Mega Thread Potential future father-son selections

That's a mixed bag

Although Cam was pretty underwhelming early in his career
Both Jagger and Boston I'm pretty sure would be bottom age next year so not eligible to be drafted till 2025. So there is time for both of them to develop. From a list posted earlier in this thread we have 1 or 2 possibles every year till 2031.

It's weird that sen are talking about our upcoming father sons.
Why is it weird? The comment came from Greg Swann - Brisbane CEO, who was trying to gaslight to say that teams like Geelong have a big advantage, so he just pulled this figure out and now people are saying it must be true.

He also said, give it few years and if year on year, and if the Northern clubs get lots of players, the we should look at it.

I'm not against the bidding system, but it is way too lenient. Bid on a top 5 player, well you either come up with a pick of similar quality, plus some, or you lose the entire rest of the draft and the following year's draft should be totally screwed - push all your picks to be at the end of draft. True for NGAs, father sons, everything. If Geelong just wanted the 2nd pick, what we have to give up to get it? That is the basis for your formula

Why is it weird? The comment came from Greg Swann - Brisbane CEO, who was trying to gaslight to say that teams like Geelong have a big advantage, so he just pulled this figure out and now people are saying it must be true.

He also said, give it few years and if year on year, and if the Northern clubs get lots of players, the we should look at it.

I'm not against the bidding system, but it is way too lenient. Bid on a top 5 player, well you either come up with a pick of similar quality, plus some, or you lose the entire rest of the draft and the following year's draft should be totally screwed - push all your picks to be at the end of draft. True for NGAs, father sons, everything. If Geelong just wanted the 2nd pick, what we have to give up to get it? That is the basis for your formula
It's strange because none of our father sons coming through are looking like AFL quality. Unlike Western Bulldogs for example

I agree with this.

I have never understood the concept that teams should be able to pick up FS or academy player for a discount. Sure, put in a place a system that allows teams first access to their players, but why should they get a discount?

If you need to match a first round bid, then you need to use your first round pick in this year’s or next year’s draft. Pretty simple really. If the matched pick is more than say 5 picks better than your draft pick then you throw in your next round pick also.

Yeah cos Ashcroft x 2 + Fletcher in 3 years is a pretty poor F/S haul for Brisbane.

Have we got any coming through that are more in the Hawkins, Scarlett, Ablett or even Bews mold?

Been a while since we've truly benefitted. If we're going to get crucified by every other fanbase for it, we might as well live up to the advantage that the whinging masses think it is.

Whole thing is a joke really. Collingwood have benefited just as much as we have, arguably more purely because Daicos & Moore where first round quality, rather than speculative (albeit very talented) like Scarlett & Ablett.

Brisbane look to be going in a similar direction too.

It's like most of the supposed leg-ups Geelong get. Once you do a bit of digging you find that we're no better looked after than anyone else.

Have we got any coming through that are more in the Hawkins, Scarlett, Ablett or even Bews mold?

Been a while since we've truly benefitted. If we're going to get crucified by every other fanbase for it, we might as well live up to the advantage that the whinging masses think it is.

Whole thing is a joke really. Collingwood have benefited just as much as we have, arguably more purely because Daicos & Moore where first round quality, rather than speculative (albeit very talented) like Scarlett & Ablett.

Brisbane look to be going in a similar direction too.

It's like most of the supposed leg-ups Geelong get. Once you do a bit of digging you find that we're no better looked after than anyone else.
Scarlett ablett… that was it during our premiership era… people tend to forget Hawkins had very little impact during our premiership run outside of 1qtr in the grand final in 11… which we would have won anyway.

Scarlett was a third round speculative pick and ablett a late to mid second rounder.

Compare that to collingwood currently who have daicos x2 and Darcy moore…. I would say that is more generous than what we had from a pure draft value perspective.

Also if you want to go back in time they nabbed a very highly rated Travis cloke as well which contributed to their premiership in 10.

I am all for the father son rule because it’s simply swings and roundabouts… I hope Brisbane enjoy the Ashcroft’s for the next decade just like we got to enjoy ablett Scarlett and Hawkins.

I am also looking forward to the idea of a hodge running around playing for the hawks…

Just imagine seeing a grand final between geelong and hawthorn in 6 years time and Mooney and hodge end up tussling and wrestling before the bounce and get separated… imagine the insanity and deafening voice of the crowd…

Or Mooney marking the footy on the goal post and the Dejavu of the fans….

Call me old fashioned… but for those of us who lived and saw the parents play… it does provide significance and meaning not only for our club, but to also see the villains kids play against us.

