest they will be a force, we should knock them off in the real stuff I believe.
I disagree. On what I saw tonight I think they'll eat you in round one. You say they had a full strength team but their two top goal scorers haven't played a game yet and Archer and Brown never played. Buckley and Rocca are the only two additions that will make a difference but the trouble I see for Collingwood round one is midfield. You got smoked out of the middle and the likes of O'Bree and Lockyer aren't quick enough to alter what I saw tonight. Also their ruck stocks are clearly better even with Fraser in the equation.

We Might Try in Round 1 Helps too

Buckley and Rocca are the only two additions that will make a difference

Ha! What rot.

Didak, Buckley, Holland, Clement, O'Bree, Licuria, Rocca, Lockyer, Fraser, Prestigiacomo and Swan all missing and you say they won't make a difference? It's half our team, and all the experience in the world.

Hang on there champski!!!
Presty / Didak / Clement / Buckley / Licuria / Swan / Holland / OBree / Lockyer

Sure Archer and Brown missing but their onballers were at full strength.
Harvey / Grant/Simpson/Sinclair/Jones/Wells....they had their best there and we had kids. When you cant use your rotation as effectively as you'd like that Kanga's middle will carve up the lighter bodies Pendlebury/Thomas/Egan/Cooks/Nicholls/....Other then Burns and BJ we had no mongrel through the middle they did knock us off with relative ease but when we get Holland Lic's Bucks clem Did and even the mature bodies Ob's& Lockyer we will flog em....its good for the kids..i though Pendles stood out and might be looking to take the next step this year...he was composed and calculated with each touch...

Ummm.......thanks for that Kim but hows about you get a clue before you return to our board. Mick is notorious for tanking preseason games ie he doesn't give a stuff and we don't need the prize money. I would say the majority of us dislike this attitude but our priority is the 2007 season and not a mickey mouse practice game. Full strenghth we smoked the Kangas last year so only a fool would base his or her judgement on what was served up tonight.

There were a few positives despite the loss.

Ben Johnson's leadership. He doesn't like the media side of things, but he's the next captain whether he wants it or not.

Pendlebury. Yep, the boy has class, but tell me something I didn't know. He will be a fine player for us down the track.

Re Brown: I reckon he was nervous tonight hence a few errors or turnovers. He's a long-term player so I don't expect him to come up overnight and make an impact.

Travis Cloke tried hard and Brad ******** was alright.

The Roos will need to bring everything to the cards because Collingwood will be better prepared come Round 1, no doubt in my mind. The inclusion of Rocca lifts the side - let alone Buckley, Clement, Swan and Prestigiacomo - who will play a big role in the forward line this season.

Harvey / Grant/Simpson/Sinclair/Jones/Wells....they had their best there and we had kids. When you cant use your rotation as effectively as you'd like that Kanga's middle will carve up the lighter bodies Pendlebury/Thomas/Egan/Cooks/Nicholls/....Other then Burns and BJ we had no mongrel through the middle they did knock us off with relative ease but when we get Holland Lic's Bucks clem Did and even the mature bodies Ob's& Lockyer we will flog em....its good for the kids..i though Pendles stood out and might be looking to take the next step this year...he was composed and calculated with each touch...

You'd like to think center clerances would even up with your mids added.
Clement can hold Corey Jones and Buckley provides a much needed target up forward. Like I said Ruck and Half forward are still an issue however won't be nearly as bad with Fraiser and Rocca back in the side.

Positive: We traded a bloke who tries to out body bigger opponents and then sook for free kicks for a bloke who moves towards the ball and hold front position even though he is much smaller.

Our senior blokes were ordinary tonight. Thompson was spanked, Simpson was ordinary, Rawlings unsighted, Harvey and Grant very patchy.

Alot of work done by alot of kids tonight. We had two teenagers kick 6 between them and a few kids in the ruck. Riggio, Hansen, Edwards, Thomas, Campbell all played their first 'games' tonight.I know Collingwood had a bunch out, but let's not pull stuff completely out of our arses eh?

you were impressed with medders performance tonight?

He was ok, he should have kicked 3 but missed one on the run and a set shot that he should have kicked. With Bucks and Didak taking the best two medium defenders I suspect He'll be dining out on 2-3 goals a game when the season proper starts.

