Teams Post Your Current Team

taTDXlu.jpg

Includes tentative Papley to R Gray and Byrne to Collins trades, leaving $193k on hand.

After trades:

Backline: Shaw, Docherty, Laird, Z Williams, Tipungwuti, Byrne-Jones. Bench: B Williams, S Collins
Midfield: T Mitchell, Hunter, Duncan, Zaharakis, Ablett, Lewis, Liberatore. Bench: Blakely, Mathieson
Ruck: Gawn, Martin. Bench: Cox, Currie.
Forwards: Hall, Zmerrett, D Martin, Kerridge, Wells, Petracca. Bench: Davis, Hams.

90k in the bank. Team value 12.1m.

Not too unhappy with where i am at.

Haven't been frequenting this neck of the woods much this year, so first time posting my team.

fpNyvwa.png

Strategy has always been to hold premos at all cost (unless they have a 3+ week injury) and downgrade/upgrade rooks each week avoiding sideways action. Following that will be backing in Zaha until all rooks are upgraded, even though the cash loss may hurt somewhat. Looking at getting in 2 of Doch/Bartel/Kelly for Wagner/Byrne over the coming weeks to finish off the defense. Brought in Boyd 2 weeks ago who's solid as a rock and Vince last week on account of Roos saying he will play pure midfield from now on, and he didn't disappoint with a nice 120 on debut. On a side note, safe to say those who didn't start with Shaw this season would be kicking themselves.

On rucks, they have really done my head in this season. Starting with Stef instead of Goldy has hurt. Only did it due to expecting Stef to dominate more than Goldy with the new interchange cap (less stoppages/more open game) but oh boy how I was wrong. For the time being have backed in the man bun, although it's looking far from promising. He needs to a) cut the stupid thing off, and b) pull his finger out and start producing no matter if he's solo ruck or in tandem with West. Leuy has also been very underwhelming but just had his best game of the season, so hoping he can rise over 400k before he becomes Goldy. If Currie comes back could make things interesting re Stef. And with a current BE of -27 I sure hope he does.

3 mids who are heavily on my radar are Steven, Neale and Pendles. Will be looking to get them after defense and ruck is sorted. Got a feeling one will have to miss out as there's little chance I'll be trading Hunter. Guy is an absolute ball magnet and looks to be pick of the season so far considering he was only $420k to start with. Blakley at M8 has also been a revelation and I hope he rises in price as much as humanly possible. Interesting to note he's producing these scores with only 60% ToG - imagine what he could do if Lyon actually gave him a full run for once. Danger/Hanners/Titch have been great and Zaha was solid up until this week (grr). Held the great men Gaz and Rocky through all the pain and have finally reaped some reward for it. Hoping they get back to full fitness and smash the last half of the season like we all know they can.

Forward line is looking good now, but rest assured it didn't look that way a few weeks ago with the Hall/Barlow/Wells carnage. Zerrett has been nothing short of special - is currently the highest averaging player this season. His slow, special needs, half brother Jackson could learn a thing or two from him. Seriously, I'd be ashamed to watch my little brother carving it up so much whilst being a complete dud myself. Moving on, starting with Hall and Kerridge was also a huge win. There's some doubts over Hall's shoulder at the moment but I'm backing him to come good. Montagna was also good... up until this week. Monty, mate, we can still be friends, but just never, EVER do that again. Understood? Good!

Apart from Zaha and Monty having mares, I actually had a pretty nice week scoring mid 2300's bringing my ranking inside the top few k. The byes will once again separate the men from the boys no doubt. Each year I aim to make up a lot of ground over the byes and hopefully this year I can land inside the top 1k during this period. Will post my team after round 15 and see how close (or how far) I got.

/rant

Haven't been frequenting this neck of the woods much this year, so first time posting my team.

fpNyvwa.png

Strategy has always been to hold premos at all cost (unless they have a 3+ week injury) and downgrade/upgrade rooks each week avoiding sideways action. Following that will be backing in Zaha until all rooks are upgraded, even though the cash loss may hurt somewhat. Looking at getting in 2 of Doch/Bartel/Kelly for Wagner/Byrne over the coming weeks to finish off the defense. Brought in Boyd 2 weeks ago who's solid as a rock and Vince last week on account of Roos saying he will play pure midfield from now on, and he didn't disappoint with a nice 120 on debut. On a side note, safe to say those who didn't start with Shaw this season would be kicking themselves.