Scarlett ablett… that was it during our premiership era… people tend to forget Hawkins had very little impact during our premiership run outside of 1qtr in the grand final in 11… which we would have won anyway.

Scarlett was a third round speculative pick and ablett a late to mid second rounder.

Compare that to collingwood currently who have daicos x2 and Darcy moore…. I would say that is more generous than what we had from a pure draft value perspective.

Also if you want to go back in time they nabbed a very highly rated Travis cloke as well which contributed to their premiership in 10.

I am all for the father son rule because it’s simply swings and roundabouts… I hope Brisbane enjoy the Ashcroft’s for the next decade just like we got to enjoy ablett Scarlett and Hawkins.

I am also looking forward to the idea of a hodge running around playing for the hawks…

Just imagine seeing a grand final between geelong and hawthorn in 6 years time and Mooney and hodge end up tussling and wrestling before the bounce and get separated… imagine the insanity and deafening voice of the crowd…

Or Mooney marking the footy on the goal post and the Dejavu of the fans….

Call me old fashioned… but for those of us who lived and saw the parents play… it does provide significance and meaning not only for our club, but to also see the villains kids play against us.
Harsh on Hawkins there. Played a part in 09 (2 snags on a tough day/close contest) and might have been THE difference in 11 where we were no certainties without his impact that day, borderline bog.

I still look at that 11GF as the coming of age day for Hawkins - it may not have been the perfect match from him, but firstly no Mooney and then Pods gone before half time, he stood up and something seemed to click

We might enjoy seeing it, but the clubs (including ours) don't really care. They will never select a father-son if it means a downgrade in some way.

On discount .... just how much development goes into the aligned player? Does the club need some sort of recompense for that ?

For mine a discount is not required if the players rating is so early that they go R1..especially top10. Access to these typ of players is so rare..especially for clubs who sit near the top of the ladder. Id imagine Geelong would have been happy to pay the bid price ..with no discount of JUH ..if we had been aligned to him. Could you see Pies not take Dacios or Brisbane not take Ashcroft ... if they did not get discount

... and discount or not ... players who are fringe are often not selected. We have taken a couple of these types as Rookies , probably keeping the family relationships with the club all happy ..as much as anything.

Father/son rule should stay. Academies need to go. That's the rort given the land mass some teams have over the other.

As for Northern academies - there needs to be hard guidelines. What that equates to I'm not sure.

Oscar King ...2027. ... ( we seem to love Oscar Father Sons )

Could be one to watch for . Any ideas on his height? I presume he will find his way into the Falcons now his dad is back at the Cats.

POTENTIAL FATHER-SONS

A familiar name was among the group at training on Friday.

Alfie Wojcinki, the son of three-time premiership player David, completed drills on the sidelines with GWV Rebels prospect Jonty Faull, another 2024 draft prospect who was training with the Cats through the AFL Academy.

David coached Alfie and his teammates to an under-18 premiership with Newtown & Chillwell this year, with Alfie also listed with the Geelong Falcons in his bottom-age year in 2023.

[PLAYERCARD]David Wojcinski[/PLAYERCARD] (left) coached Newtown & Chilwell to a premiership. Picture: Mark Wilson

David Wojcinski (left) coached Newtown & Chilwell to a premiership. Picture: Mark Wilson

Seventeen potential father-son and Next Generation Academy prospects Cats father-son prospects trained with the club this week, including King’s son, Oscar, who isn’t draft eligible until 2027.

It was a surreal experience for King, who was reminded of an incident involving him and Dangerfield that is etched in the Brownlow medallist’s memory.

“Even Patrick Dangerfield told me when he trained at the club when I was an AIS kid I broke his nose in a tackling drill when I was at the club so it is full circle,” King said.

“My son did the father-son academy during the week. (Dangerfield) was amazing with him so it’s funny how things develop and change.”

Oscar King ...2027. ... ( we seem to love Oscar Father Sons )

Could be one to watch for . Any ideas on his height? I presume he will find his way into the Falcons now his dad is back at the Cats.
Played junior footy for the Burleigh U12/U13s in the local Div 1 Gold Coast comp for the last two years and was invited to take part in the Suns academy this year. Also got the opportunity to play an U15s game for Burleigh this year which suggests he may have been one of the standouts at the U13s level. No idea about height but considering his old man is 202cm you'd think he'd also be reasonably tall for his age.

If he did it was only 1 or 2. Wouldn't have been in Newtowns best 15 players in the under 18 premiership. Would be huge odds to make it onto our list.
Weird that he's on the Falcons list again in that case. Assuming the name got him on there then.

Mega Thread Potential future father-son selections