Brown, Lockyer

Pendlebury, Boyd, Gibbs, Pavlich, Wingard, Neale
McDonald, Gibson

Cox, Jacobs
Giles, Stephenson

Johnson, Franklin, Martin, Giansiracusa, Sidebottom, Skinner, Smedts
Weedon, Hall

$12,100 left.
My team is forever changing but would like thoughts on how it stands at the moment.

WOndering if I have too much money in the forward line?

My only change would be Pav to fwds take out Johnson and bring in Selwood in the middle.

I like the cheaper backs, reckon there's a bit of value to be had there.

Thoughts?

Backs: Goddard, Deledio, Birchall, Grime, Hargrave, Smedts, Bugg (Morris % Wilkes)

Mids: Mitchell, Murphy, Selwood.J, Thompson, Hogan, Miles (Shiel, Neale)

Rucks: Sandi & Berger (Giles, Stephenson)

Forwards: Franklin, Pavlich, Martin, Sidebottom, Porps, Cripps, Hall (Cameron , Weedon)

Thoughts?

Backs: Goddard, Deledio, Birchall, Grime, Hargrave, Smedts, Bugg (Morris % Wilkes)

Mids: Mitchell, Murphy, Selwood.J, Thompson, Hogan, Miles (Shiel, Neale)

Rucks: Sandi & Berger (Giles, Stephenson)

Forwards: Franklin, Pavlich, Martin, Sidebottom, Porps, Cripps, Hall (Cameron , Weedon)

Who do you make captain?

Thoughts.....

Goddard, Shaw, Heppell, Howard, Hargrave, Ellis, Bugg
Brown, Lockyer

Pendlebury, Boyd, Gibbs, Pavlich, Wingard, Neale
McDonald, Gibson

Cox, Jacobs
Giles, Stephenson

Johnson, Franklin, Martin, Giansiracusa, Sidebottom, Skinner, Smedts
Weedon, Hall

$12,100 left.
My team is forever changing but would like thoughts on how it stands at the moment.

WOndering if I have too much money in the forward line?

I like the strategy with the back, i've used something similar. I'd probably lose Jacobs and let Giles play R2 and use the cash to upgrade either skinner to another premium, or move pav to skinner's spot and take sloane or hayes in the mids. Just my preference though.

I've got one for those willing to help, going with a slightly different strategy this year and have 2.7m to spend on 5 mids. At the moment it's Pendles, Ablett, Murphy, Selwood, A.Swallow, would anyone recommend a different 5? (don't worry too much about which clubs have byes etc).
Cheers

Maybe Gibbs instead of Murphy as Murphy will get the hard tag, Montagna for Swallow and use the extra cash left over to get Boyd instead of Selwood.

Any of the 4 mid prems he has would do. Especially Thompson :).

No, he's setting himself to be 5-10 ppg behind the rest of the competition. If he thinks one of those 4 will be the best mid then he's all good, I just don't think any of the 4 he picked are going to be no. 1 except maybe Selwood, but after the new headclash / concussion rule I doubt that he won't have 1 sub affected scores again like last year. Not saying he won't be in the best 6, I just think he has a high risk of headclash.

My only change would be Pav to fwds take out Johnson and bring in Selwood in the middle.

I like the cheaper backs, reckon there's a bit of value to be had there.

Cheers mate! made that move....I hesitate picking johnson esp for his price compared to pav...and well selwood will be a stud.

I like the strategy with the back, i've used something similar. I'd probably lose Jacobs and let Giles play R2 and use the cash to upgrade either skinner to another premium, or move pav to skinner's spot and take sloane or hayes in the mids. Just my preference though.

I've got one for those willing to help, going with a slightly different strategy this year and have 2.7m to spend on 5 mids. At the moment it's Pendles, Ablett, Murphy, Selwood, A.Swallow, would anyone recommend a different 5? (don't worry too much about which clubs have byes etc).
Cheers

Thanks mate - im going to experiment with this strategy! I do think Giles will be good this year...I naturally hesitate going rookie ruck starting. But if it works in my favour, it will help other areas big time. Could be the difference in the end!

On that strategy - im thinking Redden from Port Adelaide.....
Anyone know anything about other rookie ruck choices here?

I have gone a bit different at the moment.. The 6000th time i've changed my team..

