Pre Season Training 10 Jan 2011

Re: Training Monday 10th Jan

If Lower plays I assume we wouldn't make the same mistake Port Adelaide did of playing him as a HB Flanker and we'd play him right in the middle.

You could be right there, I don't know a whole lot about him. My reasoning is though that because it's his second gig at the big time, he'd be mentally and physically for it. It takes some players a lot longer than others to handle the pressure. I still think his skills out of defense would be great for us but he'd be handy in the midfield too.

How the hell are we supposed to answer that?

I would assume yes seeing as though they are professional footballers trying to get the best out of themselves. But to be exact you would have to ask them.

I figure some of you dudes might actually have played footy or had more insight than I obviously do. Perhaps someone saw hilly running along cottesloe, or deboer seen in his spare time tackling gum trees.

Yeh, I saw Hilly run past the Hilton bottle shop as I was buying a few brewskies

"Hey Stevie, how you doing?"
"Good man, just making sure I got enough miles in the legs before the season starts"
"Cool bro'. Have a good one."
"No worries. Have a brew for me. Can't wait till I retire and can start drinking. I've never had a legal drink"

Re: Training Monday 10th Jan

Just to add to the reports I thought Mcphee was the standout and has been impressive all sessions. Seems to have lost a lot of that upper bulk he carried last season and is that slim he was mistaken for Mellington.His pace has increased,his skills are excellent and he is working his arse off,he looks to be heading for a big season.
Also Roberton looks terrific and could be heading for a midfield berth.

Yes i think he is going to prove why the club recruited him this year . He is very versatile and a big body to rotate thru that midfield.I was impressed with him last year and he missed the pre season.I too expect him to be a real star for us this year.

Thanks for the reports guys. I reckon it's been more than a month since Hilly has been running at training. I'm not really alarmed though; it seems like he might reach his optimum playing weight this year. Which will mean that he could have a good year but he still will need another year or so to get his fitness up to the superstar level. I'm still so bummed about Morabito, i hope he doesn't lose heaps of his athleticism due to his knee. I'm so frustrated that Balla's is still not fully recovered from his foot which he injured about 3 and a half months ago. Injuries really do cripple us.

Mcphee will do well and i look forward to seeing what JA can do.

Funny you say that. I was down in the south west over the holidays and saw DeBoar clear a couple of acres of old growth Karri forest in nothing but a pair of ruggers and some sneakers. He did need a hand to throw them on the semi though so still a bit more work to do before season proper.....

Rumour has it that after his successful blow on B.Waters in the Rnd 18 Derby last year, Deboer has raised the bar and now plays chicken with Semis:
picture.php

They need to get a like button on Bigfooty. That way I could feel good about everybody liking my hilarious Chuck Norris joke I copied off the internet.

But seriously. Who can I talk to about this?

Pre Season Training 10 Jan 2011