But if I'm not mistaken Didak and Holland won't be playing round one anyway and a lot of the other guys don't play midfield which is where the Pies were slaughtered. Rocca will make a big difference as will Buckley and Clement but then so will Archer, Brown etc and I liked the look of that Edwards as the game went on and Gibson.
Harvey / Grant/Simpson/Sinclair/Jones/Wells....they had their best there and we had kids. When you cant use your rotation as effectively as you'd like that Kanga's middle will carve up the lighter bodies Pendlebury/Thomas/Egan/Cooks/Nicholls/....
I hear you but I think the Roos will have you covered in round one. Also with the names you've mentioned not a lot changes in that time. But I was more impressed with their kids. I liked the look of Pendlebury but you need to get rid of Egan. Appears to dog it too much for my liking..
Other then Burns and BJ we had no mongrel through the middle they did knock us off with relative ease but when we get Holland Lic's Bucks clem Did and even the mature bodies Ob's& Lockyer we will flog em....its good for the kids..i though Pendles stood out and might be looking to take the next step this year...he was composed and calculated with each touch...
Always been a fan of Scott Burns. Good bloke too. Judst an outsiders looking in opinion but I really don't think you'll be flogging the Kangas this year. But good luck for the season nonetheless. :thumbsu:

Our senior blokes were ordinary tonight. Thompson was spanked, Simpson was ordinary, Rawlings unsighted, Harvey and Grant very patchy.

Alot of work done by alot of kids tonight. We had two teenagers kick 6 between them and a few kids in the ruck. Riggio, Hansen, Edwards, Thomas, Campbell all played their first 'games' tonight.I know Collingwood had a bunch out, but let's not pull stuff completely out of our arses eh?

Riggio and Hansen played rubbish. Jones, Sinclair, Wells, Simpson and McIntosh controlled center clearances and dominated over the kids.

Was Hansen the red headed bloke? Looked a bit like a rabbit in headlights a few times but I disagree with Riggio. Seemed a bit slow at times but eventually got his act together. Seems like a hard nut too.

But if I'm not mistaken Didak and Holland won't be playing round one anyway and a lot of the other guys don't play midfield which is where the Pies were slaughtered. :

Im thinking that 5 of those will be in midfield rotations :confused:

Buckley, Licuria, Swan O'Bree and Lockyer will all swing that way

Better luck next time

Must remember North Bhoy and Kim Chambers after Round 1

Was Hansen the red headed bloke? Looked a bit like a rabbit in headlights a few times but I disagree with Riggio. Seemed a bit slow at times but eventually got his act together. Seems like a hard nut too.

Might be a twinge of red in his hair. Played on Nathan Bown the kid who kicked like a muppet. Definately seemed a bit overwhelmed, he is a better player than he showed. I expected more from Riggio too, must have had less than 10 possies and lacked a bit of polish.

Im thinking that 5 of those will be in midfield rotations :confused:
Yes but I was talking players that may alter the result. Northbhoy's point is actually valid in that they didn't get a lot from their senior players other than probably Jones and Harvey, and their kids were better. And on tonights game Buckley will probably need to be utilised more up forward. Enjoyed Ben Johnsons game and goal on the run though. Not bad for a bloke that supposedly can't kick.

Yes but I was talking players that may alter the result. Northbhoy's point is actually valid in that they didn't get a lot from their senior players other than probably Jones and Harvey. And on tonights game Buckley will probably need to be utilised more up forward. Enjoyed Ben Johnsons game and goal on the run though. Not bad for a bloke that supposedly can't kick.

You are kidding. From the AFL website:

BEST
Kangaroos: Sinclair, Jones, Simpson, Well

Oh and Dane Swan, Buckley and Josh Fraiser may alter the game some what.

You are kidding. From the AFL website:

BEST
Kangaroos: Sinclair, Jones, Simpson, Well

Oh and Dane Swan, Buckley and Josh Fraiser may alter the game some what.
Hang on, whats the difference between now and then though?

And Buckley and Clement will obviously make a difference, but I seriously think your up the sh*tter if you think Swan and Fraser will, and even Lockyer Licuria. Again I add that I'm only going on tonights game (which is all there is to go on). Some of those names make Collingwoods side look better on paper but I thought the Roos were more the team that looked like having a good year. Just a gut feeling.

Positives...