Shaw - Birchall - Gilbert - Lake - Clarke - Ellis - Smedts (Morris, Bugg)

Swan - Pendles - Ablett - Boyd - Rockliff - Magner (Mcdonald, Stevens)

Cox - Giles (Rowe, Stephenson)

Johnson - Robinson - Sidebottom - Martin - Zaharakis - Hampton - Hall (Treloar, Weedon)

Rookie spots still up for grabs and obviously the backline is shakey, just feel there is alot of cash to make there with this years rookies. Lake could also be interchanged with Hargrave or Howard depending on who shows the most. Leaning towards Lake as he has a higher ceiling but its risky as he probably won't feature in the NAB.

First crack at my team - feedback appreciated

Backs -Scotland, Goddard, Burgoyne, Armstrong, Lake, Coad, Bower (Clarke M, Ugle)
Mids - Swan, Boyd, Ablett, Lucas, Coniglio, Wingard,(Mcdonald J, Magner)
Rucks - Sandilands, Kruezer, (Giles, Stephensen)
Forwards - Johnson, Chapman, Franklyn, Rioli, Martin, Saad, Dell'Olio (Papertalk, Cooyou)

First crack at my team - feedback appreciated

Backs -Scotland, Goddard, Burgoyne, Armstrong, Lake, Coad, Bower (Clarke M, Ugle)
Mids - Swan, Boyd, Ablett, Lucas, Coniglio, Wingard,(Mcdonald J, Magner)
Rucks - Sandilands, Kruezer, (Giles, Stephensen)
Forwards - Johnson, Chapman, Franklyn, Rioli, Martin, Saad, Dell'Olio (Papertalk, Cooyou)

Burgoyne is more SC than DT
Armstrong, borderline best 22
Coad - no way!!!
Bower - borderline as well, good pick if he's in the team, Carlton have a few defenders to come back in to the team.
Coniglio & Wingard - Good JS, can sometimes be beneficial to just get a 100k player instead, generally score about the same.

Apart from that and some rookie changes it looks alright - Rioli and chapman risks.

TEAM NAME: Big V Superstars
DEF: Goddard, Shaw, Deledio, Birchall, Lake, Ellis, Bugg (Darley, Morris)
MID: Pendles, Boyd, Ablett, Thompson. Wingard, McDonald (Treloar, Magner)
RUC: Sandilands, Giles (Redden, Big O)
FWD: Franklin, Goodes, Fyfe, Sidebottom. Martin, Saad, Hall (Smedts, Weedon)
CASH LEFT: $16,500

Team getting there and any feedback would be excellent.

Any feedback on this team?

Backs: Goddard, Deledio, Enright, Suckling, Broughton, Hargrave, Ellis (Wilkes, Webberley)

Mids: Pendlebury, Ablett, Polec, Tyson, Wingard, McDonald (Zorko, Neale)

Rucks: Mumford, Jacobs (Giles, Stephenson)

Forwards: S. Johnson, Pavlich, D. Martin, Lewis, Riewoldt, Byrnes, D. Smith (Walsh, Pffiefer)

Thoughts??

[B Goddard] [G Birchall][B Waters] [J Pittard] [B Lake] [C Guthrie] [B Ellis] SUBB: [T Bugg] [S Morris]

[D Swan] [G Ablett] [B Gibbs] [L shuey] [A morabito] [T Ledger] SUBB: [C Wingard] [D shiel]

[D Cox] [H McIntosh] [J Giles] [O Stephensen]

[L Franklin] [N Fyfe] [D Zaharakis] [D Martin] [J Winderlich] [J Butcher] [S byrnes] SUBB: [A Sadd] [A Hall]

30,700 left

First go thanks

Any feedback on this team?

Backs: Goddard, Deledio, Enright, Suckling, Broughton, Hargrave, Ellis (Wilkes, Webberley)
Mids: Pendlebury, Ablett, Polec, Tyson, Wingard, McDonald (Zorko, Neale)
Rucks: Mumford, Jacobs (Giles, Stephenson)
Forwards: S. Johnson, Pavlich, D. Martin, Lewis, Riewoldt, Byrnes, D. Smith (Walsh, Pffiefer)

Thoughts??

I can understand that you are going for your perceived best rookies regardless of position. Ive tried that strategy in the past and it hasn't really worked out. I think the mids is one area where you can't be tight to start with. You need at least 3, but probably 4 or 5 gun mids...if you are trying for overall ranking.