On rucks, they have really done my head in this season. Starting with Stef instead of Goldy has hurt. Only did it due to expecting Stef to dominate more than Goldy with the new interchange cap (less stoppages/more open game) but oh boy how I was wrong. For the time being have backed in the man bun, although it's looking far from promising. He needs a) cut the stupid thing off, and b) pull his finger out and start producing no matter if he's solo ruck or in tandem with West. Leuy has also been very underwhelming but just had his best game of the season, so hoping he can rise over 400k before he becomes Goldy. If Currie comes back could make things interesting re Stef. And with a current BE of -27 I sure hope he does.

3 mids who are heavily on my radar are Steven, Neale and Pendles. Will be looking to get them after defense and ruck is sorted. Got a feeling one will have to miss out as there's little chance I'll be trading Hunter. Guy is an absolute ball magnet and looks to be pick of the season so far considering he was only $420k to start with. Blakley at M8 has also been a revelation and I hope he rises in price as much as humanly possible. Interesting to note he's producing these scores with only 60% ToG - imagine what he could do if Lyon actually gave him a full run for once. Danger/Hanners/Titch have been great and Zaha was solid up until this week (grr). Held the great men Gaz and Rocky through all the pain and have finally reaped some reward for it. Hoping they get back to full fitness and smash the last half of the season like we all know they can.

Forward line is looking good now, but rest assured it didn't look that way a few weeks ago with the Hall/Barlow/Wells carnage. Zerrett has been nothing short of special - is currently the highest averaging player this season. His slow, special needs, half brother Jackson could learn a thing or two from him. Seriously, I'd be ashamed to watch my little brother carving it up so much whilst being a complete dud myself. Moving on, starting with Hall and Kerridge was also a huge win. There's some doubts over Hall's shoulder at the moment but I'm backing him to come good, he's an absolute jet when he's up and about. Montagna was also good... up until this week. Monty, mate, we can still be friends, but just never, EVER do that again. Understood? Good!

Apart from Zaha and Monty who had mares, I actually had a pretty good week scoring mid 2300's bringing my ranking inside the top few k. The byes will once again separate the men from the boys no doubt. Each year I aim to make up a lot of ground over the byes and hopefully this year I can land inside the top 1k during this period. Will post my team after round 15 and see how close (or how far) I got.

/rant
Absolutely love your analysis mate. Super effort and top notch. I agree with pretty much everything as most would as well. Your side is much better than mine but the problem with holding the premos is that it cost u big points in the process and thats why u r ranked in the couple k. Im curious to see if your process will make up for it in the long run with the superior team. A lot of points to make up for. I guess there is a fine line between when to hold and when to move them on. Either way i want to thank you for the great read

Thanks mate, I haven't posted here so far this season so pretty much just let it all out in 1 go. With holding guys on 2 week injuries it's basically short term pain for long term gain. Whilst losing some points in the short term the team is completed quicker which usually yields more points in the long run. It's already started paying off as most are still fielding 5-6 rooks where as I'll only be fielding 3 this week. Some things are circumstantial of course, i.e I had good bench cover with Blakley so the short term points loss was hardly noticeable.

With Rocky if it had been anyone else I most likely would have traded, but a player of his quality is always good to hold if cover is available. Chews up 2 trades to get him out then back in again once he starts smashing it. Imo those are 2 trades better used on a downgrade + upgrade and ending up with an extra premo instead of a rook on field. Of course it was a gamble as there was no guarantee he was going to be fit, but the risk was rewarded with a 184 + being 2 trades ahead of those who traded him and are now looking to get him back. Those are the decisions that make or break your season, so you're 100% right when you said it's a fine line between when to hold and when to fold.

fpNyvwa.png

On rucks, they have really done my head in this season. Starting with Stef instead of Goldy has hurt. Only did it due to expecting Stef to dominate more than Goldy with the new interchange cap (less stoppages/more open game) but oh boy how I was wrong. For the time being have backed in the man bun, although it's looking far from promising. He needs to a) cut the stupid thing off, and b) pull his finger out and start producing no matter if he's solo ruck or in tandem with West. Leuy has also been very underwhelming but just had his best game of the season, so hoping he can rise over 400k before he becomes Goldy. If Currie comes back could make things interesting re Stef. And with a current BE of -27 I sure hope he does.

Forward line is looking good now, but rest assured it didn't look that way a few weeks ago with the Hall/Barlow/Wells carnage. Zerrett has been nothing short of special - is currently the highest averaging player this season. His slow, special needs, half brother Jackson could learn a thing or two from him. Seriously, I'd be ashamed to watch my little brother carving it up so much whilst being a complete dud myself. Moving on, starting with Hall and Kerridge was also a huge win. There's some doubts over Hall's shoulder at the moment but I'm backing him to come good. Montagna was also good... up until this week. Monty, mate, we can still be friends, but just never, EVER do that again. Understood? Good!

Apart from Zaha and Monty having mares, I actually had a pretty nice week scoring mid 2300's bringing my ranking inside the top few k. The byes will once again separate the men from the boys no doubt. Each year I aim to make up a lot of ground over the byes and hopefully this year I can land inside the top 1k during this period. Will post my team after round 15 and see how close (or how far) I got.

/rant

Mmmm what a sexy looking team and a ripper analysis!

As promised here is my team post bye:

z_Untitled.png

Pre bye rank: 3532
Post bye rank: 1345

Thank god the byes are finally over! Feels great to put the full team on the park again. Whilst it's a good opportunity to get ahead in the rankings I still hate this time of year.

Missed out on my goal of top 1k by end of byes, but still reasonably content at the moment. After a shocking start to the season it's good to see things turn around over the last 5-6 weeks. The strategy of holding premos at all costs and continuing to downgrade/upgrade each week looks to be paying off at the minute. Unfortunately Barlow had to go being a 4 week injury, which really sucks as he was a great POD after most traded him. Making matters worse, it set my team back an extra week as had planned to have no rooks on field by this time. Just hope his replacement Roo boy continues to smash it for the rest of the season.

Happiest moment over the byes was definitely seeing West's name in the OUT column a few weeks back. Welcome back to premium status Stef! I'm sure everyone that held him breathed a collective sigh of relief upon seeing that team sheet. Also noticed he scaled down that dreadful man bun, has been barely visible over the last few weeks. Funnily enough his scores have picked up since it disappeared. Coincidence? I think not!

A few tough calls had to be made over the last few weeks, some came off well and others didn't:

- Had to upgrade 2 of Smith, Wagner and Mills over the byes - in the end went with keeping Mills for his JS and lower BE. Looked really good vs the Dees for his 91 and also had a good game yesterday. Should be solid next week and possibly the week after if needed before he becomes Laird or Kelly.

- Decided to hold Blakley and upgrade elsewhere as Lyon pretty much said Barlow was holding back his ToG and role in the middle, so with him gone I'm backing Blakley to average around 90 over the next few weeks. Has shown a lot of potential in his limited time so far. Sure a premo would yield a better output, but the ~200k it would take to upgrade him at this point isn't worth it terms of $ vs ppg. Money better spent elsewhere.

- Zaha is another tough call as teams are realizing he can be shut down easily. FFS you're better than that mate, stop having a sook every time you get attention. In any case, I'm looking to trade him after their game vs the Lions in a few weeks. For my last 2 mid spots (in for Zaha and Blakely) looking at 2 of Steven/Neale/Sloane/Treloar. Sloaney is the one that really caught my eye over the last couple weeks, in ripping form and is probably top of the pecking order at the moment. Going to be a tough call though.

- Not happy with 2 of my downgrade calls - I knew Reid was a high chance to be dropped but still went with him anyway as wanted an extra R15 bye player. Stupid in hindsight, but can be fixed by getting in Silvagni who looked very good on debut and should hold his spot. The other one was Broad who had a stinker this week and will be lucky to hold his spot. I'm praying he gets another crack. If not I hope Cowan gets a gig for Geelong, has been tearing it up in the 2's and looks to be a worthy bench defender @ $130k.

Apart from those few things I'm relatively happy. The only player I really want that I'm probably not going to get is Zorko. Just think Robbie Gray can offer a similar output at 80k cheaper. Only time will tell.

Just praying for no more injuries or premos having mares over the next few weeks. 2 more solid rounds should put me right in the thick of the action at the pointy end. Got a lot of players around the 10-20% ownership mark which could propel me up if they go bang. At this point I've done almost all I can, it's now in the hands of the DT gods! Will post one last rant in the last week or 2 of the season. Good luck everyone.

As promised here is my team post bye:

z_Untitled.png

Pre bye rank: 3532
Post bye rank: 1345

Thank god the byes are finally over! Feels great to put the full team on the park again. Whilst it's a good opportunity to get ahead in the rankings I still hate this time of year.