On the flip side, you are over the odds in the back line imo. Backs are an area where there are few uber-guns but plenty of players that rise and fall each season depending on structural opportunities. Id downgrade at least 2 backs and target players that may get more opportunities.

2 gun vs 1 gun Ruck strategy is a major decision point this season. Im 1 gun at the moment.

I have gone a bit different at the moment.. The 6000th time i've changed my team..

Johnson - Robinson - Sidebottom - Martin - Zaharakis - Hampton - Hall (Treloar, Weedon)

Rookie spots still up for grabs and obviously the backline is shakey, just feel there is alot of cash to make there with this years rookies. Lake could also be interchanged with Hargrave or Howard depending on who shows the most. Leaning towards Lake as he has a higher ceiling but its risky as he probably won't feature in the NAB.

As an opposite to my above post, this team is really good structure imo. Maybe even a little too light in the backs and therefore question marks over JS leading to donuts.

Apart from that, i really like it structurally.

I like it :thumbsu:!

Very similar to my team structurally.

As an opposite to my above post, this team is really good structure imo. Maybe even a little too light in the backs and therefore question marks over JS leading to donuts.

Apart from that, i really like it structurally.

His back line is weaker to make his midfield even stronger. Can't really see anything wrong there. Instead of going with 4 prem + midpricer in the backs and 4 prem + 2 rookies in the mids, he has just gone with 3 prem + midpricer in the backs and 5 prem + 1 rookie in the mid. Its the same thing really.

I like it!

Although saying that, i still think mid rookies provide more upside and better JS than both fwd/back rookies at this stage anyway. So having more, rather than less might be a good move.

I love playing with my team, although it hasn't changed as much as previous seasons...

Def: Goddard, Duffield, Johnson, Conca, Smith, Hargrave, Ellis (Morris, Bugg)

Mid: Ablett, Watson, Montagna, Cotchin, Sloane, Palmer (Neale, Gibson)

Ruck: Smith, Giles (Stephenson, Rowe)

For: Franklin, Fyfe, Martin, Riewoldt, Gray, Winderlich, Porplyzia (Hall, Kennedy)

- I'm thinking I'll probably upgrade one of Duffield/Johnson eventually, will just wait to see their roles. Other than that, I like the mid-priced options in the back line.

- Tried something a bit different in the midfield, I'm sure some people wont like it considering the love of guns and rookies. But I don't mind trying something. Maybe I'll downgrade one, but maybe I wont.

- I've had Giles as my second ruck since DT opened, nice to see people joining me.

- Could maybe downgrade one of Winderlich or Porplyzia, will have to see how their bodies hold up in the pre season. Also, surprised that Gray doesn't have much love. I just traded out Brown, and thought he was worth the extra 60k.

In light of Grimes and Brown being injured i've yet again fiddled around with the team, not because i don't think they'll play round 1 but the risk is just too great now.

Backs: Shaw, Deledio, Fisher, Broughton, Hargrave, Clarke, Ellis (Wilkes, Smedts)

Mids: Swan, Thompson, Ablett, Murphy, Clifton, Horsley (Treloar, Magner)

Rucks: Kreuzer, Mumford (Giles, Stephenson)

Forwards: Franklin, Goodes, Martin, Sidebottom, Bate, Saad, Walsh (Rowe, Hall)

$148,400 leftover at this point. Bate has a big question mark obviously, but i do plan on using that spot for a unique/risky option so i'll evaluate the best player for that spot after the NAB and the round 1 teams are picked. Ditto for Hargrave.
Any thoughts? Cheers in advance!

Goddard, Enright, Shaw, Broughton, Yarran, Lake, Hargrave (Smedts, Bugg)
Ablett, Pendlebury, Boyd, Murphy, Wingard, Smith (Shiel, Zorko)
Mumford, Giles (Stephenson, Rowe)
Pavlich, Martin, Riewoldt, Gray, Winderlich, Saad, Treloar (Kennedy, Hall)

Still miles till cut-off so team will change heaps yet:

Backs:Scotland, Goddard, Deledio, Waters, Grimes, Davis, Clarke, (Mohr, Morris)
Mids: Ablett, Selwood, Chapman, Barlow, Hayes, Gibson (Shiel, Magner)
Rucks: Leunberger, Giles, Stephenson, Random
Forward: Johnson, Franklin, Fyfe, Martin, Winderlich, Saad, Hall, (Treloar, McIntyre)

Chappy swinging to forward line to cover any JS issues.

Post Your Team (Part 1)