Missed out on my goal of top 1k by end of byes, but still reasonably content at the moment. After a shocking start to the season it's good to see things turn around over the last 5-6 weeks. The strategy of holding premos at all costs and continuing to downgrade/upgrade each week looks to be paying off at the minute. Unfortunately Barlow had to go being a 4 week injury, which really sucks as he was a great POD after most traded him. Making matters worse, it set my team back an extra week as had planned to have no rooks on field by this time. Just hope his replacement Roo boy continues to smash it for the rest of the season.

Happiest moment over the byes was definitely seeing West's name in the OUT column a few weeks back. Welcome back to premium status Stef! I'm sure everyone that held him breathed a collective sigh of relief upon seeing that team sheet. Also noticed he scaled down that dreadful man bun, has been barely visible over the last few weeks. Funnily enough his scores have picked up since it disappeared. Coincidence? I think not!

A few tough calls had to be made over the last few weeks, some came off well and others didn't:

- Had to upgrade 2 of Smith, Wagner and Mills over the byes - in the end went with keeping Mills for his JS and lower BE. Looked really good vs the Dees for his 91 and also had a good game yesterday. Should be solid next week and possibly the week after if needed before he becomes Laird or Kelly.

- Decided to hold Blakley and upgrade elsewhere as Lyon pretty much said Barlow was holding back his ToG and role in the middle, so with him gone I'm backing Blakley to average around 90 over the next few weeks. Has shown a lot of potential in his limited time so far. Sure a premo would yield a better output, but the ~200k it would take to upgrade him at this point isn't worth it terms of $ vs ppg. Money better spent elsewhere.

- Zaha is another tough call as teams are realizing he can be shut down easily. FFS you're better than that mate, stop having a sook every time you get attention. In any case, I'm looking to trade him after their game vs the Lions in a few weeks. For my last 2 mid spots (in for Zaha and Blakely) looking at 2 of Steven/Neale/Sloane/Treloar. Sloaney is the one that really caught my eye over the last couple weeks, in ripping form and is probably top of the pecking order at the moment. Going to be a tough call though.

- Not happy with 2 of my downgrade calls - I knew Reid was a high chance to be dropped but still went with him anyway as wanted an extra R15 bye player. Stupid in hindsight, but can be fixed by getting in Silvagni who looked very good on debut and should hold his spot. The other one was Broad who had a stinker this week and will be lucky to hold his spot. I'm praying he gets another crack. If not I hope Cowan gets a gig for Geelong, has been tearing it up in the 2's and looks to be a worthy bench defender @ $130k.

Apart from those few things I'm relatively happy. The only player I really want that I'm probably not going to get is Zorko. Just think Robbie Gray can offer a similar output at 80k cheaper. Only time will tell.

Just praying for no more injuries or premos having mares over the next few weeks. 2 more solid rounds should put me right in the thick of the action at the pointy end. Got a lot of players around the 10-20% ownership mark which could propel me up if they go bang. At this point I've done almost all I can, it's now in the hands of the DT gods! Will post one last rant in the last week or 2 of the season. Good luck everyone.
thats a great looking side you got there well done it looks heaps better than mine lol

Ranked 308 Pre byes
Current rank Post byes 72nd. :) On my way to my best ever finish.

Shaw, Kelly, Vince,
Simpson, Laird, Ruggles

Tucker, Hammlemann

Danger, Treloar, Sloane, Pendlebury
Neale, Lewis, Rockliff, Hannebury

Wagner, Mathieson

Martin, Trengove
Micheal, Pearce

Merrett, Martin, Hall
Gray, Lynch(Ade), Menzel

McCarthy, Hams

Plans were to upgrade Trengove to Gawn/Goldy but then he started tonning up so I'm keeping him till he maxes out, Couple weeks I think.

I'll let Ruggles fatten up a little more and upgrade Menzel to Zorko as soon as I can I think.

Looking pretty good though, Hope I can keep improving.

Ranked 308 Pre byes

Shaw, Kelly, Vince,
Simpson, Laird, Ruggles

Tucker, Hammlemann

Wagner, Mathieson

Martin, Trengove
Micheal, Pearce

Merrett, Martin, Hall
Gray, Lynch(Ade), Menzel

McCarthy, Hams

Plans were to upgrade Trengove to Gawn/Goldy but then he started tonning up so I'm keeping him till he maxes out, Couple weeks I think.

I'll let Ruggles fatten up a little more and upgrade Menzel to Zorko as soon as I can I think.

Very nice mate, that midfield is stacked. Hope I can make some ground on you over the coming weeks :D

Last upgrades for you are no brainers: Boyd, Goldy, Roo and Zorko.

Ranked 308 Pre byes

Shaw, Kelly, Vince,
Simpson, Laird, Ruggles

Tucker, Hammlemann

Wagner, Mathieson

Martin, Trengove
Micheal, Pearce

Merrett, Martin, Hall
Gray, Lynch(Ade), Menzel

McCarthy, Hams

Scary midfield

Post bye trades. Just Collins and Phillips to upgrade to premos. Got 152k cash, and will use Jansen, Stewart, Cox and Frost as cows. Bit annoying that Paine, Stewart and Reid arent getting games for cash generation but im almost there.

Epic team right there, more complete than mine that's for sure. Here's mine after trades. Just need a couple more premos up front and back. Kelly in this week.

LAQJYXw.jpg

Screenshot_2016_07_04_10_23_04.png

Next week:

$30k in the bank. Will downgrade Currie to $125k ruck and will have $165k to upgrade Mills. If he makes another $10k I might be able to grab Vince.

Rounds 18 - 23 will be 6 luxury upgrades (if I don't get injuries). Looking at guys like Zaha, Duncan, Gaff and Suckling.

Pretty happy with my team. Ranked very poorly this year, but in good shape to win my leagues.

Edit:

My upgrades over the last few weeks: Bont, Gaff, McVeigh, Suckling, Gray, and Montagna were all value picks. The only 500k+ players I picked up were Simpson and Docherty after their bye.

I sideways traded Ablett, Rocky and Barlow at the start of the year. Next year I'm going to hold unless they're out for 4+ weeks with an injury. I'd have a complete team by now if I didn't waste these trades... I've been playing for around 7 years but I'm finally learning how to be disciplined. Holding Hall, Laird and Stef Martin were good choices in hindsight.

I thought my team was okay but is a fair bit behind the rest of you guys...
Defence: Heath Shaw, Bernie Vince, Jason Johannison, Josh Gibson, Josh Smith, Tom Ruggles (Sam Collins, Trent McKenzie)
Midfield: Tom Rockliff, Tom Mitchell, Jack Steven, Trent Cotchin, Joel Selwood, Marcus Bontempelli, Callan Ward, Jack Ziebell (Jarred Jansen, San Reid)
Ruckman: Todd Goldstein, Stef Martin (Sam Frost, Sam Naismith)
Forwards: Zach Merrett, Dayne Zorko, Dustin Martin, Scott Lycett, Sam Kerridge, Dean Kent (Lincoln McCarthy, Tom Phillips)
$75k remaining for Jansen or Frost down. and Smith up.

Here's my team post trades. Downgraded Currie to Naismith and at this stage bringing in McVeigh for Smith. $88k in the kitty. Likely look to downgrade/upgrade Hams this week to either a forward or a defender through Suckling DPP.

7bF76wb.jpg
almost complete good luck on home stretch you can go for top 10 finish with your side

Screenshot (4).png

Pre Byes round 12 was ranked 617
Post Byes round 15 now ranked 148

This is my team post trades for upcoming week 16 matches it doesn't look good compared to the others here but i was hammered by injuries for a while and everyone be nice its only my second year of doing fantasy and with all the help from this site i vastly improved as looking back last year i was ranked 3000 in round 3 and fell all the way back to 20000 when i didn't understand the byes when in two rounds i only had 10 players lol so this year was a little different and structured my team to work around my problems from the past

My team is vastly different from round 1 and looking back I had a plan to stick with 13 premos from beginning till the end but things didn't work out the way I wanted. heath shaw, kade simpson, Jackson macrae, stef martin, max gawn and dusty have been my mainstays while rockliff was traded out and in 3 times, Gablett and Aaron Hall were traded out and in aswell. I made a lot of mistakes early on with trades and its very laughable the stuff ups I did and the results that came from it and since I was ranked 6725 in round 5 i only look at my team for 5mins a week to do a trade and than bang scored massively even with the wrong choice of captain and I’ve just been climbing up the ranks thanks to knowledge and opinions from this site.

plan is to upgrade ruggles next week to bartel/vince and catch up with everyone here ;)

Attachments

• Screenshot (4).png
    Screenshot (4).png
    217.6 KB · Views: 90
My team post trades, went Currie down to Naismith and R.Davis up to Riewoldt. Not sure if I will stick with these trades. Still needs quite a bit of work until completion but getting there :) Was at 27k overall at the end of round 4, so after starting with an awful team am now up to 3800 overall. Some very good looking teams that have been posted!

Round 15.png

Teams Post Your Current Team